Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor Mcgregor arrested again

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    I love the lads in here taking the piss out of Khabib’s wife, like they’re one of McGregor’s “crew” too. :D:D:D

Not me. I’m an equal opportunity pisstaker :pac::D

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭jbt123

mad muffin wrote: »
    Why did Kebab marry a towel? :confused:

Shish...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭Greentopia

work wrote: »
    ....Its going to end so well for him!...

I said this about a year ago on another thread about him and incidents like this only confirms my opinion: he will end up broke, in jail or dead in a few years time with all his money gone up his nose, completely spent on his profligate lifestyle or gambled away. I suppose I could add on child support payments too considering recent stories :pac:

It's a familiar story of many from his line of work and background who come into a lot of money. To be honest they don't have the education or life skills to be able to make sensible decisions about their life or their wealth and think success is how many Rolex watches they own. Unfortunately he also seems to lack the self awareness to understand this. He has the money to quit and get himself a proper education, go to therapy or counselling and learn the kind of socialisation skills he obviously never did as a child so that he has a good value system to pass on to his kids.

Which unfortunately for him and his child(ren?) will be the least likely outcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Greentopia wrote: »
    I said this about a year ago on another thread about him and incidents like this only confirms my opinion: he will end up broke, in jail or dead in a few years time with all his money gone up his nose, completely spent on his profligate lifestyle or gambled away. I suppose I could add on child support payments too considering recent stories :pac:

It's a familiar story of many from his line of work and background who come into a lot of money. To be honest they don't have the education or life skills to be able to make sensible decisions about their life or their wealth and think success is how many Rolex watches they own. Unfortunately he also seems to lack the self awareness to understand this. He has the money to quit and get himself a proper education, go to therapy or counselling and learn the kind of socialisation skills he obviously never did as a child so that he has a good value system to pass on to his kids.

Which unfortunately for him and his child(ren?) will be the least likely outcome.

Nature or nurture.

We all like to think we control our minds and destiny.

To be honest we don’t.

If he does like you seem to be insinuating who’s fault is it?

Mental health is a fragile thing no matter who you are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

He will die penniless and a stranger to his own children, and they strangers to each other. I would also look at his complete lack of a mature support system, his family and friends seem content with watching him fall off the precipice so long as the money keeps coming in. Users the lot of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,354 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I wouldn’t be surprised if the children are taken into care at some stage.

Especially so if he is behind bars

He will die penniless and a stranger to his own children, and they strangers to each other. I would also look at his complete lack of a mature support system, his family and friends seem content with watching him fall off the precipice so long as the money keeps coming in. Users the lot of them.

But we will all laugh.

Humans are strange creatures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭upinsmoke

I wouldn’t be surprised if the children are taken into care at some stage.

Especially so if he is behind bars

That's never going to happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,950 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

But we will all laugh.

Humans are strange creatures.

One of the most disheartening things about human nature. Begrudgery and seeing others fail or fall from grace.

I've often wondered why many people are like that. I guess at the end of the day it's a dog eat dog world.

upinsmoke wrote: »
    That's never going to happen

Why so sure of that ?

ChikiChiki wrote:
    One of the most disheartening things about human nature. Begrudgery and seeing others fail or fall from grace.

I don't think that I would be classed as a begrudger or someone that likes to see someone fail.

I do like people to get what they deserve and for all the hard work and dedication he put into his career at the beginning he got that.

and judging by his actions over the past couple of years he is going to get what he deserves from that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

ChikiChiki wrote: »

I've often wondered why many people are like that. I guess at the end of the day it's a dog eat dog world.

If the allegations are true then it would be good to see him behind bars for a long stretch. Justice rather than begrudgery

zapitastas wrote: »
    If the allegations are true then it would be good to see him behind bars for a long stretch. Justice rather than begrudgery

And if they are not???

Seems we don’t need judges or jury anymore.

Guilty as charged.

And if they are not???

Seems we don’t need judges or jury anymore.

Guilty as charged.

EVEN if he gets off the average joe soap will remember it and talk about it and his name will be tarnished for ever more

I think personally that’s the mildest outcome for em

EVEN if he gets off the average joe soap will remember it and talk about it and his name will be tarnished for ever more

Which is a horrible thing to happen to anyone.

Not sure guilty before innocent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭robwen

Yeah cause Mike Tyson can barely show his face in public these days

• Registered Users Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

ChikiChiki wrote: »

Begrudgery, he’s a prick and does t even appreciate the wealth he has.

Why do some people think he won’t end up broke, people have blown bigger fortunes than him over the years. His future now is just going to be criminal cases and lawsuits.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,567 ✭✭✭patmac

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Hilarious!
    And of course , the "liberals" are more upset over the joke, then his wife being forced to wear a sack on her wedding day.

Ffs you’ve really confused me now, I really find McGregors comment offensive but the fact that Khabib has made his wife cover her face on her wedding day has really upset me. I’m so offended by both I’m going to have to lie down. It’s not easy being a snowflake these days.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

McTapper made his name in the ufc by cutting a ton of weight just so he could fight lads that were way smaller/lighter than him.

The ufc is a farce.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,661 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Tilikum17 wrote:
    McTapper made his name in the ufc by cutting a ton of weight just so he could fight lads that were way smaller/lighter than him.
    Everybody cuts weight in Boxing and MMA. Well except fir heavyweights.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Everybody cuts weight in Boxing and MMA. Well except fir heavyweights.

Not as much as him. Christ the state of him before it weight ins.

If he started out in the weight class he should have.

This thread wouldn’t exist.

Farce

• Registered Users Posts: 4,396 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

He cut to the same weight as the people he was fighting. What's the issue?

Do you follow the ufc?

Nature or nurture.

We all like to think we control our minds and destiny.

To be honest we don’t.

If he does like you seem to be insinuating who’s fault is it?

Mental health is a fragile thing no matter who you are.

Those are big questions but I will say in my experience of living in a few other countries with differing education systems and some differing value systems than here I would come down more heavily on nurture being a deciding factor on how our lives turn out. Of course our genes play their part but bad genetic inheritance can be overridden to a certain degree with enough care, love and educational opportunities aligned with societal expectation of how one should behave as a normal functioning adult contributing to society.

I'm don't think it's any one persons fault entirely. You could blame his parents sure but they too are products of their upbringing and environment. His father and sister appear to aspire to follow the same blinged out lifestyle he does. If there is blame to be apportioned I would place it on Irish society itself and the neoliberal political choices we've made that brought working class communities like Crumlin and Finglas into being in the first place which creates the environment for people like McGregor to become what he is. I know lots of good people come from there too before you jump on me, I just mean they are places where people will be more likely to have differing value systems and a different upbringing than more affluent areas.

I do think though even at some point all thinking adults should have a moment of self realisation when they understand the choices they've made in life are harmful to themselves and others and that they need to get help if those choices are causing problems for themselves or others. The nature argument if you believe it doesn't completely absolve responsibility for our life choices.

Does he have mental health issues? I don't follow him that closely to know. What are they and if so has he always have them? if that's the case then of course that may account for some of his behavioural problems and mitigate some of the blame for his misconduct, depending on the nature of the illness.

I think his downfall is just all too sad and predictable whatever the reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,723 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Those are big questions but I will say in my experience of living in a few other countries with differing education systems and some differing value systems than here I would come down more heavily on nurture being a deciding factor on how our lives turn out. Of course our genes play their part but bad genetic inheritance can be overridden to a certain degree with enough care, love and educational opportunities aligned with societal expectation of how one should behave as a normal functioning adult contributing to society.

I'm don't think it's any one persons fault entirely. You could blame his parents sure but they too are products of their upbringing and environment. His father and sister appear to aspire to follow the same blinged out lifestyle he does. If there is blame to be apportioned I would place it on Irish society itself and the neoliberal political choices we've made that brought working class communities like Crumlin and Finglas into being in the first place which creates the environment for people like McGregor to become what he is. I know lots of good people come from there too before you jump on me, I just mean they are places where people will be more likely to have differing value systems and a different upbringing than more affluent areas.

I do think though even at some point all thinking adults should have a moment of self realisation when they understand the choices they've made in life are harmful to themselves and others and that they need to get help if those choices are causing problems for themselves or others. The nature argument if you believe it doesn't completely absolve responsibility for our life choices.

Does he have mental health issues? I don't follow him that closely to know. What are they and if so has he always have them? if that's the case then of course that may account for some of his behavioural problems and mitigate some of the blame for his misconduct, depending on the nature of the illness.

I think his downfall is just all too sad and predictable whatever the reason.

Scumbags will be scumbags

I agree 100%. I feel sorry for his children living in such chaos and dysfunction. The money will just make it worse, especially when it inevitably dwindles and they all start fighting for what's left. What chance will they have to turn out to be normal, well adjusted adults with a family like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    Do you follow the ufc?
    Do you?
    Max Holloway looks horrendous at the 145 cut
    Khabib struggles with the 155 cut
    Rumble somehow made 170 (or possibly 185, either way, a lot)
    Cormier struggles to make 205
    Etc

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    Farce

jaysus, he looks like a muscular O'Connell street zombie on the left, who'd bite your nose if you didn't heed their call and drop them 2 euro in passing.

477049.jpeg