If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭freddie_

naughto wrote: »
    Any one get refunded yet??

Not yet but I would happily waive the refund if I thought Mayo GAA had finally learned from their mistakes. I thought yesterday’s service was excellent- even the picture quality seemed a higher standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

freddie_ wrote: »
    Not yet but I would happily waive the refund if I thought Mayo GAA had finally learned from their mistakes. I thought yesterday’s service was excellent- even the picture quality seemed a higher standard.

There's a big difference between yesterday's free stream and one with a paywall. They could easily stream the games over Facebook or YouTube, but when there's a paywall all traffic gets routed through a 3rd party website. That's what reduces the picture and sound quality.

Learning from their mistakes basically means changing to a different provider, but who's to say that won't also have problems? With live sport, once you know there's an issue it's too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭boosabum

There were 4.4K viewers for some of the games streamed over the weekend so there is quiet a bit of revenue involved.

The paywall is the issue and when people see excellent picture via Youtube or facebook from Club productions then they expect to get a superior product because they paid for it.

Mayo GAA TV seemed to have done away with the replays and looked like the stream was a one camera setup where they previously used two.

They do need to improve the product though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

PARlance wrote: »
    Got most of the game on MWR, will try to get a watch. I'd have Knockmore as clear favourites, they're an extremely well coached team. Sounded like they were brilliant again defensively and have the fire power to capitalise on that.

I would favour Knockmore too but not sure if the bookies will see it that way.

No harm in downplaying Breaffy's chances anyway.;)

TBF if Mayo GAA TV can continue to provide as good a service as yesterday I'll be more than happy to fork out the necessary yo yos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,860 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

They could put it up free to air and have a donation link with suggested donations at €5. Better than nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,272 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

seligehgit wrote: »
    I would favour Knockmore too but not sure if the bookies will see it that way.

No harm in downplaying Breaffy's chances anyway.;)

TBF if Mayo GAA TV can continue to provide as good a service as yesterday I'll be more than happy to fork out the necessary yo yos.

8/15 Breaffy favourites is madness imo. And I would say I was confident, if I was :)

Just think Knockmore are getting better and better. They are excellent at snuffing out key men and I think their game is the type that Breaffy will really struggle with.

I expect it to be close but I would have Knockmore slight favourites myself. Could come down to small things like how the game is reffed or free taking.

Experience is our issue. Four starters got their LC results today, physically and mentally they’re kids

Green&Red wrote: »
    Experience is our issue. Four starters got their LC results today, physically and mentally they’re kids

It has'nt been an issue thus far,the exuberance of youth.

Knockmore are playing a lovely brand of football.

As Parlance mentioned Knockmore set up beautifully for the swift counter attack.Breaffy will have their work cut out to break down that defensive shield.

Those odds 8/15 are absolutely nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,464 ✭✭✭naughto

8/15 Breaffy favourites is madness imo. And I would say I was confident, if I was :)

Just think Knockmore are getting better and better. They are excellent at snuffing out key men and I think their game is the type that Breaffy will really struggle with.

I expect it to be close but I would have Knockmore slight favourites myself. Could come down to small things like how the game is reffed or free taking.

Hopefully the occasion will get to them and give the oul lads in breaffy the much needed win. It's well past time for them to win it
    It will be interesting to see if there is any spectators allowed at it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,658 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Wasn't an issue for their manager back in the day:D

Ah would ya stop with the kidology :) There were no kids in the game I was watching. I haven't seen a better coached club team in a while, excellent in the tackle flooding back to create a very solid disciplined defence then with fast direct breaks... that first half yesterday was pure class and tbh the game could easily have been (completely) dead and buried by half time...the only negative in the first half was not getting two or three goals.

Breaffy have a great shot at it but my point was more coming from the angle that the bookies have Breaffy odds on... not a hope. It could go either way. Flynn, Conor O'Shea and Hennelly will have to have the long range shooting boots on because there'll be nothing soft inside. 1 goal conceded to date a testament to that.

Great news TG4 will be televising the county final on Sunday week at 15.35.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

I presume Mayo Gaa TV will be showing the Junior and Intermideate?

Yes I believe they'll be streaming both.

Mike Finnerty mentioned it at the end of yesterday's broadcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭thesultan

What was the tussle between Aidan O'Shea and Lee Keegan like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭freddie_

thesultan wrote: »
    What was the tussle between Aidan O'Shea and Lee Keegan like?

I thought it backfired big time for Westport. Lee struggled with Aido and also removed Lee from his normal attacking role- something which I think was a mistake as he is looking back to his best again.

naughto wrote: »
    Hopefully the occasion will get to them and give the oul lads in breaffy the much needed win. It's well past time for them to win it
    It will be interesting to see if there is any spectators allowed at it

It should be a great contest.

I certainly wouldn't begrudge Breaffy a first county title ( going beyond the great contribution the O Shea clan and other Breaffy footballers have made to the county team ) but they'll have to earn it the hard way against this Knockmore team.

Very enjoyable Mayo News Podcast this week.

Lots of contributors Martin Carney, Robert Hennelly,
    Colm Keys.

A very contrite Mayo GAA pro Paul Cunnane speaks eloquently re the streaming issues on Mayo GAA TV and the difficulties facing a small band of volunteer officials in sating the Mayo GAA supporters appetite via such a service whilst the matches are being played behind closed doors.

The banter between the master Mike Finnerty and the apprentice Ger Flanagan who in addition adding another feather to his cap thus far has successfully navigated the treacherous waters of the intermediate championship is worth listening to.

https://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2020-09-07T23_14_58-07_00.mp3

County Hurling Final today.

Tooreen v Ballyhaunis at 17.00 in Adrian Freeman Memorial Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,472 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

Live on Tooreen Facebooj page.

Great win for Ballyhaunis.

Zippy was on fire.

I suppose we'll have to go a begging to PARlance or Green@Red for a golden ticket for Sunday's county final?:D

It's a great shame that such a minute crowd will get to view in the flesh what will hopefully be a cracking contest.

C'est la vie.

Great win for Ballyhaunis.

Zippy was on fire.

I suppose we'll have to go a begging to PARlance or Green@Red for a golden ticket for Sunday's county final?:D

It's a great shame that such a minute crowd will get to view in the flesh what will hopefully be a cracking contest.

C'est la vie.

I don't think I would get a ticket if the limit was 2,000!
    Such a shame that common sense has gone out the window.

As is standard for me, confidence levels/excitement are rising as thrown in approaches. Can see it being a very cautious/nervy game though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Kalyke

526515.jpg
    Carrick on Suir stealing our song!!

I don't think I would get a ticket if the limit was 2,000!
    Such a shame that common sense has gone out the window.

As is standard for me, confidence levels/excitement are rising as thrown in approaches. Can see it being a very cautious/nervy game though.

Sure we’ll be lucky to keep the ball kicked out to the O’Sheas

There'll be no stopping ye once half that team hits puberty!

Preview on MWR from 22.00.

2 cracking finals to look forward to Mayo GAA TV today.

Hopefully the deciding time trial in the grand tour will be finished by 5.

As mentioned in the preview there was a very distasteful incident at full time the last time Breaffy and Knockmore met.

Will never forget it as it got quite nasty,not anticipating same tomorrow.

I don't believe it was as low scoring as the experts are predicting,it will be cagey though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,319 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

Anyone know if the Balla match is on MWR tonight?

Cartman78 wrote: »

Not on today's schedule.

You'll have to put your life in your hands with Mayo GAA TV!:D

TBF the stream was excellent for the Ballina Knockmore game.

Cartman78 wrote: »

Check out their facebook page or that of Kiltimagh?

They might be streaming it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,959 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Check out their facebook page or that of Kiltimagh?

They might be streaming it.

Its on mayogaatv so doubt either club would be streaming it