Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone else enjoy being single?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Charles Ingles

Any woman over 30 that's single with no children is absolutely miserable.
    I know a few they become very angry and bitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

jimgoose wrote: »
    That still wouldn't preclude revisiting the arrangements made at the time of the divorce - property, lump-sum payments, etc. - where financial circumstances change significantly.

So let's say a couple marry in their 20s. They break up and have no significant assets, debts or kids and they agree not to use pension provisions etc and go their separate ways without any fuss. A completely uncomplicated divorce by consent.

How would it be reasonable if say the ex wife 10 years later had built up say an IT company and then sold it, that her ex partner who had absolutely no involvement could then demand a share?

That makes no sense. It doesn't seem fair or reasonable at all.

If the ex partner subsequently remarried do those rights even extinguish?! Or can they just legally have a sort of almost bigamous claim to two or more people's assets for the rest of their lives?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,215 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

So you know a few women and have made a mass generalization of billions of women based on that.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I think you mean 'some' women rather than 'any' woman.

I know plenty who are just as comfortable within their own skin as those with children, I also know women with children who simultaneously love them and feel somewhat trapped by their responsibilities.

Same goes for men. Some are extremely bitter about not having created a family and look to blame an ex for making them distrust women.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’d say a lot of single lads have the mickey nearly pulled off themselves with all the **** they are doing.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anteayer wrote: »
    So let's say a couple marry in their 20s. They break up and have no significant assets, debts or kids and they agree not to use pension provisions etc and go their separate ways without any fuss. A completely uncomplicated divorce by consent.

How would it be reasonable if say the ex wife 10 years later had built up say an IT company and then sold it, that her ex partner who had absolutely no involvement could then demand a share?

That makes no sense. It doesn't seem fair or reasonable at all.

If the ex partner subsequently remarried do those rights even extinguish?! Or can they just legally have a sort of almost bigamous claim to two or more people's assets for the rest of their lives?

What I'm saying is, a scenario such as you describe probably wouldn't happen - there would be no sense, meaning or equity in reopening such a divorce. There would be nothing to correct, regardless of any changed circumstances.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

I’d say a lot of single lads have the mickey nearly pulled off themselves with all the **** they are doing.

Single in this context implies not in a long term relationship, not that someone doesn't casually date.

Also, you really believe those that are married never treat themselves? Male or female?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Anteayer

jimgoose wrote: »
    What I'm saying is, a scenario such as you describe probably wouldn't happen - there would be no sense, meaning or equity in reopening such a divorce.

That's what he was warned could happen, if the law were stretched to its theoretical limits.

I assume you would have to convince a family law judge that the reason for reopening it was reasonable and equitable and it's not just an automatic right to do so without any need to make a case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Can you confirm one line of your post

Are you saying that " the state doesn't side with women" in the event of marriage break-up?

No.

Can you give some examples as to how exactly it does?

If a man and a woman are married with no children and break up they come out equally.

If a man and a woman are married with children and they break up then it is decided who is going to be the main carer for the children with the other person being awarded access or shared custody etc... Maintenance is also agreed.

Usually the woman ends up with custody (but not always), but whoever does then also stays in the family home - which makes sense for the children. Is this what you perceive as the state siding with the woman?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,174 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anteayer wrote: »
    ...I assume you would have to convince a family law judge that the reason for reopening it was reasonable and equitable and it's not just an automatic right to do so without any need to make a case?

I'd be fairly sure this is the case. I know one particular judge socially - a great big bear of a man like Albus Dumbledore gone wrong - and he doesn't hesitate to use the "fuck off out of my court and don't you dare come back with this shite!" legal maxim. :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Single in this context implies not in a long term relationship, not that someone doesn't casually date.

Also, you really believe those that are married never treat themselves? Male or female?

Listen, there’s no doubt that most lads treat themselves to an auld ‘party with Palm and her 5 sisters’ the odd time, or a bird spends a bit of time ‘ringing Satan’s doorbell’. All I’m saying is that a lot of single lads mightn’t have the desire to go out and meet someone as they are emotionally exhausted from all the **** they are doing - probably to gonzo porn.

So you know a few women and have made a mass generalization of billions of women based on that.

No just the women I know through work.
    Career women only interested in themselves until they hit 30 realise they have been wasting their life and are going to left on the shelf.
    Panic sets in drop their standards in the hope of getting a man.
    We are here to reproduce

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,215 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Career women only interested in themselves until they hit 30 realise they have been wasting their life and are going to left on the shelf.
    We are here to reproduce

That's a pile of nonsense to be honest. There are plenty of women who are more than happy to remain childless.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

We are here to reproduce

Resistance is futile.

We are here to reproduce

I would like to subscribe to your newsletter.

I've seen a lot of people do this in an effort to rationalize away the fact that they're unattractive...............

There's bucketloads of seriously unattractive people in relationships.

That's a pile of nonsense to be honest. There are plenty of women who are more than happy to remain childless.

No I don't agree.
    They end up getting a cat or dog calling themselves the pet's mommy.
    Married women with children in general are much happier

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

We are here to reproduce

Not remotely true. Most people find themselves single in their 30's because they spent most of their 20's in a relationship with the wrong person, which subsequently ended.
    I can't think of one person I know, male or female, over the age of 30, who spent their whole 20's (a decade) purposely avoiding any and all kinds of relationships in order to focus on their career.

Plenty of people decide not to have children and lead happy, content lives. Your post is full of wildly inaccurate baseless claims.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

• Registered Users Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

No I don't agree.

I have to agree with you. My mother's aunt was a spinster and let me tell you she was the most spiteful person Ive ever come across. She resented my mother for having kids and made her life a misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

:confused::confused:

You aren't one of these red pill / blue pill gobshítes are you?

I think there is too much bolloxology about "power" in relationships - if your goal in a relationship is to attain power to use over the other person, it's a dysfunctional relationship and you'd be much better off out of it - whether you are the one with the power or not.

Thinking like that is the sign of an unhealthy mind in my opinion.

I have no desire to control my missus, I'm sure as fúck not going to let her control me. That doesn't mean you just go do whatever the hell you want, same as you just don't go take whatever you want in a shop - there are consequences to actions, the price of the action is the payment of the consequence.

I would very much like to bang the one across the road with the porn star body - but not at the expense of hurting my missus, or possibly upending my kids lives. It's a price I wouldn't be willing to pay - that's just reality, not control.

I choose to not do it, my hand is not forced!

I didn't refer to infidelity once

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

No I don't agree.

What about single men? Have you found this with them too or is it just women?

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Not remotely true. Most people find themselves single in their 30's because they spent most of their 20's in a relationship with the wrong person, which subsequently ended.
    I can't think of one person I know, male or female, over the age of 30, who spent their whole 20's (a decade) purposely avoiding any and all kinds of relationships in order to focus on their career.

Plenty of people decide not to have children and lead happy, content lives. Your post is full of wildly inaccurate baseless claims.

Just what I've experienced in my life, sorry if my opinion is different to yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Any woman over 30 that's single with no children is absolutely miserable. I know a few they become very angry and bitter

I know a few and they've great lives. They are the type of people who don't take life too serious, work 9-5 and spend the rest of their time travelling, going to fitness classes etc. Really nice people.

Women who focus on their careers and hit a brick wall in their thirties when they realise that they want to have a relationship and family are a different kettle of fish. They tend to be intense people by nature, who want it all now and most men are going to steer clear of that. One of my OH's friends falls into this category. Late thirties now and she's set herself the goal of finding a husband and having kids by the age of 40. She started dating, kicking guys to the curb for silly reasons and the supply chain has dried up now. She a right pain to be round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

We are here to reproduce
    Which is it? Miserable, angry and bitter or panicking? Do they tell you they have been wasting their lives and are going to be left on the shelf?

Of course they don't. What you wrote is just generic and is to goad.

Having a career is run of the mill nowadays - I think it's something to do with that whole needing to earn an income thing. What defines "only interested in themselves"? Not being in a relationship?

And early 30s nowadays is a standard age at which people settle down. You're talking about it as if it's late 30s/40s - are you very young?

But anyway, people with a particular bias and hostility will see whatever they want to see.

You should clarify that. Saying men are better off single and women have all the power in relationships (depends, but you specifically mean legally) is a bit woman hatey. Also, you're married/in a relationship aren't you?

I forgot that stating facts constitutes " hate" these days.

grahambo wrote: »
    What he means is, if the relationship goes south and there are kids involved the Man is generally screwed if he is someone that's put a lot of time and effort into his career.

He's stuck paying maintenance for each kid until the youngest kid is 18 (21 if they go to college)

Ultimately the combined wealth of the relationship is split, with the Lions share going to whoever has the kids. If there is a mortgage etc involved then getting that sorted is difficult too.

Men tend to go for Jobs that pay more where as women tend to go for job that they like more which is a big factor in pay disparity.

I'm going through this right now (wasn't married), but bought a house and had a kid with a woman, she ended up being with someone else and now I'm stuck with less than 36 hours a week with my kid and I'm handing over €600 a month, plus it's costing me €150 a month in logistics just to see him.

I don't hate women, but I defo won't ever get into a serious relationship with one ever again. Given what can go wrong, there is to much risk involved and I don't see the point.

I've a son and a daughter, genuinely hope my son is gay as the state is openly prejudiced against straight men and its a celebration according to many

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I have to agree with you. My mother's aunt was a spinster and let me tell you she was the most spiteful person Ive ever come across. She resented my mother for having kids and made her life a misery.
    You "have to" agree with that woman hater because of ONE woman you know?! :D

I know several very happy, attractive, easy-going, well adjusted women over 30 also, but no - let's just view women negatively here.

Again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

We are here to reproduce

You sound like a bloke I used to work with.

He thought all women were just baby mad too. Funny.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Just what I've experienced in my life, sorry if my opinion is different to yours

Any thoughts on why the men over 30 all find themselves single? Are they bitter and twisted too or is that behaviour just found in the women?