Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What were they thinking album covers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

i especially like the 'imgbb.com - bandwidth limit exceeded' one

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,629 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Only died a few years ago... wrote the "classic"
    "Some n*ggers never die, they just smell that way"
    Genuinely surprised he was never shot or lynched !

Wiki said he used a pseudonym and never used photos of himself (without his hood on I guess).. reading about him makes me feel a little sick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

The world of Country N Irish has contributed more than its share of bad record covers.

R-8230312-1470584645-6140.jpeg.jpg

squawker wrote: »
    worst-album-covers-ken.jpg

462173.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

i especially like the 'imgbb.com - bandwidth limit exceeded' one

I think the album covers of the band imgbb are fairly good actually. No pictures, or adornments. Just colour and text. Like the white album.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,126 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

I think the album covers of the band imgbb are fairly good actually. No pictures, or adornments. Just colour and text. Like the white album.

and so many of them.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

61LRuur4nQL.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

61Gd8iw41RL.jpg

OMG the innocence of it all :pac:

different times i suppose

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,074 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Even some of the big names had off days...

1526224_10151826026096332_32657369_n.jpg

Right lads let's cover ourselves in lumps of meat and baby dolls heads. For the craic like... Needless to say it caused some "outrage" in the US of A and was quickly pulled from record shops and a new cover released. Though a few got out and are worth decent money today.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Owl. wrote: »
    dickhandler.jpg

Ok I can get past the Dick Handler thing but, em, quartet you say?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Wibbs wrote: »
    Even some of the big names had off days...

1526224_10151826026096332_32657369_n.jpg

Right lads let's cover ourselves in lumps of meat and baby dolls heads. For the craic like... Needless to say it caused some "outrage" in the US of A and was quickly pulled from record shops and a new cover released. Though a few got out and are worth decent money today.

This sold for 125,000 Dollars in 2016, nuts.

http://www.whatsellsbest.com/news-stories/2016/02/beatles-butcher.html

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

6a00e3981b770d8833019affd4c68a970b-pi

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

The all-time classic

Eg6JB.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

TherapyBabyteeth.jpg

Eugh, and I used to think Troublegum was weird

• Registered Users Posts: 1,927 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Are we allowed to post The Scorpions's Virgin Killer? Here's a censored version but probably still nsfw: http://wac.450f.edgecastcdn.net/80450F/ultimateclassicrock.com/files/2012/06/scorpions_-_1976_virgin_killerEDITED.jpg?w=600&h=0&zc=1&s=0&a=t&q=89

• Closed Accounts Posts: 501 ✭✭✭squawker

Ok I can get past the Dick Handler thing but, em, quartet you say?:D

pity it's fake

family2.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

71xy7%2BNIbzL._SX425_.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

71xy7%2BNIbzL._SX425_.jpg

Why is he strangling his dog?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,804 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

The worst cover I've ever seen on a great album, as bad as most of those cheap, obscure ones posted here.

R-1367328-1483486559-6916.jpeg.jpg

This one is weird but I like it.

BabezForBreakfast.png

WTF-bad-album-covers-gunther-pleasureman.jpg

R-5674030-1399574392-7713.jpeg.jpg

bizarre-jimpost.jpg

rabbit-too-much-rock-roll-worst-album-covers.jpg?w=640&h=611

tumblr_lsjhqogrec1qc1sduo1_500.jpg?w=497&h=505

worst-album-covers-wally-whiton.jpg

3.jpg

e55e2164f91bad5c0b0445e2b0c1f512.jpg

worst-album-covers-39.jpg

OH YEAH

e55e2164f91bad5c0b0445e2b0c1f512.jpg

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

From my own collection...not exactly a 'What were they thinking..." but...

44929190772_bb70aabe14_z.jpg

humberklog wrote: »
    From my own collection...not exactly a 'What were they thinking..." but...

sacred heart

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,412 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

squawker wrote: »
    sacred heart

What's funniest is the spelling on the sleeve- it's all over the place. There's a song I presume to be called Down by the Liffey Side.

However it's named three times on the record:

Down by the Lissey side.
    Down by the Liffy side.
    And on the LP itself- Down by the Lifey side.

humberklog wrote: »
    What's funniest is the spelling on the sleeve- it's all over the place. There's a song I presume to be called Down by the Liffey Side.

However it's named three times on the record:

Down by the Lissey side.
    Down by the Liffy side.
    And on the LP itself- Down by the Lifey side.

top notch production

wouldn't expect anything less

• Registered Users Posts: 8,355 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Seems a lot are Gospel so far

There were a lot of 'so macho it's incredibly homo-erotic' heavy metal albums back in the 80s

61aNIRkQb1L._SY300_QL70_.jpg

There is a bar in Budapest dedicated to ManOwar. The owner is a huge fan and the walls are covered with pictures of them. There are a few with the owner and the band but what is really weird is his son looks just like him when he was younger so initially we thought he hadn't aged at all and it was some black magic stuff.