Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Loaded sub machine gun found on street.

• 11-07-2018 8:40am
    Registered Users Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭

Found in north inner city Dublin.

A member of the public handed it into a Garda Station.

It was a Garda gun.

Ooops.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

It was just left there as a test........ public passed....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Read this, this morning.

What the f**k like!

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/loaded-submachine-gun-belonging-to-gardai-found-on-the-street-854385.html
    Loaded submachine gun belonging to Gardaí found on the street

Gardaí are investigating how a loaded submachine gun belonging to one of their units came to be found in the street.

It was handed into Store Street Garda Station in Dublin's north inner city by a member of the public yesterday.

It is understood to belong to the armed garda unit that is policing the Hutch-Kinahan gangland feud.

Gardaí say a senior officer "has been appointed to examine all the circumstances" surrounding the discovery.

Detectives are investigating whether it fell from a moving Garda vehicle.

There is probably more going on here than we're being told

A: An absolutely thick Garda left a loaded weapon on the street.
    B: Weapon was stolen (Unlikely, wouldn't have gotten it back)
    C: Garda left it there Accidentally....

Garda will now need to do a full audit on all fire arms.
    No doubt some will be missing

Just the latest in a long list of scandals in this country... :mad:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,510 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

I've read 2 articles about this SMG handed in this morning and the most worrying thing to me is that it seems the Gardai were not aware it was even missing.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,895 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Why am I not surprised by these things anymore?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,886 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

I've read 2 articles about this SMG handed in this morning and the most worrying thing to me is that it seems the Gardai were not aware it was even missing.

My thoughts exactly.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Or maybe they were!
    But just didn't tell anyone!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭screamer

Piss poor from an gardai siochana there. If there storage is that inadequate in their Audi's they need to reassess especially if carrying loaded weapons. That little incident could have been catastrophic, they'd want to sharpen the pencil there.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I'd stick it in my bag and keep it in case we had a zombie outbreak or something. Like f*ck I'm handing over a machine gun if I find it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Garda fudging the numbers once again, in fact 5 million sub-machine guns were handed in.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

It was just resting on the street.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

How can this happen? Is there a more pathetic police force than ours in the western world? I doubt it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,510 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

I remembered a similar thing happening in the UK a few years ago. One of Tony Blair's bodyguards left a Glock pistol in the toilets at Starbucks and didn't realise it for over an hour, when she realised and returned to look for it someone had taken it.

Fortunately it was handed in.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/2679015/Tony-Blairs-bodyguard-left-gun-in-Starbucks-toilet.html

That is proper mad. Can you imagine your kid like "Dad, Dad and I found a gun!!" and he actually had.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,178 ✭✭✭blackbox

Imagine what could happen in a country where everyone was allowed to carry guns.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

grahambo wrote: »
    Read this, this morning.

What the f**k like!

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/loaded-submachine-gun-belonging-to-gardai-found-on-the-street-854385.html

There is probably more going on here than we're being told

A: An absolutely thick Garda left a loaded weapon on the street.
    B: Weapon was stolen (Unlikely, wouldn't have gotten it back)
    C: Garda left it there Accidentally....

Garda will now need to do a full audit on all fire arms.
    No doubt some will be missing

Just the latest in a long list of scandals in this country... :mad:

C, quids in, someone unstrapped and left it on top of a vehicle and drove off and the movement knocking the gun off. The person who did this is in a lot of bother, and no doubt so are the other officers as to how they actually manage the guns when not been carried on their person.
    The suggestion that other guns are missing is a bit of a stretch.

PS And it's not the first time a serving Garda 'lost' a gun on duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

'Murica 'Urland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

It's high time that all Gardai were armed, then we'd have much more high powered firearms accidentally left out on the street.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Must have been strange little thought sequence that lead to this:

"I'll just put that down for a sec while I have a fag.
    *busts out Rothmans from breast pocket*
    Weight of the bloody thing.
    Yeah cracking weather, can't remember when it last rained.
    *drags on fag and looks at watch*
    Gee look at that it's already knocking off time. Great!
    *quenches fag*
    That's me off. Feel like I forgot something.
    Ah no worries, it'll come to me later sure"

And there are people who want to arm all the Gardai. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

This is probably one reason why Guards are not routinely armed here. I wonder if guns are usually left down by cops in Dunkin Dounuts in the U.S, or by European Cops in the French or Spanish equivalent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,245 ✭✭✭check_six

Do the Armed Response Guards not check their weapons in and out every day? Or do they just lob them in a hold all and bring them home on the bus?

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    This is probably one reason why Guards are not routinely armed here. I wonder if guns are usually left down by cops in Dunkin Dounuts in the U.S, or by European Cops in the French or Spanish equivalent.

Regularly. Often happens.
    So are radios batons etc

• Registered Users Posts: 13,856 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

And there are people who want to arm all the Gardai. :rolleyes:

And gob****es who defend them to the hilt....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,882 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

this is just shocking.. a guard littering

• Registered Users Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

check_six wrote: »
    Do the Armed Response Guards not check their weapons in and out every day? Or do they just lob them in a hold all and bring them home on the bus?

The lads were probably still out when it was handed in, probably wakinig back along the route if they noticed it missing. Imagine the boss driving up, "morning lads how's it going ......had a little drop off this morning by a member of the public.... ..."

MarkY91 wrote: »
    How can this happen? Is there a more pathetic police force than ours in the western world? I doubt it.

you sound like a reasonable and balanced voice on the topic alright

• Registered Users Posts: 6,614 ✭✭✭Feisar

D3V!L wrote: »
    I'd stick it in my bag and keep it in case we had a zombie outbreak or something. Like f*ck I'm handing over a machine gun if I find it.

I'm a law abiding citizen but not a hope I'd hand in a random gun I found. Fair enough if it looked like some lad's shotgun but a Heckler and Koch? Not a hope. Sorry!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭mattser

MarkY91 wrote: »

Right so. Don't bother your bollox calling them at 3am when you have a burglar. Fire the keyboard at him.
    Or move somewhere else in Western Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

This is pathetic from the Guards.  I thought this was a Waterford Whispers headline when I seen it on social media.  God forbid there is ever a terrorist incident where armed police need to be on the scene and you have to rely on them with the likes of this crap happening.  Its like something from the Police Academy movies.......

• Registered Users Posts: 5,088 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Reminds me of an old army story I once heard. Soldiers on maneuvers lost a gun. So they tell their commanding officer they lost five guns. He promptly goes nuts. They go back to him later to say they found four but one was still missing. Not so bad then!