Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What hobbies do you have?

• 04-02-2019 8:29pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Well, apart from spending a disgracefully unproductive amount of time trawling through and posting up your opinionated rants and musings here on boards, what hobbies/leisure pursuuts do you indulge in?

Come now - don't be shy! :) Anything interesting or unusual?

Mine include the following:
    Astronomy and stargazing (hence my username)
    Historic map collecting
    Painting and drawing
    Pottery
    LEGO

Sports/Physical activity:
    Hiking
    Cycling
    Climbing
    Swimming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,314 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Reading
    Cinema and films
    Surfing the net

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Playing the banjo and whittling.

• Site Banned Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Dakotabigone

Riding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Patlanta

Riding.
    your hobby horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

I love Astronomy, have a subscription to Astronomy magazine (just love the old fashioned magazines here)
    I wanna get a telescope, but I keep procrastinating as I wanna get one right for me , but at the same time wanna get a decent one - but not spend a fortune either ... so yeah ... long finger, more of an armchair astronomer really, but love going out on a clear moonless night and looking up.

Reading - Sci Fi, popular Science, Horror, History ....
    Films...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

If anyone would like a painting of a LEGO representation of the Solar System Jupiterkid's yir man.

doing online jigsaws

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The collecting of arcane things would be a biggie and has been to one degree or other since I was a kid. Archaeology, palaeontology, antiques, natural history, antiquities, technology, music, astronomy, militaria, human spaceflight, history, horology, books, media, geology, art and so on. I'm interested in pretty much everything bar sports. My gaff is like a 17th century cabinet of curiosities. :eek: :D That covers a lot of ground.
    Fly fishing.
    Cars.
    Go through an art stage every so often.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Bird Watching
    Gardening
    Hill Walking
    Fishing
    Reading
    Writing
    Genealogy
    Nature Studies
    History of Science
    Local History
    Crosswords
    and whatever takes my fancy from time to time. Being retired I have the luxury of trying any activity I wish. Some become ongoing interests and others lapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Bird Watching
    Gardening
    Hill Walking
    Fishing
    Reading
    Writing
    Genealogy
    Nature Studies
    History of Science
    Local History
    Crosswords
    and whatever takes my fancy from time to time. Being retired I have the luxury of trying any activity I wish. Some become ongoing interests and others lapse.

Plus a healthy addiction to boards.ie in the evening there :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭Feisar

Cooking
    My Rifle
    Collecting Knives

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Wibbs wrote: »
    The collecting of arcane things would be a biggie and has been to one degree or other since I was a kid. Archaeology, palaeontology, antiques, natural history, antiquities, technology, music, astronomy, militaria, human spaceflight, history, horology, books, media, geology, art and so on. I'm interested in pretty much everything bar sports. My gaff is like a 17th century cabinet of curiosities. :eek: :D That covers a lot of ground.
    Fly fishing.
    Cars.

Ah Mr Musk !

Good of you to join us !! ;)

Scrabble on my computer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Pints?

My hobbies... ping pong, sunbathe, disco dance... and on weekends, travel to capital city and watch ladies while they make toilet.

Plus a healthy addiction to boards.ie in the evening there :pac:

To paraphrase Louis Armstrong: I have all the time in the world.

All of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,243 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Time traveling - I can't wait for yesterday

Just one sport interest - Bowling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Fly fishing.
    Cars.

Is it yourself that has a part of a Stuka dive bomber ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gw80

Fly fishing.
    Cars.
    You had me at fly fishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Completely addicted to jigsaw puzzles. Love reading. Do a bit of bouldering, hoping to get into it more, just need to find the time. Badminton from time to time. Starting Toastmasters soon, I talk at a million miles an hour so I'm hoping it'll slow me down.

Chess keeps me off the treadmill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

bushmills-irish-whiskey-10-year-1.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I think I've tried almost all hobbies and sports at this stage, there's just so much to do and try that I rarely focus on anything to get really good at it though, usually just go through cycles of different interests.. the main ones would be history, painting, supporting the local soccer club, hiking, boxing, shooting and languages.. I guess

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Is it yourself that has a part of a Stuka dive bomber ?
    I've a few bits and bobs C. Tailwheel(same one fitted to FW190's), compass, altimeter(both from a known example shot down in the Battle of Britain), petrol gauge, injectors, ammo transport box for the BK 37mm shells as used by the JU87g Cannon bird/Panzerknacker, Junkers works assembly plans and a compass and a watch worn by a Stuka pilot.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭Ariadne

This is an insecurity of mine, not really having hobbies. I hate being asked about my hobbies as I feel like a shell of a human who doesn't have a personality.

However, I've realised I do like gaming, reading, watching films, doing jigsaw puzzles, arrow words, crosswords, playing board games and putting Lego together the odd time. I love to go to countries or cities I haven't been to before and explore. Wait, does masturbating count as a hobby? :p

I do love to swim and use a pedalo too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

Danger ****
    Watching 'Cops'
    River boat gambling trips
    Making beef jerky

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I've a few bits and bobs C. Tailwheel(same one fitted to FW190's), compass, altimeter(both from a known example shot down in the Battle of Britain), petrol gauge, injectors, ammo transport box for the BK 37mm shells as used by the JU87g Cannon bird/Panzerknacker, Junkers works assembly plans and a compass and a watch worn by a Stuka pilot.

Obligatory gif :D

ak8HAnobbXMt.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Playing Gaelic football
    Running
    Rom piracy and emulation
    Pointing and clicking with a mouse. Also tapping and downswiping my phone.
    Drinking

I had some others listed but then I realised that they would be enough to figure out my real name. I'm not famous or anything like that but one must be careful online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Genealogy
    Choral singing
    Hiking
    Writing
    Drawing
    Don't do all of them all the time, go through phases. Choral singing is the constant one as it's a group activity, need to hike more with groups, it's more fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

love a bit of reading, antique fairs, road racing [motorbikes] tattoo's,dog walking, and pissing off those that are into recycling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 797 ✭✭✭rustynutz

Krav maga takes up most of my spare time at the moment, I also cycle, both mountain and road, to keep up fitness for Krav.

I took up paramotoring (paragliding with a propeller on your back) last summer after years of skydiving. Was struggling to find time for jumping as I live 3 hours from the nearest drop zone.

I also love motorbikes, riding them on road, track and off road, also love working on them, although am finding myself struggling to find time for them lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Radio Ham (kind of lapsed)
    Fair weather cyclist
    Photography
    Shooting (inanimate - clay pigeons and tin cans, there's probably 10 generations of spiders in the barrels of my guns, I'd get rid of them only for the hassle of getting a licence if I ever decided I wanted one again)

Seven Worlds will Collide

Obligatory gif :D

ak8HAnobbXMt.gif
    Funny enough... Ah no I've a few bits and bobs there too.

Though the Stuka ammo case is my laptop table I'm typing this on(and wine box. Takes twenty odd bottles very nicely) and I have a U-Boat crew eggcup. Yep. And a beer glass from the Graf Zeppelin(scary thin and light it is too)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Collect loads of things, mainly things that will in all likelihood grow in value, so I am essentially investing in things that I can also get some enjoyment out of, such as

Rare limited edition/signed books (mainly music related)
    Sports memorabilia, including soccer medals, programmes, international caps and other trophies. Likewise with cricket stuff
    Gold & silver coins
    Original art
    Signed limited edition prints
    Have a decent vinyl collection going back 40 years or so

I also collect bikes - ones without an engine (but probably more expensive than many that do have engines!). They do wear out with use mind

In terms of cycling jerseys, I like to put a different one on every time I race, so probably have getting on for 100 different ones now (well if Imelda Marcos could do it with shoes, then why not?:p)

Is having a season ticket for Man United a hobby? Maybe questionable in recent years when it could have been argued to have been more of a chore, but things are looking up again now

My latest hobby is writing. I "inherited" my dad's farming memoires, and I'm looking to edit it and turn it into a book. I'm also doing something similar with my photographic records of concerts in the 1980s (including the Stones, Bowie, Live Aid (took over 500 photos that day at Wembley), Human Rights Now)

There is my photography generally, with me doing a lot of the kids on their sporting exploits and generally at cycling events (when I'm not directly involved)

And then I like to visit different Costas....

I wonder sometimes where I find time to work

gw80 wrote: »
    You had me at fly fishing.
    Used to do a lot more in the past, like most evenings in summer kinda thing, but life got in the way and I lapsed. Got back into it slowly last year. I'me even weird there as I use greased natural silk lines and split cane/hexagraphs. If you ever get the chance Gw and it's river fishing, try a silk line, going back to plastic will be difficult. Cuts through the air and wind as it's thinner for it's weight, shoots like a bullet and lands like a feather and cos it sits on the water not in it lifts off without as much disturbance. Fantastic for dry fly and nymphing and ungreased and great intermediate line. But I digress... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Bird Watching
    Gardening
    Hill Walking
    Fishing
    Reading
    Writing
    Genealogy
    Nature Studies
    History of Science
    Local History
    Crosswords

What’s the biggest pike you got srameen and what do you think of the current trend of treating pike as invasive and culling them by the trout fans

Beasty wrote: »
    Have a decent vinyl collection going back 40 years or so
    Had a few records myself B, but gave any of the vaguely interesting ones to a mate of mine who has a record collection the late John Peel would be envious of. Though somewhere I still have a few hundred 78's going back to the 20's.

Woodworking (proper joinery with hand tools) when I have the time which is nearly never.

Reading
    Music
    Movies

Used to go to the gym twice a day but between work, college at night and hurting my back I stopped going. Starting again next week after the latest work trip ends as my general lack of fitness is annoying me.

What’s the biggest pike you got srameen and what do you think of the current trend of treating pike as invasive and culling them by the trout fans

Something slightly over 36lb, but I stick to river brown trout, on the fly, these days. I don't agree that pike should be culled.

Had a few records myself B, but gave any of the vaguely interesting ones to a mate of mine who has a record collection the late John Peel would be envious of. Though somewhere I still have a few hundred 78's going back to the 20's.

How do you finance your collections W?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Fishing.
    Barbecuing.
    Home brewing.
    Driving.
    Weed.
    Meteorology.

Something slightly over 36lb,
    Bloody hellfire S, that's not a fish it's a bloody rowboat you landed. :eek: :)
    but I stick to river brown trout, on the fly, these days.

you-know-it-makes-sense.jpg

Bloody hellfire S, that's not a fish it's a bloody rowboat you landed. :eek: :)

you-know-it-makes-sense.jpg

Have you seen my axe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

AllForIt wrote: »
    If anyone would like a painting of a LEGO representation of the Solar System Jupiterkid's yir man.

To scale, I hope. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

According to my CV I am a modern day explorer and adventurer.
    In reality...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 Patlanta

Reading this thread is making me think that I should take up some hobbies because honestly I'm the man without a hobby. I like wine and watching TV/films but not in anyway that could be considered a hobby.

How do you finance your collections W?
    You would be surprised how cheap that kinda thing can be MG. And it used to be even cheaper before the interwebs. It's the fashionable stuff that's usually the pricier and because of the internet and places like ebay and more people getting into different types of collecting and more stuff coming onto the market(though that's dropped right off) more things have gotten more "valuable". But even these days some cool stuff can be very cheap or missed in among various online auctions. If you have your eye in then you can get lucky, or waste money. :D But I have always set a personal limit of 200quid. Pre and post the euro. And I research like an effin demon. Having an eidetic memory helps there.

To give you an example of how fashion, obscurity, "values" go; I've bought original NASA Gemini/Apollo launch control manuals and checklist signed(at the time as their personal copy) by known top players on the team for under 30 quid. I remember when I got one very cool and actually historic example for around that and on ebay just the instruction books for some Lego Star Wars kits were being auctioned off with many bidders for ten times that. Crazy world like.

TL;DR? even on a very modest budget, like a one night pissup session with the lads type budget, you can get some really interesting things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Finding new restaurants and trying them out.
    Looking for cute and unique places to stay around Ireland, airbnb’s etc
    Sitting on the couch lashing the wine into me
    Sleeping
    Pajama buying

Sitting on the couch lashing the wine into me
    Sleeping
    Feck I completely forgot about those R:e. :eek: Yeah I'll add them to my earlier list and near top of same.

So long as it's red wine? I do consider white "wine" to be the work of Satan and an affront to God and Nature. At the Last Supper they should have been alerted something rum was afoot when Judas showed up with an amphora of chardonnay. Even Jesus - who had previous success with water - on his best day couldn't turn that shite into wine. But I digress. Again... :o:D