Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Serious Incident in Castleblayney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ASOT

It clearly states in the article what went on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

ASOT wrote: »
    It clearly states in the article what went on.

I think the poster means what caused the incident, not what was the incident.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

A man in an Audi A6 caused it. Says so in the report.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ASOT

The Garda pulled over a vehicle, the vehicle sped off. Case closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

WHY not what. Was he intoxicated? On a rampage, trying to deliberately run someone down..

It's very clear what happened, but thanks for repeating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Guy arrived in the garda station for something unconnected and it was noticed that he was a chap from the North who is wanted for questioning. He ran out, garda chased him and somehow got caught in the car and dragged about 500 feet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

is he of a certain protected ethnic minority culture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Guy arrived in the garda station for something unconnected and it was noticed that he was a chap from the North who is wanted for questioning. He ran out, garda chased him and somehow got caught in the car and dragged about 500 feet.

Didn't he torpedo a parked car and kill the man sitting in it? That guy is in some deep schtuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Thank You.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

jimgoose wrote: »
    Didn't he torpedo a parked car and kill the man sitting in it? That guy is in some deep schtuck.

Average sentence for death by dangerous driving is 3 and a half years, partially suspended. I doubt this will be a big imposition on his life if he was already wanted in NI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

That scumbag should be charged with murder,imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

gwalk wrote: »

A protestant perhaps?

VeryTerry wrote: »
    A protestant perhaps?

88c603f1488aa25ad4b1d810e00d6512f23b50593deb8ed2cd953f5815494013.jpg

jimgoose wrote: »

Sorry yeah, I kind of buried the lead there. Innocent man in a parked car, shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Very sad. The poor man just minding his own business sitting in his car on the street. And the young guard dragged for 500 metres. That's a long way to be dragged. Head injuries. Terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭TheBoyConor

Ah come on. Yeah, but why did he do it? There is obviously some depth and backstory to this. Unless he decided to just do it for the craic.

Why are you taking such a simplistic aspergeristic perspective on it?

Anyhow, RIP to the innocent deceased in the Skoda.
    I hope the injured Garda recovers.
    May the A6 driver get whats coming to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Ah come on. Yeah, but why did he do it? There is obviously some depth and backstory to this. Unless he decided to just do it for the craic.

The man entered the garda station and was recognised as a person of interest by one of the guards. Said guard approached and the man fled and got into his car. The guard attempted to wrench him from the vehicle and instead, the man drove down the street (all downhill) dragging the guard with him. He sharply turned the corner onto the main street and lost control of the car (presumably didn't realise he was driving head-first into an island roundabout) and smashed into the poor man sitting in his car.
    A much-loved member of the community and a total innocent. Our entire town is in mourning.

What did the PSNI want him for?

Was he potenitally involved in or had links to terrorism and paramilitaries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

What did the PSNI want him for?

Was he potenitally involved in or had links to terrorism and paramilitaries?

My guess would be burglaries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

Will get a slap on the wrists and be sent on his way - broken home I'm sure, troubled background, probably a minority

should rot in jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

lassykk wrote: »
    Will get a slap on the wrists and be sent on his way - broken home I'm sure, troubled background, probably a minority

should rot in jail

And the GSOC will probably criticise the local Gardaí for putting lives at risk by trying to arrest him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Poor taste, opportunistic and absolutely without foundation.

Sympathies to the victim's family and friends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,622 ✭✭✭lassykk

I truthfully don't know how guards motivate themselves to catch criminals when the justice system in this country is so twisted. Just something that really boils my blood when you see guilty, beyond any shadow of a doubt, criminals getting minimal or suspended sentences. Sorry, I know this is off topic so I'll bow out.

Poor taste, opportunistic and absolutely without foundation.

Sympathies to the victim's family and friends.

Get off your high horse chief, its AH

lassykk wrote: »

should rot in jail

learning difficulties, dyslexia, ADHD etc etc just to boost the sympathy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,841 ✭✭✭Squatter

.................... wrote a heartfelt letter of apology to the dead man's family and the injured Garda and has recently "found God" while in prison.

Squatter wrote: »
    .................... wrote a heartfelt letter of apology to the dead man's family and the injured Garda and has recently "found God" while in prison.

That's where the f*cker was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Or a good republican...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,357 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

+ make sure to wear a suit and definitely a pair of glasses in court, you would do 12 months max in a min security prison.

Maybe throw out that his mother has cancer too. And he has a special needs child with one of his exes that was left innocent from the waist down because of his gammy ADHD genes.

Might it be possible that he has no previous convictions? Ah sure that's grand so. Off you go with the probation act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Not forgetting abused as a child

Edgware wrote: »
    Not forgetting abused as a child

And difficulties accepting authority is another one. And as always, issues with substance misuse

"de droooogs med me doo ih".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

To avoid further incidents like this I propose all A6 drivers have their cars impounded and crushed. The scrap sold and a fleet of 2010 micras bought with the proceeds as replacements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,407 ✭✭✭✭endacl

its AH

How come that shyte is only ever trotted out by numpties with accounts a few months old?

It’s like they got handed a flyer at a numpty convention, telling them of this magical land called After Hours, where you can say anything you like, because it’s ‘After Hours’.

It’s like the on,one equivalent of ‘shureya havta’, which is the idiot cousin of ‘for the craic’.

endacl wrote: »
    How come that shyte is only ever trotted out by numpties with accounts a few months old?

It’s like they got handed a flyer at a numpty convention, telling them of this magical land called After Hours, where you can say anything you like, because it’s ‘After Hours’.

It’s like the on,one equivalent of ‘shureya havta’, which is the idiot cousin of ‘for the craic’.

"Numpty" Hahahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

I'm not, I just hate threads that start with No real evidence as to what exactly happened and then you have 'rampage' being mentioned in the first few posts. The man's body wasn't even cold and the vultures had flocked in.

Tragic all round, RIP to him hope it was painless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Get off your high horse chief, its AH

Exactly, it's AH - where the opportunity to make a snide irrelevant remark about whichever minority group you happen to hate most on any given day should immediately be grasped, whatever the topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    The man entered the garda station and was recognised as a person of interest by one of the guards. Said guard approached and the man fled and got into his car. The guard attempted to wrench him from the vehicle and instead, the man drove down the street (all downhill) dragging the guard with him. He sharply turned the corner onto the main street and lost control of the car (presumably didn't realise he was driving head-first into an island roundabout) and smashed into the poor man sitting in his car.
    A much-loved member of the community and a total innocent. Our entire town is in mourning.

Ironically, the Garda that recognized him, was the same Garda he crashed into 8 years ago, and was on the run since.
    Fair play to that Garda, could have been easily killed as well.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/suspect-in-fatal-crash-on-run-for-eight-years-following-alleged-hitandrun-on-garda-37576619.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

And he wasn't even stationed there, the Garda just happened to be dropping off a drink-driving arrest because Castleblaney was the nearest station. What are the odds.

Garda Devlin deserves a medal. This piece of sh1t nearly killed him with his car eight years ago, and yet the Garda didn't hesitate to confront him and try and stop the vehicle. That's the very definition of bravery.

This fncker needs to go away for at least a decade. A garda has been seriously, probably permanently injured and two children are now without their father because he's such a piece of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Samuel Vimes

What a totally dickish comment to make, couldn't even extend sympathies to the family of the deceased or the injured Garda.

because extending sympathies and typing RIP will fix all the worlds problems wont it :rolleyes:

Another high horse dweller trying to rake in the thanks from the usual suspects

because extending sympathies and typing RIP will fix all the worlds problems wont it :rolleyes:

Another high horse dweller trying to rake in the thanks from the usual suspects

Exactly. If the mods on some of these threads had their way there would be nothing allowed only sweetness and roses and "RIP, think of you children hun" type posts.
    Sometimes peoples bull**** behaviour needs to be called out on thread. And this guy is scum whatever way you look at it.

seamus wrote: »
    Garda Devlin deserves a medal. This piece of sh1t nearly killed him with his car eight years ago, and yet the Garda didn't hesitate to confront him and try and stop the vehicle. That's the very definition of bravery.

When people think of the Gardai, hopefully they will think of Garda Devlin rather than commissioners Martin Callinan and Noreen O'Sullivan. Theres a lot more Devlin types than the latter *******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

When people think of the Gardai, hopefully they will think of Garda Devlin rather than commissioners Martin Callinan and Noreen O'Sullivan. Theres a lot more Devlin types than the latter *******

He was brave for sure. But did he act correctly, or, recklessly put the lives of others at risk in what he did? I'm not so sure on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mrsmum

He was brave for sure. But did he act correctly, or, recklessly put the lives of others at risk in what he did? I'm not so sure on that one.

I would put no blame whatsoever on that guard. He tried to do his job and it went horribly wrong not because of his actions but those of the criminal guy.
    Dreadful for the other man and now for his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

A swift reaction without thought? There was no time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Fran1985

You have had time to think of that question, log on to boards to ask it and still ure "not so sure on that one." This Garda didnt have the luxury of time. He had to act to arrest a man who nearly killed him 8 years and 1 week ago. Maybe one day after a long hard sit down and a good think about the outcome, you can come up with the best solution and maybe advise him what he should have done instead when making his split second decision. From the comfort of your arm chair. Perhaps he shouldve put his belt on too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭dbas

Blame a Garda for doing his job??
    Oh the poor criminal got caught after sticking the middle finger up to our laws for 8 years!
    Well done that Garda and get well soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

It won't really bother you as long as your carer changes your nappy after each filling

While i presume he didnt really have time to put on his cap and complete a risk assessment, its nice to know there are Gardai who will do their utmost to catch the baddies.
    The only person responsible for killing the unfortunate chap was the cnut in the Audi trying to avoid being arrested.
    Your man was on the run 8 years. I reckon they had been looking for him, maybe had givin up, so maybe the cop said "this fcuker isnt getting away again" or something when he saw him.