Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Religion and Homophobic Hatred

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

People hide behind all sorts of ideologies to malign those they don't want to understand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

It's simple, 'God sez'. Unfortunately the minutes taken from any alleged God meeting can be interpreted a number of ways. Folk tend to read them in a way that suits their agenda or subscribe to a religion that fits their personality. Madness. No religious person should ever be let anywhere near a position of authority IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Didn't Jesus hang out with outcasts, stick it to the man and forgive sinners?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Isn’t eating shell fish on par with the gay in the abomination scale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭hcf500

Its odd but I notice that catholics use religion to defend many of their incorrect beliefs, even non practicing catholics. Christians is probably a better fit. Muslims on the other hand are far more devout but don't let it affect the daily lives as much.

hcf500 wrote: »
    Its odd but I notice that catholics use religion to defend many of their incorrect beliefs, even non practicing catholics. Christians is probably a better fit. Muslims on the other hand are far more devout but don't let it affect the daily lives as much.

How can a belief be incorrect? All religions are built on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

Is Islam they just throw you off a roof or hang you, Bigoted Christians may have some hatred but it is nothing compared to the vitriol Islam spews towards Homosexuals. Yet the LGBT lobby defend Islam when they are criticized, wheras Muslims would enforce Sharia Law and persecute Gay people.

theguzman wrote: »
    Is Islam they just throw you off a roof or hang you, Bigoted Christians may have some hatred but it is nothing compared to the vitriol Islam spews towards Homosexuals. Yet the LGBT lobby defend Islam when they are criticized, wheras Muslims would enforce Sharia Law and persecute Gay people.

Tell us more about these bigots? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Ipso wrote: »
    Isn’t eating shell fish on par with the gay in the abomination scale?

It depends if the fish chew the cud, but divide not the hoof. Or chew not the cud, but divide the hoof.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

It depends if the fish chew the cud, but divide not the hoof. Or chew not the cud, but divide the hoof.

What if the cud begat the hoof?

• Site Banned Posts: 160 ✭✭dermo888

Muslims on the other hand are far more devout but don't let it affect the daily lives as much.

Maybe you know very secular Muslims, probably of Lebanese/Turkish/Bosnian or from the former Soviet States, because they tend to have a very 'laissez faire' attitude towards life, but the ones from the Middle East and Gulf States, and ASEAN - its an all inclusive thing imposing across all areas of life and conduct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I think you've got it mixed up there. :)

dermo888 wrote: »
    Maybe you know very secular Muslims, probably of Lebanese/Turkish/Bosnian or from the former Soviet States, because they tend to have a very 'laissez faire' attitude towards life, but the ones from the Middle East and Gulf States, and ASEAN - its an all inclusive thing imposing across all areas of life and conduct.

Any Arab lad I've met over the years was a hoor for gambling and drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Ipso wrote: »
    What if the cud begat the hoof?

Theyre to be stoned i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Ah grand lads the Arabs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

And a penchant for buggery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Why do homophobes and bigots in general use religion to excuse their disgusting and callous behavior? It’s pathetic and as far removed from my understanding of the term “Christian” as possible.

Maybe too, ask Saudi Arabia on their exact views?
    Instead of some random individual in Ohio.

They (SA) also currently sit upon United Nations 'Human Rights' Council.
    Assume the recent 'off with his head (x37) public showcase' was overlooked?

Of course it didn't feature much on Skynews (may be sponsor€d by Q-airways).

• Site Banned Posts: 160 ✭✭dermo888

Thats once they get out from under the supervisory restrictions of the society they're living in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

hcf500 wrote:

Holy mac, that's some mouthful of baloney.

Generalise a whole race! Well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Religion is often used to bash transgender people too. If religion wasn't around everyone no matter how different they are would have a better quality of life.

TCM wrote: »
    Holy mac, that's some mouthful of baloney.

That's a great argument!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yep bash the christians for hating the gays but be very careful not to mention Islam where in certain countries they would be arrested, whipped or killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

klaaaz wrote: »
    Religion is often used to bash transgender people too. If religion wasn't around everyone no matter how different they are would have a better quality of life.

Alas no, ye'll always have bigots.

• Site Banned Posts: 51 ✭✭Brendan Delaney

True the left will bend over for Islam.

Welcome to clown world.

Generalise a whole race! Well done!

I was countering the generalising they are all devout and prone to sharia law. Just the few I've met. Never said I met them all. Also God told me so....

Yep bash the christians for hating the gays but be very careful not to mention Islam where in certain countries they would be arrested, whipped or killed.

It's context. A comedian will make fun of himself or a majority, because it's not seen as mean spirited. Picking on a minority often a repressed minority, not so much.
    True the left will bend over for Islam.

Welcome to clown world.

Which left would this be Fine Gael or the Republican party? The left run f*** all.
    Keep voting in the same shams and blaming parties on 5% or below for ruining things ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

The donor gave to St Jude Children’s Research hospital instead of this specific family in Ohio. It’ll do good there also.

The state of Ohio who can find hundreds of millions for sports venues for football franchises couldn’t or wouldn’t pay $7,600

Sure wasn't the Prophet Muhammad homosexual?

He was a paedophile anyway.

That's not true

Wasn't his wife seven years old?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Which left would this be Fine Gael or the Republican party? The left run f*** all.

Some people are so far to the right that they view everything, including the centre-right, as 'the left'.

That's not true

Actually it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,794 ✭✭✭jmreire

dermo888 wrote: »

I've drank many a pint ( and many local brew's too ) with Muslims from the state's you mention..... Lebanese/Turkish/Bosnian/ Chechnya or from the former Soviet States. No problem what so ever, and even from states a bit nearer to and in the Middle East, but these ones would be drinking behind closed door's....But all of them, no matter where they came from, loved any kind of card game, or horse / car racing etc. And I'm pretty sure that they were not averse to betting a few bob either !!!

Actually it is.

Aisha was betrothed to Muhammad at the age of 6 or 7. They did not wed until her teens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭trashcan

Theyre to be stoned i think

No one is to stone anyone until I blow this whistle, even, and I want to make this absolutely clear, even if they do say Jehovah.

Why do homophobes and bigots in general use religion to excuse their disgusting and callous behavior? It’s pathetic and as far removed from my understanding of the term “Christian” as possible.

A fundamentalist Evangelical Christian woman in Ohio who pledged $7,500 towards the treatment of a gravely Ill toddler with advanced cancer retracted her donation when she learned that the child’s parents were a lesbian couple.

Story here:
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-7001183/Homophobic-donor-withdraws-7-600-donation-cancer-stricken-toddler-realizing-parents-lesbians.html

Is that the same place where you can find the Westboro Baptist Church?? What ever they call themselves, they are about as far away from Christianity as it'd possible to get....what is the sexual preference of the parents got to do with an innocent child??? They have it wrong anyway.

Aisha was betrothed to Muhammad at the age of 6 or 7. They did not wed until her teens

Mohammad married Aisha when she was 6 years of age, and had sex with her when she was 9 years old. Way before her teens. She was the daughter of his best friend, Baghdadi, ( Which is why the leader of isis took that name for the caliphate )

Actually it is.

He liked them young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Islam informs every aspect of a person's life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

LGBT movement ( not ordinary gay people) are part of the political - cultural left, Islam is a sacred cow of the cultural left

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    LGBT movement ( not ordinary gay people) are part of the political - cultural left, Islam is a sacred cow of the cultural left

It must be scary living in your world where even those looking that minorities get fair treatment are the enemy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 473 ✭✭Pissartist

A fundamentalist Evangelical Christian woman in Ohio who pledged $7,500 towards the treatment of a gravely Ill toddler with advanced cancer retracted her donation when she learned that the child’s parents were a lesbian couple.

Story here:
    https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-7001183/Homophobic-donor-withdraws-7-600-donation-cancer-stricken-toddler-realizing-parents-lesbians.html

So it's ok for you to judge their beliefs ?

It must be scary living in your world where even those looking that minorities get fair treatment are the enemy.

Muslims aren't a minority, there's about 1.8 billion of them give or take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Well that’s a ridiculous generalisation.

Tell us more about these bigots? :rolleyes:

No religious person should ever be let anywhere near a position of authority IMO.

It's context. A comedian will make fun of himself or a majority, because it's not seen as mean spirited.

I see, so you think you’re a comedian and therefore your particular flavour of bigotry should be perfectly understood, you might even argue it’s perfectly reasonable.

Nah, still sounds like you’re trying to excuse your own bigotry, which is from my perspective fairly mean spirited anyway, but I wouldn’t throw you off a building for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Muslims aren't a minority, there's about 1.8 billion of them give or take.

Unless they've a stout swilling rasher chewing sect, they're a minority here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

Ah sorry, so she was only 13 when he was ****ing her ....

Great so! not a peadophile then, thanks for clearing that up!! :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

You have to go a lot deeper than religion to find the reasons why homosexuals have always suffered discrimination.

I think it comes down to base human instinct. Our main function on earth, like every animal , is to reproduce and continue the line. Anything which deviates from that is viewed with suspicion or in some cases outright contempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

mikemac2 wrote: »
    The donor gave to St Jude Children’s Research hospital instead of this specific family in Ohio. It’ll do good there also.

The state of Ohio who can find hundreds of millions for sports venues for football franchises couldn’t or wouldn’t pay $7,600

That's a shíte name for a hospital. St. Jude is the patron saint of lost causes! Someone was trolling big time!

First they came for the socialists...