Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Instagram, gyms and mental illness

• 27-04-2019 2:27pm
    Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭

I find it difficult to browse instagram without thinking there are a lot of mentally ill people on there. You get the stories in the media every so often about someone who has curated the "perfect" life on instagram yet they a deeply depressed and unhappy.

There's a chain of gyms near me and they are full of people who spend hours, and I mean hours, hanging around the place taking selfies for instagram. Some of the poses they pull... :pac: Their instagram pages are almost solely selfies, posed and curated to portray themselves in a certain way. The same gym promotes supplements to the point where you'd probably be ****ting pure protein and Monster energy drinks ffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I just post random interesting pics of nothing in particular, don't follow or am followed by anybody I know I real life. In all its a bit pointless to be honest.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Balanadan wrote: »
    I find it difficult to browse instagram without thinking there are a lot of mentally ill people on there. You get the stories in the media every so often about someone who has curated the "perfect" life on instagram yet they a deeply depressed and unhappy.

There's a chain of gyms near me and they are full of people who spend hours, and I mean hours, hanging around the place taking selfies for instagram. Some of the poses they pull... :pac: Their instagram pages are almost solely selfies, posed and curated to portray themselves in a certain way. The same gym promotes supplements to the point where you'd probably be ****ting pure protein and Monster energy drinks ffs.

81538fe36b5ea96227ed2513b1c9355b92ce025e5f6c1beffc81c828c4e04c82.jpg

• Site Banned Posts: 73 ✭✭Jimmy_oc1998

There's one massive thing people want in life and that is to feel a sense of importance. When someone likes a picture of you on instagram you feel important that someone else is impressed or is interested in you.

It's also a case of showing off too, knowing others will be jealous of your likes or that your topless selfie is getting liked by a bunch of hot women.

They're all twats.

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

mzungu wrote: »
    81538fe36b5ea96227ed2513b1c9355b92ce025e5f6c1beffc81c828c4e04c82.jpg

you-want-some-i-give-it-ya.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

The internet is on its last few years anyway. social media is very destructive the sooner they shut the internet down the better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Gym photos I can't deal with. But I do a lot of running in different places so I post a lot of selfies in difference (nice) locations. Then there's photos from my Judo competitions too.

But pouting duck faces and arses is probably a mental illness I agree

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Gym photos I can't deal with. But I do a lot of running in different places so I post a lot of selfies in difference (nice) locations. Then there's photos from my Judo competitions too.

Didn't you say a few hours ago that you once posted a picture of your arse on Facebook?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Curated?

It's the same picture. In the same pose, in the same gym, in the same gymshark leggings, Nike runners and big headphones. Endlessly the same.
    Woop de f*ck, you have a huge arse.

Same with the lads lifting weights in tank tops, baseball hats and headphones.
    It's a uniform at this stage.

We live in a very superficial time, but it's very possible to remove yourself entirely from it. Just stay away from that side of Instagram and most of reality TV and you're fine.

• Site Banned Posts: 328 ✭✭ogsjw

I find it difficult to browse instagram

Best to not do so then, or curate who you're following. I got rid of my Facebook and switched to Pinterest for something to scroll on; couldn't be happier. It keeps track of what I'm adding to my lists and gives me more of that.

Yes; there is a huge market for shallow ****e on the internet, we're truly fecked as a species in my opinion. Maybe instead of annoying bumps and notches, phones should just get rid of selfie cameras altogether. The world is becoming increasingly self-obsessed with surface level issues while worse and worse people pull society's strings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,812 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

I regularly see this sh1te in the gym; in one case I was on the treadmill a while back, girl comes in and jumps on the one beside me which I only noticed at first because there was about 10 other ones free...urinal rules apply here:pac:

Anyway, she set it to 16, 17 and then 18 km/h...grand you might say only she didnt run at all on it, took a photo of the screen at each pace and walked off to use the cable machine for arse rows or whatever:pac:

Lads are just as bad, loading bars up...photo then stripping it and lifting a smaller weight if they bother actually lifting it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

I must have the wrong, or right, friends as all they post is pictures of their dinner and pets.

Why not just post a picture of the scenery?..why do you have to stick your stupid head in the corner of it?..

I was actually going to do a series of photos a few years ago where I just got one selfie like picture of myself and stuck it in the corner of a load of random shots.. like, the Taj Mahal..on the moon etc..
    Didn't though, just in case it went viral..

But yeah, on topic.. yeah, we're just becoming more superficial across the board.. everything is done with how it comes across on social media in mind.. even just everyday expression..it's an act..
    There doesn't seem to be much genuine communication happening anymore..
    You would wonder what sort of effect it will have in the longer term..
    Probably just lead to a population of narcissistic sociopaths..

Witcher wrote: »
    I regularly see this sh1te in the gym; in one case I was on the treadmill a while back, girl comes in and jumps on the one beside me which I only noticed at first because there was about 10 other ones free...urinal rules apply here:pac:

Anyway, she set it to 16, 17 and then 18 km/h...grand you might say only she didnt run at all on it, took a photo of the screen at each pace and walked off to use the cable machine for arse rows or whatever:pac:

Lads are just as bad, loading bars up...photo then stripping it and lifting a smaller weight if they bother actually lifting it at all.
    Maybe she was researching the treadmill's settings so she can plot a good training routine for herself.

People love casting scorn on the Instagram generation for being vain gymrats but at least they're encouraging a lifestyle better than being "healthy at every size." Promoting obesity, in other words.

Why not just post a picture of the scenery?..why do you have to stick your stupid head in the corner of it?..

I was actually going to do a series of photos a few years ago where I just got one selfie like picture of myself and stuck it in the corner of a load of random shots.. like, the Taj Mahal..on the moon etc..
    Didn't though, just in case it went viral..
    It wouldn't have.

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    People love casting scorn on the Instagram generation for being vain gymrats but at least they're encouraging a lifestyle better than being "healthy at every size." Promoting obesity, in other words.

No one ever promoted obesity though..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

In my day the only way show off was to take your top off when out cutting the grass in the front garden, give all the housewife's on the road something to look at. Now it's a picture for the world to see

Maybe she was researching the treadmill's settings so she can plot a good training routine for herself.

Yeah, everyone uses treadmills for that, photos of the pace counter are critical:pac:

I'm something of a keen runner myself and whenever I'm using the treadmill I'm going too fast to be looking at what my neighbour's doing on their machine. You might get some decent results yourself if you spent a little bit more time worrying about your own pace counter rather than someone else's.

Good lad, your medal is in the post:pac:

Some of us aren't gasping for breath when running so can do more than just focusing on not passing out...might want to work on that yourself before the Olympics:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Not just limited to gym junkies though. At least some of them may have a business to promote, especially as "personal trainers" have really exploded in popularity lately.

It's the women that share every single facet of their young children's lives on social media that are definitely mentally ill. I have posted before on other threads on AH about someone I know that just cannot stop sharing EVERYTHING about her toddler. They were away on holiday recently, and rather than switch off and enjoy the down-time, she literally had album-loads of photos documenting the trip from the perspective of "look at me, I have a kid..." Inconsequential "milestones" have been shared since that poor tyke came into this world.

And I know she isn't an isolated case. It's widespread, and I find it extremely strange.

But like, even from the language you're using we can tell you are one of the people this thread is giving out about..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Most modern Ireland thread title ever. If there had been something about Belgian stout and vegan cheese we'd have had to shut down.

But like, even from the language you're using we can tell you are one of the people this thread is giving out about..
    But like, what are you on about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

[I am 28 and I have 78k in my current account.

I rent and have a salary of 45k for the last 12 months and my account has increased by 24k in the last 12 months.

How am I doing? Is it common to have this much saved when on this salary?
    There's one massive thing people want in life and that is to feel a sense of importance. When someone likes a picture of you on instagram you feel important that someone else is impressed or is interested in you.

It's also a case of showing off too, knowing others will be jealous of your likes or that your topless selfie is getting liked by a bunch of hot women.

They're all twats.

Lol

But like, what are you on about?

The whole going to the gym to "get results", as opposed to staying fit or whatever.. it's the whole fit-fam language, like..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,176 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Social Media is driving people nuts. A lot of vanity and self promotion causing insecurity amongst people. In relation to the gym I couldn't give a toss what other people do. I am there to get in and get out. But I was wondering why do some users were a heavy tracksuit and a hat when working out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

billyhead wrote: »
    But I was wondering why do some users were a heavy tracksuit and a hat when working out?

Possibly trying to cut weight for a competition?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 LorelliPop!

It's a bit sad if they are only going to the gym in order to share it and oversharing or too much of anything is a bad thing but what else do people expect from social media and one like instagram that only shares pictures and videos? It's not a natural form of communication.

If they dont post something then the sites wouldn't exist and most people don't lead particularly extraordinary lives or travel around the world every five minutes so people are going to share the things they are doing or interested in like going to the gym. Plus just because someone posts mainly one thing doesn't mean that they don't have other interests or things going on that they don't share. The actual posts they choose to share publicly might be superficial but it doesn't necessarily mean the person overall is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Poor old Narcissus would be turning in his watery grave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I know a lad, he’s sound enough but his Instagram is poison. Topless workouts, in fairness he’s built but it’s not naturally gained at all. His diet is appalling judging by the other posts. Most annoying of all, is his stories, always in the car and behind the wheel whilst driving. He always has the merc logo on the steering wheel shown too. It’s an A-Class, buddy let’s just settle down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I left my last gym because of these types.

I usually went after work to blitz through a workout.
    It got too difficult to get it done on time as theyre were always groups of these people pricking around equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Look, the sooner all this instant social media bull**** is put in the bin, the better it will be for all.

It was a grand enough novelty back in the day but's had it's time now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

If you're not sweating buckets in the gym, then you're not doing it right
    Not very instagrammable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Tomas81

Have you seen people set up pages for their child who is 7 months old or their dog.

Also if you call your child After a fashion designer but live in Crumlin your a grade A Arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I use social media to mask deep-seated insecurity and inner turmoil by post pics of myself doing interesting stuff in exotic locations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

f9dc015ec2e6bf231992f025479d5fb2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭ArchXStanton

Was only watching this earlier after someone close I think has depression and what could be the cause of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

I must have the wrong, or right, friends as all they post is pictures of their dinner and pets.

I was thinking similar my friends don't use any of it to communicate. We search the phone book on the phone and talk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,019 ✭✭✭I see sheep

He's a faaag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Someone mentioned earlier all the personal trainers that are at it now using Inst agam and other social media. Ironic thing is they are all trying to promote themselves as different. Many of them have a 'story' as to why they now do personal training and it often seems to focus around insecurities, eating disorders or mental health issues. Having lived the nightmare is not always the best route to helping others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I was thinking similar my friends don't use any of it to communicate. We search the phone book on the phone and talk

Talking on the phone sounds hideous. Do none of you have WhatsApp?

It's self-indulgent to a degree that all would have felt to be ashamed and embarrassed to engage in 10 years ago. It fuels a culture of vanity and judging yourself and others harshly by appearance, which is a bad thing. These people KNOW that posting such pictures of themselves makes other people feel jealous/inferior (just like seeing other peoples' physique pictures would make them feel if they weren't in the top 1% of physiques) but they do it anyway because they are selfish and think "if others are going to make me feel bad, i'm going to strike back and make them feel worse". How about they be the change they want to see in the world and opt out of posting pictures of themselves on instagram? Because the reality is, nobody wants to see pictures of them standing in a gym, taking pictures of their physique that they self-absorbedly spend hours in the gym and in the kitchen cultivating. Also, these people typically eat huge quantities of meat which again illustrates their selfishness.

It's not worth putting in the effort to be ripped nowadays anyway - 15 years ago, yes, because it was actually rare and you enjoyed enormous benefits from it, but nowadays the benefits are few because of how common it is and how bombarded we all are by seeing pictures of such people on instagram. You have average guys going around with bodies that would have put 1980s bodybuilders to shame. In counterbalance to all this, in my opinion this trend is not as intense as it was about 2015-2017, when it seemed that every lad had big swollen biceps from lifting weights.

Also - they all have the same haircut, why is this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 814 ✭✭✭debok

It's the ones like Roz Purcell spouting on about my body image and how she changed her life. Every picture she has then seems to be pointed slightly at her camel toe. She changed her whole life when she started going out with son of wealthy wealthy family. Wonder did that have something to do with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

No one ever promoted obesity though..

you should watch more of the internet , it's a big sub culture..even irish groups on insta celebrating their fatness.

Good lad, your medal is in the post:pac:

Some of us aren't gasping for breath when running so can do more than just focusing on not passing out...might want to work on that yourself before the Olympics:pac:

well you probably aren't working out hard enough

don't mind them lazy folk Hogan, just remember their lazy arses keep your gym open with their fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

Was only watching this earlier after someone close I think has depression and what could be the cause of it

This is a brilliant video - thanks very much for sharing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

Zuckerbergs legacy, Facebook and Instagram. He'll go down as one of the greats c#@ts of all time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

debok wrote: »
    Every picture she has then seems to be pointed slightly at her camel toe.

Jayzis, the clothes in the gym these days leave practically nothing to the imagination. It's even more apparent in the past 18 months for whatever reason.

There's an awful lot of talk of the supreme importance of self love from many of these blatant narcissists, something they're obviously not scrimping on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

threeball wrote: »
    Zuckerbergs legacy, Facebook and Instagram. He'll go down as one of the greats c#@ts of all time.

And one of the richest.

He didn't force anyone to use his products.
    I use neither. Have never used them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

These guys on Instagram may be narcissistic but that’s not usually associated with depression. It may be causing depression on those trying to keep up with the Instagram Joneses.