Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 320 ✭✭WillieMason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

KBC bank were throwing money around like confetti. When things went wrong what happened? They got a bailout:

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/kbc-given-state-bailout-after-3-6bn-loss-1.764037

THE BELGIAN government was again called to prop up its banking sector yesterday

First line of the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,154 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Larbre34 wrote: »
    I'm laughing at the notion that this mississippi burning will put off the nordie mercenaries from taking security gigs of this nature.

All it means is that their price just went up.

It means that they will be ready the next time the locals try this.

If this is repeated, I could really see the violence escalating. Btw, the local Representatives reaction to this was disgraceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,927 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Hard to see where this goes now? Maybe the bank will back off, but that leaves them open to being abused by all their other debtors. My guess is the bank will double down, now that they have control of the house and leave it uninhabitable by disconnecting services.
    You can count me in to join the folks who want to stop the thugs from NI if the decide to send them again.
    I don't get involved in these things ever but thugs have to be stopped so I'll join the locals if they want my assistance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

gandalf wrote: »
    Well according to earlier posters on this thread they don't have to be regulated to enforce a high court order. Which is news to me and as I said to you in an earlier reply it should have oversight and regulation.

Again what type of person is acceptable for this type of job? I suspect none are.

It certainly should. The idiot in KBC who gave this direction should be fired. This eviction was probably never going to go well. To say they managed to piss off everyone would be an understatement.

How comfortable do you think the individual members of AGS feel supporting what some might regard as shady operators ? Any local due diligence ?

You will have all kinds of Civil Liberties groups up in arms now. As it is we have no National Security Office. We have no oversight of state security and no oversight even when it comes down to PSA licensing of security firms engaged in repossessing properties on behalf of banks etc

eagle eye wrote: »
    You can count me in to join the folks who want to stop the thugs from NI if the decide to send them again.
    I don't get involved in these things ever but thugs have to be stopped so I'll join the locals if they want my assistance.

Yet another keyboard warrior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭simongurnick

every country in the world had the auditors in runnings things for years after did they

must have missed that

yer middle name...wouldnt be paddy be any chance
    So Ireland was the only one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

But the "locals" are thugs as well. Two wrongs don't make a right.

And if the sub contractors aren't from NI is that ok then from your perspective?

A bailout from the Belgian parent company which itself was bailed out by the Belgian Government 9 years ago...how is this fact relevant ? A Belgian bank did not tank the Irish economy

wow

ok, i`ll need to go a step back for you. I`ll do it, but just for you.
      The were lending irresponsibly, they would not have gone bust if they were lending responsibly. Their Irish arm were making a loss due to this.

They would not have needed a bailout if they lent responsibly. People wouldnt be being evicted if they had of lent responsibly.

Where the banks enforcers are from is really beside the point. The debtor defaulted on the debt and a high court order was sought and obtained. The debtors should have vacated the property at that point but didn't. When asking nicely didn't work, what was the bank to do?

Why don't you head up and knock on the owners door so. His details are all online apparently.

Might want to bring the keyboard with you for protection.

well, certainly not being manhandled by unregulated hired goons, who if the claims about them are true, may be, or have been in the past, a potential threat to the state, as the belief system they are alleged to have been, or are alleged to be allied to, does not think very much of the irish state or irish people.

That whole paragraph is somehow just one sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,639 ✭✭✭GarIT

Effects wrote: »
      The house and land were a guarantee on a loan their nephew took out, not them.

Well then they deserved it for the stupidity of letting a nephew take out a loan on their property if they weren't prepared to lose it.

The 70 lads should have gone after the nephew not the banks staff.

THE BELGIAN government was again called to prop up its banking sector yesterday

First line of the article.

doesnt matter who footed the bill, the point is their lending was irresponsible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,927 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Yet another keyboard warrior.
      I'm not, I'm being very serious. Since I was a child I've always been the type to bully the bully. I don't like to see people being treated badly by anyone, it really annoys me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭worded

Quote:
      Originally Posted by Neddyusa View Post
      Anyone know the background to the farm eviction in Strokestown?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2057938456[/URL]

Elderly brothers and sister evicted from their home by force on Tuesday.
      House occupied by Loyalist heavies on behalf of KBC up until lastnight, when their vans were burned out by locals.

Whatever about taking the land if its not been paid for, surely this is woeful stupidity by
      KBC to employ UVF thugs to evict them from their home - given the inevitable reaction!

Worded reply:

KBC - The Bank Of U VF

wow

ok, i`ll need to go a step back for you. I`ll do it, but just for you.
      The were lending irresponsibly, they would not have gone bust if they were lending responsibly. Their Irish arm were making a loss due to this.

They would not have needed a bailout if they lent responsibly. People wouldnt be being evicted if they had of lent responsibly.

People wouldn't end up being evicted if they borrowed responsibly. In any case, eviction is really difficult in Ireland, with courts really reluctant to give these orders. In most cases you really have to be not engaging with the process or taking the absolute piss for such an order to be made.

It's one of the reasons why rates are so high here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

GarIT wrote: »

What bank staff?

worded wrote: »
      Quote:
      Originally Posted by Neddyusa View Post
      Anyone know the background to the farm eviction in Strokestown?

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/show...p?t=2057938456[/URL]

Elderly brothers and sister evicted from their home by force on Tuesday.
      House occupied by Loyalist heavies on behalf of KBC up until lastnight, when their vans were burned out by locals.

Whatever about taking the land if its not been paid for, surely this is woeful stupidity by
      KBC to employ UVF thugs to evict them from their home - given the inevitable reaction!

KBC - The Bank Of U VF

You need to keep up. We moved on from them definitely being UVF members aged ago.

I think Roscommon has just gone to ****e. I don't know anywhere else where two burglars can attack a Gardaí and 700 go on a march because the burglars got hurt when the guard defended himself

What bank staff?

Contractors, whatever you want to call them. The people paid by the bank to carry out repossessions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,548 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Who wants to tell the Belgian taxpayer they aren't getting their money back because Irish people who voluntarily borrowed money from KBC reckon its fair game not to pay it back because of perceived issues with their lending practices?

I think Roscommon has just gone to ****e. I don't know anywhere else where two burglars can attack a Gardaí and 700 go on a march because the burglars got hurt when the guard defended himself

Just file it away with Kerry rapists getting handshakes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

Contractors, whatever you want to call them. The people paid by the bank to carry out repossessions.

I doubt the were bank staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Well then they deserved it for the stupidity of letting a nephew take out a loan on their property if they weren't prepared to lose it.

they didn't go after the bank's staff, but members of a private security firm contracted to cary out the eviction
      People wouldn't end up being evicted if they borrowed responsibly. In any case, eviction is really difficult in Ireland, with courts really reluctant to give these orders. In most cases you really have to be not engaging with the process or taking the absolute piss for such an order to be made.

It's one of the reasons why rates are so high here.

that is often claimed but to be honest i'm not sure it has anything to do with it. if it was easy to evict people i think the rates would still remain high but who knows?

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

noodler wrote: »
      Who wants to tell the Belgian taxpayer they aren't getting their money back because Irish people who voluntarily borrowed money from KBC reckon its fair game not to pay it back because of perceived issues with their lending practices?

Tell them about the famine. They'll be ok with it then.

I doubt the were bank staff.

You think they arrived up to the property to take it over without being paid by the bank?

So Ireland was the only one?

dyou have to be the only one? isnt being one of a handful in that state enough for you to admit that external forces werent the factor that had us so utterly f*cked? everyone else by and large managed. twas us and a few other basket cases getting our arses wiped for us by the grownups. you want to point to them and mutter that it wasnt only us? good grief.

clinging to external circumstances to absolve paddy of any responsibility for behaviour before, during and after is exactly the point.

its the mindset of a colonised nation. what the famine did to us. what the brits did on us. what the subprime lending bubble did on us. what the ecb did on us. what the nordie debt collectors did on us.

even the lurch towards focusing on the security firms identity is demonstrative of the self-removal from consequence of action.

EOTR you thanked this but you moan and whinge anytime vigilantism is suggested anywhere else on here. I guarantee you'd be against if it was suggested on the Balbriggan thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Effects wrote: »
      The house and land were a guarantee on a loan their nephew took out, not them.

Was the loan anything to with the farm or was it on a separate endeavour?