UFC 229 Nurmagomedov vs McGregor - Sat Oct 6th **Warning in first post!**

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Checkmate19

Honestly its fighting what do you expect. i hope conor wins the rematch and sells coke to the kids. i dont really get over yourselfs hes great. you muppets are talking about him. hes great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,825 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I have no idea. He could have been looking to smack danis. He could have been looking to pull Khabib away. Whatever it was is irrelevant, because he did absolutely nothing to McGregor to entitle McGregor to hit him.

The fact McGregor didn't know what his motives are is no excuse. He saw a member of the rival camp up there and decided to hit him - that's what prompted the scraps in which he was subsequently involved.

It's irrelevant! Lol, you're on the wind up now.
    Akubar running across the cage and climb out the other side is hardly irrelevant. Presenting it as an unrelated incident to Khabib attacking the corner is nonsense.

What was it you said last night;
    So far I've seen nothing but condemnation of Khabib and his team's antics. You could maybe do with looking at your own rose tinted glasses
    Nothing but condemnation…hmmm.

To use your own logic. We've no idea what promoted those two guys jumping in and blindsiding him. You don't even know if they seen McGregor hit Akubar.
    Tukhugov has since bragged on social media (in russain) that he attacked Conor as promised, so it would appear that Conor hitting Akubar wasn’t the reason at all and he planned to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,853 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Skihunta13 wrote: »
    Not by any means a conor fan but what does people expect him to do. He tried to jump the cage but got pulled back at same time that another member of khabib team was going over the cage. I dont think he was up there for a better view and conor probably realised that too. Conor swung first there but in all fairness if he made have contact with that left hand your man would have been knocked out,so obviously he missed.

The mighty mctapper had 4 rounds to land the mighty left as the fan boys call it and knock khabib but he failed there too.how are all the fanboys so sure if he landed lefty on khabibs cousin he’d do any damage?The spoofer was found out last night.found wanting from the start and got a thorough pasting.

Mod:If you plan to keep posting lose the McTapper and fanboy nonsense, trolling/goading is a sure way to a quick exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,996 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    Mellor wrote: »
    The two melees (as you put it) are hardly unrelated. They were both caused by Khabib kicking off. What do you think guy in black (Nurmagomedov) was doing up climbing over the cage towards Conor's corner (when Conor hit him?

In fairness by the time he was climbing the cage security had broken everything up and separated everyone plus he was carrying Khabibs massive wooly hat hardly something you have in your hand if your looking to punch someone. If his goal was to fight he had Conor right in front of him half hanging off a cage why not just lay into him?

Love to know what fanboys mean. He's a great fighter. Pure bollix if u dont think hes not a good fighter. Fanboy term just makes you love an almost plum. Boxing fighting is full of scum but Macgregor is good fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

McGregor by Sub
    xtal191 wrote: »
    If you watch from 4.20 below you can see Conor throwing a left at him in the cage, very possible he got the cut/bruise from that

Oh, fair point, hadn't thought about that, was he one of the three in cage?

I'd just presumed he was dragged out of the cage after being pulled away.

People saying delighted to see lose want to have a word

Love to know what fanboys mean. He's a great fighter. Pure bollix if u dont think hes not a good fighter. Fanboy term just makes you love an almost plum. Boxing fighting is full of scum but Macgregor is good fighter.

A great fighter?mctapper got pasted last night for the entire fight.where was the greatness?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

A great fighter?mctapper got pasted last night for the entire fight.where was the greatness?

He's a great fighter in the world of MMA. Not the best, sure, but still great relative to what the sport is

He was beaten by a great fighter. Mactapper sounds like child stuff. FFS. Mactapper get a grip. Its fighting. Mactapper you sound like a two year old. Grow up.

BOARDS.IE SHOULD RENAMED SNOBS. CLOWNS

Mod:Annnddd you’re done. Banned for a week, come back with the same stuff and its doubled next time.

GET REAL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭Samuri Suicide

I'm disappointed with majority of the comments here, Mcgregor is a quality UFC fighter.. there is no doubt. His rise and victories are there for all to see. Khabib is a phenomenal fighter/grappler...well done him inside the octagan. Could Khabib etc have a PPV with Mayweather? No.
    What Conor has achieved is phenomenal in such a short time, he has brought UFC to the mainstream and taken on all challenges put before him. Khabib was always a risky fight, but mcgregor said yes.

He's cashing in but I don't know if Conor is cashing out just yet.

I dunno if he out boxed him. I haven't seen any stats yet but I'd be surprised if Khabib landed more on the feet. Conor threw some nice teeps and jabs and connected with a few straight lefts while it was on the feet. I was stunned when Khabib dropped him though. Never saw that coming.

You posted a good breakdown last night. I can't find it now but I remember noting it as a sensible post among all the noise about Conor being "found out". Just wanted to point that out.

Regarding the scoring and stats. All 3 Judges scored it as I scored it in running. Judges don't always get it right. But 3/3 with zero variation in numbers makes a strong argument.

Stats here
    EJ49hBl.png

I think that stats paint a fair picture.
    Round 1. Conor lands more total, about equal sig.strike. Khabib's takedown and control seals the round.

Round 2 was a 10-8. Not a lot of volume by 10-8 standards, but they were hard shots. Plus the KD.

Round 3. Conor stuffs 3 TDs, out strikes Khabib by over 2/1. A clear 9-10 imo.

Conor did well in the first, showed some good TTD. Even when controled on the ground, he took the minimum damage. The only negative here was losing the scorecard point.

Round 2 won the fight for Khabib. Conor's hands were low to defend the TD. And it allowed Khabib to score the KD. You see it alot, a guy has to focus so much on one aspect, he leaves himself wide open. He was shakey after that shot and he controlled none of the ground. No calm conservation here.

That kind of mauling in round 2 is exhausting. Conor's cardio didn't look bad imo. He pulled it back and put in a decent round 3. Somebody mentioned Khabib's gas tank beign the best at LW. No idea where they got that. He was blowing in rd 3 and took it off a little. Tony will pressure in in the 4th and 5th.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Folks if you cant have a proper discussion just don’t post or go elsewhere and do it. Nonsense like ‘fanboy’ and goading/trolling people looking for a response is pathetic and juvenille. A few of you need to have a bit of cop on.

JJayoo wrote: »
    In fairness by the time he was climbing the cage security had broken everything up and separated everyone plus he was carrying Khabibs massive wooly hat hardly something you have in your hand if your looking to punch someone. If his goal was to fight he had Conor right in front of him half hanging off a cage why not just lay into him?

He was on top of the cage within about 8 seconds of Khabib going over. It wasn't fully under control at that stage, best angle here. Regardless that's not really relevant to his intentions. Khabib was fully brawling when he started running over. He was probably bringing in the hat in to the cage for Khabib as they normally do but Khabib kicked off. He still has the hat in his hand when he was swinging punches, so we know for certain that he would hold on to it when looking to punch someone.
    If his goal was to fight he had Conor right in front of him half hanging off a cage why not just lay into him
    I don't think he planned to attack McGregor from the get go. When Khabib went over the top, he was trying to back him up imo - which is a normal enough reaction tbf. I doubt it expected it to happen.
    Tukhugov is other guy, that went straight for McGregor - "as he said he would".

The mighty mctapper had 4 rounds to land the mighty left as the fan boys call it and knock khabib but he failed there too.how are all the fanboys so sure if he landed lefty on khabibs cousin he’d do any damage?The spoofer was found out last night.found wanting from the start and got a thorough pasting.

Mod:If you plan to keep posting lose the McTapper and fanboy nonsense, trolling/goading is a sure way to a quick exit.

Fair enough.apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

McGregor by Sub
    walshb wrote: »
    Not so good that an in shape/form McGregor couldn’t beat him...

Conor with better engine training and sharper striking could well do it..

Khabib wins because he dosent let you fight. Be some man that beats him.

The fights outside the arena were hilarious. Why a load of "hard" irish lads thought it was a good idea to start fighting some Russians ill never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,800 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

McGregor by Sub
    Does anyone else reckon Conor should do a non-title fight next? Diaz III would be my own preference, but there are a few other ideas floating around as well - just reckon that after two years of not doing MMA and then a title fight loss, it would make sense both for his own recovery to top form and for the sports itself if he takes on someone else before going for the title again. From his own point of view, I personally reckon that part of his outclassing last night was down to being out of practise (sure, training camps etc but training sessions can never compare to the atmosphere and pressure of an Octagon fight in front of a huge audience with all the emotional weight it carries) and I reckon it would help him a lot to do a few other fights with slightly lower stakes and less immense psychological and physical pressure to perform.
    From the sport's point of view, it kinda feels fair to let someone else go for the title now, given the year and a half absence of Conor from the sport before the title was even stripped to be awared to Khabib. There must be others in the division who will have watched last night's events and legitimately feel that someone else should get a title shot now. Seems only fair to give someone else a crack at it when the first challenger fails to win it, even if Conor is a rather unique case for various reasons.

This is in no way a criticism of Conor, I'm a huge fan and not one of the people who's ever condemned him before for not defending a title or for staying away for too long - I just reckon that for the integrity of the UFC's title system and for Conor's regrowth back to the top of his game, it makes sense for him to step away from the title and Khabib for at least one fight. I'm assuming that if it isn't Conor, the next challenger for Khabib's title will be Tony Ferguson (and the "we can't make this fight happen" curse on the Khabib / Ferguson match-up has to break eventually) - I'm assuming Conor will definitely fight Khabib again given the bad blood between them and his own instant call for a rematch, but my own view would be that he should wait a bit both for that and for his next title shot, which may or may not end up being the same fight depending on whether Khabib can hold on to the title in the meantime. If it ended up being two separate fights, no problem there - the feud between the two of them is more than enough to carry the interest and excitement, with or without there being a title in contention on the night.

What does anyone else think?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    The only way he fights for a title next is a rematch with Khabib, and i dont see that happening any time soon if ever..

The natural next fight is with Diaz whether Diaz beats Poirier or not. I dont see other fights out there for him. The UFC want to capitalise on the money this guy generates and putting him in a co main event against another lightweight is not gonna cut it.

I dont think he'll ever fight Tony, so your left with the likes of Kevin Lee, Justin Gaethje, Poirier rematch?

Meh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    Very interesting position the UFC and Conor find themselves in right now. He's the cash cow as it stands but that star will fade fast if loses his next fight.
    I would imagine putting my cynical Vegas corrupt hat on that if the UFC had their way, not to mention the NSAC, Khabib would get a years suspension without stripping him. Is it justified? Thats not important for the UFC, what is important is keeping Conor relevant after a loss to a fighter who does not have the pull that he has.

Interim title between McGregor and Ferguson while Khabib serves his suspension. Winner fights Khabib. If and its a big if, Conor does come through that you have the mother of all Rocky IV montage sequences rematch setup. Sure stick it in Russia while we're at it.

The UFC are happy
    Conors happy
    Fergusons happy
    The casual fans are happy
    Vegas is happy

Easier fight to sell would be the Diaz trilogy, but i'm in a Don King kinda zone..

Does anyone else reckon Conor should do a non-title fight next?

What does anyone else think?
    I don't see how he remotely has a claim for a title fight next. It wouldn't be a good move for him and I'm not sure that he would even want to. A title fight doesn't offer him any more money than a non-title fight. The incentive is only the belt.
    gilmour wrote: »
    I would imagine putting my cynical Vegas corrupt hat on that if the UFC had their way, not to mention the NSAC, Khabib would get a years suspension without stripping him. Is it justified? Thats not important for the UFC, what is important is keeping Conor relevant after a loss to a fighter who does not have the pull that he has.
    How does stripping Khabib affect Conor's relevance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,904 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

McGregor by Sub
    I have no idea. He could have been looking to smack danis. He could have been looking to pull Khabib away. Whatever it was is irrelevant, because he did absolutely nothing to McGregor to entitle McGregor to hit him.

The fact McGregor didn't know what his motives are is no excuse. He saw a member of the rival camp up there and decided to hit him - that's what prompted the scraps in which he was subsequently involved.

It's irrelevant! Lol, you're on the wind up now.
    Akubar running across the cage and climb out the other side is hardly irrelevant. Presenting it as an unrelated incident to Khabib attacking the corner is nonsense.

What was it you said last night;
    So far I've seen nothing but condemnation of Khabib and his team's antics. You could maybe do with looking at your own rose tinted glasses
    Nothing but condemnation…hmmm.

To use your own logic. We've no idea what promoted those two guys jumping in and blindsiding him. You don't even know if they seen McGregor hit Akubar.
    Tukhugov has since bragged on social media (in russain) that he attacked Conor as promised, so it would appear that Conor hitting Akubar wasn’t the reason at all and he planned to do it.

It's irrelevant because regardless of what his intentions were, we never got to see what he was going to do because McGregor smacked him. This isn't difficult.

McGregor had no idea what he was planning to do and decided to hit him, pure and simple. Until that point, the worst thing McGregor had been involved with after the fight was having to sit there and have Khabib roar at him.

As someone said above, I think Khabib and Diaz 3 are both risky fights to take and Conor can't really afford to lose again or his star power will be gone. Mind you, he really needed to win Diaz 2 and it was a big risk taking that fight. He took it anyways and won.

I have a lot of respect for Conor though. He could have stayed in Featherweight forever and still been champion. Aldo rematch, Edgar, Pettis, Holloway rematch. I think he would have won those fights without too much issue and still been undefeated. And probably made the same money.

But he wanted to fight tougher opponents. Credit to him for that. Diaz and Khabib are definitely tougher than anyone in FW division.

When his career is over, i think we'll look back and remember him as the guy who cleared the FW division, then stepped up and had some good knocks with the top guys at LW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

If you talk the talk you have to walk the walk, he took a proper beating in his last two fights. Enough is enough the lucks run out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Nurmagomedov by Decision
    Al Iaquinta did better with one days notice some could argue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Nurmagomedov by Decision

How does stripping Khabib affect Conor's relevance?

I didnt say strip Khabib, suspension without stripping him from the title is what i suggested (if thats possible) - actually, of course its possible judging by the amount of belts being put on show over the past couple of weeks.

This isnt what i want by the way, this is what i think the UFC would prefer. How do you squeeze every drop out of the McGregor money machine if you're the UFC? It sure doesn't start with an immediate rematch against Khabib you would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,231 ✭✭✭✭Jelle1880

There is no way he deserves any sort of title fight. He hasn't defended anything and when he comes up against his first genuine opponent in ages gets his ass handed to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,720 ✭✭✭✭walshb

McGregor by Sub
    Conor called for a rematch a few hours after being soundly beaten...

Give it a few days, weeks and months....will he be so up for it?

I mean dedicated:committed up for it, not just PPV cash up for it...

His lifestyle will always see him struggle against good quality dedicated men, who are as big as him...

If Conor goes away and trains like a demon and lives like a monk I’ll stick a few bob on him....

I just don’t think he is that kind of person..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Has Conor spoke at all since the fight ?