Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I bet you didn't know that this thread would have a part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Can anybody explain some of the other odd job titles I see on film credits..?

Key grip
    Best boy
    Gaffer
    Dolly grip..

And so on!

https://youtu.be/iwY5o2fsG7Y

Biff from back to the future answers these and other questions.

What does the key grip do? Set up lights.

What does the Best Boy do? Help the Key Grip.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Uncle phil from fresh prince did the.voice of shredder in the turtles cartoon.

Also, since we discovered pluto, it still hasnt done a lap of the sun. (Less than a pluto year has passed) . They must get huge birthday presents on pluto!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,777 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Uncle phil from fresh prince did the.voice of shredder in the turtles cartoon.

Also, since we discovered pluto, it still hasnt done a lap of the sun. (Less than a pluto year has passed) . They must get huge birthday presents on pluto!

Wow!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

On July 12, 2011 Neptune completed it's first orbit since it was discovered in 1846.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,154 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

joeguevara wrote: »
    https://youtu.be/iwY5o2fsG7Y

Biff from back to the future answers these and other questions.

What does the key grip do? Set up lights.

What does the Best Boy do? Help the Key Grip.

The best boy is the gaffers assistant

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Proper gaffer tape is bloody expensive.

Not if you know where to shop ;)

The term cheque or check (as in paycheck) comes from the game of Chess. When a king is in check in Chess, it limits his options, and so options are limited in how money is used in cheque (or check) form.

Also, chess originated in India. Regardless of what the Persians - or especially the Egyptians - would have you believe!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Still on finance. A Bank is named after Banque, meaning a table or bench, which moneylenders sat at.

In Japanese chess when you take a piece from your opponent it changes side and you control it then.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,908 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

The world's first steeplechase was run in 1752 from Buttevant to Doneraile in Cork.
    the first steeplechase race was held in 1752 in County Cork, Ireland, where a horseman named O’Callaghan engaged Edmund Blake in a match race, covering approximately 4 1/2 miles from Buttevant Church to St. Mary’s Doneraile, whose tower was known as St. Leger Steeple. Indeed, church steeples were the most prominent — and tallest — landmarks on the landscape, and the sport took its name from the chase to the steeple. History did not record the winner of the O’Callaghan-Blake match, or if either of them completed their cross-country chase.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

If you've watched Band of Brothers, you might remember Lynn Compton, one of the platoon leaders in Easy Company.

Buck_Compton.jpg
    Actor

Compton_506e.jpg
    Real life

What you might not know, however, is that later in his life, he was the chief prosecutor of Sirhan Sirhan, the man who shot Robert F. Kennedy. Some life.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,151 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Quite a few of the survivors of Easy Company went on to have remarkable lives.

It makes sense when you think about it: when you give young men responsibility, they tend to live up to it. Once discharged from the armed forces you then have men in their early twenties who are brave, used to command, and with a firm understanding of logistics: perfect managerial/entrepreneurial material.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,825 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Ooh interesting! He seems so affable and easy going. Tell us the sordid details! :-P

Oh he did seem affable, he wasn't a bad guy or anything, just tedious. We were in a scene where he's in an underground boxing club. I've never watched the movie but basically it seemed to be a short scene to establish that his character is a bare knuckle boxer. So he's in a fight. But rather than just shoot the shots they needed that the director ordered and getting out of there, he kept on coming up with new shots they could do. So he would say "we should do a shot where he tries to punch me when I'm against this pillar but I duck and he hits the pillar".

Which is all well and good, but there's no narrative purpose to doing such a shot. But he's the star so part of managing a set is keeping the star happy, so they do the shot. As my friend explained to me, that shot will absolutely under no circumstances ever be used in the movie, but they do it anyway. That sounds like no big deal. But every shot you do extends the time on set by a certain amount of time: camera angles need to be set up, lighting needs to be set up, video assist, electrics, hundreds of extras need to be given water by runners on the set. And all of these people also need to be paid, by the hour, for being there, at an astonishing rate (even as an extra you were paid pretty well). And everybody has to do extra work, stand around in a stuffy, overheated pub basement ready to faint (several extras did faint), the catering needs to be extended into the evening, etc etc.

And he just kept on coming up with new shots they should do, always with a view to making himself look cool, and feel like he is part of the creative process beyond just acting, like he is a co-director. I was ready to bare knuckle box him myself by the end of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,359 ✭✭✭✭Professor Moriarty

Nixonbot wrote: »
    If you've watched Band of Brothers, you might remember Lynn Compton, one of the platoon leaders in Easy Company.

Buck_Compton.jpg
    Actor

Compton_506e.jpg
    Real life

What you might not know, however, is that later in his life, he was the chief prosecutor of Sirhan Sirhan, the man who shot Robert F. Kennedy. Some life.

The actor who played him (pictured above) is Neal McDonough. His mother was from Tipperary and his father was from Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,903 ✭✭✭✭GBX

When Indian sitar player Ravi Shanker and his band played at Madison Square Garden they received a huge round of applause after only a short time on stage. Ravi turned to the crowd and said “Thank you. If you appreciate the tuning so much, I hope you will enjoy the playing more.”

GBX wrote: »
    When Indian sitar player Ravi Shanker and his band played at Madison Square Garden they received a huge round of applause after only a short time on stage. Ravi turned to the crowd and said “Thank you. If you appreciate the tuning so much, I hope you will enjoy the playing more.”

He was an amazing musician. Beatle George Harrison was among his students, and he was the father of grammy winning performer Norah Jones, who's birth name is Geetali Shankar. Pandit Shankars other daughter Anoushka is considered to be an equally talented sitarist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Former US president Gerald Ford was born Leslie Lynch King Jr.

His parents separated when he was only 16 days old. When he was 3 his mother remarried to Gerald Rudolff Ford and they started calling him Gerald Rudolff Ford Jr. He was never officially adopted and he only legally changed his name when he was 22.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,151 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Candie wrote: »
    The term cheque or check (as in paycheck) comes from the game of Chess. When a king is in check in Chess, it limits his options, and so options are limited in how money is used in cheque (or check) form.

Also, chess originated in India. Regardless of what the Persians - or especially the Egyptians - would have you believe!
    I don't think that's really correct. It's probably more accurate to say that both words share a common etymology - but I don't think the person who invented the cheque, in wondering what to call it, hit on an overly-elaborate description of something from a board game.

Basically, in chess you're keeping someone in check, and in finance you're keeping checks and balances. So a common idea, but the one didn't follow directly from the other.

The Irish kind of lay claim to the game of chess too - the Fianna played hurling and chess to keep themselves active between battles. But they played ficheall, a similar kind of game but ultimately not chess. However, it's now the Irish word for chess, making it one of the very few languages where the word for chess isn't a derivation of the original "shah". Another exception is Welsh where, naturally, chess is "gwyddbwyll". Welsh is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Was the game mentioned inmytholgy actually hurling or was it just a form of “stick ball”?

Checkmate in chess derived from shāh māt old Persian for the king (Shah) is helpless (dead)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

The actor who played him (pictured above) is Neal McDonough. His mother was from Tipperary and his father was from Galway.

His sister lives in Clifden. She's an editor for Connemara View newspaper.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

GBX wrote: »
    That was at the benefit shows "Concert for Bangladesh" in 1971, organised by George Harrison to raise funds for that country that was going through a storm of war and a flood of refugees. Featuring Harrison, Eric Clapton(who was a full on heroine addict at this stage, but kept his crap together that day), Shankar, Ringo, Bob Dylan and others. John Lennon was up for it, but pulled out at the last minute as he had agreed to play without Yoko, but apparently she had a fit about that. McCartney was thought of in the early stages, but he declined citing bad blood as the Beatles had only gone through their acrimonious breakup a year previously.

concert-for-bangladesh.jpg

It was the first benefit gig of such a scale and an triple album(which won a grammy for best album) and film of the concerts followed raising a few million over the years administered by UNICEF. More money was raised but there were "issues" with some of it going missing before UNICEF got it.

Bob Geldof subsequently said it was a major influence on his idea for Live Aid.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,027 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

The winner(s) of the 1989 edition of the Masters (Nick Faldo), Super Bowl (San Francisco 49ers), NBA Finals (Detroit Pistons), All-Ireland senior football championship (Cork), Australian Open men's (Ivan Lendl) and women's (Steffi Graf) singles, Monaco Grand Prix (Ayrton Senna) and European Cup (AC Milan), all retained their respective titles the following year.

Just as a sense of perspective, the Masters has only been retained three times in total, only seven franchises have EVER won consecutive Super Bowls, Real Madrid are the only team to win the Champions League in consecutive years since 1990, Kerry and Dublin the only two teams to retain the AI in the same time-frame, and the Australian women's title has only been won back-to-back three times post-2000.

I find it incredible that so many titles were retained in those two years.

Wibbs wrote: »
    It was the first benefit gig of such a scale and an triple album(which won a grammy for best album) and film of the concerts followed raising a few million over the years administered by UNICEF. More money was raised but there were "issues" with some of it going missing before UNICEF got it.
    IIRC it made a loss but Harrison handed over a lot of his own money to charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,075 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yup and many in the biz would say that he had a large hand in reviving the British film industry, but for all that and his other charity stuff, he only got the gong from the Brits in his MBE when he was a Beatle and that was for show business exports. McCartney is a "Sir".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Yup and many in the biz would say that he had a large hand in reviving the British film industry, but for all that and his other charity stuff, he only got the gong from the Brits in his MBE when he was a Beatle and that was for show business exports. McCartney is a "Sir".

Who’s Wings?
    They’re only the band The Beatles could have been…

Mrs Saxe-Coburg-Gotha must be a fan.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Both of them hurling strongholds.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭KevRossi

If you take any point west of the Shannon* and head directly north, the first country you hit is ...... Russia. (East of the Shannon and you'll more than likely hit one of the Outer Hebridies).

You achieve this by passing the North Pole and continuing on to Chukotka Okrug ('province'). This is about 10 times the size of Ireland, but has a population less than that of Roscommon.

Going anywhere west of Ireland you hit Canada first, east is the UK and going south it could be any one of the UK, Spain, Portugal or Morocco.

*West of the Shannon and west of Northern Ireland would be more exact.