Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident at Lost Lane on Saturday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Longitude festival is probably best to be avoided, seems to be turning into a scrote fest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I can't stand that dublinlive site, its full of click bait ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭emo72

No video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Longitude festival is probably best to be avoided, seems to be turning into a scrote fest.

US issued such advise to it's citizens as well.

emo72 wrote: »
    No video?

Of course not, wouldn't want to offend, branded a racist etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Gardai are party poopers.
    An assortment of weapons including hatchets, knives and petrol bombs were found when the gang dispersed.

Could have been lit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I spent the weekend bringing people to and from Marlay Park and while there was a lot of underage drinking, the vast, vast majority seemed very well behaved, enjoying themselves and being extremely messy, but not in any way violent or malevolent.

• Site Banned Posts: 880 ✭✭✭whiteshorts

knives, hatchets, petrol bombs

What's happening to this city, can the guards not put a stop to this?
    It's only a matter of time before someone gets killed.

Makes you wonder had the US travel advise not blown up in the media on Friday would the guards have been aware or alert to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

And after the US Embassy issued a warning of potential violence in marlay park at longtitude. They should have said after longtitude at Marley... :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Of course no mention of the nationality of the perpetrator as usual from RTE and the rest of the msm. Glad to be out of the country at the moment.

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Of course no mention of the nationality of the perpetrator as usual from RTE and the rest of the msm. Glad to be out of the country at the moment.

Ummm Irish?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Where is Lost Lane, a long forgotten side street or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I'm lost. What's the connection with Longitude? Did something happen there? What were the US Embassy concerned about?

New (Paper) Irish perhaps

Are you suggesting it’s not fit to wipe your arse with?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

Bobblehats wrote: »
    Bono to bonobo! The evolution of Lillies clientelle

yeah its exactly the type of song Nialler9 would play there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

The nationality was probably white Irish like with most problems in Ireland.

I'm lost. What's the connection with Longitude? Did something happen there? What were the US Embassy concerned about?

Supposed to have gone to Lost Lane after Longitude according to the article. US Embassy warned about potential trouble regarding the festival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Moved from AH > CA.

Yeah they’ll be up with the latest in afrobeat ;) finger on the pulse man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

https://www.rte.ie/news/2019/0705/1060455-longitude-security/

And from the Irish Times article
    gardaí believe a number of people who were at Longitude festival in Marlay Park, Rathfarham had gone to Lost Lane to continue socialising. Gardaí further suspect the men who tried to rush the door of the venue had also been at the festival.

There is footage of Grafton Street last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Suckit wrote: »

Where's the "hatchets, knives and petrol bombs"?

I had read the RTE item all right. I'm just wondering what specifically the US Embassy was concerned about though. It's unusual for an embassy to make such a statement (unless something really really serious is about to go down). The Twitter video seems to be showing people having a good time.

Not disputing if there was trouble - but it's all kinda vague.

It was a Nigerian rapper playing there. Don't know many Irish who'd go to see a Nigerian rapper.

The Irish Times article says up to 20 youths, Dublin Live says up to 30 youths. Someone quoted by Dublin Live said they were at the gig and didn't see this trouble.

Obviously there was trouble - the gardai weren't there for the good of their health. But there's a lack of information - not enough to come to a solid conclusion, from what I can see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Ah, don't be peeing on the racists' party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

What country have you migrated to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I thought they were their own distinct minority with their own culture, boss....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

It was a Nigerian rapper playing there. Don't know many Irish who'd go to see a Nigerian rapper.

You clearly don’t get out much so.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

How do you stop a problem like non integration?

All hands up to them though the petrol bombs add a real Irish twist to this debacle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Most of the Nigerian/African rappers are absolute dog sh1te from my limited listening experience of them.

Woeful

Incidences likes this will hasten the introduction of UK style “door policy” at clubs and bars

In a few years the cretins trying to storm Lost Lane will be lucky to be let into the local spar after 4pm with all the security outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Boxing.Fan

Incidences likes this will hasten the introduction of UK style “door policy” at clubs and bars

What is the UK style door policy? I've always found clubs in the UK to be more lax when it comes to who they let in.

No.

You’d wonder why this isn’t a bigger news story in the media

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Makes a nice change from the usual white fella violence in Dublin like every Paddy's night, Halloween, Arthur's Day when that was a thing.

Apparently the bouncers got an awful hiding.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

You’d wonder why this isn’t a bigger news story in the media

It was in the Irish Times.

No one was hurt, I think.

How do you think it should have been covered?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn II

Dublin live has seen a video but can’t post it. Must be other videos out there.

Boxing.Fan wrote: »
    Apparently the bouncers got an awful hiding.

Should’ve let the riot squad go to town on the gang

Ah no you couldn't be doing that to the poor craters.

Brian? wrote: »
    It was in the Irish Times.

No one was hurt, I think.

How do you think it should have been covered?

That Irish times article is there true but I wonder was it edited before it published?

No mention on RTÉ yet though. That’s odd

Usually every little dispute in the likes of Dundalk or Monaghan is given the RTÉ treatment. Reporters on scene, analysis, prime time. Etc.

This was a fully armed gang on grafton st.

Hatchets knives petrol bombs and god knows what else.

You’d wonder is there some agenda here of distracting.

“Nothing to see here folks”. Why like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

What country have you migrated to?

He's in gainful employment, making a meaningful contribution a not receiving state handouts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,428 ✭✭✭ZX7R

Boxing.Fan wrote: »
    Ah no you couldn't be doing that to the poor craters.

Seemly the gang tried to gain entry to longitude festival but beat a hasty retreat when they saw the private security dog teams on duty ha

Those security dogs can be vicious

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

Any confirmation on what we're dealing with here? New Irish or ethnic cousins?

All hands up to them though the petrol bombs add a real Irish twist to this debacle

You mean a terrorist twist. Did they foresee themselves having to fight for their freedom to be served at the bar? That’s a new one to us I’ll choose not to integrate with that on a night out thanks...

“Double vodka Red Bull or I’ll petrol bomb ye”

Is this the new ireland?

“Double vodka Red Bull or I’ll petrol bomb ye”

Is this the new ireland?

A gang of black lads are gonna have a hard time getting in anywhere around town after this. I see a lot of "sorry lads not tonight" in their futures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

At first I read this post to the music of "Maria" from the Sound of Music.

https://youtu.be/s-VRyQprlu8 at 49seconds

Then I realised it was a genuine mathematical query.

There ya go fella, don't mention it.

https://www.encyclopediaofmath.org/index.php/Non-linear_integral_equation