Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Not a chance either team will seek to avoid us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

km79 wrote: »
    It could be an occasion for the ages ...........
    I think we are going to win
    I am basing this on nothing not blind optimism and a belief that is a kick in a lot of lads yet
    Look at Colm Boyle the last few games for instance
    If a few more can stand up and be counted like him we are in business
    UP MAYO

And now it is Saturday before next Saturday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Now. I told ye so!! No doom and gloom please. Don’t ever doubt these boys when it matters, what a team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

Super win and we looked really tight in defence but I put this down to Boyle falling back collecting ball and making tackles. Jason Doc is a serious loss for us as he does alot of dirty work.
    Paddy Durcan has really stepped up in the vein of Boyle and Keegan. He is some player and kept Mchugh out of it. Keegan is some man with Murphy. It really was some battle and no penalty in my eyes. Fair play to hennelly as well, he played really well. He needs to continue this.

Best place to play the dubs is in semi, its a step up from Donegal but we are well capable. The match ups for the dubs will be so important. Durcan on Kilkenny,the clampers need to be put on Fenton as he gets on too much ball.

Gavin didn't bring back connolly for no reason. He is a no nonsense manager and for him to ask Connolly back is strange in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

What an addiction this team are . Waking up this morning looking/ scrounging the internet for any scrapes of video footage , just to suffice the adrenaline from last night .
    Never did drugs , never will , but this must be as close as it gets .

Some atmosphere on castlebar from the get go . 3.30 and there were 7-8 thousand already inside and at least another 5 trying to get in . That was 2.5 hours before the match . !!!

On side note . What the hell are the Gaa at . Selling off our rights to sky ..... just to fund .. what ?
    Secondly the super 8 structure is a ballsup. 6 days to recover against a team who today are putting out their 2nd team . Just totally unfair .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

seligehgit wrote:

I'd say they would. Its looking that way in the teams being selected

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Buyingcar2012

Dubs get more access to tickets for a semi. The hill is practically all dubs unlike the final. Much harder atmosphere to play against

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

Dubs get more access to tickets for a semi. The hill is practically all dubs unlike the final. Much harder atmosphere to play against

Last time we beat them was a semi!
    Today is going to be a weird game
    The winner gets to face THAT Mayo team and have a day less rest
    Loser gets the extra day and a very beatable Kerry team...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Stoner wrote: »
    I'd say they would. Its looking that way in the teams being selected

Those teams were selected before a ball was kicked in Castlebar last night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

km79 wrote: »
    Last time we beat them was a semi!
    Today is going to be a weird game
    The winner gets to face THAT Mayo team and have a day less rest
    Loser gets the extra day and a very beatable Kerry team...........

The Mayo fans getting excited again. It has been a very weak championship this year.Some of the comments here are laughable, Dublin to lose to avoid Mayo 🙂. Wake up, Dublin will breeze by Mayo and everybody else!

Fann Linn wrote:
    Those teams were selected before a ball was kicked in Castlebar last night.

Your point being?
    https://youtu.be/6qcipCQalzA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Not getting carried away by Mayo beating Donegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Ch1co wrote: »
    Folks, is there any way to watch the full match on TV or sky do a repeat? Wasn't able to record it today.

Full match is in the GAA on demand section on sky sports to record.

The team selections were not made on the basis of unexpected by many outcome of the Mayo Donegal game.

More likely squad rotation Stoner to keep the core team players fresh and an element of shadow boxing.I see no issue with the logic of same.One of the inherent faults of the group phase,the inevitability of some largely dead rubbers.

Whilst the one week turnaround grates on me and is inherently unfair on all teams if we'd won our first two games we might have had the opportunity to rotate our players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

seligehgit wrote: »

Tyrone will, i cant remember the last time they bet us in championship

seligehgit wrote:
    The team selections were not made on the basis of unexpected by many outcome of the Mayo Donegal game.

I'm slagging myself seligehgit. Linn Fann pulled me up on the time line.

I agree with you.

It was the outstanding workrate that was the key to our out and out best performance of the championship.

Squatman wrote: »
    Tyrone will, i cant remember the last time they bet us in championship

Indeed we have a phenomenal championship record against them.

1989,2004,2013 and 2016.

TBH I can't see anything other than the expected semi final against Dublin.

Is there a possibility it will sell out?

Indeed we have a phenomenal championship record against them.

1989,2004,2013 and 2016.

TBH I can't see anything other than the expected semi final against Dublin.

Is there a possibility it will sell out?

Forgot about I believe our sole loss in 2008 under John O Mahony mark 2.

Such a forgettable contest,could have ended up winning it and the win turned the Red Hand's season around lest we forget.

Anybody have a inside track on the Cork minors?

I think our lads are a serious outfit,hope all get in to support them.

I think there's another curtain raiser before that game.

Nice relaxing afternoon to watch the likely opposition or an element of it.:)

239cdb39026c041beeeae07404d755e9fa41f5fd_2_562x1000.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Interesting battle between horan and the donegal sideline. It looks like they selected coen to pick up murphy when he rotated inside. Smart move from horan and for once coens ability to do so many jobs came in his favour.
    The durkan move was immense also and the matchups were excellent.
    We have been critical of horan tactically in the past, but he is after out-smarting a stephen rochford infused donegal crew who had every bit of insider knowledge at their disposal.
    All credit to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,379 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

The lack of Drucan in the Killarney game was highlighted by his presence last night.

Not saying we would have won in Killarney but he is essential to this team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

I didn't see a whole lot of Rochford influence on the game in the end, tbh. Not as much as Donie Buckley seems to have influenced things done in Kerry.

The lack of Drucan in the Killarney game was highlighted by his presence last night.

Not saying we would have won in Killarney but he is essential to this team.

This is so true. He has become a really important player for us

It might seem harsh but I thought Horan was bang on the money in terms of the Coen substitution too.

I thought Michael Murphy gave Stephen Coen plenty of problems but outside of a couple of wonder scores his shooting was quite erratic.

Aidan put a powerful shift but we were of the opinion he was running out of gas for the latter part of the second half?

I was surprised to hear Ciaran Treacy was released back to the Stephenites.

It was the outstanding workrate that was the key to our out and out best performance of the championship.

Yes and one of the concerns for next week as well. I hope this win puts the drive in them to go hard in the semi.

Anyone hear what is the prognose for Jason Doc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,379 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Here's a stat

Donegal's main three, Murphy, McBrearty and McHugh scored 1-14 v Kerry
    Against Mayo they scored 1-6, with McHugh not getting on the score sheet

Really kept the main guys quite did Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

PressRun wrote: »
    I didn't see a whole lot of Rochford influence on the game in the end, tbh. Not as much as Donie Buckley seems to have influenced things done in Kerry.

I think the long kickouts of Hennelly took out a good chunk of Donegals attacking prowess. Having the 2 O’Sheas in midfield with Jason and McDonagh mopping up the breaking ball upset their game plan a bit. We were fortunate enough to have the likes of Kevin to come in for Jason as he’s very capable of doing a similar role to Jason there.
    That’s not to take away from the job our backs did, with Barrett, Durcan and Keegan nullifying their most potent threats. If you look at the number of attacks Donegal had and then the number of shots they had that will tell you how effective our midfield and back lines were.
    That and Horan having the courage to make the right decision and switching Andy in for Coen early in the game. If anything he could have made that change earlier, but certainly no later than he did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Hit the right areas, he had a good game.

Just on the penalty, I think he should be backing his reactions instead of guessing.