Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Feeding builders?

• 21-05-2019 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

What's the etiquette when builders are working in your gaff? Should I be giving them food? I have left out tea/coffee and biscuits (and splashed out on donuts the other day). But should I be making them sandwiches or something?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

But should I be making them sandwiches or something?!

Does your employer make you sandwiches?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

All I know about treating builders is what I've learned from porn - oh, there should be sandwiches alright;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭TheShow

Is there no local Deli where they can pick up a breakfast roll?
    You're not oblidged to make sambos for them, you can do so willingly if you wish to.

Tea/coffee & biscuits are compulsory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

As a former builder who was on a million domestic jobs then there should be tea and coffee available or at least the facilities available and yes biscuits or small cakes etc are always a nice touch. I mean obviously you’re under no obligation to do anything but personally speaking I couldn’t have a man working in my gaff without at least making him a drop of splosh or laying on a few biscuits.

If you make them sandwiches they’d think you’re the soundest person ever and it’s an absolute touch to get. No need to be offering dinners or any of that craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,540 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

my mother would always offer dinner , some would accept it, but most are happy to eat their own food in their vans. IMO an offer of tea and biscuits is enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭B-D-P--

Happy builders makes for good builders.

Simple as that. Nothing is necessary, but if they like you, they will work maybe 5-10% better than if they they think your a ......
    Fill in the blanks.

Tea/coffee yes and maybe biscuits but personally I’d rather get my own lunch from the deli, not a fan of eating lunch’s in other people’s houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

What's the etiquette when builders are working in your gaff? Should I be giving them food? I have left out tea/coffee and biscuits (and splashed out on donuts the other day). But should I be making them sandwiches or something?!

Don’t leave sandwiches out for builders. If you do you’ll find more and more builders arriving each day, eventually you’ll run out of room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Tea and sandwiches at lunchtime, with tea/coffee offered at intervals. Packet of ham and cheese and a sliced pan doesn't cost much, and any guys working in my house have always been appreciative of the offer. It also builds up a rapport, so that makes it easier to discuss snags in a friendly way - should they arise.

Rivita and green tea.
    Always works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Prunes, yoghurt and make sure they dont disconnect the toilet facilities

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Tea/coffee and biscuits is a hospitable standard.

Just don't expect them to tidy up after themselves, the cups will be left half full and teaspoons left beside them on a stained worktop...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Packet of ham and cheese and a sliced pan doesn't cost much

What about vegan builders? Quorn ain't cheap.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Tea, coffee and biscuits is always welcomed.
    Handjobs are a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

there's a tacit understanding that if you dont feed and water them then they wont do as good a job as if you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

A four course meal served on tiles while you stand over them and talk them through what they'r eating and the craftsmanship that goes into every bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Leave out several buckets to catch flung teabags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

What about vegan builders? Quorn ain't cheap.

First thing Monday morning, I stand at the gate and ask " eh.... are there any VEGANS here" in a menacing tone, prior to the stoning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

If your making tea for them , double up on the amount you put in the pot , and let it simmer for 5 minutes before serving.

Keep an eye out for the builders cleavage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭AulWan

When I had builders working in my house, I gave them access to the kettle, teabags, coffee, milk and biscuits etc but they very politely declined anything else and brought their breakfast rolls / lunch with them and usually sat in their van to eat and take tea breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

chrissb8 wrote: »
    A four course meal served on tiles while you stand over them and talk them through what they'r eating and the craftsmanship that goes into every bite.

While brandishing a massive pepper mill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Put on a few fish fingers maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

My Dad was a tradesman and never assumed he was going to be fed. He always brought his lunch when he was on the fitting part of the job. (For the making things part, he just came home for lunch as we lived really near his workshop) I think the odd time, clients would make him lunch but it was never an expectation. He might have, like, one cup of tea or something but that was it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I have no issue feeding tradesmen per se but I've never been happy with this idea that they should be wined and dined (or tea'd and biscuit'd) by the owner of the household to be kept sweet.

We've all heard the stories of tradesmen turning up several days late or not turning up at all for some imagined slight or because they just couldn't be arsed. Many years ago my late father in law asked a few builders to help him build a shed outside his house and he neglected to leave out a tray of sandwiches for them. To his dying day he was convinced that that was why they never returned after laying down the foundation and rendering the project effectively abandoned.

There's definitely a culture of complacency in the trades in Ireland and I'm not sure we should all be complicit in encouraging that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I don't think it's unreasonable to offer a cup of tea, or a few biscuits to a tradesperson. It's a perfectly polite and mannerly thing to do. However there's a culture amongst tradesmen of taking the piss. It's a few years ago, but I was back in my parent's place for a few days R&R. It was a Friday, and they had a tiler in to put in new tiles in an ensuite bathroom. I wasn't aware of this, and immediately offered to pay for the cost of the tiles and labour. They accepted my most generous offer, and headed out for the day to the Burren.

Anyway, this dodgy looking chancer arrives up around 10 in a death trap of a van. In his late 20's, and with that classic tradesman look - buzzcut haircut, tattoos, a set of teeth that look like they are all trying to get as far away from each other as possible, bloodshot eyes, rollie hanging out of the corner of his gob.

I let him into the house, offered him a cup of tea, and then let him off to do his work. I then retired to the garden to read. The majority of the rest of the morning was him either making or taking phone calls with his mates - lots of guffawing, bad language, lurid descriptions of women from the local town, and excitement about going to some dance festival on Saturday night, and how 'off his tits' he was going to get. He also made himself 4 mugs of tea, and each time left the tea bag in the sink itself. I should have known then I was dealing with a semi-feral mucksavage. After a very generous lunch is terms of time taken he returned to an afternoon of being on his phone - interspersed with what sounded like periods of work.

It got to around quarter to 5, and he came into the sitting room where I was listening to the radio. 'All done there, horse', he exclaimed. I enquired as to the cost of the job. I'll do it for 250 squid cash, he said. How generous of you, I said. 'I've got an equally generous offer for you. It's 150e, which represents the going rate of 35e per hour for the amount of actual work I estimated you did'. He started cursing and ranting at me, but I wasn't for moving. He eventually packed up his stuff, called me the c word, and stormed out the door. 'I won't charge you for the tea', I quipped as he hopped into the van and drove off at speed. Such a breathtaking sense of entitlement he had.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

What type of tea Aongus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Woke meet Aongus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    What type of tea Aongus?

Barry’s tea. It’s my parents preferred brand. I don’t drink tea that often as I have a Jura bean to cup in the kitchen of my apartment here in Frankfurt.

What technique do you use to make the tea in your parents.
    Milk first?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    What technique do you use to make the tea in your parents.
    Milk first?

Pfft , the servants make the tea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

I normally leave out a carrot, bit of Christmas cake and a glass of milk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Its a fine line between building a rapport and them thinking you are a soft touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Supernintento Chalmers

I don't think it's unreasonable to offer a cup of tea, or a few biscuits to a tradesperson. It's a perfectly polite and mannerly thing to do. However there's a culture amongst tradesmen of taking the piss. It's a few years ago, but I was back in my parent's place for a few days R&R. It was a Friday, and they had a tiler in to put in new tiles in an ensuite bathroom. I wasn't aware of this, and immediately offered to pay for the cost of the tiles and labour. They accepted my most generous offer, and headed out for the day to the Burren.

Anyway, this dodgy looking chancer arrives up around 10 in a death trap of a van. In his late 20's, and with that classic tradesman look - buzzcut haircut, tattoos, a set of teeth that look like they are all trying to get as far away from each other as possible, bloodshot eyes, rollie hanging out of the corner of his gob.

I let him into the house, offered him a cup of tea, and then let him off to do his work. I then retired to the garden to read. The majority of the rest of the morning was him either making or taking phone calls with his mates - lots of guffawing, bad language, lurid descriptions of women from the local town, and excitement about going to some dance festival on Saturday night, and how 'off his tits' he was going to get. He also made himself 4 mugs of tea, and each time left the tea bag in the sink itself. I should have known then I was dealing with a semi-feral mucksavage. After a very generous lunch is terms of time taken he returned to an afternoon of being on his phone - interspersed with what sounded like periods of work.

It got to around quarter to 5, and he came into the sitting room where I was listening to the radio. 'All done there, horse', he exclaimed. I enquired as to the cost of the job. I'll do it for 250 squid cash, he said. How generous of you, I said. 'I've got an equally generous offer for you. It's 150e, which represents the going rate of 35e per hour for the amount of actual work I estimated you did'. He started cursing and ranting at me, but I wasn't for moving. He eventually packed up his stuff, called me the c word, and stormed out the door. 'I won't charge you for the tea', I quipped as he hopped into the van and drove off at speed. Such a breathtaking sense of entitlement he had.

Did the same myself. A Plumber, clearly taking the piss of my Mother who lives on my own. Myself and the brother called down for a visit, he was on day 3 of a 1 day job. We told him to pack his tools and go. Refused to give him a cent, told him to get a Solicitor.
    I was able to do the job myself in the end, in under a day, just from watching How-To videos on YouTube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

Rivita and green tea.
    Always works.

I'd pull yer House asunder if you gave me that!

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Did the same myself. A Plumber, clearly taking the piss of my Mother who lives on my own. Myself and the brother called down for a visit, he was on day 3 of a 1 day job. We told him to pack his tools and go. Refused to give him a cent, told him to get a Solicitor.
    I was able to do the job myself in the end, in under a day, just from watching How-To videos on YouTube.

You can do most basic trade work by watching videos and a small bit of trial and error. It’s handy stuff.

Coming from a building background I would leave at a bare minimum tea, coffee, biccys, cake & crisps out. That’s if I wasn’t there. If I’m around I’ll make them a fry at first break and a cold lunch.

Hot weather - Ice lollies and cold drinks and water.

If I saw a couple of tradesmen working outside I’d normally pop out with a tray too. Hot weather menu also provided.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

At what trademen charge why should they fed on top of it? Any sort of clown holding a shovel is making €200 a day now often for Cash price. No way would I be feeding them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I'll offer tea or a drink always. I don't have biscuits in my house and don't wine and dine them.

theguzman wrote: »
    At what trademen charge why should they fed on top of it? Any sort of clown holding a shovel is making €200 a day now often for Cash price. No way would I be feeding them.

It's wise to always be nice. Means they're more likely to be on your side, do a good job, take care of a few small extras for free.
    I'd always give them tea biscuits and maybe even a toasted sandwich. Most are very appreciative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I was doing an extension for a big farmer in east Clare about 10 years ago, mid summer so he was busy getting ready for silage, he was along way from anywhere so we used bring our own lunch. Never once were we asked did we want a cup of tea nor did we expect it, but I've never been on a domestic job where we've never been offered something even a glass of water on a hot day

One of the days the silage crew landed around 8 in the morning, weather was very good, we were working outside, the lady of the house started setting up a table and chairs outside and was cooking away all morning, come lunchtime the lads doing the silage came back for the lunch and sat into a 3 course dinner less than 30 feet from where we were working, myself and the guy that was with me weren't even asked did we want a cup of tea, we were treated like 2 slaves the entire time we were doing the job, when it came time for payment when we had the job finished she wanted me to knock a hundred off the agreed price, I refused simply because she hadn't the manners to offer us even a cup of tea while they ate like kings beside us, if they were decent I'd have knocked off the hundred but I wouldn't please the miserable cnut

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Leave out a saucer of milk at the back door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭Slideways

Sure you did mate. I doubt you’ve the skill to tie your own shoe laces, probably rock crocs after your last attempt.

There’s a reason it’s called a trade, takes years of on the job training and FAS to learn and master. I foresee one of my comrades having to return to your poor mothers house to fix the dogs dinner of a job you did. Probably to American building regulations too :rolleyes:

Slideways wrote: »
    Sure you did mate. I doubt you’ve the skill to tie your own shoe laces, probably rock crocs after your last attempt.

There’s a reason it’s called a trade, takes years of on the job training and FAS to learn and master. I foresee one of my comrades having to return to your poor mothers house to fix the dogs dinner of a job you did. Probably to American building regulations too :rolleyes:

Get real, pal!
    Most of what these guys learn in FAS is never used, if they're a house basher then they never really touch the complicated stuff.

And for your information, the metal radiator pipe was leaking, I replaced it with the plasticy stuff, not a single leak 4 years later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I used to be a tilers mate years ago.
    On the house jobs, we'd always get offered tea & coffee sometimes sandwiches.
    It depends on both parties involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

I'd usually offer a cup.of tea/coffew 9n arrival in case they'd had a bad start or long drive or been up finishing off another job since dawn. Of it was an all day job I'd definately offer a sandwich or something but it wouldn't be too.complicated. if I had guys working outside I'd definately be offering coke or 7up & jugs of ice - life is short. But if you're rude and turn up 4 hours late without an apology or semi decent excuse and looking reasonably contrite for wasting a day the job will be cancelled there & then and there will be no tea or sweetness for anyone.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Slideways wrote: »

Some of the hatchet jobs people do are hilarious :pac: Too miserable to pay for it to be done properly but they end up paying twice (or more!) because of piss poor quality workmanship and materials.

Get real, pal!
    Most of what these guys learn in FAS is never used, if they're a house basher then they never really touch the complicated stuff.

And for your information, the metal radiator pipe was leaking, I replaced it with the plasticy stuff, not a single leak 4 years later.

Dead right. Plenty of research beforehand, measure twice and cut once.

Leave electrics to the electrician. An awful lot of the tiling, painting etc can be done yourself. Buy a few of the right tools and think the job out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

In my experience if they sense your too nice, they get lazy and take the piss

I watch them like hawks if I don't know them

Then they get might get some biscuits etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭CinammonGirl

Thank you all for your insights, v interesting! Can't believe someone wouldn't even offer a drink/cuppa. There is a supermarket / MickeyDs across the road and these lads seem to head over there most of the time. I have no prob at all leaving out the tea/coffee bikkies and even added in some french fancies and chocolate rolls today. They are nice lads and seem to be doing a good job (well I hope tf they are).