Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there any use for Baths these days?

• 17-07-2018 5:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Creative83

For one thing, baths just seem like a massive waste of space... I mean come on, when was the last time you had a bath? :o For me, it was when I was 10 or 11 I think... a shower is not only way more efficient but you don't get to lye in your own filth! You can get so much more space in any bathroom without the bloody bath that is never used!

Have baths in houses & apartments had their day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,115 ✭✭✭asteroids over berlin

not in mine, love a good bubble bath minus tge farts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,071 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I have the odd bath when in a hotel. Just feels relaxing.

In my home, its rarely used and kind of a waste of space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,322 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Love a bath! one of the few times I stop being 'mammy' and just do nothing while in complete control of the environment.

Really handy for treatments for lower body issues/growth and icing delicate groinal areas easily.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,892 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

They're for bathing children in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Creative83

McGaggs wrote: »
    They're for bathing children in.

Can the children not just have a shower :confused:

They're good as a treat in a hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Yes, the kids use the bath most. They hate the shower as cant play in it.

And sometimes after a hard days manual labour a big long soak in a radox bath is your only man. But ya have to rinse yourself afters...
    And lets not even start on the Lush bath bombs....great craic/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Coal, where will the coal go?

Creative83 wrote: »
    For one thing, baths just seem like a massive waste of space... I mean come on, when was the last time you had a bath? :o For me, it was when I was 10 or 11 I think... a shower is not only way more efficient but you don't get to lye in your own filth! You can get so much more space in any bathroom without the bloody bath that is never used!

Quick shower to get clean > Shave etc. while filling bath > Get in.

That's how I do it the once a year I bother.

Quick shower to get clean > Shave etc. while filling bath > Get in.

That's how I do it the once a year I bother.

Irish Water are coming for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 551 ✭✭✭elbyrneo

I find a bath handy when i fancy a bath. Otherwise it's just messy with water damage etc.

And sometimes after a hard days manual labour a big long soak in a radox bath is your only man

Do your colleagues know about this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

It’s a lot harder to get children clean in a shower compared to a bath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Bredabe wrote: »
    Love a bath! one of the few times I stop being 'mammy' and just do nothing while in complete control of the environment.

Really handy for treatments for lower body issues/growth and icing delicate groinal areas easily.

Ye cant beat a good bath to sort your fanny out.

Irish Water are coming for you

Maybe I only wash once a year.

Ewww :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

Just don't **** in the bath,unless you want the dreaded Spiderman backfire :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭Plague Maiden

I still enjoy an occasional bath. A quick shower first so I'm nice and clean getting in, very hot water to cut the bollocks off me, a few candles heating some eucalyptus oil and an audiobook to chill out to.

Snowflake :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

It's the only chance to prove your own farts are real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

sigh, your missing a treat op. not only can you pamper yourself with a long soak while listening to some soothing music, but you can also take the opportunity to bathe your other half for a bit of romance.

occasionally the romance doesn't make it out of the bath ;)

have a little more fun in your life, you will be a long time dead.

soups05 wrote: »
    sigh, your missing a treat op. not only can you pamper yourself with a long soak while listening to some soothing music, but you can also take the opportunity to bathe your other half for a bit of romance.

occasionally the romance doesn't make it out of the bath ;)

have a little more fun in your life, you will be a long time dead.

Aye, but it's like making sweet sweet love to an inflated* balloon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭juneg

Very important to have a bath. When the water is gone in the big winter freezes you have your bath full of water to flush the toilet for a few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

A hot bath is the best pain relief there is. A shower is nasty hot rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

Big fan of a Cadbury Flake now and again so the bath is a necessity.
    Not sure how else you'd eat them to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Beanntraigheach

Me an' my uncle Cletus makes moonshine in ours.
    Ol' granny fergets sometimes and takes a bath in it. That don't do no harm though, folks round these parts say that's whut gives it its special flavour.

tumblr_m22cnyqWpE1r1yj84.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Bicycle

Where would you wash the dog or the duvets?

And remember, all the tornado safety literature suggests you hide in the bath if you don't have a basement and a tornado is imminent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,868 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

When I was looking to buy a house visited a family house there was no bath and loads of people were put off and mentioned. I bought the house and put in a bath at very little cost nor difficulty. The main reason was the wife but it makes it much easier to wash the dogs.

I'd say there was about €15k knocked off the house price due to the lack of bath

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

One is never alone with a rubber duck.”

― Douglas Adams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

One is never alone with a rubber duck.”

― Douglas Adams

I never ever book a hotel room with out a bath tub, it's not a hoilday without a long soak one of the nicest rooms I was ever in had a rubber duckie :D:D for the tub!!

Well, personally, I love a bath. Some nice bath oils or such added to the water. Very relaxing.

The thing about showers is interesting because I would think you'd use more water with a shower. Sure, some people do very quick showers, but whenever I've shared with people, they would stay in the shower for quite some time. Whereas with a bath, you fill it, and just maintain the heat.

I'd suspect a shower uses more water..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

In about 20 years, two baths. Although, I would imagine a house with a bath, would still sell quicker than one without one. Still give re sale, especially for a young family.
    They’re a great host for dissolving bodies in hydroflouric acid

Not necessarily...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Try and get a child under 4/5 years old into a shower...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I specifically request hotel tooms with out baths. I hate stepping into them when going for a shower, the constant feeling that I’ll slip and hurt myself.

I don’t find baths relaxing or pampering. I have a bath in my house but I haven’t used it once. Don’t have kids or dogs so can’t see it being used either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

No.

Very rarely have one myself - maybe 5 or 6 in the past decade, but use it for the kids all the time.

I've never understood people who spend good money removing their bath and installing as shower "for space" - what do you gain a 2 or 3 grand bill and a square metre of bathroom to do what in exactly?

It's not like you're going to fit an extra bedroom in that square metre is it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

No.

Very rarely have one myself - maybe 5 or 6 in the past decade, but use it for the kids all the time.

I've never understood people who spend good money removing their bath and installing as shower "for space" - what do you gain a 2 or 3 grand bill and a square metre of bathroom to do what in exactly?

It's not like you're going to fit an extra bedroom in that square metre is it!

Will be honest, I contimplated this, replacing a bath for a walk in shower, as I would never use it. As my last post, was told 're sale'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Baths are very nice on the very odd occassion I take one, but agree generally waste of space and water usage and I think Id prefer have a bigger bathroom instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

I was maself weith a rag on a stick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭AlphaOmega1

Had one the other night, dumped a load of body lotion in, scalding hot water, threw the phone in a ziplock bag. was deadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭trick

I love my bath. I have a bath at least once a week. (I shower every day).
    I love the ritual of a bath. A tonne of Epsom salts, some essential oils.
    It would never live in a house that doesn’t have a bath
    (Obv not having baths at the mo with the drought situation)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,909 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Moved into a new apartment with a bath. Great for the kids, I thought. I think they've used it once. Used it three times myself, never on my own though, that's just boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

mloc123 wrote: »
    Try and get a child under 4/5 years old into a shower...

My 1.5 year old loves the shower! Just tries to climb out of the bath!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,948 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

A place for drinking water storage in the event of nuclear war.

Total waste of space, we did up the main bathroom at home recently and got rid of the bath altogether as it was never used. I’d seriously consider not putting in a bath at all if I was building a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,565 ✭✭✭valoren

The thing is you will decide that the bath is a waste of space, that it rarely if ever get's used.....but.......when you do get rid of it, you'll be overcome with an intermittent urge to have a bath and will regret getting rid of it. I guess you only appreciate something when it's gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Epsom salts and a bath
    Nice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Re-did the bathroom in our house, ripped out the bath and got a really nice pumped shower instead. We wouldn't use it and the toddler has its own small bathtub.
    I just don't do relaxing baths unless I'm in a hotel with the children 100 miles+ away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭optogirl

Have you ever tried to give a toddler a shower. Also babies can't go in the shower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,114 ✭✭✭✭bnt

If you really think a bath is "lying in your own filth", you clearly don't know how soap works. Use bubble bath, then any dirt that comes off is coated and can't stick to you: you're insulated against the dirt by the soap.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Arrival

I hate the fact that so many apartments have baths instead of showers. They could make better use of that room that it takes up