Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Threat of Nuclear War

• 27-02-2019 7:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭

I know this is mostly sabre rattling on behalf of the belligerents but i worry that with two such populace nations and 300 nukes between them(by and large not fusion weapons), may have decided there is an acceptable level of casualties. For example India with a population of 1.4 billion may decide 150 fission nukes would kill less than 2% of their population. This is a very scarey thought and similar ideas were probably bounced around during the cold war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Just send trump there to negotiate a truce between the 2 countries since he's been doing a great job in North Korea so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

Sure we have our gone off iodine tablets, be grand :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Some eegit is going to let them things fly at some stage. The very fact these things exist and everybody is grand about it, is and always was the most frightening thing about those yokes.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

There is no acceptable level of casualties.

to normal decent people from all societies and creeds this is true. But the calculation has been made time and time again throughout history. Mutually assured destruction kept the peace but neither Pakistan nor India face mutually assured destruction if they decide to go nuclear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Disparity in weight division there in fairness.

Don't think either of them have a headbanger for a leader though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I’m stocking up on spam and trapping squirrels

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Cheerful is that you

buried wrote: »
    Some eegit is going to let them things fly at some stage. The very fact these things exist and everybody is grand about it, is and always was the most frightening thing about those yokes.
    And Pakistan is so afraid of a first strike knocking out their nuclear capabilities, large numbers of their nukes are mobile on public roads(with escort of course). This in a country where large swathes of territory are under islamist control too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Another succesful partition by the British Empire.

This is why I buys me vinyl records. When them things go flying I can bury meself underneath the pile of vinyl, then when the $hit clears I can play me bendy melty warped music without need for an electrical power source and have the only pile of rubble in town where a party can go down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Id be more worried about the guys (Iran/N.Korea) who are already 50/50 with launching nukes.

The ones who are looking for "someone to go first", then it opens up the flood gates.

Not beyond the realm of possibility.

Another succesful partition by the British Empire.

don;t forget to blame Ghandi's successors on both sides of the divide too

The auld Trinity test on the plains of the 'Jornado del Muerta' - The Journey of Death, was lovingly re-created on the new season of Twin Peaks I just finished again recently. "Let there be light" Shure what could go wrong with something that the great man Winston Churchill described as "The Second coming of Wrath"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,231 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Id be more worried about the guys (Iran/N.Korea) who are already 50/50 with launching nukes.

The ones who are looking for "someone to go first", then it opens up the flood gates.

Not beyond the realm of possibility.

Iran don't have any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 308 ✭✭harrylittle

I wonder is the troubles in india something to do with this message .

" - February 26, 2019
    Thus saith the Lord, THE TIME AT HAND IS HERE! I will now move My armies into place, for the Time of War is here! Look not to the East or West, but the arrows will come from the North! I have sent out warning after warning! I have wept many tears over this nation as she has turned her back to Me! I AM COMING, AND I WILL SHAKE THE ENTIRE WORLD!!!

My son, the days of indecision are now here. Many have heard the warnings and prepared their houses, but much more have not. Those in the sleeping Church will be caught off guard, and many will perish and many will deny Me!

WATCH!!I SAY, WATCH!! FOR THE YOUNG PRINCE IS NOW ON THE STAGE, AND HE WILL DECEIVE ALL INTO FOLLOWING HIS PLAN!! PREPARE!! FOR THUS SAITH THE LORD, I AM ABOUT TO BREAK THE FIRST SEAL, AND ALL THE WORLD WILL CHANGE IN ONE DAY!! I WILL GATHER MINE UNTO ME, AND THE TIME OF HARVEST WILL BEGIN!!!

My son, I have revealed to you the secrets to share with My Remnant, for they are the only ones who will hear! Be ready to feel My strong hands snatching those I will use during My Great Harvest!

TIME IS NOW!! Stay in My Word! Do not get sidetracked by lying spirits telling you it is not time! I say, I AM TIME, AND I AM COMING!!! Tell people to repent before it is too late! People will not hear when they are fighting to survive!

REPENT!!! REPENT!!! FOR NOW IS THE TIME!!! I love you! "
    Amen.
    Messiah Jesus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Succubus_ wrote: »
    Sure we have our gone off iodine tablets, be grand :pac:

There must be an Irish version of Godwin's Law.

"Any Nuclear Thread in After Hours will have iodine mentioned in the first page."

Feisar's Law.

First they came for the socialists...

I wonder is the troubles in india something to do with this message .

You ever wonder why these messages are just a bit on the vague side?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Is there such a thing as a Pakistani take away in Dublin? Would like to try the food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

antodeco wrote: »
    Is there such a thing as a Pakistani take away in Dublin? Would like to try the food.

Bombay Pantry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Would the former East Pakistan do? Apparently quite a few of the "Indian" restaurants are run by Bangladeshis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Is that before it's to late to do so? :pac:

Ministry of Silly Walks crossed with Riverdance :D

Who allowed this pair to play with nuclear weapons :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Odhinn wrote: »
    Iran don't have any.

True, they dont actually have their finger on a button ready to go.

They have historical intent and the potential future capability if the JCPOA fails.

A healthy level of scepticism is what some people have when it comes to Iran+Nuclear.

They like "loopholes" and giving mini overt concessions while opting for the least worst option which makes them look like they are co-operating.

Back on point, I feel that if someone uses nuclear weapons, opportunists out there might follow suit as its more than likely that it will be a now or never scenario.

It's been a very slow week. Could they fire a few up to space and blast the shite out of one another there, in some kind of robot death wars?

That would hurry my week along nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Bombay Pantry

That’s gotta be Indian.

I don’t think that any nukes will fly here but remember if some do, they all do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Benny Biscotti

I believe it started when one Pakistani official in India declared "My moustache is bigger than yours"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

As somebody 'famous' once said, no two countries that play cricket would ever go to war with each other or it could have been no two countries with a McDonald's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Brasros

The earth is overpopulated and needs a cull.

That’s gotta be Indian.

I don’t think that any nukes will fly here but remember if some do, they all do.

Cos I'm old.

It's been a very slow week. Could they fire a few up to space and blast the shite out of one another there, in some kind of robot death wars?

That would hurry my week along nicely.

That new season they made of Twin Peaks is very good tack ATNM, d'ya ever watch it?

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

Nuclear proliferation is literally the only thing stopping world war 3

i love it when armchair generals try to boil down geopolitics to 'HURRR BIG WEAPON KILL PPL'

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

I vividly remember this flic "Threads" on the telly.

Brasros wrote: »
    The earth is overpopulated and needs a cull.

You first, mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

These two cesspits have been at this **** for years. Leave em to it, they will do ****ing nothing.

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Nuclear proliferation is literally the only thing stopping world war 3

i love it when armchair generals try to boil down geopolitics to 'HURRR BIG WEAPON KILL PPL'

You can't vouch for some fool what has the keys totally loosing their mind though can you? During the Cuban Missile crisis the keys were put in the silo's and set to go. Nuclear proliferation didn't stop that.

These things exist, and as long as something so utterly stupid and all over the shop as mankind has control over these things, I wouldn't be surprised to see them fly over me house tomorrow morning.

How dare you equate me to a "general" too BTW, I'm a bit bats but not full fledged bats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Well India is due to be a superpower next year, so might be a degree of haste in Pakistan's actions.

You can't vouch for some fool what has the keys totally loosing their mind though can you? During the Cuban Missile crisis the keys were put in the silo's and set to go. Nuclear proliferation didn't stop that.

These things exist, and as long as something so utterly stupid and all over the shop as mankind has control over these things, I wouldn't be surprised to see them fly over me house tomorrow morning.

How dare you equate me to a "general" too BTW, I'm a bit bats but not full fledged bats

Nevermind the clean energy and billions of lives saved by nuclear proliferation

Your mindset is banking on its potential for destruction, instead of the real quantifiable benefits it has given mankind.

Also lol at the ‘one madman’ fallacy. Im an engineer and it takes more than some crazy oligarch to physically launch a nuke. In fact you’d need about a dozen to a hundred logical and high functioning people to do so and a means of enticing them

Fallacy fallacy fallacy

Your mindset is banking on its potential for destruction, instead of the real quantifiable benefits it has given mankind.

Also lol at the ‘one madman’ fallacy. Im an engineer and it takes more than some crazy oligarch to physically launch a nuke. In fact you’d need about a dozen to a hundred logical and high functioning people to do so and a means of enticing them

Fallacy fallacy fallacy

...threat of a bullet in the head?

Clean? lol How the f**k is it clean when you got to bury the unreal toxic waste what will always exist for eternity in our ground, in the stupid faint hope nobody or nothing after us ever finds it, because if they do, then that's it for them and the planet ain't it

Did ya miss that lesson in engineer school Sk8?

Clean? lol How the f**k is it clean when you got to bury the unreal toxic waste what will always exist for eternity in our ground, in the stupid faint hope nobody or nothing after us ever finds it, because if they do, then that's it for them and the planet ain't it

Did ya miss that lesson in engineer school Sk8?

Mate thats such a low IQ argument i cant tell if its a joke or not

But if you wanna go down the ‘is nuclear energy cleaner than fossil fuels’ route i suggest just going to quora because i have class tomorrow morning

Mate thats such a low IQ argument i cant tell if its a joke or not

But if you wanna go down the ‘is nuclear energy cleaner than fossil fuels’ route i suggest just going to quora because i have class tomorrow morning

Hey, Get to that class man, and start asking some questions too because sounds like your getting jipped unbelievably

Likewise man. Ask about how many people would have died if the cold war became total war instead

Total war can still happen Sk8. This school of yours sounds like a bad one. Where you studying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The keyboard warriors can rest easy. There will be sabre rattling and some sh!t talk between the two sides but nothing else will happen.

EDIT: Sorry thought this was the Ireland/Britain brexit thread.

lol

Would the former East Pakistan do? Apparently quite a few of the "Indian" restaurants are run by Bangladeshis.
    kinara kitchen in Dublin 6, lovely staff and they deliver on Deliveroo if you're too lazy to go out. Delicious food.

If you're after something a little more rough and ready (but still delicious), try the Afghani Grill on Aungier Street. It might not sound Pakistani but a lot of the Afghan food they serve is probably very similar to food you'd probably eat in the North of Pakistan.

Plus they're Afghan, support their cuisine. They've had a rough old time of it lately (i.e. throughout modern history).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Merkel will be licking her lips at the thought of more possible refugees to flood and destroy Europe even further.

Confusing nuclear power and nuclear weapons are we?

Actually not only can the president of the US launch a nuke with just one other person in verification (Sec. of defence or equivalent), a submarine equipped with Nukes can launch without presidential approval. And who would stop Kim?

Wiki sez

It is argued that the President has almost single authority to initiate a nuclear attack since the Secretary of Defense is required to verify the order, but cannot legally veto it.[7][8][9]
    Fallacy fallacy fallacy

Truth, truth, truth.

(The engineering thing is a bit scary tbh).