Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Black Irish President of Ireland by 2025 ?

13»

• Registered Users Posts: 164 ✭✭jimbev

mikemac2 wrote: »
    And a lot of cowboys

Ha ha ha I like that 😂😂😂😂

• Registered Users Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Next you'll be saying we'll have a woman president!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

It's a bit of a stupid question.
    If Ireland had a great black presidential candidate he or she would already be president.

It's not for lack of black people, or an animosity to black people.

It's just that none of presidential calibre have put themselves forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Not in this Century
    We should have no President, it's nothing but a cushy number flying all around the world staying in fancy hotels at taxpayers expense and being paid more than the Taoiseach.

No wonder the little old man wants to get another 7 years out of it.

I's have voted for Sharkey though if he got through the nomination process, it was bad enough having to listen to Robinson and her leftie spiel but Mickey D takes it to another level.

It would be a pretty strange republic without a president.

Not at all. Arguably it would be a more authentic parliamentary republic without such an honorific title - after all, the only reason we have a presidency is because de Valera was asserting the illegitimacy of the honorific colonial position of 'governor-general' so he made up the presidency as we now see it. A British colonial position, renamed. And being paid more than the Taoiseach for it. Not to mention the expenses. Infinitely more smoked salmon socialist, than socialist.

Ireland would be better off without these overpaid parasites emulating our former colonial overlords, in particular being chauffeured around Dublin with a Garda convoy and pushing road users off the road so that they can make their meetings (they could buy an alarm clock, get up earlier and wait in the traffic like the rest of us). Our very own wannabe British royalists in republican guise.

Now, if any of our candidates want to emulate President of Uruguay, José Mujica, I might reconsider it:

HURRAH for revolution and more cannon-shot!
    A beggar upon horseback lashes a beggar on foot.
    Hurrah for revolution and cannon come again!
    The beggars have changed places, but the lash goes on.

- W.B. Yeats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

It's a bit of a stupid question.
    If Ireland had a great black presidential candidate he or she would already be president.

It's not for lack of black people, or an animosity to black people.

It's just that none of presidential calibre have put themselves forward.

I think you need to have a look at the unwritten rules needed to be President of Ireland. You need to have a similar qualification to a PhD. You need to be squeeky clean. You need an understanding of law. You need to be completely unflappable in a media crisis. You need to be able to smooth over many international faux pauxs and bite your tongue. You also need a history of community service.

Now I am no way qualified to run for president in a number of those fields and by no means do I envy anyone who puts their name forward, as their and their families lives are turned upside down having their history sieved through for innuendo and skeletons in the closets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Maybe we should go back to the Monarchy system? Or Brehon laws?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

a black president? ya why not

just have to learn to speak jive first.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

We already have a gay president............ oh we arent allowed talk about it

Nah, Daniel O'Donnell didn't end up running.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

Bring back atari Jaguar, seriously, like who cares.

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Can't think of a single potential black candidate who'd be interested in being President of Ireland in 2025. Serious contenders tend to come from business and mainstream 'safe' political parties. Even the hard left, who are doing well by their standards at the moment, can't get a look in this time round. The SF candidate will probably get 5% or so of the vote from the figures I've read, which is miles below the levels that the party achieves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Not in this Century
    Not at all. Arguably it would be a more authentic parliamentary republic without such an honorific title - after all, the only reason we have a presidency is because de Valera was asserting the illegitimacy of the honorific colonial position of 'governor-general' so he made up the presidency as we now see it. A British colonial position, renamed. And being paid more than the Taoiseach for it. Not to mention the expenses. Infinitely more smoked salmon socialist, than socialist.

I just googled it and unless my googling skills have left me down there no republic on earth without a president.

This is the wiki list.

1) Presidential republics with an executive presidency separate from the legislature
    2) Parliamentary republics with an executive presidency dependent on the legislature
    3) Semi-presidential republics with both an executive presidency and a separate head of government that leads the legislature, who is appointed by the president
    4) Parliamentary republics with a ceremonial/non-executive president, where a separate head of government leads the executive

We are 4)

The merging of prime minister and president has happened in history and isn’t something to emulate. I won’t Godwin the post.

You like to rant about colonialism. The president isn’t a colonial Governor General but a post colonial replacement of colonialism. Yes, it’s the same building. That’s it.

If we had no president then the duties of head of state devolve to the prime minister which isn’t desirable. The separation of executive and presidential ceremonial powers works in my opinion, the president can handle a fair amount of diplomacy and other internal ceremonial affairs letting the government govern. That they don’t govern too well is irrelevant as they would govern worse if the Taoiseach were turning up at every ribbon cutting event, GAA final etc.

Better still, despite the whining here, the presidents have been largely well liked and above politics. My hoary old conservative uncle, the oldest and most conservative man I know, always has a smile for the little wee man when he’s lobbing a ball into some game or other. “Shure he’s tiny, but a daycent President”.

In executive presidential systems the president can be despised, which is bad news for someone one who represents a country.