Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Why aren't you donating blood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

Up until i was diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes i had 23 donations to my name, however IBTS will no longer accept donation from me.

I am Type O- and my blood was also compatible with new born infants apparently, shame I am no longer able to share. I am also on bone marrow & platelet registry, but i think i am back of the line for those also.

I do believe everyone that can donate should donate. However shaming, abusing or otherwise targeting those who do not or can not, wont help, donations are super important and spreading the benefits should be the way to promote more folks to contribute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

cajonlardo wrote:
    Back in the early 80s when I was a young soldier a truck load of us were rounded up and brought to the centre. We weren't told where we were going and weren't asked if we wanted to donate. Just shown in and told what to do. I assume we could have refused but no one objected - tbh it was good craic That was my introduction to donating.

More than likely a complete waste of resources, regular donors will make sure their blood can be used.

I don't follow you?
    Waste what resources?
    Because of that day I became a regular donor for over 35 years. I am rhesus negative so in emergency that can be given to anyone
    I'd assume more of the lads became regular donors also.
    Furthermore, when I'd head down in the evening time I'd regularly bring along 3 or 4 other lads and introduce them to donating. I can recall telling lads on guard duty I was planning on going when the duty was done and 4 of them went with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,819 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I used to donate plasma back in the early 80s, and glad they were too for it. On one occasion a taxi picked me up from my job to bring me to their HQ down by the canal.

Then I went to the UK to work and since then I'm persona non grata.

C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,270 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

Hows this for a reason...

Crewmembers shall not donate blood within 72 hours prior to flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

I did once but the second time I went, my arm went all numb and I got pins and needles and they had to stop.
    Third time I went they said my blood count was too low and barred me for 6 months.
    I'll try again in July.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

I have the gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,104 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Too many trips to India , Africa and Asia in recent years before that it was the mad cow thing as I lived in the uk at the wrong time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

they don't like people who take drugs....although pills seem to be ok with them

lab man wrote:
    Often have got that call
    Aa colleague retired back in September after 40 years of service. At her retirement she shared a story about one time there was a patient having a major haemorrhage and were running out of units with her blood type.

They had to call the guards and get as many donors as possible. The service has come a long way. It will keep improving but we need donors.
    That story about guards is most likely what occurred with my army story I posted above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭jasonb

Used to donate Platelets for years and then I got a medical condition which means I now can’t donate. I can honestly say that one of the biggest downsides (so far) to getting this condition was being told I can’t donate, I did it every 4 weeks and it was just part of who I was. Feck all I can do about it now unfortunately...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

cajonlardo wrote:
    I don't follow you? Waste what resources? Because of that day I became a regular donor for over 35 years. I am rhesus negative so in emergency that can be given to anyone I'd assume more of the lads became regular donors also. Furthermore, when I'd head down in the evening time I'd regularly bring along 3 or 4 other lads and introduce them to donating. I can recall telling lads on guard duty I was planning on going when the duty was done and 4 of them went with me.

All blood is tested, if you have consumed alcohol/painkillers it's useless but the testing has still been done. Therefore a waste of resources.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Yes I understand it fully, I have made a few posts on this topic in the past so I know where they're coming from but as usual Ireland is behind the curve on this. The lifetime ban on men who had ever had a sexual experience with another man (including just oral) was only lifted in January 2017 and replaced with a 12 month deferral period, this has been cited as 'international best practice' but in reality it still prohibits most if not all gay men from donating blood.

There have been campaigns in other European countries to reduce the deferral period to 90 days which sounds like what you're talking about, I wasn't aware they had gained any traction in the UK, that's interesting.

Aye, went under the radar alright. They introduced it in 2017. Here is a link to a BBC article on it: https://www.bbc.com/news/health-40669950

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Ha! So you do think that.

"I'm better at football cos I'm older than you"
    Blazer says that's sound logic.

I think Cristiano Ronaldo would agree with me.
    Don’t worry old chap. Some day you’ll grow up, be a big boy all able to live by yourself and even have a job. It mightn’t be much but we do need people for the menial work as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭scuby

That’s not the reason they won’t take it, it’s cos of my allergies.

I know....was just clarifying about the haemochromotosis, in case someone who has it was put off by your post!

cajonlardo wrote:
    I don't follow you? Waste what resources? Because of that day I became a regular donor for over 35 years. I am rhesus negative so in emergency that can be given to anyone I'd assume more of the lads became regular donors also. Furthermore, when I'd head down in the evening time I'd regularly bring along 3 or 4 other lads and introduce them to donating. I can recall telling lads on guard duty I was planning on going when the duty was done and 4 of them went with me.

All blood is tested, if you have consumed alcohol/painkillers it's useless but the testing has still been done. Therefore a waste of resources.
    OK.
    You might want to edit what you quoted as it has nothing to do with your point.

You are also mistaken - read my post please. The people on drugs did not donate.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Spleerbun

I've donated 5/6 times before, but like others here I don't appear to be an "ideal donor" either. Must be Low blood pressure as it takes so long for the blood to get moving. After about half way I start to feel awful and must go sheet white or something because they always end up turning my bed upside down, I think 3 of the times they called a stop to it with less than 3/4s of a bag, fairly embarrassing tbh. Make me stay there for bloody ages afterwards too.

Is it possible to just donate half bags? Is that any use to them, or do they take full ones only?

cajonlardo wrote:
    OK. You might want to edit what you quoted as it has nothing to do with your point.

It has actually, loading up a bunch of random people to donate blood without prior knowledge is stupid for the reasons I outlined. I mentioned painkillers, not the same as saying drugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Can a regular cannabis smoker donate blood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

Can a regular cannabis smoker donate blood?

No issue as far as I’m aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,178 ✭✭✭Guffy

They stopped giving Guinness i stopped giving blood

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,123 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

They won’t let me because of medication I’m on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

I'd rather not live in the Soviet Republic of Ireland where the government compels you to give blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Bogwoppit

I’m a regular platelet donator, did blood from the day I turned 18, 15 or so donations in the uk too.

I suspect the OP has donated once, maybe twice at the most and is enjoying his soapbox moment, I’m sorry to say this OP but this thread and your other posts elsewhere show you up as an out and out c*nt.

I know of no genuine donator who would support your ideas.

I would spill my blood on the ground if they were proposed.

We do it because we’re altruistuc and it fills us with a sense of well-being, it’s insulting everyone involved to turn it into a tax dodge.

Go troll on some other subject you cretin.

• Registered Users Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

I've been donating for about 35yrs, I've 105 donations. It's something I'm proud of. A few years ago I attended the donor awards ceremony in Clontarf Castle, a great day out. During the awards, a lady who was the recipient of numerous donations spoke about her health issues and what the various donations meant to her. There was many a gasp in the room. Sometimes we forget just how lucky we are. I hope to continue to donate as long as I can.

cajonlardo wrote:
    OK. You might want to edit what you quoted as it has nothing to do with your point.

It has actually, loading up a bunch of random people to donate blood without prior knowledge is stupid for the reasons I outlined. I mentioned painkillers, not the same as saying drugs.
    Are you just out for an argument?
    What is the difference between 30 people walking in off the street to volunteer and 30 army lads?
    Actually, forget it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Spleerbun wrote:
    Is it possible to just donate half bags? Is that any use to them, or do they take full ones only?
    Full donations only as far as I'm aware.

No I'm not. I regularly donate, but I don't if I have painkillers in my system or was on the beer the night before as I know my donation would be a waste of my time and that of the BTS . Btw you said they were loaded on a truck and forced to donate, bug difference in your last comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

Jiggy Jiggy with lady from part of world rampant with hepatitis. Married 12 years and both clear but IBTS consider me an unacceptable risk

• Registered Users Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Excluding those with medical conditions, every Irish adult should be donating blood. It's a disgrace that so many don't.

What's your excuse?

I think the government should start a campaign to shame people into doing it. I'm not against (provided it was set up right) a public name-and-shame list of those who don't donate and haven't proven that they can't/or given a proper excuse.

Oh fck off Jesus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

As it would be after these proposals go through. Except you'd pay hefty tax, and be the object of scorn. I wouldn't be above requiring employers to be notified of said status.

But you wouldn't. These proposals would never make it past the Dail debates, the Supreme Court or the people.

It would breach your rights to medical confidentiality, privacy and bodily autonomy which also puts it at odds with European law and GDPR.

It wouldn't make it past the grounds on grounds of emergency since there isn't one.

Further this, doctors and nurses would actively refuse to carry it out for the reasons named above as it does not take into consideration free and informed consent. Having tax to pay and the possibility of naming negates that.

People give blood as a form of charity because it is charitable and makes them feel good inside. It should not be allowed to become commercialised by means of a tax break, that's opens another can of worms with regards to medical harm, inferior blood quality and consent/economic necessity.

How would it even be enforceable? As it stands there are a number of exemptions, including if you lived in the UK, have a certain medical conditions(s) and if you are homosexual/bisexual and engage in sexual relations. Anyone would claim they were gay. For example, by forcing them to not engage in sexual relations for 12 months to give blood would just have the opposite effect of what is intended. This is just one of many reasons.

What's your next proposal? Are you going to go a step further and force people into degrading medical procedures at gunpoint?

This is Ireland, not a fascist dictatorship. Our autonomy is not for sale or barter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Anyone who can, should. There are so many reasons for people to be excluded though that I can understand people giving up after a while. I kept getting turned away for being slightly anaemic. I have cancer now though that has likely been in my body for a decade at this stage so I’m glad I was turned away so many times! :eek: Can they screen for cancer cells in blood?

But I’m somebody who needs regular blood transfusions myself now so thank you to everyone who donates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I lived in London from 2000-2002

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

I kept getting turned away for being slightly anaemic. I have cancer now though that has likely been in my body for a decade at this stage so I’m glad I was turned away so many times! Can they screen for cancer cells in blood?
    Every donation is screened for infectious blood borne diseases like HIV and hepatitis. They are also screened for bacteria. Donations aren't screened for cancer.

• Registered Users Posts: 262 ✭✭Spleerbun

Full donations only as far as I'm aware.

That's a shame. But sure I'll give it another go again soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Maybe give people free health insurance if they donate, would be an idea?

People who are able, really should donate. I just don't think it occurs to a lot of people

• Registered Users Posts: 41 TaitsClock

This is a sore spot for me right now as i was banned from donating blood two years ago after fainting a couple of hours after the donation.

I was only on the phone to them again yesterday to try to get back on the list as i am young(-ish) and healthy and have been a donor for most of my adult life, the only reason i fainted was because i stayed in a room that was too warm for me, the donation probably just made me more susceptible to the heat which i cant handle at the best of times.

This now also has me banned from donating platelets and bone marrow.

I understand they have a duty of care but its very frustrating as i know the main cause of it was not the donation but stupidly sitting in a hot room for too long :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Exact same for me Taits.

Fainted the last time.

Raging it has blacklisted me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Herself got me to donate blood for the first time 9 years ago. Ever since I have continued to do so. I think it was her passion for it that finally made me cop on and donate. Sadly, she was put on Warfarin at the age of 20 and hasn't been allowed donate since.
    So ever time I donate I do it for her.

A few years back I enquired about doing platelet donations, at which the blood clinic informed me that I'm CMV negative and that while I could do platelets, they'd rather keep me for blood donations.
    So while I'm just plain old O+, it's extra nice to know that every time I go in, that my blood, if needed will be given to a neonate or a low weight baby.

I was exactly like many before my first donation. Apprehensive and to be honest couldn't be bothered. I'd encourage everyone who can to go once. Just once in your life. You'll have saved a life.
    How often do you get to give up an hour of your day and know that after that hour, that someone, somewhere and their family will be ever so grateful for helping saving their life?

Yes you'll be asked awkward questions, yes you may not be allowed to donate, but it's only an hour and a pint of blood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,654 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I do it for those free 3-packs of Ginger Nuts.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,149 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I've had to stop donating. I have psoriasis on my knee's, and they bleed easily, in the cracks. Rocked up to give platelets one day in a pair of shorts, think of the heatwave last year. Girl points at my knee and says that's an open wound. They haven't rang it text me since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

mzungu wrote: »
    That's changing over in the UK. They reduced it to three months a few years ago but now there are moves to just cover risqué sexual practices which would be a much fairer way to do it. Also, blood screening is far better now than it was in the 80s when the ban was first introduced so the risks of a patient getting contaminated blood have now been greatly reduced.

You can understand why the checks and balances are in place, but thankfully things seem to be progressing pretty quickly so it won't be too long before the ban on MSM will be lifted altogether.

Yeh thats good to hear. Id love to be able to give blood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭mistress_gi

I have a clotting condition. Would hate to be known as the the serial killer whose MO was blood transfusion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭maryk123

I decided I would donate blood as I had premature babies and I felt it was right to give back as one of my kids got blood. However I went down to the hotel at 5 and between queues I got home at 11.30pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭ellieh1

I gave blood about five times and was really happy that I could do so. Unfortunately I have been diagnosed with Crohn's Disease in the past six months and so I am not allowed to give blood anymore. I wish I could still give blood but it's not to be but I actively try and encourage my friends and family to donate!

• Registered Users Posts: 94 ✭✭Lost implants

I donate for the pens. One time there was no pens, never went back for months. Eventually after much toing and froing, they sent me 100 mixed pens. Starting going back. They can stick saving lives up their hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

I donate in Clare, Ennis is supposed to be the biggest amount of donaters in the country outside Dublin is this true when they come the beds are lest in situ for 4 or 5 nites I think and 3 nites the following week .. have witnessed coach loads of people coming from certain villages that are organised by the villagers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,862 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I'm a Nordie who used to donate at home. I'm disappointed that I can't donate here because of the "mad cow cjd" carry on years ago. Any word on it changing as I'd love to start donating again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,473 ✭✭✭pgj2015

i wouldn't trust the health service of Ireland to not infect me by mistake or harm me in some other way.

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

I'm ineligible to donate due to various medical conditions but I spent some time working in the transfusion service and would encourage anyone to donate who can, it's an amazing thing to do and it's really appreciated. Seeing how low the stock is can be frightening!

• Registered Users Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

Maybe give people free health insurance if they donate, would be an idea?

People who are able, really should donate. I just don't think it occurs to a lot of people

They cannot give financial incentives unfortunately, because then people are more likely to be dishonest in the screening questionnaire and hide illnesses in order to claim these generous financial incentives. It happens in the USA a lot.