If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Well I sure as hell wouldn't want him coming anywhere near my team, it's been a total freak show. It took serious work to burn that amount of bridges, like he was on a bet that there was literally nothing he could do that would get him cut. And for a while it looked like he was right. But he found the line.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Madness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Oat23 wrote: »
    The only people I feel bad for in this are the fans who spent $250 on an AB jersey.
    I'd say Fanatics/NFL will do something to offset this, free replacement or something along those lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Do you reckon the Raiders will try and get yer man Doss back from Jacksonville's PS?

And what team is going to be mad enough to sign AB now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Do you reckon the Raiders will try and get yer man Doss back from Jacksonville's PS?

He will be lucky to get a dime in guaranteed money ever again. I’m not sure he even wants to play football again so he may well retire. If he has had even a shred of cop on he should be set up for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

You'd be mad, he's clearly toxic.

Saying that, Tyreek Hill has a job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Somebody will give him a job if he wants it. May not be for the next few weeks or even this season depending on how the fallout is handled but NFL teams have hired players after doing worse things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭MrKingsley

Two completely different situations there. I don’t like Hill. But he’s been investigated (and not that I agree with the ruling) but a judgement has been passed.

AB has publicly highlighted over the last 3 months how unstable he really is

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,594 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Adamcp898 wrote: »
    Somebody will give him a job if he wants it. May not be for the next few weeks or even this season depending on how the fallout is handled but NFL teams have hired players after doing worse things.

I agree, it's not like he's done anything unforgivable like kneeling during the national anthem.

He'll have a job by week 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Always Be Closing

Hill was found to be innocent so I fail to see the correlation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,943 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Found to be innocent of what?
    He already has a conviction for domestic assault and battery by strangulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭wawaman

The nfl is full of freaks and idiots.............AND I LOVE IT!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

AB has gone from amusing to giving me a headache, don't ask me how Gruden or Mayock feel

I know it's the NFL and I'm sure some team will be tempted to sign him again but the guy is a complete toxic nutcase I'd question any GM's sanity more than AB's sanity to try and sign him after this nonsense he has inflicted upon the Raiders

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Em.. no he wasn't. There wasn't enough for a legal case against him, but the audio we all heard along with the previous admittance of guilty to domestic assault is what ScrubsfanChris is referring to. But you've few morals to begin with....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,742 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

IF a team where to sign him after all this mess in Oakland, you'd assume the team that signs him will be setting down major ground rules for him and his agent. And I doubt it's a multi year contract regardless. Until he shows himself that he'll play ball(both on and off the field) then he'll be sitting home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

adrian522 wrote: »
    I agree, it's not like he's done anything unforgivable like kneeling during the national anthem.

He'll have a job by week 2.

Or god forbid actually punched someone instead of just threatening to......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

It's amazing what a dull series it was, when you think about how much shenanigans they were either not seeing, or just not showing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I'm interested in what environment would actually be good for him. I don't think you can expect him to suddenly respond weel to being thrown into a culture with a rigid culture that doesn't give their stars special treatment and holds everyone accountable. From all reports the Steelers let him away a lot during his time there and the Raiders situation only became incredibly toxic when they tried to discipline him, even in a minor way.

It would be one thing if he was truely apologetic for his actions but he seems to feel completley justified in everything he has done

NFL surely going to have to look at this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

Oh please let it be true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

That is hilarious really. American sports on the off seasons are just daft.

Roll on tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

If that isn't a massive tampering investigation nobody can ever say the word tampering again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

If that isn't a massive tampering investigation nobody can ever say the word tampering again

https://twitter.com/AB84/status/1170442621589737473

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 41,943 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm here laughing at this news. I'm finding it hard to believe that Belichick would bring in somebody who has put up team communications on social media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,730 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

I much preferred the AB to the Patriots meme over the reality of AB to the Patriots.

Wonder if it was all an act to get out of that place and onto a decent team? The amount of daft stuff he has done over the past 6 weeks makes me think he has been George Costanza'ing it trying to get himself fired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

That wasn’t worked out in the time since he left the Raiders. Has to be tampering.

Surely Belichick won’t put up with his behaviour, late to meetings etc. Nothing will ever surprise me again in this league.