Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Next to impossible to get blank CDs these days?

• 15-09-2018 4:16pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭

They didn't even have them in argos in Dublin. Do have to buy them online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Eason Book-shop and some Pound-Shops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Dealz have them. Also look in Tesco, they sometimes sell them off cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

Golden Discs and Tower records should have them. Ive seen VHS and cassette tapes in the past year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Steviesol

They are a new thing in parts of Kerry.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 216 ✭✭Resverathrole

Dealz have them. Also look in Tesco, they sometimes sell them off cheap.
    I worked in a Dealz before and they didn;t have them. Must try again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 409 ✭✭Sassygirl1999

I worked in a Dealz before and they didn;t have them. Must try again.

I have a few, how much each? Some are paying 5 euro each

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

I have a few, how much each? Some are paying 5 euro each

I've thousands in a shed from a time I worked in the software industry... I knew if I held onto them long enough :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,380 ✭✭✭.red.

I've thousands in a shed from a time I worked in the software industry... I knew if I held onto them long enough :)

Jesus are you married?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,127 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

I use Verbatim and buy them on Ebay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

There are at least three of them on Talbot St. That sell packs. Handiest one for you is probably the nearest to the Connolly station. It's about four doors up from star pizza. Has lots of bongs and other smoking paraphernalia in the window. Can't miss it. Cheap as chips too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,063 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

kHo9geQ.gif

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

2 euro giant and dealz shops sell them. Miss the days when lidl used to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

If you hang them from your rear view mirror the speed vans cant clock you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Yeah, I got some in Tesco last week. First I went to the Argos catalogue but they only had blank tapes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Chewbacca wrote: »
    If you hang them from your rear view mirror the speed vans cant clock you.

Yep. And cops can't arrest you unless they're wearing their caps.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Yep. And cops can't arrest you unless they're wearing their caps.

ts cd you safe cops won't arrest you , afraid of the lgbtqstn backlash

I had such frustration with those, that I could never try them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

Jesus are you married?

Jesus never married afaik.

I had such frustration with those, that I could never try them again.

Always found them reliable. JVC-Taiyo Yuden are the best I have used but quite expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Did you check the backstreet alleys, there are usually loads thrown there:

url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwif_ILYgr7dAhXJI8AKHa86DskQjRx6BAgBEAU&url=http%3A%2F%2Fcultureandcommunication.org%2Fdeadmedia%2Findex.php%2FOptical_Disc_(First_Generation)&psig=AOvVaw0ekwmeTTma229C7Ml2FRX7&ust=1537135583214704

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,486 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Remember the lads who made money off of burning cds and selling them on

You get a list with what cds they have and you make off what ones you wanted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

When Skynet comes online the lads with stuff backed up on CD will be millionaires.

There's all sorts of technical issues with those. Say, you burn it and it works on your PC but it doesn't in the car. With the few that worked for me, only some of the track would copy over, and most of them would have poor quality sound.

I never had problems like that with the philips CDs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

What year is this?

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

lmimmfn wrote: »
    What year is this?

Best to ask the nurse when she next passes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Best to ask the nurse when she next passes.
    Is that you nurse?

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

Is that you nurse?

Yes, now be quiet while I put on this CD to relax you. It's the latest Now that's what I Call Music, 50.

Jesus are you married?
    I don't get it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Still using C60’s. Sorry OP.

I think I understand just one post here out of all that replied!!

It's like ye're all talking in a secret code. Or ye're high on something ye shouldn't be. Am lost as feic here! :o:o:D:confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Mookie Blaylock

Steviesol wrote: »
    They are a new thing in parts of Kerry.

I came in here to say if OP can't get them, my business sells them...and yeah...guess where I am?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

What year is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

https://powercity.ie/ sell Verbatim and Sony, as far as I can tell.

The brands like Sony, Verbatim, Maxell, JVC, bought batches in from manufacturers like Moser Baer (India) and Taiyo Yuden (Japan) and rebranded them with their own logos.

Sadly, Taiyo Yuden's blank media dept. is no more, they were the Rolls Royce of blank CD\DVD media, acquired by JVC, then closed.

The quality of brands like Moser Baer is umm.. questionable.

The likes of the 'Kodak' branded media sold in pound shops, has nothing to do with Kodak Gold media, available from the mid 1990s, up to the mid 2000s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

It wasn't that long ago you could get a 100 spindle Tesco own brand ones for about €15.

I'm seen five packs in Dealz recently.

If you can't find them and want to buy online you'd definitely get them on eBay. Or if you want to take a chance with cheaper ones Aliepress sells them. https://www.aliexpress.com/wholesale?site=glo&ltype=wholesale&d=y&blanktest=0&origin=y&jump=afs&SearchText=cd-r&tc=af&page=4&initiative_id=SB_20180922084703&isViewCP=y

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 madwidow

Got some few months ago in Argos Jervis
    Seen em lately in Dealz too

Got some in Dealz just there. Five for €1.50. Though I wouldn't expect the quality to be too good if it's dealz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

.red. wrote: »

50 pack for €18.90 or a 25 pack for €7.90(both Verbatim CD-R) - why wouldn't you just buy two 25 packs ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

What are people using them for now?

- Mix CDs.

- Back-ups for valuable CDs or discs from box sets that I want to play in the car but don't want to bring out with me.

- CDR copies of scratched CDs. Generally speaking a CD burner is more forgiving than a CD player so it's possible to "rescue" discs in this way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭FFred

I have a 3.5 inch floppy if that helps at all.
    (Titter)

FFred wrote: »
    I have a 3.5 inch floppy if that helps at all.
    (Titter)

No, that's no good to anyone! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭monseiur

Jaysus lad it would be safer under the mattress .......seeing that you don't trust the banks :D:P:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The superior sound quality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

What can blank cds do that a usb key or drop box / google drive or an mp3 player can't? Genuinely curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,026 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

ToddyDoody wrote:
    What can blank cds do that a usb key or drop box / google drive or an mp3 player can't? Genuinely curious.

Play in a CD Player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Qrt

Amalgam wrote: »
    https://powercity.ie/ sell Verbatim and Sony, as far as I can tell.

The brands like Sony, Verbatim, Maxell, JVC, bought batches in from manufacturers like Moser Baer (India) and Taiyo Yuden (Japan) and rebranded them with their own logos.

Sadly, Taiyo Yuden's blank media dept. is no more, they were the Rolls Royce of blank CD\DVD media, acquired by JVC, then closed.

The quality of brands like Moser Baer is umm.. questionable.

The likes of the 'Kodak' branded media sold in pound shops, has nothing to do with Kodak Gold media, available from the mid 1990s, up to the mid 2000s.

Power City is great for that kind of stuff, they sell all the blank CDs, cassette tapes, VHS tapes, even those mini tapes for video cameras! (D8?)

monseiur wrote: »
    Jaysus lad it would be safer under the mattress .......seeing that you don't trust the banks :D:P:rolleyes:

Re the emoji use...

You went full retard, man. Never go full retard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭monseiur

Re the emoji use...

You went full retard, man. Never go full retard

I do........... because I can.... :rolleyes::o:mad::(:eek::cool::P:confused::pac::D;):p:)