Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Puppy Farmer jailed over shocking animal cruelty loses appeal

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

F*** him.

I hope he's buried in prison.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

Still dusgusted he only got 3 years... should be far longer. The law is too lenient on animal abuse and cruelty.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,193 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    My own view is that this sort of discussion really lets boards.ie down.

Given the tragic circumstances of his family, which affect not just the guy himself but also his wider family - I dont know if he has other kids, but if he did - given the grief and trauma they are living with - and they were then shown this thread....which in social media age they probably will be.

Well if you cant take the consequences dont do the crime. If he hadn't tortured animals it wouldn't be being talked about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I don't think animal cruelty is taken as seriously as it should be. This is a step in the right direction and a benchmark for future cases. Hopefully sentences will get harsher as time goes on and will become the norm.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭holliehobbie

Grayson wrote: »
    Apparently the puppy breeding industry in this country is horrible. It's just loads of animal rights abuses. And there's a ridiculous amount of inbreeding to keep the different lines pure.

I also don't get the desire to own a breed which has genetic defects. At this point in time it should be illegal to own a dog that has been bred to have defects. When you see the difficulties that animals like bulldogs have it's just horrible.

Was at the vets collecting our cat after she had her neutering surgery and I could hear a poor dog gasping for breath. It was a little pug with breathing difficulties due to the shape of its face and the very warm weather we had last summer. Our kitty herself was handed into the vets surgery along with her two brothers when she was about 7 weeks old which is better than throwing her into the Liffey or leaving her on the side of the road anyway. The vet reckoned they had been in a house as they were socialised and in good health but why was the mammy not neutered in the first place?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

I posted this earlier but got no response.

“Does the county council actually visit the premises before issuing the license? There are also rules about the export of dogs. Are these enforced?”

In Carlow, the county council contract the inspection work to the ISPCA, two ISPCA staff (under contract to Carlow CC) inspected the premises and granted an operating licence 6 months before the Garda/ISPCA raid. The glaring flaw in the inspection process is that they give prior notice of their visit. Vets have to inspect the dogs for export and issue pet passports, this work was being done by local vets up to the time of closure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

two ISPCA staff (under contract to Carlow CC) inspected the premises and granted an operating licence 6 months before the Garda/ISPCA raid.
    Eh? This makes no sense though. ISPCA staff granted the license, and then different ISPCA staff initiated the prosecution?

It says in the newspaper report...
    Kavanagh was sentenced to three years imprisonment and ordered to pay €35,000 towards the ISPCA’s costs, which totalled €59,149,

It seems its not only the UK dog shelters that are doing well out of this business.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Fakediamond

recedite wrote: »
    Eh? This makes no sense though. ISPCA staff granted the license, and then different ISPCA staff initiated the prosecution?

It says in the newspaper report...

It seems its not only the UK dog shelters that are doing well out of this business.

I totally agree. I feel very disillusioned about the whole dog welfare “industry “ after this case. Irish dog rescues also make money out of shipping dogs abroad.