Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gay Pride at work

• 24-06-2018 7:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I understand why people in the LGBT want or feel the need for Pride and that's cool.

So what's my gripe....

I work in a bank, the bank has reasonable policies on discrimination and respecting others etc....which I agree with.

I go to work and create systems that allows the bank to function.
    Why then does the bank need to decorate my office with rainbow flags and posters, spam my inbox with GO PRIDE style pep talk emails, invite us to a range of events during the week and more....?

Why? It's a bank. Is it too much for me to want to go to work , punch the clock and go home with my thinking of social matters being imposed upon?
    Why does sexuality get such promotion in a bank , there are many noble campaigns , none get this coverage or close to it.

My workplace isn't alone ...I know it's happening in other companies like insurance companies and American multinationals eg, facebook, google

One such company (i've a friend there) has now a sign-up where you can pledge to be an LGBT ally and receive a special lanyard to wear "with pride" ( You can see what they did there??? ) around the office. The flip side of this is that it has created a culture where those without the lanyard are being asked why not?
    Of course it's in an ever so polite and around about way...like "did you see the email on the lanyard" etc...

LGBT and their allies are a small section of society , why must their views be imposed on me at work. Christmas doesn't get such PR in my job.

I'm fairly neutral and happy to live and let live (on most matters) but this constant barrage at work makes me resent LGBT (the campaign rather than the individual people) a little.

I did ask at work and I got weird looks from HR and a bland meaningless reply about equality and diversity etc....
    I think I am now guilty of wrong-think and possibly a second charge of using an outdated version of newspeak.:rolleyes: in the eyes of HR.

Strikes me as a corporate **** off in virtue signalling
    Yes I did say Virtue Signalling. happy?

Is it wrong of me to want to just go to work in peace. No campaigns , promotions of any kind?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭jcorr

Just ignore them. It's work.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

PR nonsense for the public maybe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

I never get involved in any activities related to my work. Fundraisers, Christmas Parties, Wellbeing Days, Farewells, etc. I get on well with my colleagues and enjoy a bit of craic, but this way we all stay on friendly terms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,059 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Wonder if all the corporate stuff has taken over Pride tbh.

OP are ye allowed a Christmas crib at work during advent? Or do they celebrate any other festivals or cultural events?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Not sure how the decoration affects you in the slightest really...

It's easily ignored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

lawred2 wrote: »

It's easily ignored

You can easily delete an email and decline invites too

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

It's easily ignored

He's asking why they do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Gmaximum

paw patrol wrote: »
    I understand why people in the LGBT want or feel the need for Pride and that's cool.

So what's my gripe....

I work in a bank, the bank has reasonable policies on discrimination and respecting others etc....which I agree with.

I go to work and create systems that allows the bank to function.
    Why then does the bank need to decorate my office with rainbow flags and posters, spam my inbox with GO PRIDE style pep talk emails, invite us to a range of events during the week and more....?

Why? It's a bank. Is it too much for me to want to go to work , punch the clock and go home with my thinking of social matters being imposed upon?
    Why does sexuality get such promotion in a bank , there are many noble campaigns , none get this coverage or close to it.

My workplace isn't alone ...I know it's happening in other companies like insurance companies and American multinationals eg, facebook, google

One such company (i've a friend there) has now a sign-up where you can pledge to be an LGBT ally and receive a special lanyard to wear "with pride" ( You can see what they did there??? ) around the office. The flip side of this is that it has created a culture where those without the lanyard are being asked why not?
    Of course it's in an ever so polite and around about way...like "did you see the email on the lanyard" etc...

LGBT and their allies are a small section of society , why must their views be imposed on me at work. Christmas doesn't get such PR in my job.

I'm fairly neutral and happy to live and let live (on most matters) but this constant barrage at work makes me resent LGBT (the campaign rather than the individual people) a little.

I did ask at work and I got weird looks from HR and a bland meaningless reply about equality and diversity etc....
    I think I am now guilty of wrong-think and possibly a second charge of using an outdated version of newspeak.:rolleyes: in the eyes of HR.

Strikes me as a corporate **** off in virtue signalling
    Yes I did say Virtue Signalling. happy?

Is it wrong of me to want to just go to work in peace. No campaigns , promotions of any kind?

I’ve worked in a a number of corporates and SMEs for 20 years all in the technology industry in Ireland. At no point was anyone discriminated for being LGBT.

I have found it strange that particularly since the marriage referendum a lot of companies are engaging with Pride all of a sudden. Perhaps we’ve just reached a point where millennials as a whole need it to be clear that everyone is accepted

In the US there’s a lot of vitriol around Memorial Day abd Veterans Day, I was the sole Irish based employee for an American company employing 600 globally and was included in company wide emails from people I’d never met thanking vets etc for their service

I’ve no issue with pride being celebrated Inthe workplace but I do think it’s unfair putting people under pressure to participate wear lanyards etc

kneemos wrote: »
    He's asking why they do it.

Not sure. Inclusiveness maybe. Who cares either way.. there's no harm in it and it can be easily ignored if it bothers you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,261 ✭✭✭Sonics2k

Whether or not you've noticed it, or even if you wish to notice it, there is sadly a rather large amount of discrimination aimed at LGBT people.

While all the pep talk may annoy you, it's core focus is aimed at LGBT people to let them know they are accepted. Have a read through various LGBT forums and you'll find a large amount of posts from young men and women who have recently come out, or are planning on coming out, and are genuinely frightened and family/friends reactions.

Yes, the campaign can be annoying and I say that as the child of a lesbian couple. But, I'm 'lucky' in that I can see and understand the actual objective is really more about showing support, rather than any supposed 'malicious agenda'.

Not sure. Inclusiveness maybe. Who cares either way.. there's no harm in it and it can be easily ignored if it bothers you.

Doesn't answer the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

It's easily ignored

Apparently it’s not. It’s in emails being sent to him, it’s all over the office and people are asking why people aren’t wearing the LGBT lanyards. Having to answer that question in work isn’t really fair and ya can’t just ignore it. Could turn people against him just because he doesn’t have the ‘right’ viewpoint or doesn’t wanna get on board any movements while at work. This ignore it or it it doesn’t effect you response is brutal, chap just wants to work.

I’d have no bother with it personally but absolutely see the OP’s point of view and gripe.

kneemos wrote: »
    Doesn't answer the question.

The only way this question can be answered is by the OP asking those within his company putting up the decorations what their reasoning is...

How is anyone on here supposed to know?

Whenever companies get involved in social issues it's always for their own cynical self interests.

You can easily delete an email and decline invites too

And when someone asks why you didn’t respond to an email, declined an invite or didn’t wear a rainbow lanyard? His point is he shouldn’t have to have those conversations at work. He’s there to work, not promote a cause or show solidarity or anything else.

It's easily ignored

I must put up a cross in the office so.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Apparently it’s not. It’s in emails being sent to him, it’s all over the office and people are asking why people aren’t wearing the LGBT lanyards. Having to answer that question in work isn’t really fair and ya can’t just ignore it. Could turn people against him just because he doesn’t have the ‘right’ viewpoint or doesn’t wanna get on board any movements while at work. This ignore it or it it doesn’t effect you response is brutal, chap just wants to work.

I’d have no bother with it personally but absolutely see the OP’s point of view and gripe.

Of course you can ignore it.

My office has a massive World Cup thing going on at the moment, constant emails, the match being projected up on a wall and all that. All kicked off when the World Cup did.

I only noticed yesterday.

The OP cares.

What would the reaction be if say the company was pushing a YES vote for the 8th and you happened to disagree with it? You’d be commented on I’d say at the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

And when someone asks why you didn’t respond to an email, declined an invite or didn’t wear a rainbow lanyard? His point is he shouldn’t have to have those conversations at work. He’s there to work, not promote a cause or show solidarity or anything else.

He's too busy in work or at home. This is silly. He is not being forced to attend any events. Ignore it all. No big deal.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

As it goes I didn't read as far as the friend's anecdote but I wouldn't agree with wearing such symbols in work. Nor a campaign to brow beat anyone into doing so.

Sonics2k wrote: »

My office has a massive World Cup thing going on at the moment, constant emails, the match being projected up on a wall and all that. All kicked off when the World Cup did.

Were you off work or do you just not pay attention to your emails nor surroundings?

John, why are you not wearing a World Cup lanyard?

I don’t give a sh*t about football.

John, why are you not wearing an LGBT lanyard?

I don’t give a sh*t about gay people.

The OP cares.

What would the reaction be if say the company was pushing a YES vote for the 8th and you happened to disagree with it? You’d be commented on I’d say at the least.

What are they 'pushing' for here?

John, why are you not wearing a World Cup lanyard?

I don’t give a sh*t about football.

John, why are you not wearing an LGBT lanyard?

I don’t give a sh*t about gay people.

Actually, funny story. We do have some people wearing the Pride Lanyards around work.

I'm wearing a Slytherin one I got from my daughter for Christmas. Not a single person has commented on it because nobody gives a toss.

This whole thing is starting to read more and more like a persecution complex.

Were you off work or do you just not pay attention to your emails nor surroundings?

I read the emails important to my job. If it says "Social event" or some gibberish I skip it.

He's too busy in work or at home. This is silly. He is not being forced to attend any events. Ignore it all. No big deal.

How can you ignore people that would inevitably ask you if you were the only one not getting on board? You work with them. Can’t ignore them if they ask ya. As I said, it wouldn’t bother me at all but I see his point.

Reminds me of those telethons we used to have.
    The company would get the publicity off the back of their workers.

How can you ignore people that would inevitably ask you if you were the only one not getting on board? You work with them. Can’t ignore them if they ask ya. As I said, it wouldn’t bother me at all but I see his point.

"Hey, are you going to this thing?"

"Nah, can't be arsed, going to stay in and chill at home with the family"

"Ah fair enough, enjoy"

Oh my, the trauma of conflict.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Blaas4life

What's a lanyard?

"Hey, are you going to this thing?"

"Nah, can't be arsed, going to stay in and chill at home with the family"

"Ah fair enough, enjoy"

Oh my, the trauma of conflict.

Ah look, I’m not going any deeper on this because I’d probably wear one myself. I voted Yes and absolutely support LGBT rights. My point is work and social issues probably shouldn’t cross over. If you found yourself in the minority of not supporting a cause or movement, it could lead to office talk about you and all when it probably shouldn’t even be up for discussion at all.

Blaas4life wrote: »
    What's a lanyard?

It’s something **** wear on Baggot Street after work to let ya know they work somewhere high net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭yesto24

My wife had this problem in work as well.
    Now let me be clear she spent a lot of time in London in the 90s where she was a fag hag.
    She is still friends with a lot of these guys now.
    So when this pride nonsense rolls around each year and her company is boarding the diversity bandwagon she just ignores it.
    If challenged, she just tells them she "was friends with gay people before it was cool", or more depressingly for her before you were born.

Ah look, I’m not going any deeper on this because I’d probably wear one myself. I voted Yes and absolutely support LGBT rights. My point is work and social issues probably shouldn’t cross over. If you found yourself in the minority of not supporting a cause or movement, it could lead to office talk about you and all when it probably shouldn’t even be up for discussion at all.

Nah I know you did, I remember your posts from the 2015 Ref.

I'm just pointing out it's a silly complaint and that there is a lot more discrimination aimed at LGBT people than you'd think.

Sure, it's not nearly as bad as it used to be, but is a lot more common than you'd think, especially if you're not LGBT.

edit: I know, I found this out the hard way as someone who works with young teens who are coming out or the are the children of LGBT couples.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Here's the thing, very few people have antipathy towards gay or LGBT people anymore.
    We voted a few years ago in a referendum which showed just how inclusive of LGBT people Ireland is.
    Pride marches etc were a necessity in times when being gay was illegal and gay people were really discriminated against, these days it just feels pointless beyond being a bit of craic for the LGBT community (for want of a better term).
    There will always be homophobic people in society, that's just the way it is, you can't make everyone agree with you on everything and they have their right to their opinions also, a company acting the way the OP describes seems like its coming from a place of wanting to be inclusive and progressive or if you wanted to be cynical about it you could say that they want to be SEEN to be inclusive and progressive.
    In reality a person's sexual orientation has no effect on their ability to carry out the job assigned to them and in my opinion discussion of sexuality in the workplace isn't something that seems to be a reasonable use of time or resources.
    These days very few people give a damn that Gary in accounts is gay and just see him as a person, not a gay person, a position I would think a lot of old school gay rights campaigners who suffered real discrimination would have only dreamed of in years gone by.
    Why constantly draw attention to a person's sexuality? Why constantly outline differences? Is reinforcing the differences between people really the face of modern liberal progressive values?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

I’d be pro-LGBT, but Pride irritates me a bit at this stage and I definitely wouldn’t be up for wearing lanyards or doing anything like that. So I’d just say that I wasn’t into the idea personally and get on with things. I wouldn’t be worried about further questioning or that it’d come off homophobic because I know I’m not and anyone who wanted to think that would eventually end up with egg on their face for being so judgemental.

How do people end up in these situations worrying? Unless you sneaky are homophobic and don’t want those views coming out? I don’t see the issue tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

It's easily ignored

Not easily ignored if people are at you all the time as to why you aren't wearing the lanyard...

Showing your identity with pride is one thing. Shaming people into wearing badges of your identity is something completely else and smacks of oppression and totalitarianism.

Personally I think this kind of thing is counterproductive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

It’s ok to be gay
    It’s ok to not be ok
    Here’s some healthy meal tips
    Do you know you can burn x calories by taking the stairs
    Have you voted for the Star employee of the month yet
    ...I’m at work...bugger off

nullzero wrote: »
    Here's the thing, very few people have antipathy towards gay or LGBT people anymore.
    We voted a few years ago in a referendum which showed just how inclusive of LGBT people Ireland is.
    Pride marches etc were a necessity in times when being gay was illegal and gay people were really discriminated against, these days it just feels pointless beyond being a bit of craic for the LGBT community (for want of a better term).
    There will always be homophobic people in society, that's just the way it is, you can't make everyone agree with you on everything and they have their right to their opinions also, a company acting the way the OP describes seems like its coming from a place of wanting to be inclusive and progressive or if you wanted to be cynical about it you could say that they want to be SEEN to be inclusive and progressive.
    In reality a person's sexual orientation has no effect on their ability to carry out the job assigned to them and in my opinion discussion of sexuality in the workplace isn't something that seems to be a reasonable use of time or resources.
    These days very few people give a damn that Gary in accounts is gay and just see his a person, not a gay person, a position I would think a lot of old school gay rights campaigners who suffered real discrimination would have only dreamed of in years gone by.
    Why constantly draw attention to a person's sexuality? Why constantly outline differences? Is reinforcing the differences between people really the face of modern liberal progressive values?

How long do people really spend, per week having sex with the sex they are attracted to.
    Normal weeks I spend more time eating, sleeping, walking, working, reading crap on boards. Leaner times, I spend more time on the toilet.
    Yet, we should define ourselves by who we want to stink our penis into. (If you are a man)
    This pride nonsense is done.
    We are not homophobic, its not that we don't care, we are just bored of it.
    I did read the above post about young people coming out and been terrified to friends and family. Maybe they should have better friends and realise you can't choose your family but even with that I don't see how a company having pride nonsense is going to help them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

Wonder if all the corporate stuff has taken over Pride tbh.

OP are ye allowed a Christmas crib at work during advent? Or do they celebrate any other festivals or cultural events?

I'm not sure if we're allowed but there certainly is no crib.
    And bar the boozing at Christmas with a few parties. There are no organised fun like Pride.

It's easily ignored

It's not really tbh. It doesn't have me crying in the jacks but it's still annoying.
    Gmaximum wrote: »
    I’ve worked in a a number of corporates and SMEs for 20 years all in the technology industry in Ireland. At no point was anyone discriminated for being LGBT.

I've found the same , that this stage since 1997 I've worked in banks around Dublin both national and international.. Never any discrimination.

You put that very well.

You are right but in the other company , a well known place, the overt display that you are an ally is a thing.
    Also given your other posts on matters I somehow don't think you'd be as blasé or casual about it , if it wasn't a matter close to your heart.
    I suspect you are speaking out both sides of your mouth to be honest
    Nah I know you did, I remember your posts from the 2015 Ref.

I'm just pointing out it's a silly complaint and that there is a lot more discrimination aimed at LGBT people than you'd think.

Sure, it's not nearly as bad as it used to be, but is a lot more common than you'd think, especially if you're not LGBT.

edit: I know, I found this out the hard way as someone who works with young teens who are coming out or the are the children of LGBT couples.

I don't think it's a silly compliant. It's not life threatening but it doesn't mean its' not a concern or that it;'s silly
    As you describe your job it seems Pride is relevant. I work in a bank in IT . I design systems. It's not a crusading place. It's not unreasonable to let me do my work without this ra-ra nonsense...

As a previous poster said it's becoming like veterans day in the US and it seems to be to be quite false ....and a race to become more into pride than the next guy.
    Omackeral in the post I quote has put it very well , those conversations aren't appropriate for the workplace

leggo wrote: »
    I’d be pro-LGBT, but Pride irritates me a bit at this stage and I definitely wouldn’t be up for wearing lanyards or doing anything like that. So I’d just say that I wasn’t into the idea personally and get on with things. I wouldn’t be worried about further questioning or that it’d come off homophobic because I know I’m not and anyone who wanted to think that would eventually end up with egg on their face for being so judgemental.

How do people end up in these situations worrying? Unless you sneaky are homophobic and don’t want those views coming out? I don’t see the issue tbh.

Well you know they way the word racist is thrown around at not racist things?
    And the witch-hunt that follows?

I think that might have something to do with it.

Why not next Ash Wednesday harass anyone who doesn't have ashes on their foreheads? I'm old enough to remember this actually happening in school. To the extent that some kids would fake it. That was wrong. This is wrong too.

Flags, emails etc I'm fine with, but weraring something? That's too far.

It’s something **** wear on Baggot Street after work to let ya know they work somewhere high net.

sadly , the lanyard infection has spread beyond baggot street.

The only way this question can be answered is by the OP asking those within his company putting up the decorations what their reasoning is...

How is anyone on here supposed to know?

from the original OP
    paw patrol wrote: »

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

It will get unfashionable and won't be cool anymore in a few years I'm sure. People will of found something else to attach themselves to.

A new logo to stick on all there social media crap etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Gmaximum wrote: »

Can't remember the last time I heard a black person being openly called a n****r. Doesnt mean racism doesnt exist.......

The OPs problem is he actually is interested in real equality and diversity. He thinks of people as individuals. Not "equality and diversity" rammed down his throat from above and only applied to certain select groups.

I don't like this kind of group enforcement. Never have. The Christian brothers were masters of it. It stinks.

Can't remember the last time I heard a black person being openly called a n****r. Doesnt mean racism doesnt exist.......

So your solution is to ask everyone to wear "I love ALL black people" lanyards and shame anyone who doesn't? That will build bridges alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

I despise the corporate bolloxology that accompanies Pride these days. Piss off and advertise elsewhere because that's all it is advertisement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

My company does Pride. Nobody is pressured into anything. Some people wear rainbow lanyards all year round, some don’t.

If somebody feels their work is open and tolerant then they don’t feel they need to hide their personal life in the office. They can be ‘their full self’ and just do their job to the best of their ability without worrying about anything else. It sounds a bit wanky but its true. I also have some gay workmates, they appreciate the support. Obviously this all benefits the company too.

It’s all about diversity and inclusion. We also do things for (amongst others) international women’s day, men’s health day and have a diversity day where the over 30 different nationalities in the office can wear national dress, bring in food etc.

You can engage or not, many do, many don’t.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Must be horrible when December rolls around, little trees with crappy looking baubles and tinsel all over them. How can anyone work in that environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

The Pride thing is becoming tacky when banks are promoting it.
    The time for them to do that was pre 2000 when there was genuinely a lot of disrespect for the gay community. The battle has been won now and corporates are along for the feel good factor. Bit of reputation laundering I suspect, banks are not held in high esteem nowadays and with very good reason.