If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What Games Have You Completed? (2019 Edition)

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,413 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Spider-Man and its DLC completed for me as well.

Really enjoyed it overall.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I spent yesterday nursing a hangover and completing Modern Tales: Age of Invention, another typical Artifex Mundi puzzle/hidden object game. Easy going and perfect for a lazy day.

Game|Platform
    Assassins Creed Origins|PlayStation 4
    Assassins Creed Odyssey|PlayStation 4
    God of War| PlayStation 4
    Spyro The Dragon| PlayStation 4
    Spyro 2: Ripto's Revenge| PlayStation 4
    Spyro 3: Year of the Dragon| PlayStation 4
    Spider Man| PlayStation 4
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered| PlayStation 4
    Eventide 3: Legacy of Legends| PlayStation 4
    Grim Legends 3: The Dark City| PlayStation 4
    Spider Man DLC: The City That Never Sleeps| PlayStation 4
    Flower| PlayStation 3 (PS Now)
    Knack| PlayStation 4
    Bastion| PlayStation Vita
    The Lego Movie Videogame| PlayStation Vita
    Virginia| PlayStation 4
    What Remains of Edith Finch| PlayStation 4
    Noir Chronicles: City of Crime| PlayStation 4
    Lego Batman 3: Beyond Gotham| PlayStation 4
    Red Johnson's Chronicles: One Against All| PlayStation 3 (PS Now)
    Stranger Things: The Game| Android Mobile
    Legacy 2: The Prisoner| Android Mobile
    Lego City Undercover| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Nightmares From The Deep 2: The Sirens Call| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Sherlock Holmes: The Devils Daughter| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    My Brother Rabbit| PlayStation 4
    Nightmares From The Deep: The Cursed Pirate| PlayStation 4
    Lego Ninjago The Movie Video Game| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Detroit: Become Human| PlayStation 4
    Queens Quest 2: Stories of Forgotten Past| PlayStation 4
    The Town of Light| PlayStation 4
    Gravity Rush 2| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Metro 2033 Redux| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Middle Earth: Shadow of War| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition| PlayStation 4
    Modern Tales: Age of Invention| PlayStation 4

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,191 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Far cry new dawn - PS4
    Shadow of the tomb raider -ps 4
    Yakuza kiwami - PS4
    Ys VIII - Switch
    Trails of cold steel - ps 4

and adding RDR 2 - xbox1

Outer worlds -xbox one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭The Phantom Pain

Red Dead Redemption 2.
    Destiny 2: Forsaken, Warmind and Curse of Osiris.
    Assassin's Creed III Remastered.
    Assassin’s Creed III: Tyranny of King Washington.
    Far Cry 5.
    What Remains of Edith Finch.
    Mass Effect 1.
    Dishonoured 2.
    Grand Theft Auto V.
    Dishonoured: Death of the Outsider.
    Fallout 4.
    Infamous: Second Son.
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Remastered.
    Detroit:Become Human.
    Assassin's Creed Liberation Remastered.
    Borderlands 2 (Handsome Collection).
    Borderlands 2: Captain Scarlett & Her Pirate's Booty DLC.
    Final Fantasy 15.
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare Remastered.
    No Man's Sky.
    Far Cry Primal.
    Vampyr.
    Call of Duty Ghosts.
    Borderlands 2: Sir Hammerlock's Big Game Hunt DLC.
    Borderlands 2: Tiny Tina's Assault on Dragon Keep DLC.
    Borderlands 2: Torgue's Campaign of Carnage DLC.
    Borderlands 2: Commander Lilith and the Fight for Sanctuary DLC.
    Spider-Man.
    Spider Man: The Heist DLC.
    Spider Man: Turf Wars DLC.
    Spider-Man: Silver Sable DLC.

Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare. They actually made an effort with this one - most of the missions are memorable, although I do question whether it needed the futuristic element of the exosuit. The freedom and open nature of some of the levels, I feel, is enough to carry it. This is the most thoughtfully considered COD I have played in a while in that regard. I hardly used the active abilities of the exosuit outside of trophies or really tough spots, and TBH I found overdrive really annoying – I achieved an ‘excellent’ score at the shooting range when I STOPPED using it despite the A.I. insisting.

Graphics are good for 2014 but then this series has always excelled in that department. Kevin Spacey was a good choice for his character and, while the story is predictable, it's also somewhat coherent with believable character motivations. However, I am sick to death of the Michael Bay cinematics. SICK OF IT. The unhealthy overuse of slow motion, the dizziness inducing sequences where the main character falls on his back, paralysed, and has to be helped up, the constant jump explosions NEED TO GO. Time to shake it up now as it’s becoming so transparently formulaic. I hope the latter COD games have improved on this.

The campaign is obviously very well directed and acted (in spite of some of the bad dialogue) but rather annoying in terms of replayability because it has too many in-engine cutscenes that you can’t skip. Seriously, how many times does the player have to passively wait for another character to breach? And by now I think it’s rather obvious that the reason this series does not allow you to sprint infinitely is because it needs time to load the levels. That said, Advanced Warfare is technically very polished. I experienced ZERO bugs or performance issues. We’ll see what the online is like… Speaking of which, my PS plus sub as expired sadly, so will have to attempt online trophies when I get a new one. I’ve got all the single player trophies.

I know I’m mostly bitching here but the campaign is decent. I think the problem is I cringe way too frequently when playing COD games these days. Even when Activision poop out one as good as Advanced Warfare there’s always an element of guilt to playing it. Like eating McDonalds. It’s soulless. Enjoyable fast food but nothing more.

(Also, do full replays to end credits within a short space of time count? I completed the main campaign of Prey again and achieved the platinum. Will probably get the DLC although it was quite dear last time I looked.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,413 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Hellblade Senua's Sacrifice.

Nice upbeat game, as many are aware, I'm sure. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭TinCanMan

Shadow of the Colossus remake PS4 - An all time classic.
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves remastered PS4 - Loved this, an improvement over no.1 which was also good but has aged somewhat.
    God of War PS4 - The game of this console generation.
    Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception - A cinematic masterpiece.
    What Remains of Edith Finch - A beautiful and moving game.
    Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition PS4 - Absolutely amazing, a must buy and is often on sale.
    Infamous Second Son - feel like a super hero. Good game but can get repetitive.
    Horizon Zero Dawn - This game is breathtakingly beautiful. Matched by excellent gameplay.
    Detroit: Become Human - damn this game just draws you in and plays with your emotions. Highly recommended.
    Yakuza Kiwami - my first introduction to the series and absolutely loved it. A complete blast. Highly recommended.
    Burly men at sea - free psn game, relaxing but nothing special. Easy platinum though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,358 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Final game of the year added to my PS4 list:

PS4

Horizon: Zero Dawn - great, great game, really loved the story, the world and most of the gameplay. My type of gaming experience
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune Remastered - the first Uncharted I've played and I quite enjoyed it! A male Lara Croft is what I expected and just what I got
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves Remastered - really enjoyed this one, great story and tasty gameplay. Big improvement over the original
    Life Is Strange - it was quite good... but at the same time nothing special! Didn't sink its hooks into me anyhow. The final hour or so was a bit meh.

Nintendo Switch

Celeste - fairly difficult platformer; was thrilled/surprised to finish it without needing to resort to the 'easy mode' help, was very enjoyable for what it was. And really suited the Switch's portability I think.
    GRIS - short puzzle-platformer, got through it in about three hours. Nice game, but not the best experience playing handheld.
    The Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening - never played the original, enjoyed this but it was fairly short!

Best game that I played in 2019: definitely Horizon: Zero Dawn. Was really great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 924 ✭✭✭da gamer

Battlefield V - PS4
    Spyro - PS4
    Red faction - PS4
    Yakuza zero - PS4
    Dmc 5 - PS4
    Resident evil 2 - PS4
    Shadow warrior - PS4
    Red dead redemption 2 - PS4
    Fifa 19 - PS4
    Life is strange - PS4
    Split Second - Xbox 360
    Tomb raider legend - Xbox 360
    Soma - PS4
    Turok - Xbox one
    Spiderman - PS4
    Metro exodus - PS4
    Fifa 19 - Switch
    Ghostbusters remastered - PS4
    Outlast - PS4
    Doom 1 - Switch
    Resident evil revelations 2 - PS4

World of illusion - Mega drive

• Administrators Posts: 55,372 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

The last of us. Really enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

[PC]

The Darkness II

Good game if a little short. Steam says I played for 5 hours but I don't know how many minutes past the 5 hours I played for. It plays different than the first one which I played years ago on the Xbox 360 as in the darkness has different moves. I remember in the first using the darkness to crawl trough small spaces to do things needed to continue on the mission. Overall a good game.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I picked up my Vita for the first time and played through action RPG Ys: memories of Celceta. I can't stand turn based RPG's but love action RPG's and this ticked the box nicely. Fun game and I'm definitely going to get the sequel.

Game|Platform
    Assassins Creed Origins|PlayStation 4
    Assassins Creed Odyssey|PlayStation 4
    God of War| PlayStation 4
    Spyro The Dragon| PlayStation 4
    Spyro 2: Ripto's Revenge| PlayStation 4
    Spyro 3: Year of the Dragon| PlayStation 4
    Spider Man| PlayStation 4
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered| PlayStation 4
    Eventide 3: Legacy of Legends| PlayStation 4
    Grim Legends 3: The Dark City| PlayStation 4
    Spider Man DLC: The City That Never Sleeps| PlayStation 4
    Flower| PlayStation 3 (PS Now)
    Knack| PlayStation 4
    Bastion| PlayStation Vita
    The Lego Movie Videogame| PlayStation Vita
    Virginia| PlayStation 4
    What Remains of Edith Finch| PlayStation 4
    Noir Chronicles: City of Crime| PlayStation 4
    Lego Batman 3: Beyond Gotham| PlayStation 4
    Red Johnson's Chronicles: One Against All| PlayStation 3 (PS Now)
    Stranger Things: The Game| Android Mobile
    Legacy 2: The Prisoner| Android Mobile
    Lego City Undercover| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Nightmares From The Deep 2: The Sirens Call| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Sherlock Holmes: The Devils Daughter| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    My Brother Rabbit| PlayStation 4
    Nightmares From The Deep: The Cursed Pirate| PlayStation 4
    Lego Ninjago The Movie Video Game| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Detroit: Become Human| PlayStation 4
    Queens Quest 2: Stories of Forgotten Past| PlayStation 4
    The Town of Light| PlayStation 4
    Gravity Rush 2| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Metro 2033 Redux| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Middle Earth: Shadow of War| PlayStation 4 (PS Now)
    Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition| PlayStation 4
    Modern Tales: Age of Invention| PlayStation 4
    Ys: Memories of Celceta| PlayStation Vita

Battlefield V - PS4
    Spyro - PS4
    Red faction - PS4
    Yakuza zero - PS4
    Dmc 5 - PS4
    Resident evil 2 - PS4
    Shadow warrior - PS4
    Fifa 19 - PS4
    Life is strange - PS4
    Split Second - Xbox 360
    Soma - PS4
    Turok - Xbox one
    Spiderman - PS4
    Metro exodus - PS4
    Fifa 19 - Switch
    Outlast - PS4
    Doom 1 - Switch

Call of duty modern warfare - PS4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,655 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Game: Contra: Hard Corps
    Platform: SEGA Mega Drive

Played this via my Mega Drive Mini. I stuck on the Japanese version so I have no idea what ending I got. I just flew through it - took me about half an hour.

Very hectic shoot 'em up, which isn't my style of genre, but I enjoyed this one somehow. Maybe it's because the JP version lets you play with unlimited continues, because I must've lost about 40 lives or thereabouts.

This, and Gunstar Heroes were the only shmups I've really gotten a kick out of playing.

2019 Games Beaten So Far
    GAME|PLATFORM
    SPYRO THE DRAGON|PLAYSTATION 4
    OUTRUN (SEGA AGES)|NINTENDO SWITCH
    DETROIT: BECOME HUMAN|PLAYSTATION 4
    RESIDENT EVIL 2|PLAYSTATION 4
    SUPER MARIO BROS.|NES
    FIFA 17|PLAYSTATION 4
    FIFA 18|PLAYSTATION 4
    CASTLEVANIA II: SIMON'S QUEST (REDACTED)|NES
    CASTLEVANIA III: DRACULA'S CURSE|NES
    FLASHBACK: 25TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION|PLAYSTATION 4
    FIFA 19|PLAYSTATION 4
    STREETS OF RAGE 2 (SEGA MD CLASSICS)|NINTENDO SWITCH
    MORTAL KOMBAT 11|PLAYSTATION 4
    THE MESSENGER|NINTENDO SWITCH
    ORI AND THE BLIND FOREST|XBOX ONE
    SHAKEDOWN: HAWAII|NINTENDO SWITCH
    CELESTE|NINTENDO SWITCH
    SPEC OPS: THE LINE|PC
    TETRIS EFFECT|PLAYSTATION 4
    GRAND THEFT AUTO: LIBERTY CITY STORIES|PLAYSTATION 2
    GRAND THEFT AUTO: VICE CITY STORIES|PLAYSTATION 2
    INSIDE|PLAYSTATION 4
    LIMBO|NINTENDO SWITCH
    A WAY OUT|PLAYSTATION 4
    METAL GEAR SOLID 2: SONS OF LIBERTY|PLAYSTATION 3
    GUNSTAR HEROES (SEGA MD CLASSICS)|NINTENDO SWITCH
    METAL GEAR SOLID 3: SNAKE EATER|PLAYSTATION 3
    METAL GEAR SOLID 4: GUNS OF THE PATRIOTS|PLAYSTATION 3
    METAL GEAR SOLID|PLAYSTATION
    METAL GEAR SOLID: THE TWIN SNAKES|NINTENDO GAMECUBE
    DOOM (93)|PLAYSTATION 4
    GOLDEN AXE|SEGA MEGA DRIVE
    STREETS OF RAGE 2|SEGA MEGA DRIVE
    GEARS OF WAR 4|PC
    FORBIDDEN SIREN 2|PLAYSTATION 2
    THE OUTER WORLDS|PLAYSTATION 4
    DEATH STRANDING|PLAYSTATION 4
    CONTRA: HARD CORPS|SEGA MEGA DRIVE

Red Dead Redemption 2.
    Far Cry 5.
    Mass Effect 1.
    Dishonoured 2.
    Grand Theft Auto V.
    Fallout 4.
    Final Fantasy 15.
    No Man's Sky.
    Far Cry Primal.
    Vampyr.
    Call of Duty Ghosts.
    Spider-Man.
    Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider. Completed and platinumed. It’s fine but forgettable, and quite disappointing for the end of this new trilogy. Suffers from pandering to a loud, vocal minority who couldn’t accept the direction the series had gone in 2013 and so what you end up with is a game that utilises its worst feature i.e. the climbing – clunky and unresponsive with an unruly camera that doesn’t seem to be in sync with the pathing like most games with parkour mechanics. All in an attempt, mind, to make it feel like old Tomb Raider even though it’s nothing like old Tomb Raider.
    Tombs are fun but nothing too difficult. The collectibles are interesting at first but eventually all the same so other than xp or trophies not worth getting. It’s graphically impressive and Lara is far less irritating than in the second one, I just think this reboot deserved better. I’ll probably get the DLCs for the tomb puzzles but I don’t think I’ll be playing another Tomb Raider reboot unless we get a change of publisher.

Completed and platinumed. It’s fine but forgettable, and quite disappointing for the end of this new trilogy. Suffers from pandering to a loud, vocal minority who couldn’t accept the direction the series had gone in 2013 and so what you end up with is a game that utilises its worst feature i.e. the climbing – clunky and unresponsive with an unruly camera that doesn’t seem to be in sync with the pathing like most games with parkour mechanics. All in an attempt, mind, to make it feel like old Tomb Raider even though it’s nothing like old Tomb Raider.
    Tombs are fun but nothing too difficult. The collectibles are interesting at first but eventually all the same so other than xp or trophies not worth getting. It’s graphically impressive and Lara is far less irritating than in the second one, I just think this reboot deserved better. I’ll probably get the DLCs for the tomb puzzles but I don’t think I’ll be playing another Tomb Raider reboot unless we get a change of publisher.

What did you complete and platinum??

Shadow Of the Tomb Raider.

My bad. I've edited the post now.

Phantom Pain above reminded me about Shadow of the Tomb Raider and the DLC I never played. I played the main game when it was released and also got the season pass but just left the game after I 100% it.(in my defense the DLC was not released then) So earlier today I decided to play the DLC. I also noticed they fixed the screen tearing that was present when I was playing it buttery smooth now at 4k HDR on Xbox One X.

[Xbox One]

Shadow of The Tomb Raider (DLC)

The Forge

The Pillar

The nightmare

More of the same a mission and a tomb in each of the above. I am actually really enjoying it so much that I am playing the rest of the other DLC after I type this.

Red Dead Redemption 2.
    Far Cry 5.
    Mass Effect 1.
    Dishonoured 2.
    Grand Theft Auto V.
    Fallout 4.
    Final Fantasy 15.
    No Man's Sky.
    Far Cry Primal.
    Vampyr.
    Call of Duty Ghosts.
    Spider-Man.
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider

Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Forge
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Pillar
    Got the "season pass" for £8 as it was on sale. Completed and got 100% trophies for both. There is great satisfaction when you finally complete a challenge tomb (based on time and combo meters) because even getting a Bronze is hard, so Silver and Gold is exceptional. However, it's a bit of a cheek that The Pillar, for instance, demands a near perfect platforming run yet it's based around climbing mechanics that are clearly imperfect IMO...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 53,915 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

Game: Contra: Hard Corps
    Platform: SEGA Mega Drive

Played this via my Mega Drive Mini. I stuck on the Japanese version so I have no idea what ending I got. I just flew through it - took me about half an hour.

Very hectic shoot 'em up, which isn't my style of genre, but I enjoyed this one somehow. Maybe it's because the JP version lets you play with unlimited continues, because I must've lost about 40 lives or thereabouts.

This, and Gunstar Heroes were the only shmups I've really gotten a kick out of playing.

2019 Games Beaten So Far
    GAME|PLATFORM
    SPYRO THE DRAGON|PLAYSTATION 4
    OUTRUN (SEGA AGES)|NINTENDO SWITCH
    DETROIT: BECOME HUMAN|PLAYSTATION 4
    RESIDENT EVIL 2|PLAYSTATION 4
    SUPER MARIO BROS.|NES
    FIFA 17|PLAYSTATION 4
    FIFA 18|PLAYSTATION 4
    CASTLEVANIA II: SIMON'S QUEST (REDACTED)|NES
    CASTLEVANIA III: DRACULA'S CURSE|NES
    FLASHBACK: 25TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION|PLAYSTATION 4
    FIFA 19|PLAYSTATION 4
    STREETS OF RAGE 2 (SEGA MD CLASSICS)|NINTENDO SWITCH
    MORTAL KOMBAT 11|PLAYSTATION 4
    THE MESSENGER|NINTENDO SWITCH
    ORI AND THE BLIND FOREST|XBOX ONE
    SHAKEDOWN: HAWAII|NINTENDO SWITCH
    CELESTE|NINTENDO SWITCH
    SPEC OPS: THE LINE|PC
    TETRIS EFFECT|PLAYSTATION 4
    GRAND THEFT AUTO: LIBERTY CITY STORIES|PLAYSTATION 2
    GRAND THEFT AUTO: VICE CITY STORIES|PLAYSTATION 2
    INSIDE|PLAYSTATION 4
    LIMBO|NINTENDO SWITCH
    A WAY OUT|PLAYSTATION 4
    METAL GEAR SOLID 2: SONS OF LIBERTY|PLAYSTATION 3
    GUNSTAR HEROES (SEGA MD CLASSICS)|NINTENDO SWITCH
    METAL GEAR SOLID 3: SNAKE EATER|PLAYSTATION 3
    METAL GEAR SOLID 4: GUNS OF THE PATRIOTS|PLAYSTATION 3
    METAL GEAR SOLID|PLAYSTATION
    METAL GEAR SOLID: THE TWIN SNAKES|NINTENDO GAMECUBE
    DOOM (93)|PLAYSTATION 4
    GOLDEN AXE|SEGA MEGA DRIVE
    STREETS OF RAGE 2|SEGA MEGA DRIVE
    GEARS OF WAR 4|PC
    FORBIDDEN SIREN 2|PLAYSTATION 2
    THE OUTER WORLDS|PLAYSTATION 4
    DEATH STRANDING|PLAYSTATION 4
    CONTRA: HARD CORPS|SEGA MEGA DRIVE

You've only 5 continues on western version and it's one hit kill so it's much, much harder.

For me it's my favourite contra game. Worth playing for the other endings as there's loads of extra bosses And areas and also there's a secret area with new bosses and a joke ending.

[Xbox One]

Shadow of the Tomb Raider (DLC)

The Price of Survival

The Serpent’s Heart

The Grand Caiman

The Path Home

More of the same story side missions and a tomb.

Retr0gamer wrote: »
    You've only 5 continues on western version and it's one hit kill so it's much, much harder.

Which is precisely why I went for that JP version :pac:

Red Dead Redemption 2.
    Destiny 2 DLC: Forsaken
    Destiny 2 DLC: Warmind
    Destiny 2 DLC: Curse of Osiris.
    Far Cry 5.
    Mass Effect 1.
    Dishonoured 2.
    Grand Theft Auto V.
    Fallout 4.
    Final Fantasy 15.
    No Man's Sky.
    Far Cry Primal.
    Vampyr.
    Call of Duty Ghosts.
    Spider-Man.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Nightmare
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Price of Survival
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: Serpents' Heart
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Grand Caiman
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Path Home

Have completed all DLCs for Shadow of the Tomb Raider and 100% all trophies for them. I have to say I really enjoyed the challenge tombs. It's the perfect balance in difficulty i.e. very, very hard if you want gold medals but if you're not fussed and just want a minimum of bronze for the trophy/gamer score there's also enough challenge there, especially with the last 2 tomb DLCs.

There's actually a real strategy to it in terms of the order you build your combo score, it's not just as simple as collecting as many wisps as possible, as you could be backing yourself into a corner if you take a weaker path. Individually, 'score attack' and 'time attack' is easy or difficult depending on the tomb. There were times when I'd do a tomb for the first time and think, 'time attack is going to be easy for me on this one but score attack will be difficult' and vice versa which I think speaks to the level design - shows they actually put thought into it.

The side missions that introduce you to these tombs are nothing more than glorified tutorials where you have the chance to die, dust yourself off and try again as many times as you like so that you become familiar with the tomb before attempting the challenge. Almost makes me want to play Rise of the Tomb Raider now as I heard there were challenge tombs in that one. Almost.

Red Dead Redemption 2.
    Destiny 2 DLC: Forsaken
    Destiny 2 DLC: Warmind
    Destiny 2 DLC: Curse of Osiris.
    Far Cry 5.
    Mass Effect 1.
    Dishonoured 2.
    Grand Theft Auto V.
    Fallout 4.
    Final Fantasy 15.
    No Man's Sky.
    Far Cry Primal.
    Vampyr.
    Call of Duty Ghosts.
    Spider-Man.
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Nightmare
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Price of Survival[/B]
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: Serpents' Heart[/B]
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Grand Caiman[/B]
    Shadow of the Tomb Raider DLC: The Path Home[/B]

The Order 1886. Completed and platinumed. This game is ridiculous lol. I’m going to spoil some minor details as the game is 5 years old and people need to know how silly it is.

Firstly, the main guy, Sir Generic, who has been routinely tortured in a prison cell for goodness knows how long when we’re first introduced to him, is able to drown one of the guards with one hand while his other is literally chained down, and yet the game goes out of its way afterwards to show how weak he is by having him crawling throughout the entire opening section a la Metal Gear Solid V. At one point he takes a stab to the stomach and, without healing himself, is able to best an elder (elite werewolf) and then carry a woman away from danger.

Speaking of that woman, yes, there is a token woman in this brotherhood of knights order which, for some reason, the game needs to keep banging you over the head with because its self conscious about the fact that there is, in fact, a woman in the group… but not remotely self conscious about the fact that a potion can heal a broken spine and that the characters communicate with what I can only describe as mobiles phones in Victorian London. I’m not kidding, there are mobile phones in this game but yeah, it’s really odd to have a female knight lolololol

Never have I played a game so in love with itself that it really does not care if you enjoy it or not, all it cares about is that you know how gorgeous it is - which yes, it is a technical marvel to behold with perhaps the best hair I’ve seen in a video game but it kind of cheats by essentially being one big CGI movie with hardly any gameplay.

It’s funny that people complained that it’s too short – that’s technically not true. The game is about 8 to 10 hours for a completionist which is reasonable for £20 and under. The problem is that about 4 to 6 of those hours are just cut scenes. There’s not much gameplay which wouldn’t be so problematic if it actually just allowed you to sit back and watch the cut scenes rather than making the player participate in these awkward quick time events. Even to take down a guard in stealth you need to quick time it lol.

And the characters aren’t interesting or likeable enough for a game to be this cut scene heavy. I liked one character in it - a mysterious rebel leader who shows up more frequently in the back half of the story - mainly because she had a bit of sass and didn’t take herself so damn seriously like the rest of them. The story, itself, is OK but the lore is under-developed. I’m not saying a game needs to explain everything but at least give us enough info to make it seem like a believable world.

Also, as The Order is obsessed with being cinematic, it refuses to let you remove the black bars and has a very irritating, unnecessary film grain that does nothing more that mar an otherwise beautiful game. 90% of the non-cut scenes are forced walking and inspecting of interactable objects in order to show off how detailed the environmental design is.

It’s a shame because the actual gampelay is pretty good. The weapons and their variety are really inspired. I played without aim assist and it felt great. The look sensitivity was far below what I would deem as average though so I had to turn that up to about 7. The camera also has the occasiona habit of landing dead centre on Sir Generic which means he sometimes gets in the way of the aim reticle...

With that being said, I think it’s worth the price I got it at which was £9.85. No more than 20 quid. It's not trash and the actual shooting sections are enjoyable. The second half of the game picks up and becomes progressively more fun as it gets more and more gameplay heavy. I like the Victorian era and would be interested in a sequel but it needs a change of hands, I think, especially given that some of the devs came across like pompous, arrogant asshats in interviews which I think contributed to many of the faults of The Order.

Battlefield V - PS4
    Spyro - PS4
    Red faction - PS4
    Yakuza zero - PS4
    Dmc 5 - PS4
    Resident evil 2 - PS4
    Shadow warrior - PS4
    Fifa 19 - PS4
    Life is strange - PS4
    Split Second - Xbox 360
    Soma - PS4
    Turok - Xbox one
    Spiderman - PS4
    Metro exodus - PS4
    Fifa 19 - Switch
    Outlast - PS4
    Doom 1 - Switch
    Call of duty modern warfare - PS4

Gears of War 5 - Xbox one

RopeDrink wrote: »
    I'm of the opinion that worth is best summed up in a 'euros per hour' format for the most part. Of course, it's never that Black & White, but on paper, a 20£ game (which apprently provides completionists with only 8-10 hours of gameplay) really isn't worth it, not to mention the amount of complaints that circulated about that game. Meanwhile, I've pumped almost 900 hours into a little game like Darkest Dungeon, which you can buy along with all its DLC for about the price of a packet of smokes... but I digress... I know we all view it in our own way. If a hefty chunk of it was cutscenes then I'd rather just go to the cinema for that money. Least I'd get a full belly out of it :D

On topic, I can add "The Outer Worlds" to whatever list(s) I've previously added to this thread, as well as World War Z (even though that's a multiplayer co-op ala Left 4 Dead that you're meant to repeat/replay, but I've completed every single episode (story-mode) and currently just levelling up weapons, classes, and re-doing them all on higher difficulties, so the only thing left to complete is the grind-aspect).

EDIT:
    On the topic of above worth-ratio, I snagged Outer Worlds for about 30 quid via discount and XMas sale (was billed at 60euro without those, which was pretty darn steep). I've scrounged about 40hrs out of my blind playthrough and know that I could easily rack up more through replay value, so it was worth it. I grabbed WWZ for just over a tenner and already I've squeezed out another 40 hours or so out of it, so definitely worth it.

Fair point. I think my thoughts on this is somewhat influenced though by my belief that games these days are needlessly long and often just full of padding so when a game is short it's a sigh of relief. It also helps that I very rarely buy games at full price and usually wait for the price to get to its lowest point like I did with The Order. I'm satisfied with paying just under 10 quid for it but YMMV.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,937 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

I’m the complete opposite to ‘euros per hour’ when it comes to evaluating worth - obviously I don’t want to get ripped off, but that rarely if ever happens and it’s extremely uncommon for me to walk away from a game feeling like I was shortchanged, regardless of price. Short games like Sayonara Wild Hearts and a Short Hike were worth every cent of full price (and digital means most games are priced fairly when they’re released anyway). I’d go as far as to say the tendency of developers to try to provide ‘value for money’ in terms of volumes of content more often than not leads to bloated games and poor design choices. Couldn’t count the number of games I think would be stronger if they cut the redundant side quests, repetition, collectibles, optional objectives etc... That’s just me, of course, but it’s a reason I stay well clear of ‘games as services’, most open world timesinks (barring those that do something novel), and time-consuming (MMO)RPGs.

2020 Thread is Now Up.

Click Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Totally forgot about these threads, mostly because i finished F all games last year but i know i'm going to go back over them again so i might as well put mine up

Gears of War: Judgment (XBOX 360)

Call of Cthulhu (XBOX ONE)

Halo Wars 2 (XBOX ONE)

Dead or Alive 6 (XBOX ONE)

The awesome adventures of Captain Spirit (XBOX ONE)

Fighting Vipers (SATURN)

SSX 3 (XBOX)

Vampyr (XBOX ONE)

Medal of Honour: Frontline (XBOX)

Torino 2006 (XBOX)

Her Story (PC)