Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Escaping to the countryside?

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,303 ✭✭✭Allinall

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I’m still completely baffled as to why anyone would actually like living in Dublin. Men in their 50s in soccer jerseys, faded forearm tattoos, the famous Dublin wit which consists of answering every question with “ask me bollix,” feral dirty faced children hurling abuse and rocks at fire engines and buses, the lionisation of ignorance and anti intellectualism, a bizarre fascination with postcodes and obscure suburbs, hijacking the term “working class” as if it only applies to themselves in Ireland.

I hate Dublin and everything about it.

For someone who doesn’t live in Dublin, you seem to know an awful lot of nothing about the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

You cant bate the country life.

Fellas driving into the work car park on a tractor and nobody takes a bit of notice
    Pubbeens that don't bother closing till way into the wee hours
    Hopping into the boat and landing on some grassy uninhabited island for the divil of it
    The smell of freshly cut timber and burnt 2-stroke oil
    Shoppeens where all the staff know you by name and where you're from and what you do without you ever having told them.
    Oldschool farmhouses left in their original non modernised state
    Ending up knee deep in muck and covered in midge bites
    Fellas tearing along a forestry boreen with grass in the middle in a black Audi A4 TDi
    Bouncy castles outside every house in the month of May
    Buying stuff from "a fella down the road" who doesnt officially run a business

I hope it never changes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

J Mysterio wrote: »
    lol

Better off in some one horse town where brothers and sisters live near each other with high-risk of cousin inbreeding and the men all have names like Tj or Pj
    Watching Winning Streak is the weekend highlight unless the lads are in the Junior B final against the in bred savages in the nextvillage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

Fellas driving into the work car park on a tractor and nobody takes a bit of notice
    Hopping into the boat and landing on some grassy uninhabited island for the divil of it
    Shoppeens where all the staff know you by name and where you're from and what you do without you ever having told them.
    Fellas tearing along a forestry boreen with grass in the middle in a black Audi A4 TDi

I hope it never changes

Heaven.

Yesterday I saw a cock pheasant in a tree. Rare enough to see them perched in trees. Big clatter of branches and leaves when I rose him out of it.

If only I had the shotgun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

:D Ah yeah. Bit of family folklore there: the time we rented a house in my dad's hometown and the former MrsCR popped over the road to the butchers for some sausages. First time visiting that part of the country, and her with an English accent attracted attention. She was gone nearly four hours; came back with the head spinning after being introduced to everyone else who set foot in the shop, and learnt about cousins and double-great aunts and brothers of in-laws that even I'd never known existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

This is one of the main things I always hated about the countryside.
    Nosey busybodies spreading rumours and mad for gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

They laughed at one I loved -
    The triangular hill that hung
    Under the Big Forth. They said
    That I was bounded by the whitethorn hedges
    Of the little farm and did not know the world.
    But I knew that love's doorway to life
    Is the same doorway everywhere.

Ashamed of what I loved
    I flung her from me and called her a ditch
    Although she was smiling at me with violets.

But now I am back in her briary arms;
    The dew of an Indian Summer morning lies
    On bleached potato-stalks -
    What age am I?

I do not know what age I am,
    I am no mortal age;
    I know nothing of women,
    Nothing of cities,
    I cannot die
    Unless I walk outside these whitethorn hedges.

slaine-the-horned-god-portfolio-banner-2.jpg?w=672&h=372&crop=1

Jamsiek wrote: »

Unlike the townies, holed up in their bedroom, plugged in to facebook for hours on end, spreading rumours and mad for gossip ... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,365 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Unlike the townies, holed up in their bedroom, plugged in to facebook for hours on end, spreading rumours and mad for gossip ... :rolleyes:

We've more chance of interacting with people in real life given we don't live in the middle of nowhere miles away from other humans.

Touched a nerve it seems.
    "Townies" tend to mind their own business a lot more from my experience.
    They also have more places to go so don't need to be "holed up in their bedrooms" :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

So much this. The council moved a convicted addict into our tiny village recently. A week after I learned from my neighbour that rumours are doing the round that I'm apparently planning to sell my house because of the new occupant.

We've more chance of interacting with people in real life given we don't live in the middle of nowhere miles away from other humans.

And how many times do you hear city-dwellers say that they lived x years where they are and still don't know who their neighbours are?

People who want to interact with others will interact with others regardless of the miles between them.

Touched a nerve it seems.
    "Townies" tend to mind their own business a lot more from my experience.
    They also have more places to go so don't need to be "holed up in their bedrooms" :rolleyes:

Don't worry - no nerve touched at all. :P

But while you're around, what places do/can townies go to, where we country folk aren't allowed? :confused:

Don't worry - no nerve touched at all. :P

But while you're around, what places do/can townies go to, where we country folk aren't allowed? :confused:

You can go anywhere you like with a certain degree of difficulty.
    Meanwhile "townies" obviously have more options and more convenience.
    They certainly don't need to be "holed up in their bedrooms".

LirW wrote: »
    So much this. The council moved a convicted addict into our tiny village recently. A week after I learned from my neighbour that rumours are doing the round that I'm apparently planning to sell my house because of the new occupant.

A few years ago, I was in hospital for a week.
    Next time I went to the local pub back where I grew up and the people looked at me like I was a ghost.
    I later found out about a rumour that I was on my death bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,775 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Another way you look at it maybe some local people care.
    Even in my town if an elderly person doesn't visit the major supermarket chains during the day. The staff will become concerned and check on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,341 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

If they ask you about anyone tell them they're doing grand. Most are only interested in bad gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭NSAman

Either that or play up on it, You know, you are selling the site beside you to a bunch of Lovely Muslim people they are going to build a Mosque on it by all accounts...

Small communities can be very nosey, but you can also play on that for your benefit..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,215 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

During the summer i want to escape to the countryside. Not during the winter though.

NSAman wrote: »
    Either that or play up on it, You know, you are selling the site beside you to a bunch of Lovely Muslim people they are going to build a Mosque on it by all accounts...

Small communities can be very nosey, but you can also play on that for your benefit..;)

I like that one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,911 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I hope it never changes

Don't forget the fun of buying your kids a 'blackmail car' which may will kill them or someone else to stop them leaving home;

https://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/dangerous-driving-in-donegal-it-is-a-long-standing-culture-1.3569240

You can’t beat a bit gossip, I love hearing all the stores and rumors!

I disagree. Gossip bores me. I’m interested in what my friends do but don’t care what other random people do. So much of it is lies too. No thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I get that there is more gossip in communities where everyone knows everyone but that doesn't mean you need to be part of it. I just don't engage in it and don't worry what others have to say about us. I never got whinging about gossip, unless there are some malicious lies flying around why do people worry about it. Insecurity?

meeeeh wrote: »
    I get that there is more gossip in communities where everyone knows everyone but that doesn't mean you need to be part of it. I just don't engage in it and don't worry what others have to say about us. I never got whinging about gossip, unless there are some malicious lies flying around why do people worry about it. Insecurity?

I’m the same, just try to ignore it. However, rumours can be very malicious, I heard a story about a friend of mine cheating on his wife and it turned out to be false as I knew all along. This is the kind of stuff I’m referring to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Ah the only thing worse than being talked about is not being talked about!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭Cody montana

I’ve the best of both worlds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭SaltSweatSugar

I’ve recently started renting a room in a house out the country, which isn’t really in the country as it’s only 15 minutes outside Galway city and 5 minutes from a lively village. Rent in the city is ridiculously expensive for what you get and decent places are hard to come by. The house I’m moving into is massive, my room is huge, it has a large back garden and it’s in a lovely area that’s nice and quiet. The rent is so much cheaper than the city and it’s closer to work. The aforementioned village has Aldi, Lidl and Tesco and some wonderful little pubs so I won’t need to go into the city unless I want to.

The one problem with living in the country is having to rely so much on the car, as there’s no public transport. That and the takeaways available for delivery are significantly reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 eurozonelady

I know what you mean - we had considered moving to the countryside too, but chose the continent in the end.

Our income is every bit as high as it was in Ireland.
    Mortgage rates are lower
    Creche fees half as much
    Food and drink better quality and cheaper
    Public healthcare excellent and not based on your income
    Buses and services excellent
    We automatically can save at least double what we could before moving
    Have 3 times the amount of holidays and better weather

The major downside is we don´t have a network to help us, like family
    And of course the Irish craic and warmth is unbeatable so we miss that too
    The first year wasn´t easy but it was worth it for us