Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Half-baked Irish presidential candidates?

• Registered Users Posts: 34,060 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Ms Burke was taking the piss which is more than can be said for the other two.

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,993 ✭✭✭✭recedite

Ms. Burke also had a serious point to make, as explained in the video here.
    Councillors heckled her and shouted her down, perhaps uncomfortable at seeing a mirror being held up to their soul.

I'm leaning towards The Black Priest from Father Ted myself. You remember that guy from Africa, or was it Donegal.

Kevin Sharkey's aspirations are modest...
    All villages should have a girl with red hair playing a harp in the corner, someone cooking cabbage or someone burying someone outside like they used to do in the old days, he said. “This is a gold nugget that we are sitting on.

• Registered Users Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Walter Bishop

Having tried to ramp up a bit of controversy by calling for the death penalty for anyone who attacks an old person in their home, Sharkey's now out of the race 'due to the corruption of the councils.' So it's the councils' fault, and not his, right?

Oh on an unrelated note he's doing a 'Presidential' art show and releasing a single too. Quite by coincidence.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Odhinn

_Brian wrote: »
    As far as I can see this will be a two horse race between Michael D and Sean Gallagher.
    For me Michael D has done a decent job for the little there really is in it.

I see nothing in Sean at all, if he had a graw for making changes in the country he should run for TD and get himself into government, but he’d never be voted in. He’s still a stained character from his brown envelope gaff, he stumbled over it so poorly that there is enough doubt that he actually did handle this brown envelope. It even shows that he’s no good to be speaking in pressured situations if he couldn’t vehemently speak his version of the truth, he looked and sounded like a man caught out and having to make up a lie on the spot.
    He’s just out spending RTmoney massaging his ego and when he looses he will still blame RTfor it.

The odds as we stand are

Michael D - 1/12
    Sean Gallagher - 10/1
    Gavin Duffy - 12/1
    Liadh Ni Riada - 20/1
    Joan Freeman - 33/1
    Gemma O'Doherty - 100/1

https://www.paddypower.com/politics

Having tried to ramp up a bit of controversy by calling for the death penalty for anyone who attacks an old person in their home, Sharkey's now out of the race 'due to the corruption of the councils.' So it's the councils' fault, and not his, right?

Oh on an unrelated note he's doing a 'Presidential' art show and releasing a single too. Quite by coincidence.
    in fairness, the councils are corrupt. Everyone knows the different parties have a rotating arrangement with each other for any important official office, instead of competing with each other. Votes, rezonings etc all in the pockets of lobbyists. Councillors sit out from decisions that are unpopular in their own local area, or "go to the toilet during the vote" having already calculated that there are enough other councillors present from other parts of the county to pass the motion. It should not be up to these crooks to decide who gets on the ballot paper.

Its a pity Sharkey is out; we could have had Ireland's First Black President. I was looking forward to quizzing him about his birth cert too.

Presidential hopeful Sarah Louise Mulligan ejected from Dublin meeting
    Councillor Mark Ward, chairing the meeting, at that point told Ms Mulligan that her permitted speaking time had elapsed. However, Ms Mulligan said she would “not be silenced”.

“Don’t you silence me,” she said. “I’ve got every right to stand up and speak. I can speak for Ireland.”

Ms Mulligan then took issue with a remark from councillor Dermot Looney, who suggested that Ms Mulligan would not be speaking for the people of Ireland.

The meeting was suspended moments later as Ms Mulligan shouted at Mr Looney, and approached him, demanding an apology in a raised voice. She said it was “disgusting behaviour”. She was escorted from the chamber by council staff after approaching Mr Looney.
    She also said she would accompany Joanna Jordan, who recently lost a High Court case seeking to overturn the result of the referendum to repeal the Eighth Amendment, to the European Court of Justice.

“She has 500 pages of evidence where she tried to prove the abortion referendum was rigged,” she said. “I hope to travel to the European Court with Joanna Jordan because I don’t believe this beautiful country voted to murder babies.”

SDCC also listened to the voice of GO'D, the usual blather
    Councillor Louise Dunne asked Ms O’Doherty how she could stand over that assertion on the basis that, on Twitter, she “blocks anyone” who disagrees with her. Ms O’Doherty replied that she blocks those who “abuse” her on Twitter.

At the conclusion of the meeting, which also heard from a number of other speakers, the council voted not to support any candidates.

GO'D is also claiming on twitter to have been 'nominated' by three councils, when she has been invited to speak by three councils but endorsed by zero councils. The truth in the news and all that.

461809.png

So it seems that we won't be seeing slogans like "Get Good With GO'D - The Candidate You Can Believe In!"

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

I'll give no. 1 to Michael D..
    If I bother to put a no. 2 on the ballot it will probably be for Joan Freeman. I don't support much of her stuff and I'm not into that Knock stuff at all, so why would she get my no. 2?
    1. She at least is a serious candidate who has treated the process and the nominators and electorate with respect, unlike some others.
    2. She has some record of public service, including helping people with problems, unlike some whose sole qualification seems to be their ability to accumulate money.
    3. She is articulate unlike some who addressed councils. And she is well qualified professionally.

Who else is there to give no. 2 to? You can keep the rest.

Of course, some people would never vote for somebody whose opinions on religion differ from theirs. I have a born again Pentecostalist friend in the USA who opposed Romney's presidential bid simply because he was a Mormon. JFK in 1960 ran into a spot of bother over his Catholicism. And don't start me on Northern Ireland.Time was when religion had ceased to play a significant part in who we voted for here. Mais plus ça change! Same beast, different clothes.

Freeman is a liar though.

She has claimed to not know what the Iona institute is (her niece Maria Steen is a prominent spokesperson for it in print, radio, TV in two referendum campaigns) and her sister Theresa Lowe appeared for the No side in the final TV3 abortion debate. Family members on TV usually gets a person's attention? Or perhaps having any interest whatsoever in the current affairs over the last few years of the country she wants to be president of??

She's also claimed to have made God the chief financial officer of Pieta House. I haven't checked with the Companies Office or charities regulator, but I doubt that's true either.

Oh and the Knock eczema thing, she believes that to be true but loony beliefs in a prospective politician is a bad sign.

None of the above is anything to do with the fact that she's a catholic or even anti-choice. Although personally I won't vote for anyone anti-choice, doesn't matter what religion they are if any. I'd have a hard time finding many candidates in any election to vote for if being a catholic ruled out voting for them.

SDCC also listened to the voice of GO'D, the usual blather..
    In fairness her namesake was never really a guy for sticking rigidly to the facts either, especially in the old testament.
    If we can't have Ireland's First Black President, I quite like the sound of President GO'D as my second choice.

461916.png

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭realitykeeper

The media are lining up to support Michael D Higgins and of course the easily influenced are going along with them. Given the special treatment being given to the incumbent, (even to the extent of reinterpreting the law) - a second term for Micheal D Higgins will not be legitimate, as least as far as this citizen is concerned. Of course, his first term was not legitimate either for obvious reasons.

On a different matter, the reason Ireland and it`s people will ultimately flounder will be because the nation was founded on a lie. And, not just any lie but purgery. The second Dáil was required to swear allegiance to a foreign monarch they had no allegiance to, so many of them lied under oath. Ireland must return to God and atone for all it`s sins or it is finished.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Hi Gemma.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

lazygal wrote: »
    Hi Gemma.

Not Joan?

"Make Jesus our Minister for Finance."

• Registered Users Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

The media are lining up to support Michael D Higgins and of course the easily influenced are going along with them. Given the special treatment being given to the incumbent, (even to the extent of reinterpreting the law) - a second term for Micheal D Higgins will not be legitimate, as least as far as this citizen is concerned. Of course, his first term was not legitimate either for obvious reasons.

On a different matter, the reason Ireland and it`s people will ultimately flounder will be because the nation was founded on a lie. And, not just any lie but purgery. The second Dáil was required to swear allegiance to a foreign monarch they had no allegiance to, so many of them lied under oath. Ireland must return to God and atone for all it`s sins or it is finished.

I thought you were quoting a candidate and had just left out the quotation marks and the source, then I realised you weren't. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭pauldla

Turtwig wrote: »

I thought you were quoting a candidate and had just left out the quotation marks and the source, then I realised you weren't. :(

For myself, I’m always amused by devoutly religious complaining about the ‘easily led’, blissfully forgetting that they will proudly refer to themselves as a flock.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Don't forget groupthink! Members of the world's largest groupthink complaining about atheist or secular groupthink!

The irony, it burns...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭mikhail

The media ...

Maybe it's Poe's Law at work, but that looks to be a pretty obvious bit of trolling.

Turtwig wrote: »

A lot of these comments are lost on me. Would I know what you are talking about if I watched RTE? I don`t, not these last 7 years.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

A lot of these comments are lost on me. Would I know what you are talking about if I watched RTE? I don`t, not these last 7 years.

I think it is more that your posts tend to express and inflammatory sentiment that come across as rather obnoxious as has been expressed on numerous threads, e.g. here, here and here. I've come the the opinion that it is intentional trolling and hence won't be getting into discussion with you beyond that.

Of course, his first term was not legitimate either for obvious reasons.
    What reasons were they again?

On a different matter, the reason Ireland and it`s people will ultimately flounder will be because the nation was founded on a lie. And, not just any lie but purgery. The second D was required to swear allegiance to a foreign monarch they had no allegiance to, so many of them lied under oath. Ireland must return to God and atone for all it`s sins or it is finished.

lol

For some inexplicable reason Laois County Council have decided to endorse Gemma O'Doherty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

For some inexplicable reason Laois County Council have decided to endorse Gemma O'Doherty.

But Cork didn't, she can't get enough nominations now. She needs three more and only two more councils have motions to nominate them before them today, it takes three days notice to hold a nomination vote and that takes it past the Wednesday deadline.

Edit:
    Kildare and Cork CC's both voted against nominating her.

Queue months of conspiracy theories about "the establishment" being out to get her and blocking her from the ballot.

• Registered Users Posts: 543 ✭✭✭deeks

I was actually hoping Gemma would get enough nominations to contest the election. Not because I support her cos she's obviously madder than a box of frogs but because it would make the debates far more entertaining.

Politics as entertainment, what could possibly go wrong? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Odhinn

The craic, maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Under His Eye

In fairness only 4 councillors voted for her.

Up Laois!

recedite wrote: »
    What reasons were they again?

Fake tweets and what not.

deeks wrote: »
    I was actually hoping Gemma would get enough nominations to contest the election. Not because I support her cos she's obviously madder than a box of frogs but because it would make the debates far more entertaining.

I have no idea who she is other than the fact that she is not Michael D Higgins. That`s good enough for me.