Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Barlett wrote: »
    Thought we got a lot right today, we ran out of juice down the home stretch & we don’t have the subs - Jason Doherty & Brendan Harrison are missed. But immensely proud of the team , fair play to them , they keep giving us great days . Management & players should be proud of what they achieved. We were beaten by a better team & that’s ok , we didn’t give up & we’ll be back at it in 7 weeks. The dream never dies!

Allowed to train again from January the 15th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

It's tiredness/fatigue that causes the performance to dip by that few percent. Howards appearance off the bench allowed Fenton that extra space which is thrives in. Durcan going off gave Kilkenny space.

Good year overall for us.

I don't think it does. Yes Howard and Mannion are going to be a handful off the bench but Fenton et al were working hard throughout the game. They didn't make mistakes as the game progressed. I felt there was a little bit of panic involved tbh.

Agreed on the good year though. I don't think anyone expected the new faces to make such a smooth transition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Always thought as well that RoD would struggle against a proper team. Just that few cm too small and not strong enough to ride or break tackles. He's what I would term a 'nice' footballer.

Like eoin murchan

Squatman wrote: »
    Like eoin murchan

The Munch has pace, Ryan doesn't. Ryan can't sidestep a tackle, however he could be developed into the Dillon type player I thought Boland would become.

corny wrote: »
    The mistakes really racked up in the last quarter for Mayo.

Didn't look like it was fatigue because everyone was still moving well. Just lack of composure. Its a recipe for disaster against Dublin because their efficiency seems to be best when in the crunch minutes.

Most of those mistakes were from Coen.

No scores from Aiden, Conroy not great, McLaughlin dropping lots, some poor decisions from Loftus, Durkan going off. Just two of the starting mayo forwards scored. Lots of places that we were lacking, i think they could of beat us by 10 at the end if required but probably not too pushed at emphasizing the gap.

Disappointed with the level of fitness in the end, but they were basically against professional athletes.

Still a good performance, and probably a year or two early with this team. Still a few more gems required to build out this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Hard luck Mayo, ye lost to a great team, no shame in that.
    Look on the bright side at least Galway won today so the Dubs supply of players might be starting to dry up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

Allowed to train again from January the 15th.

I cant see it numbers in the 500s today and the Christmas travel hasn't kicked in yet expect very high numbers in the next few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭JimmyCorkhill

Dublin fan, commiserations to Mayo. Nearly always give us a really tough, tight game. Really pressurised us in the first half. I wasn't happy overall and thought Mayo would come at us in the first 10 of the second half, but they didnt really.

Soft goals, difference in the quality of the bench and some poor wides later in the game are the main reasons I would think for the overall difference.

Very impressed by that young 20 year old with the long hair.
    The first half you were dominating on the kickouts too and we were in trouble there.

Does Aidan O'Shea need to deliver more in the big games? Or is he just not as good as people make him out to be? I always expect more from him in these games & he invariably fails to deliver.

Hopefully you can unearth a couple more players for next year and those young players you have this season continue to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Girly Gal wrote: »
    Hard luck Mayo, ye lost to a great team, no shame in that.
    Look on the bright side at least Galway won today so the Dubs supply of players might be starting to dry up
    They had the second best u20 team this year and last year. They will gain more from their u20 team then 30 other counties. There won't ever be a period again where dublin run out of talent. With their systems in place and the resources to pick from its just not possible.

The positive thing is we were competitive with half a new team. The experience of Dublin told in the end, but the opportunity is there for them to be caught in the the next couple of years. The difference was the likes of McCarthy, Fenton, o Callaghan, Kilkenny, J Small and Howard off the bench in the second half. The newer players are not as yet showing the same level as those players did when they came though. And for much of today’s match Fenton was kept relatively under control. I think there may be a natural transition point coming for the Dubs, and think we may be getting in the position the take advantage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

The. Calculated risk is now past tense .

Did it work . Well yes and no.

We most definitely caused problems for cluxten and Fenton was amiss in the first half .

We coughed up the first goal . Almost sacrilegious.

Overall I’m happy as we weren’t the finished article . The coach training needs work as movement is not pre- empted .
    We need a proper forwards coach ( sorry Ciaran) and bring back Buckley . Ok I’ve said it but stop the messing around .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭All that fandango

I think there may be a natural transition point coming for the Dubs, and think we may be getting in the position the take advantage

That would be the ideal situation, but realistically how many more AIs are Dublin capable of winning? Will we have another good Mayo team pass us by yet again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

crossman47 wrote: »
    That's absolute rubbish. he couldn't do anything for the goals and his kick outs were excellent.

His kickouts were much improved but I don't believe you're being serious if you think he can't be doing better on the two goals. First one I could kinda understand but if he keeps straight he's head height with the ball. The second one he literally let's through his legs and would be slated at a Junior C standard.

Disappointed with the level of fitness in the end, but they were basically against professional athletes.

That’s a fact
    i think they could of beat us by 10 at the end if required but probably not too pushed at emphasizing the gap.

That’s one of the conspiracy theories doing the rounds that I’m buying into more. I can’t understand why they are against splitting, there are 1.5mill people in Dublin, less than 30 can make the panel. Splitting will mean 30 more young lads get a chance (and this could ripple to u20, minor, ladies etc), it’s good for the game in Dublin as well as giving the rest of the country a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

His kickouts were much improved but I don't believe you're being serious if you think he can't be doing better on the two goals. First one I could kinda understand but if he keeps straight he's head height with the ball. The second one he literally let's through his legs and would be slated at a Junior C standard.

You cannot fault Clarke for either goals..
    Slated at junior c? Ah come on now

We need a proper forwards coach ( sorry Ciaran) and bring back Buckley . Ok I’ve said it but stop the messing around .

Yip, eight forwards played, Cillian with two from play, O Donoghue with 2 from play and Coen 1 from play. Thats a long way from been good enough.

Not sure why O Donoghue was taken off so early, his replacement did nothing.

We kicked the ball into Cluxtons hands 4 times. Can't remember Dublin doing it once.

Are you for real? I'd be one of his biggest critics but tonight isn't the night to try and pin goals or kickouts on Clarkie. He was immense today.

Yip, eight forwards played, Cillian with two from play, O Donoghue with 2 from play and Coen 1 from play. Thats a long way from been good enough.

Not sure why O Donoghue was taken off so early, his replacement did nothing.

Someone has to come off I order to try something different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Can't see how you think Clarke had a nightmare. From my blue tinted glasses I thought his kickouts were probably more productive than that of Cluxtons, Mayo won most of his long kick outs plus the two goals were not his fault. I've revelled in Clarke's cock ups in the past but tonight I thought he played well and was in no way at fault for Mayo's loss.

Actually felt Clarke had a great day and I'd be a critic of Clarke. Cluxton had a poor day by his standards. Didn't feel like we used O'Shea well enough.

Thought Lee had a great day too. He was breaking forward, putting his body on the line and the ref absolutely bottled it on that frontal challenge on him.

Whether it was a deliberate tactic or not but Cillian and Aidan spent far too much time in our own half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Barlett wrote: »
    Thought we got a lot right today, we ran out of juice down the home stretch & we don’t have the subs - Jason Doherty & Brendan Harrison are missed. But immensely proud of the team , fair play to them , they keep giving us great days . Management & players should be proud of what they achieved. We were beaten by a better team & that’s ok , we didn’t give up & we’ll be back at it in 7 weeks. The dream never dies!

Definitely the least deflated I've felt in a long time after a final. We didn't have the bench today. But I'm very excited by these youngsters. They stood up today. I was very impressed, they were leading the way in many ways today. We're not going anywhere any time soon. Excited for next year already.

Someone has to come off I order to try something different.
    He was scoring from Play, up to last few minutes Cillian was the only other forward that scored from play.

One positive for next year is that the league will be run on a regional basis so therefore no relegation or promotion at stake. Allows us to blood even more players and try formations.

He was scoring from Play, up to last few minutes Cillian was the only other forward that scored from play.

Who would you have taken off instead to try and shake things up?

Having said that none of our offensive changes had any impact. Think the Darren Coen thing needs to end. Excellent club player but you can't have a real impact at IC level without some semblance of pace which you can't train into someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,051 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Whether it was a deliberate tactic or not but Cillian and Aidan spent far too much time in our own half.

It's nothing new though. Aidan was almost at FB in the second half vs Galway and Cillian always tracks back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Did anyone think we had a chance of winning at any stage during the game??

I thought when Coen got the mark we could kick on. Didn’t mention it earlier but what leadership. You could see it in his eyes that he was kacking it kicking it but he nailed it, absolutely nailed it.

Give him the C’s armband

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Always thought as well that RoD would struggle against a proper team. Just that few cm too small and not strong enough to ride or break tackles. He's what I would term a 'nice' footballer.

Yikes I think that's a tad harsh.

I thought he contributed very handsomely in the first half.A very elusive and creative player with a low centre of gravity.

Quieter second half.

Tommy goals never really got into the game.

Diarmuid was truly outstanding, absolutely ran himself into the ground.

Dublin's game management at the start of the second half when down a man was excellent.

Tagged a couple of scores in the first 5 minutes and frustratingly as ever held possession for what seemed an eternity.

I don't know how David Coldrick missed Mick Fitzsimmons frontal charge.He was 5 yards away at a stretch.

TBF as mentioned already the turning point IMO was the Eoghan Mc Loughlin opportunity.

Some of our shooting was very poor.

Balls dropped into the goalkeepers hands.

Darren Coen unfortunately blew cold.
    Nonetheless our mobility caused them serious problems.

Oisin Mullin must be retained at all costs.

The Dublin bench delivered the goods.

Still bizarre IMO that Howard and Mannion failed to start.

O Callaghan,Kilkenny reigned supreme today.

Can the gap be closed next year?

Reape needs to be brought into the setup.

Hopefully Harry will be fit,can Eoin O Donoghue finally convince James Horan of his worth?

I'd be very positive about this team's future but sadly very gloomy in spite of same about any teams ability to knock the Dubs off their perch.

PARlance wrote: »
    It's nothing new though. Aidan was almost at FB in the second half vs Galway and Cillian always tracks back

Both shouldn't be at the same time. Cillian is no good to us in our half. Players need to be where they have maximum impact.

PressRun wrote: »
    Actually felt Clarke had a great day and I'd be a critic of Clarke. Cluxton had a poor day by his standards. Didn't feel like we used O'Shea well enough.

Thought Lee had a great day too. He was breaking forward, putting his body on the line and the ref absolutely bottled it on that frontal challenge on him.

One hundred percent Clarke had a great day.

Ditto Leeroy.

PressRun wrote: »
    Definitely the least deflated I've felt in a long time after a final. We didn't have the bench today. But I'm very excited by these youngsters. They stood up today. I was very impressed, they were leading the way in many ways today. We're not going anywhere any time soon. Excited for next year already.

Well said.