Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2018 Rose of Tralee thread.

• 20-08-2018 6:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,696 ✭✭✭✭

I'm surprised the usual people haven't started a thread already. (If they have delete/merge threads please mods)

Anyway the usual hilarity and cringeworthy carry on will probably happen. There are 32 entries and what do people think the number of nurses/teachers there will be this year ? I'll go with 14 in total.

I'm sure we will have waltzing Matilda played for the Australian roses and another stereotypical American song for the roses from America. I've no idea which roses got in or all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    I'm surprised the usual people haven't started a thread already. (If they have delete/merge threads please mods)

Anyway the usual hilarity and cringeworthy carry on will probably happen. There are 32 entries and what do people think the number of nurses/teachers there will be this year ? I'll go with 14 in total.

I'm sure we will have waltzing Matilda played for the Australian roses and another stereotypical American song for the roses from America. I've no idea which roses got in or all that.
    This thread is always a laugh and usually very accurate with predictions (last year was an exception)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

****in Rose of Tralee man - the Glenroe of the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,696 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

honeybear wrote: »
    This thread is always a laugh and usually very accurate with predictions (last year was an exception)

It's up there with the BBC sports personality of the year thread for producing some of the funniest posts on boards every year.

Good man daithi. Getting the plugs in.

Jesus Mary Kennedy is like a fine wine.

It's strange to have had it on after the all Ireland hurling final.

Social media guru ? In the name of Jaysus...

Ah the usual American enthusiasm.

Imagine liking in New York State and then going to dunmore east in Waherford ?

Nurse count: 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Icsics

This one wants a nursing job here....the innocence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The rose that is in the judging panel is Brenda Hyland. Her daugther was on Dancing With The Stars this year. Her name was Alannah Byrne

Ah the old school way of taking blood pressure. No fancy read outs telling you it.

So what was it ?

Kerry rose.

I like this girl.

That is such an Irish thing. You win something you don't enter.

Not much action in this thread.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,030 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Well this is.........different :o

I liked the west Meath rose.

I love the Donegal accent.

Yaaaas inappropriate microphone slip up! It's a pity she wasn't on the toilet or slating the rose on stage!

We have a dance. Thank feck for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 421 ✭✭lemmno

Yaaaas inappropriate microphone slip up! It's a pity she wasn't on the toilet or slating the rose on stage!

What did she say? I can’t rewind it?! Was it ‘I need a drink?’

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

All I heard was “anyone have a drink” haha... anyone catch the start of what the person said?

"I get to speak to them nearly every day." It's York ffs it's not mars.

lemmno wrote: »
    What did she say? I can’t rewind it?! Was it ‘I need a drink?’

All I heard was heavy breathing and some Donegal talk!!

All I heard was “anyone have a drink” haha... anyone catch the start of what the person said?
    Did I miss something ?

It was the New Zealand Rose, just off the stage after her Irish jig!

Oh right. Haha

A mother ? That rule has been changed then.

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    A mother ? That rule has been changed then.

This is an awkward one tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Bejaysus this is a departure from the norm....single mum with parents with drug issues drags this competition into the present day....well done ROT...!!

Jesus this is heavy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,421 ✭✭✭AppleBottle

Wow, fair play for breaking tradition and raising awareness for real life issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,437 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

jojofizzio wrote: »
    Bejaysus this is a departure from the norm....single mum with parents with drug issues drags this competition into the present day....well done ROT...!!
    The token "relevant" Rose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭LandonRicketts

Carlow Rose 16/1. Could be worth a punt

She has a great voice, fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

An unwed young mother with addicts for parents? Heavens above *faints*

She was lovely and her mother looked so proud! And massive kudos to doing really worth while charity work too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭Mondo123

Carlow rose was excellent

Well that has certainly taken a change.

Is a transition year student handling the mics this year ? They normally cut off and we don't hear the conversation between the host and the rose.

I’ve only looked up this thread to say how impressed I am with the Carlow rose.

Her story, her family, her outlook on life and what a lovely voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Purpletoes

jojofizzio wrote: »

She's not a single mother she just isn't married

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Carlow Rose 16/1. Could be worth a punt

Many thinking the same, she is now into 5/1 2nd favourite.

She was excellent though and a great singer too.

The Carlow rose is getting a lot of support on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭LandonRicketts

Stevecw wrote: »
    Many thinking the same, she is now into 5/1 2nd favourite.

She was excellent though and a great singer too.

She did come across very well and if she did win it would also be a nice pr story for the competition and rose of tralee committee.

Mayo rose on next. I'll be honest normally this is a bit of a laugh but the Carlow rose has brought a reality to it that's never really been there.

She isn't the Mayo rose but is from the back of beyonds in Mayo!

Yeah sorry and im not sure the comment about not having to look at your wage slip every month will go down well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Laphroaig52

Ah feck it. She was going so well and then.....

Teapots.....

She collects Teapots....

Novelty teapots? Wtf????

Now it’s back to reasons why not to watch this show

Yeah teapots was a bit out of left field. Of all the things to collect ?