Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joe Brolly - racial and sexist mma article

• 14-10-2018 10:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭

I don't expect much from a guy like this when it comes to an opinion piece on a sport he clearly detests but some of the stuff he says in this article are not only uninformed, they are arrogant deliberately antagonising and I would say are borderline sexist and racist.

He compares an mma match to a scene in Django Unchained and quotes leonardo di caprio's character saying " Keep fighting ****" then a few sentences later says "A black man called Ovince Saint Preux was fighting another tremendous specimen called Dominick Reyes" , presumably trying to draw a parallel between the UFC and forced fighting among slaves.

Then later on he describes another very well respected mother who happens to work as an mma fighter in the following terms "Two women tried to kill each other. The Karate Hottie (real name Michelle Waterson), who has done naked photo shoots". Another example of the ufc and it's morally bankrupt behaviour, fighting " a seriously dangerous looking white woman".

I cannot for the life of me understand why he's describing people in racial terms, what point does he believe it serves?

Besides all of this he says Conor McGregor is a dog, ufc fighters are animals and that mma is not a sport. But please, read the article. Whether you agree that MMA should be banned or not (this is not a question anyone is asking other than him) why is it that this type of "article" is printed in a national newspaper, it's clearly elitist, inflammatory nonsense from "A veteran criminal barrister" and GAA proper sportsman who wants to s**t on people who do a much harder and more difficult sport than he was ever capable of.

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/sport/mma/joe-brolly-the-time-has-come-to-call-a-halt-to-the-ufcs-bloody-freak-show-37417393.html

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭TheBully

Could have sworn it was the GAA he was writing about in that article

• Registered Users Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Can say much the same about Ulster football ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Regardless of whether you like the sport or not, want it banned or not, that article was the ravings of a madman detached from reality....it actually read like a satire piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

He's right. Except for the bit where he calls it a sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Its more disturbing that he let his 13 year old watch it with his mates.

Does he mention the guy who plays for Tyrone who lost everything through gambling and did a gay for pay porno because of it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I can't take seriously the words of a man named after a wet weather construction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It's a stupid article (especially the parts where after whining about MMA for about six paragraphs he describes sitting down to watch it with his son with a 'chili tea' and the part where he brags about his career as a barrister) but where exactly is the racism? The only time he says nigger is when he's talking about a film.

Conor McGregor is a knuckle dragging neanderthal by the way so who gives a shit if someone insults him.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Does he mention the guy who plays for Tyrone who lost everything through gambling and did a gay for pay porno because of it?

Fizz is gonna go mad when she hears about this.

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭TheShockmaster

It's a stupid article (especially the parts where after whining about MMA for about six paragraphs he describes sitting down to watch it with his son with a 'chili tea' and the part where he brags about his career as a barrister) but where exactly is the racism? The only time he says nigger is when he's talking about a film

You don't think there is a racial element to this article? Why does he refer to two fighters race? And use the word ****** for no reason other than being inflammatory? What other possible reason is there for using that direct quote other than getting another person to use the word he wishes to use himself?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,375 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ah, sure, does anyone take what Joe has to say seriously. He's always on the wind up trying to get a reaction, that's about it.

He was quoting the movie.

Are you just really angry because you adore UFC?

I bet you used to lose the rag like this when people said wresting was fake too, right up to when you were 15

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

Patww79 wrote: »
    He's right. Except for the bit where he calls it a sport.

GAA is a sport, what are you talking about?

He was quoting the movie.

Are you just really angry because you adore UFC?

I bet you used to lose the rag like this when people said wresting was fake too, right up to when you were 15

Ha ha, . . . 15 years old!!! hilarious. Thanks for your contribution to the thread though, nice to completely miss the point of what I was saying.

Why was he using that particular quote? Could he have made the exact same point without using the N word?? Also why is he referring to a fighters race. Would he ever say "that white corner forward needs to put more effort in in the second half"?

Effects wrote: »
    GAA is a sport, what are you talking about?

I think you need to ask yourself the same question, unless that was an attempt at wit. The article is about cage fighting.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,569 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

"Joe Brolly" and "Irish Independent".

I knew well enough to avoid.

The article is about cage fighting.

The article is about Mixed Martial Arts

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Gonad

Joe ****ting on a whole sport here because of the actions of a few .

The article is about Mixed Martial Arts

It's all the same muck. Throw boxing in too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

You don't think there is a racial element to this article? Why does he refer to two fighters race? And use the word ****** for no reason other than being inflammatory? What other possible reason is there for using that direct quote other than getting another person to use the word he wishes to use himself?

He's comparing the real life bloodthirsty lust for violence that MMA audiences have to a bloodthirsty lust for violence in a film. He could just as easily have chosesn Fight Club or something to use as an example. You'll have to take up the use of the word nigger with Quentin Tarantino. And since when was it racist to describe how someone looks? I once read an article about Richard Gere that mentioned his silver hair. Was that ageist?

The only problem I see is the blatant hypocrisy of letting his son watch something he thinks should be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

The UFC is a monument to wanton thuggery, completely lacking in honour. The only disagreement I would have with Brolly's article has to do with his suggestion a prostitute should be brought into the octagon as a prize for the victor. I believe it would make more sense for the winner to claim his fallen foe, as per the spoils of war of old.

I think you need to ask yourself the same question, unless that was an attempt at wit. The article is about cage fighting.

Ah ok, you're one of those people who don't know how to recognise martial arts as a sport. No problem.

It's all the same muck. Throw boxing in too.

Throw GAA in their while you're at it. Those thugs are always brawling.
    Way worse than MMA to be honest.

He's comparing a real life bloodthirsty lust for audiences watching two men beating the shit out of each other to a bloodthirsty lust for violence in a film. He could just as easily have chosesn Fight Club or something to use as an example. You'll have to take up the use of the word nigger with Quentin Tarantino. And since when was it racist to describe how someone looks? I once read an article about Richard Gere that mentioned his silver hair. Was that ageist?

If he had used fight club he wouldn't have reason to use his racial descriptors though would he?

I didn't say it was racist, I said it was borderline racist, and the title of the thread refers to the racial element of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭engiweirdo

It does seem like a kind of "sport" for type of scummer that sees boxing as having too many rules and not enough violence for them.

Not even talking about McGregor(total knacker) but all the local dirtbags seem to have a fierce fascination with it and would regularly "practice" on innocents in the town center.

That said if it was outlawed it would be one less way to identify said scummers. A paradox.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

It is animalistic violence and utterly repulsive to that has absorbed even a smidgin of civilisation. Sport, most certainly it is not.
    But it has its market. That it does, is the most depressing thing about this whole MMA phase. Hopefully, it is a passing one.
    No great time for Brolly, but he is on the money in much of what he has there, and the violence surrounding the sport in general does have a whiff of not only the fighters, but the whole arena should be a caged event, to prevent it spilling out into civil society.

engiweirdo wrote: »
    Not even talking about McGregor(total knacker) but all the local dirtbags seem to have a fierce fascination with it and would regularly "practice" on innocents in the town center.

Out of curiosity, do they train in any martial art or MMA...or are they just 'fascinated' with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭engiweirdo

Out of curiosity, do they train in any martial art or MMA...or are they just 'fascinated' with it.

Well the guy currently awaiting trial for beating a young musician to death in Waterford was "in training". As I say it's a handy way of identifying who to avoid.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,214 ✭✭✭sonic85

It is animalistic violence and utterly repulsive to that has absorbed even a smidgin of civilisation. Sport, most certainly it is not.
    But it has its market. That it does, is the most depressing thing about this whole MMA phase. Hopefully, it is a passing one.
    No great time for Brolly, but he is on the money in much of what he has there, and the violence surrounding the sport in general does have a whiff of not only the fighters, but the whole arena should be a caged event, to prevent it spilling out into civil society.

This has to be some of the worst garbage I've read on Boards in quite a while.

Seriously lads if you have no interest in MMA that's fine but is there any hope that you might just ignore it instead of spreading I'll informed sh1te about it?

engiweirdo wrote: »
    Well the guy currently awaiting trial for beating a young musician to death in Waterford was "in training". As I say it's a handy way of identifying who to avoid.

Not really sure what "in training" is meant to convey but have there ever been any people awaiting trial that have been "in training" for other sports?