Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ladies Day at the Races outdated and sexist?

• 07-08-2018 5:19pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

According to a journo in the Indo it is. She opines that the entire concept of "ladies day" where women dress up to the so-called "nines" in dresses and fancy hats at horse racing events are a sexist anachronism that does not belong in the 21st century. After all, there is no "gentlemans day."

When womens sport is often under-reported and sidelined in the media and the success of the Irish women's hockey team making it to the finals in the World Championships, does she have a point?

Link here:
    https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/irish-independent/20180806/281689730630700

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,875 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Dont watch racing but cant see any harm in it. Is anyone really bothered about it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

If a Gentlemans day existed the feminists would be up in arms :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

ah jaysis more tosh. If the ladies want to dress up and compete in a fashion contest then let them off, free choice and all that.

Sure there is prizes for best dressed men at races too?!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Some lads want to see more than a few horses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I remember a mate of mine, who has since passed away, winning best dressed as part of a couple at the Curragh around 2005.

All seems harmless enough and there's this....

https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/whats-on/whats-on-news/plate-day-best-dressed-newcastle-14850187

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Lets kill all the craic everywhere for everybody and all go live in a bowl of grey soup

Make America Get Out of Here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

Some fine fillies on show all-right,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Taytoland

It's called traditionalism. A weird concept in these "progressive" times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Get your tits out for the lads

Sorry, that might come across as sexist and un-pc

Let me rephrase:
    Get your tits out for the lads and the ladies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,879 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Get your tits out for the lads

Sorry, that might come across as sexist and un-pc

Let me rephrase:
    Get your tits out for the lads and the ladies

Get your lads out for the ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Who is she to be telling other women what they can and can't enjoy doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,875 ✭✭✭✭Kolido

Its no more outdated than the rose of tralee or miss world

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

I was under the impression women were as free as men to make a choice in what they do.

And if a woman wants to dress up for Ladies Day, or if a woman wants to be a pit girl for Formula 1, shouldn't they be allowed to do so?

I wonder is a lot of the origins of this ****e just ugly women jealous of good looking / fashionable women.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

It's no more outdated than getting little people with whips to sit on horses and race each other around a field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

If someone wants to go to the races in all their finery then what the harm really? Its not as if they're hurting anyone like

doylefe wrote: »
    I was under the impression women were as free as men to make a choice in what they do.

And if a woman wants to dress up for Ladies Day, or if a woman wants to be a pit girl for Formula 1, shouldn't they be allowed to do so?

I wonder is a lot of the origins of this ****e just ugly women jealous of good looking / fashionable women.

The Pit Girls issue is coming from F1's new owners who want a clean slate and are an American Multinational Media Agency.

It does not surprise me they did it.

Of course they could have salvaged the whole thing by adding Grid Guys as well....

Instead of making a lot of women unemployed.

It's no more outdated than getting little people with whips to sit on horses and race each other around a field.

They prefer the term Horizontally Challenged....

Shur the next thing will be the trannies entering anyway..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

There's nothing more guaranteed to make certain women blow a gasket than other women having the temerity to decide themselves whether or not they wish to do so called girly things.

As if they're (especially attractive, 'dumb' or 'working class' ones) all part of some monolithic herd that exist only to further your splenetic media career aspirations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Some fine fillies on show all-right,

Lots of lamb dressed as mutton. Precious few ladies, though.

Literally no idea what the problem is with getting dressed up. It's more insulting of her to call them clothes horses. And the article is terribly written...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,208 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Maybe just maybe some women like to dress up once in a blue moon and have the crack and get away from the drudgery of life? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

The journalist has probably been monitoring social media sites to see if it triggers people, me included :) and breathing a sigh of relief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭work

A harmless tradition. It's more about the putting of the look together....I think? Anyway the ladies love it. I worked with a girl that one a big one, don't remember which, getting dressed up was huge for her. She was smart and well rounded otherwise, no bimbo.
    Anyway OK question to ask but I see no harm in it. I also agree that's a men's prize should always be present so as to be fair.

Get your lads out for the ladies.

Mine is out permanently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Is it sexist? Dunno. Probably not.

Do they look stupid in those hats? definitely.

Edit a Google Image search for "races ladies day" brings up this as the first result

Cheltenham-2018-when-is-ladies-day-what-is-why-is-there-Cheltenham-Festival-688316.jpg

Grayson wrote: »

Some of the hats.....

3ea8f8a90c35245b3e6901ea9e9f9b18.jpg

Ebony-Silk-wears-an-Engli-013.jpg

The journalist has probably been monitoring social media sites to see if it triggers people, me included :) and breathing a sigh of relief.

She probably ran out of stuff to write about. Plus it's the indo.

Some of the hats.....

That looks photoshopped :D

Some of the hats.....

A nod (pun intended) to her real purpose in life

Getting back ta feck into the kitchen and making me a fry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I think some po-faced yoke didn't place in the Curragh, Punchestown, OR Galway! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

JupiterKid wrote: »
    According to a journo in the Indo it is. She opines that the entire concept of "ladies day" where women dress up to the so-called "nines" in dresses and fancy hats at horse racing events are a sexist anachronism that does not belong in the 21st century. After all, there is no "gentlemans day."

When womens sport is often under-reported and sidelined in the media and the success of the Irish women's hockey team making it to the finals in the World Championships, does she have a point?

Link here:
    https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/irish-independent/20180806/281689730630700

The ladies don't seem to have a problem with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

A journo and the Indo, not mutually exclusive.

The ladies don't seem to have a problem with it?

It's almost as if many women like to buy new, glamorous outfits for certain sporting and/or social occasions, and show them off and even have a bit of lighthearted competition. Who'da thunk??

It's just a harmless tradition. I don't think anyone can really object to it sincerely.

Candie wrote: »
    It's just a harmless tradition. I don't think anyone can really object to it sincerely.

Emma, the other Emma, Jessica and Mary-Kate would upend that chungwan into a horse trough if she came out with that spiel to them, I can assure you! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's a bit of fun for some people. Those I know who are into it love it. It isn't compusary to make a big effort for ladies day.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

My opinion? A touch of sour grapes from that indo media hack. Why not have a gents day? To balance it out and provide some eye candy for the women and us gayers. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Honest question here because I think I missed the memo.

When did we start importing wholesale and legitimising this nonsense US-led identity politics shyte??

I know we Irish have a need for validation and to be liked by everyone, but has our own culture become so watered down that we have no identity of our own anymore?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭ConnyMcDavid

It's about time we end this tyranny of women being told to dress up and being marched around a race course at gunpoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

The Horses, the men and the women all have their job to do at the races.
    Respectively - to race around like mad, to give your money away to perfect strangers and to look good.
    Maybe these jobs should be shuffled around at random at the beginning of each race meeting. Change things up a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Grayson wrote: »

Edit a Google Image search for "races ladies day" brings up this as the first result

Cheltenham-2018-when-is-ladies-day-what-is-why-is-there-Cheltenham-Festival-688316.jpg

Women enjoy dressing up in fancy clothes and brightly coloured hats. It satisfies their innate need to try to attract a man, who will protect and provide for them. Doing so where the population is generally male, as at a horse race is doubly appealing. That they are officially 'on show' for the men, and, with the horses, part of the show being put on for the men visitors, clinches the deal for the popularity with ladies of 'Ladies Day' at the races. Being deemed superior to all the other ladies, really makes the day for the winner, boosting her confidence that she can attract a man, and that her future is secure.
    They dont spell all this out in the publicity for them. But there isnt really any need to. Everyone understands this is what they are about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's a bit of fun for some people.

How fcuking dare they.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Sal Butamol

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Honest question here because I think I missed the memo.

When did we start importing wholesale and legitimising this nonsense US-led identity politics shyte??

I know we Irish have a need for validation and to be liked by everyone, but has our own culture become so watered down that we have no identity of our own anymore?

Social media plays a huge part.

But so do our third level sociology departments. They are brainwashing factories for the worst kind of loony left bollix imported directly from the U.S.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

doylefe wrote: »

In a word, Yes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

[/B]
    In a word, Yes.

Not always - I'm a fairly plain looking bird and every year go on the defensive at the sneering to those attending Ladies Day at the Grand National meeting.

Plus pit girls, walk on girls at darts etc etc - all fine.

Seems to me like feminists bang on about wanting to give women choices but in reality it's only choices they approve of.

I worked years ago with a girl who put herself through Uni lapdancing, had a house paid off at 25.

Bloody good on her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Surely the women are dressing up and putting themselves on display with no coercion from anyone else?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Surely the women are dressing up and putting themselves on display with no coercion from anyone else?

Apparently the patriarchy is invisible - or some such bollix!