Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time fillers on RTE in the 80's

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭indioblack

Graces7 wrote: »
    The "beeb" in the UK in the 50s had what were called "interludes". One was watching a potters wheel in action and was so soothing, with music

Oh LOOK! I found it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jUzGF401vLc

Ah I DID enjoy that! Thank you OP!

Did he ever get around to finish making the pot?
    The music was familiar. Charles Williams "The Young Ballerina."

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

So the 80s thread got me thinking about this. Various animated nonsense rte used to fill gaps between programs sometimes in the mid 80s. Psychedelic animated music videos and stuff from Canada and eastern europe.

Does anyone remember one in particular which was about 6/7 mins long and was some green "alien" moving through space to some 70s style music and multicoloured planets etc..

And sure any others for the craic!

Remember something like that which sort of reminded me of the Jackson five video for "can you feel it"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭emo72

Czech animation. " I've got a great idea about 2 pieces of string falling in love with each other!"

Maybe it was some Communist mind control to subdue the proles. I'm grasping for meaning here lads.

• Site Banned Posts: 272 ✭✭Loves_lorries

mariaalice wrote: »
    The Czechoslovakia cartoons were the weirdest.

Remember" frankensteins aunt "

Show from the late eighties from czechoslovakia, that was strange.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,138 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Bod was cool and worked on so many levels. 'Aunt Flo'...fnarr.

Lolek and Bolek were Polish.

Interestingly (or not), that bastion of intolerance and all-round nastiness, the Iona Institute, trade officially under the name Lolek Ltd.. Those cartoons had a lot to answer for.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

indioblack wrote: »
    Did he ever get around to finish making the pot?
    The music was familiar. Charles Williams "The Young Ballerina."

I thought it was she.. and just playing and practice which is what made it so soothing... constantly changing shape and design... wonderful..

• Registered Users Posts: 15,847 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Can't remember the last time I've seen either a loony tunes or Tom and Jerry cartoon on the telly.

T & J are probably racist now... "THOMAS!!!"...with Tom getting a swift boot up the h*le.

The wartime propaganda Popeye cartoons with 'Japs' would never pass the censor now.

Even the 1990s Looney Tunes were a bit saucy, the Animanics, with jokes only adults would get.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,390 ✭✭✭✭mariaalice

I love the joke in the three little pigs cartoon: In the three little pigs house, there are two photos on the wall one saying Mother and one saying Father and they are bacon in one photo and sausages in the other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

The video the OP was talking about in the first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

There was also Butterfly Ball

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

They used to show a 10 minute video from this album, Barry Devlin Breaking Star Codes. The actual video clip is not available. But it was idiots in leotards dancing to Barrys progish music.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Remember this nightmare from the 1980s?

Foo Foo, Gogo and Mimi.

It used to make me wish for more socialist brainwashing from Czechoslovakia.

When RTE used to fill time with this crap I lived in fear that they were rearranging tables and chairs in some bunker where Charlie Haughey was practising his Nuclear War speech.

Remember this nightmare from the 1980s?

Foo Foo, Gogo and Mimi.

It used to make me wish for more socialist brainwashing from Czechoslovakia.

When RTE used to fill time with this crap I lived in fear that they were rearranging tables and chairs in some bunker where Charlie Haughey was practising his Nuclear War speech.

I couldn't for the life of me remember their names when I was searching for it earlier. I actually quite like the art style looking back on it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

mariaalice wrote: »
    Watching the Czech cartoons left me with the impression that the Czechs were a dour weird people.

Lolek & Bolek....yer only men :)

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭draiochtanois

• Registered Users Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

The video the OP was talking about in the first post.
    Oh god.....that's it.....Jesus.. horrid memories

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

sunbeam wrote: »
    I have vague memories of one animation involving a traffic jam that got so bad that eventually everyone decided to live in their cars.

This is it, it was made by Halas & Batchelor who did the Autobahn green flying alien one as well.

Roanmore wrote: »
    Professor Plinkity Plonk (?) on Sunday evenings.

Guy would come out and play a piano (cartoon of course) which was a prelude to some adventure he imagined.

I think I remember that. Is that the one where he'd enter the piano into other worlds?

eviltwin wrote: »
    There was one with some animated chap playing a lute and singing that was on just before the news.

Sounds like Storybook International.

This used to be shown as filler a lot too.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭storker

Not RTE, but certainly psychedelic...our local cinema had a disc filled with different non-mixing liquids of different colours that rotated with a projection light behind it, so that you got a big constantly-moving and changing psychedelic pattern that filled the screen. Something to look at while waiting for the bloody film to start. At a trip to the cinema recently I even got a bit nostalgic for it.

It looked a bit like this...only on the screen it was much bigger and of course, rectangular.

Liquid_disc.jpg

storker wrote: »
    Not RTE, but certainly psychedelic...our local cinema had a disc filled with different non-mixing liquids of different colours that rotated with a projection light behind it, so that you got a big constantly-moving and changing psychedelic pattern that filled the screen. Something to look at while waiting for the bloody film to start. At a trip to the cinema recently I even got a bit nostalgic for it.

It looked a bit like this...only on the screen it was much bigger and of course, rectangular.

Liquid_disc.jpg

Was it like the backdrop to this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭h7nlrp2v0g5u48

I remember Garda Patrol been on before the news and also Mail Bag.

natashaob6 wrote: »
    I remember Garda Patrol been on before the news and also Mail Bag.

I remember the old Garda Patrol intro was just the title in black letters on a bare background and the sound of someone banging a Bodhran. It was replaced circa 1985 by a snazzier intro with different music.

Was it like the backdrop to this?

More like this...

Well, they were in the old cinema I went to in the Midlands.

Oh god.....that's it.....Jesus.. horrid memories

Ha, I liked it. I never even knew it was Kraftwerk when I was young. Tis a classic song.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭storker

More like this...

Well, they were in the old cinema I went to in the Midlands.

That's the one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

This is it, it was made by Halas & Batchelor who did the Autobahn green flying alien one as well.

Halas & Batchelor were mostly to blame for this filler: the above two, The Butterfly Ball, Hamilton The Elephant, and does anyone remember Barnaby? The boy with the stage Irish accented fairy godfather.

They also did british WW2 propaganda animation, and a feature length cartoon: Animal Farm.

There was another one that was constantly shown that I think might have been Halas & Batchelor. It was on the theme of opera and there was a bit where a waiter was holding up a platter with a pigs head which starts singing an opera duet with him before the waiter and pig swap heads. Can't remember what it was called.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭h7nlrp2v0g5u48

I remember the old Garda Patrol intro was just the title in black letters on a bare background and the sound of someone banging a Bodhran. It was replaced circa 1985 by a snazzier intro with different music.

I remember watching Mart and Market and Landmark they used to be on for fifteen minutes before the Six O Clock News. I'd say every farmer in the country watched it.