Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deirdre Jacob missing twenty years Today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭bb12

Ciara Breen's mother recently went to her grave never knowing what happened to her only child who vanished in 1997 at the age of seventeen.
    It has to have taken its toll on her.

there's a suspect known to her in that case and in an interview i saw that they had a general idea of where her body was buried

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

reg114 wrote: »
    So 2 weeks after the 20 year anniversary of the disappearance of this girl the Gardai suddenly change the status of this case to a murder case ? I think this is kite flying by the gardai , pure and simple.

If as has been written, the chief suspect is in the UK and would be collared the minute he stepped on to Irish soil then why dont the gardai extradite him based on the 'new information' that has come to light ? Extradition exists in the EU so why not employ it in this case, subsequent to employing a european arrest warrant?

No I dont believe the gardai have anything other than hearsay and conjecture to work on, primarily because the person who committed this crime most probably worked alone and divulged details to no one.

The dogs in the street have implicated the chief suspect for years, a case strengthened by the apparent cessation of these disappearances during his incarceration and his subsequent departure from the country.

Sadly I dont share peoples' confidence in Irish law enforcement or the judicial system. This chief suspect was only caught because he was literally caught red handed but two local men who could identify him and even at that stage he only served 9.5 years in jail and has been free to roam ever since.

The reclassification of this woman's disappearance to a murder guarantees one thing, that he wont set foot on irish soil willingly again, as for new evidence, I think in the absence of an extradition its sadly nonsense.

But he can only be extradited if the Gardai have enough to charge him. They can't detain and question him on the basis of being extradited.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

RobbieMD wrote: »
    But he can only be extradited if the Gardai have enough to charge him. They can't detain and question him on the basis of being extradited.

Agreed. Thats why this drip feed kite flying is really confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 886 ✭✭✭bb12

Agreed. Thats why this drip feed kite flying is really confusing.

Other media outlets are saying he's currently staying in north co dublin with his eastern european girlfriend since he arrived home for his mothers funeral in may

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I think he got a 15 year sentence.
    Sofi1 wrote: »
    He only served 10 years though. Remission for "good behaviour"

If it was a straight up 15 years then that makes it even more despicable that he was released after 10, even including remission. Remission is generally 25% off. 1/3 remission is very rare and notoriously hard to get. You need to be studying, bettering yourself, to show decent moral character and even then it's still tough to get. Murphy showed none of that. If this monster indeed served just 10 out of 15, that's a slap in the face to a lot of folks.

Its a bit like the trevor deely case and the recent search. Why did they have to release the reason as to why they were searching? Very unfair on the family and must have been a horrible time especially when the search turned up nothing.

This time the fear is they are at the same. Its extremely difficult to see where new info could have come from after this long. Especially of it was Murphy.

Dont forget about Raonaid Murray. Another poor girl whos murder is unsolved.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_Raonaid_Murray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,987 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

bb12 wrote: »
    there's a suspect known to her in that case and in an interview i saw that they had a general idea of where her body was buried

It didn't work out.
    The suspect died. Many didn't believe it was him anyway.
    They dug up Balmers Bog and brought in cadaver dogs but nothing was found.

Its a bit like the trevor deely case and the recent search. Why did they have to release the reason as to why they were searching? Very unfair on the family and must have been a horrible time especially when the search turned up nothing.

This time the fear is they are at the same. Its extremely difficult to see where new info could have come from after this long. Especially of it was Murphy.

They don't do it for a bit of craic.
    Many of them have spent years on this case I'd say and would love to see it conclude. They have daughters, sisters themselves.
    Hopefully, as I said earlier, it might at least make anyone who knows something consider coming forward like in the Irene White case.

They don't do it for a bit of craic.
    Many of them have spent years on this case I'd say and would love to see it conclude. They have daughters, sisters themselves.
    Hopefully, as I said earlier, it might at least make anyone who knows something consider coming forward like in the Irene White case.

Yeh ok but stilk to insinuate that there is new information? It doesnt seem likely.

That scumbag who the Scissor Sisters killed mentioned her name before and was briefly linked with the case. Dirtbag Graham Dwyer also referred to her saying ''nobody was ever caught for Raonaid Murray'' when talking about one of his sick fantasies. Poor girl.

Yeh ok but stilk to insinuate that there is new information? It doesnt seem likely.

Perhaps there was. Us Joe Soaps don't have a right to be privy to everything though.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Perhaps there was. Us Joe Soaps don't have a right to be privy to everything though.

And i get that. Neither should we be. But to go to the press rather than biding their time and picking him up for questioning when they found out where he was. They dont have a clue where he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Larry Murphy has two cousins who have been convicted of rape / murder
    Thomas Dalton - rape
    David Lawler - murder

Genuinely what are the chances of that

And Joe O Really who murdered his wife Rachel had a relative who dodged a murder conviction on a legal technicality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Day Lewin wrote:
    Oh, but there were - see second-last post, by me. It's a coincidence but it is true!

The murder committed by Crerar seemed to have been more opportunistic and impulsive, albeit utterly heinous. Murphy was calculating. He stalked his victim. He carried items which were used to restrain and subdue her. He drove to a pre-selected isolated location where he thought he would not be disturbed. These actions seemed well practised. Is it any wonder why he is considered a main suspect for the disappearance of these women.

And i get that. Neither should we be. But to go to the press rather than biding their time and picking him up for questioning when they found out where he was. They dont have a clue where he is.
    Are you Inspector Clouseau?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Omackeral wrote: »
    If it was a straight up 15 years then that makes it even more despicable that he was released after 10, even including remission. Remission is generally 25% off. 1/3 remission is very rare and notoriously hard to get. You need to be studying, bettering yourself, to show decent moral character and even then it's still tough to get. Murphy showed none of that. If this monster indeed served just 10 out of 15, that's a slap in the face to a lot of folks.

It wasn't a straight up 15 year sentence
    It was a 14 year sentence plus another year suspended
    14 years with 25% deducted is 10.5, which is exactly what he served, to the day

chicorytip wrote: »
    The murder committed by Crerar seemed to have been more opportunistic and impulsive, albeit utterly heinous. Murphy was calculating. He stalked his victim. He carried items which were used to restrain and subdue her. He drove to a pre-selected isolated location where he thought he would not be disturbed. These actions seemed well practised. Is it any wonder why he is considered a main suspect for the disappearance of these women.

Id hazard a guess and say gardai will be searching and digging the glen of imaal. Thats where Larry was discovered raping and beating the girl that got out alive.

Edgware wrote: »
    Are you Inspector Clouseau?

No. Are you?

Wow imagine someone having a different view or opinion on a forum. Mad stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Lord Glentoran

No. Are you?

Wow imagine someone having a different view or opinion on a forum. Mad stuff.

You will be assimilated :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,926 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Correct me if I'm wrong but didnt the judge say he sentenced Murphy to 15 years as if he'd have given him longer he'd have appealed it or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭2 Scoops

Original sentence was an absolute disgrace, should have never gotten out

2 Scoops wrote: »

Its ireland though.

2 Scoops wrote: »

You can receive a life sentence in this country for rape. You can receive a life sentence in this country for attempted murder. Murphy did both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Interesting to read that the most plausible theory they have at present is that Raonaid was murdered by someone she knew and that the killer could well have been female (ie. a personal grudge or something).

Deirdre and jojo look very alike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,052 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

If the Dublin/Wicklow mountains could give up their dead, many of those missing would be found.

There was a case of a prison officer....

https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/the-mystery-of-those-who-were-never-seen-again-1.21407

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭White lighting

And Joe O Really who murdered his wife Rachel had a relative who dodged a murder conviction on a legal technicality.

Really? Who? That's mad never heard that before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭Sundew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 630 ✭✭✭Henwin

I think I heard on the radio that deirdres parents found out it was changed to a murder investigation on the radio. Surely the investigating guards shud have told them before it went to the media.

Henwin wrote: »
    I think I heard on the radio that deirdres parents found out it was changed to a murder investigation on the radio. Surely the investigating guards shud have told them before it went to the media.

Lovely. Is it just the cops looking like they sre doing something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

That is actually really great to hear - you hear some horror stories.

I read up on some of the case when he was released and I'll be honest, I never got the vibe that he didn't have a murder or two in his background.

I always said that poor girl in Carlow couldn’t have been his first - as opportunistic as it was he was very well prepared at the same time, too well prepared.

God love Deirdre’s family. This must be like a waking nightmare for them. Hopefully they finally get closure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Odelay

You think you heard?

Not a hope of that happening, especially considering they were interviewed at the Garda station the day the news was released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭DublinHun72

Strazdas wrote: »
    Interesting to read that the most plausible theory they have at present is that Raonaid was murdered by someone she knew and that the killer could well have been female (ie. a personal grudge or something).

I’ve seen that too and did some more reading and it does appear it fits as being a female killer and the theory was with a grudge as it was so sustained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭coco0981

No they didn't. They said the Garda had kept them informed of the investigation the whole time but that it was still shocking to actually hear it on the radio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Odelay wrote: »
    You think you heard?

Not a hope of that happening, especially considering they were interviewed at the Garda station the day the news was released.

I also heard that on newstalk that the family didn't know that they were changing it to a murder investigation.

No you didn't.
    The father said that the family were informed at every juncture. He was interviewed on several radio stations this morning.

Some people hear what they want to hear.

I also heard that on newstalk that the family didn't know that they were changing it to a murder investigation.

They didn't know until they were told. Obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Yesterday’s News at One featured an interview with Deirdre’s father. I thought that the interviewer was awful (unintentional, I’m sure)

honeybear wrote: »
    Yesterday’s News at One featured an interview with Deirdre’s father. I thought that the interviewer was awful (unintentional, I’m sure)

No. That's just the usual R.T.E. standard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Just reading about Larry Murphy being released and how he was dividing his time between Holland France and Spain.

How can he finance that lifestyle?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/paul-williams-how-larry-murphy-became-the-prime-suspect-in-case-of-missing-deirdre-37218712.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,176 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

dense wrote: »
    Just reading about Larry Murphy being released and how he was dividing his time between Holland France and Spain.

How can he finance that lifestyle?

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/paul-williams-how-larry-murphy-became-the-prime-suspect-in-case-of-missing-deirdre-37218712.html

He probably tips around and gets bits of jobs here and there.
    And his accomdation would be very basic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭dbas

He probably tips around and gets bits of jobs here and there.
    And his accomdation would be very basic.

He's a carpenter by trade, but he's also a creeper and a stalker. He'd be well able to rob houses and disappear to the next town

dbas wrote: »
    He's a carpenter by trade, but he's also a creeper and a stalker. He'd be well able to rob houses and disappear to the next town

It's just one way I suggested of course they could be criminality involved.

I remember someone in south inner city pub telling me the Gardai were trying to house LM in Kevin St near the garda station. The locals went mad over it and he probably would have been hurt by them.
    for all the anger in people at the time, I never actually heard of anything happening to him.
    A wasted opportunity really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭twill

It wasn't on a technicality. The conviction was unsafe as the Heavy Gang literally beat a confession out of him (O'Reilly's relative) and there was no other evidence.

dbas wrote: »
    I remember someone in south inner city pub telling me the Gardai were trying to house LM in Kevin St near the garda station. The locals went mad over it and he probably would have been hurt by them.
    for all the anger in people at the time, I never actually heard of anything happening to him.
    A wasted opportunity really

When he got released he was meant to have being in almost every town and village on Ireland. Strangely enough he had a thing about going to mass.

The fear in people at the time. I live 5 minutes walk from Arbour Hill so |I made sure to see his face so I'd recognise him if he was around.
    Scumbag.
    If there's anything to the Gardai's statements recently I hope he is locked up life. Him and Graham Dywer can touch each other in there, along with that Athlone rapist.
    Chain gang until death would be too good for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

twill wrote: »
    It wasn't on a technicality. The conviction was unsafe as the Heavy Gang literally beat a confession out of him (O'Reilly's relative) and there was no other evidence.

True, people would have confessed to anything with those lads beating the crap out of you. They had a history of human rights abuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Woodbrook80

Is he a suspect in the other girls too?