Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A question for Peter Casey voters

• 27-10-2018 12:28am
    Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

So it looks like Peter Casey is going to come in with about 20% of the vote rather than the pre-Traveller comments 2% that was looking likely, although he's currently showing at over 50% in the two separate AH polls. His comments, and people's reasons for voting for him have been done to death elsewhere, so purely out of curiosity, if he hadn't made those comments how would you have voted?

Voting intentions had Peter Casey not made his remarks about Travellers 427 votes

Peter Casey
    4% 18 votes
    Gavin Duffy
    15% 65 votes
    Joan Freeman
    3% 15 votes
    Seán Gallagher
    4% 21 votes
    Michael D. Higgins
    6% 26 votes
    Liadh Ní Riada
    51% 218 votes
    Undecided
    2% 12 votes
    Wouldn't have voted
    12% 52 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Zaph wrote: »
    So it looks like Peter Casey is going to come in with about 20% of the vote rather than the pre-Traveller comments 2% that was looking likely, although he's currently showing at over 50% in the two separate AH polls. His comments, and people's reasons for voting for him have been done to death elsewhere, so purely out of curiosity, if he hadn't made those comments how would you have voted?

Mdh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Klonker

I was undecided up to that point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

No

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

When Casey said he wasn't a feminist because he didn't believe in preferential treatment for one gender over another he won my vote.

At the very beginning I was voting Joan Freeman but I didn't like her campaign or in the debates so didn't vote for her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I was completely indifferent.

I’ve become so disillusioned with politics in Ireland.

Peter Casey was the first person in a long time to articulate how I feel.

So I voted for him.

I hope he considers running for the Dail although without a party brined him he won’t have any impact.

He’s struck a chord though. There’s a lot of us have had enough.. Let’s hope Peter’s voice was the first of many to speak on behalf of those of us who are sick of paying through the nose for zero services while the lazy self entitled dregs of our society are overly well catered for.

It’s wrong and it has to stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

When Casey said he wasn't a feminist because he didn't believe in preferential treatment for one gender over another he won my vote.

At the very beginning I was voting Joan Freeman but I didn't like her campaign or in the debates so didn't vote for her.

Ya she came across as angry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭speckled_park

Didnt vote. Would have voted casey if i had voted. Mdh if casey didnt make traveller comments. Maybe im a racist. Not a big fan of travellers. Most travellers ive met are no angels. Say most candidates personally arent fond of travellers but cant say that due to pr and pc. Look what results that got them (bar mdh). His comments werent exactly outrageous either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

No. I will be honest and say I switched from Higgins to him purely on those comments.

Its about time someone had the balls. I have worked with travellers (and one is always welcome back), but the rest use their status as a get out of jail card for robbing.

No different to the "ra" claiming fuel laundering and drug trafficking is for "the cause".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,060 ✭✭✭✭anewme

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

The reaction to his comments, more than the comments themselves, did more for his electoral count.

(An I allowed comment if I didn't vote for him?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I think you guys need to use dictionaries more
    https://www.dictionary.com/browse/feminism
    feminism
    [fem-uh-niz-uh m]

noun
    the doctrine advocating social, political, and all other rights of women equal to those of men.
    ( sometimes initial capital letter ) an organized movement for the attainment of such rights for women.

By stating that, he is a feminist. That's the definition of the word.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

MDK.

But its more than just "the traveller thing" , he did something few politicans have done.

While i dont think he had much of a clue, came accross as a bit giddy, i voted for him because he pointed a finger or two at serious issues we have, that others denied they shared similar views but were obviously lying, refused to bow to the MSM/establishment pressure, and stuck to his guns.

Varadkar and all the other nauseating virtue signaling hacks, arbiters of correct thought and purveyors of righteous outrage, was the final straw. That clinched it. I didnt think he had a hope, i voted to signal my displeasure with the status quo, the carefuly crafted spin and "our betters" telling us what to do.
    Plus im after winning €85 on a fiver stake

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

On Late Debate - @bridsmithTD talking about Casey’s Traveller nonsense. “Last year the entire budget for Traveller Accommodation was €12m - we gave the horse racing industry €67m”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Said it myself earlier on the other thread, was going to vote Micky d 1. When Casey raised his head it resonated more with me. I was still actually going to give Higgins No 1 and Casey 2 until the penny dropped that he might cross the line on the first count and so Casey got No1 with no transfers.

I'd vote No1 now for clampdown on long time unemployed. Excepting those on disabilities etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I was spoiling my vote until Peter Casey said what he said

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

Went from MDH to Casey because of the reaction to his comments, his comments didn't sway me to vote for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Up till then , I had no intention of voting.

Ya she came across as angry
    There was one point she snapped at Gavin Duffy when he defended her which didn't look good. She rambled on about nothing of substance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Grayson wrote: »

Definition or not, that's not really how it works though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,018 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

The rest of the candidates were a bit samey samey. All kinda cut from the same cloth of back slapping insiders.

I cant stand MDH. It amazes me how such a person can support oppressive regimes and dictators while using his own privileges position to tell us all how bad we are. He reminds me of a local old school bishop in the RCC from yesteryear, butter wouldn't melt in his mouth but dear god, if you didn't toe the Catholic line, an inner daemon would make himself known. A personification of a hypocrite.

Casey was kind of the default choice, especially in the way the wagons were circled when he made those comments. What we had was one candidate willing to stick up for his belief, the rest a craven bunch of hypocrites, with their weasel words.
    Also, the way the media, handled the situation. Utterly craven.

I would take a person who would stand up for their belief any day of the week than 10 people who dont know their arse from their eblow.

He was not the most polished of performers and MDH was always going to win given he was the anointed choice by establishment Ireland. The media love him for some odd reason.
    However, a vote of 20%+ beating the rest of them handly is some achievement and should make others sit up and take notice that the media and the Irish establishment does not speak for everyone.

The last straw for me was the headline of the Times with its apocalyptic visions of an Irish alt-right. It was right out of the Onion.

Times-5.jpg

Utterly pathetic. An Irish alt right is what exactly? 'Reds under the bed'-esque type of moral panic displayed right there.

The new religion in Ireland now is the need to conform, maybe it was always this. We had to conform to the Irish Catholic nationalistic sense in the past, we now need to conform to the progressive liberal internationalist American view on everything. And god help you if you dont.

We are still a republic, are we not? I thought we got to choose, not just accept a coronation from the media and establishment. Definitely a shot across the bow.

That is not what the modern species of feminists are especially in Ireland . It's about open hatred of men and masculinity.They are female supremacists and I have no time for people like that.

Women are getting hired and promoted ahead of men just because of their gender. Absolute BS.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

^^That's not The Irish Times.

Try_harder wrote: »
    On Late Debate - @bridsmithTD talking about Casey’s Traveller nonsense. “Last year the entire budget for Traveller Accommodation was €12m - we gave the horse racing industry €67m”
    Don't let the travellers know that they'll abuse their horses even more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭speckled_park

markodaly wrote: »
    The rest of the candidates were a bit samey samey. All kinda cut from the same cloth of back slapping insiders.

I cant stand MDH. It amazes me how such a person can support oppressive regimes and dictators while using his own privileges position to tell us all how bad we are. He reminds me of a local old school bishop in the RCC from yesteryear, butter wouldn't melt in his mouth but dear god, if you didn't toe the Catholic line, an inner daemon would make himself known. A personification of a hypocrite.

Casey was kind of the default choice, especially in the way the wagons were circled when he made those comments. What we had was one candidate willing to stick up for his belief, the rest a craven bunch of hypocrites, with their weasel words.
    Also, the way the media, handled the situation. Utterly craven.

I would take a person who would stand up for their belief any day of the week than 10 people who dont know their arse from their eblow.

He was not the most polished of performers and MDH was always going to win given he was the anointed choice by establishment Ireland. The media love him for some odd reason.
    However, a vote of 20%+ beating the rest of them handly is some achievement and should make others sit up and take notice that the media and the Irish establishment does not speak for everyone.

The last straw for me was the headline of the Irish times with its apocalyptic visions of an Irish alt-right. It was right out of the Onion.

Times-5.jpg

Utterly pathetic. An Irish alt right is what exactly? 'Reds under the bed'-esque type of moral panic displayed right there.

The new religion in Ireland now is the need to conform, maybe it was always this. We had to conform to the Irish Catholic nationalistic sense in the past, we now need to conform to the progressive liberal internationalist American view on everything. And god help you if you dont.

We are still a republic, are we not? I thought we got to choose, not just accept a coronation from the media and establishment. Definitely a shot across the bow.

Ya we are pretty moderate/in the centre in society and in politics here. No need for media to be spewing this alt right stuff. Or any extreme left stuff either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

That is not what the modern species of feminists are especially in Ireland . It's about open hatred of men and masculinity.They are female supremacists and I have no time for people like that.

Women are getting hired and promoted ahead of men just because of their gender. Absolute BS.
    Someone isn't getting the ride I see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Klonker wrote: »
    I was undecided up to that point.

Same, my mind was instantly made up when i heard it. Ethnic minority my ****in hole.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

I despise MDH, so I would have voted for his nearest rival in the polls, but that's only if I was going to bother voting, which I wasn't until Casey made his comments.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Didn't vote for Casey tbh. I would never have voted for MDH though.

I don't understand why politicians don't have to retire at the same age as the rest of us working shmucks though.

Politics should be about youth, and vigour - pushing new ideas forward for the future of the country - not suited up old men taking one last ride down the gravy train of the old boys club.

And the President of Ireland, while mainly a meaningless role (that pays way too much money), should not be for the old boys to extend their gravy train run for 7 to 14 years.

In a lot of ways these guys are parasites just as much as the social welfare lifers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

I was going to vote for Michael but in the end , Peter Casey finally said what most were thinking and i gave him my vote..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

anyone who voted for that clown because they think he'll stand up to the Travellers or cut the dole is an even bigger clown. he'll do fuppin nuttin. he tried to pull a Trump, in a last ditch effort to get on the gravy train. since it didn't work, maybe he'll come out with a Make Ireland Grand Again hat for you to buy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Checkmate19

I would if the honest thing. Is they break into houses down the country. Also dont obey the law break pubs up etc.

the only reason why casey was voted for was he was spoke not alot wont to say. pc snowflakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

the only reason why casey was voted for was he was spoke not alot wont to say. pc snowflakes.

Very articulate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

, if he hadn't made those comments how would you have voted?
    I wouldn't have voted. Much like the parties, they're all just a copy of each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

sentences formed not was what make sense something something snowflake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Did Casey come 2nd? Just got home

why put a poll up. give over

give over

liberal boliixxx

they voted

why casey be ao ni9ce. like the lads breaking into huses. also breeking pubs. also breeekienng . also brrrreejk pubbss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's become a dirty word in 2018. He's 100% correct. Equalist is a better term. Women in this country have every right a man has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭qwerty ui op

If Casey was in with a shout of winning not a hope in hell would he have gone down this route.
    Yet all some see is truthfulness! is it because he views you with such disdain.
    Is that the appeal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭RicketyCricket

why casey be ao ni9ce. like the lads breaking into huses. also breeking pubs. also breeekienng . also brrrreejk pubbss.

Get some sleep chief, it's been a long night for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Higgins was getting 66 to 70 percent in the opinion polls, but looks to have got 56 to 58 percent of the vote, according to exit polls. So much of Casey's support seems to have come from people who would otherwise have voted Higgins.

Perhaps you could give us a verbatim sample of this "supremacism" from the writing of one of these Irish "female supremacists"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,960 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I would of never voted for a Trump. I don't like any form of discrimination & I dislike the way that Europe is moving right. If he had spoken out against Muslims or Immigrants I wouldn't have considered voting for him.

I would naturally vote for MDH, he's the only viable candidate. But Casey said what had to be said one day by someone. He had the courage to say it & it looks like a lot of people agree.

It's not about the cost of Traveller housing & I don't agree with his comments on benefits. But one group are being treated as a special case & allowed to do as they please. That is wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,552 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I'm sick and tired of people saying that they voted for Casey in order to shake up the establishment etc etc.

If you can't pull your head out of your ass and see the irreparable damage votes based on that premise has and continues to do to the States, then I can't help you.

I get the frustration at the refusal of those in power to speak to the facts, and I mean facts, not embellished anecdotes.

But ffs, a poster said that he got his vote when Casey said he wasn't a feminist, then when another said that Casey was "literally" wrong on the definition, the poster fudged the issue.

A lot of anger is there, and the subject should be addressed, and politicians should do much much bettet, but making it the basis of a presidential election is mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I was voting for MDH right up until I went into the polling booth but at the last second gave Casey no.1 and Higgins No.2. Didn’t give any of the rest a vote. I didn’t believe he would get elected but I figured if AH polls were in anyway accurate that it might at least make the government sit up and realise there are a huge amount of people out there sick to death of the over the top PC culture that has developed in this country where criminals and scumbags are pandered to at every turnabout purely because they’re from a different ethnic community or race/country.

The political parties will have to factor that into their next election manifestos if they want to tap into a 20% electorate who are sick of some of the shiiite going on in this country with regard to Travellers, Roma, Eastern European criminal gangs, asylum seekers etc etc who appear to have more rights than the people who keep this country running.