Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE Interview

I can't listen to the interview now but my main rason for getting Rex was because of the very poor CCS infrastructure.

Just today I had to go to Dublin and needed/wanted to charge at Naas, was at 12.5% when I got there, 2 leafs there, one charging and one waiting, eah, no thanks I said and pulled into the new garage there at Mac D and filled the tank and headed into the City.

There not a single practical CCS point from Waterford to the City of Dublin, now after 2011 that is absolutely shocking, no pun intended.

My advise to anyone looking to charge at Naas is avoid at all costs and plan your route as if Naas charger does not exist.

There are no CCs in the city or anywhere close to town.

And more disturbing is the fact there is no CCS that is practical to use on the actual route from Waterford to Lusk and that is , again, an absolute disgrace !

Boy am I glad I chose the Rex and I have a feeling I'l be buying another because 300 Km range is nice and all but if you need a charge and can't get it or have to wait up to 1.5 hrs then what's the point ? you're back at square 1.

Making a complaint to RTE for highlighting this lack of proper infrastructure is a joke alright, as mush as we've argued in the past Villan I fully agree with you on this. One of the main reasons people won't buy electrics is range and lack of charging.

A proper charging setup is 4+ chargers per site no less is considered acceptable today and they need to think ahead and install 150 Kw.

Oh and to my surprise the Qpark close to where I'm staying tonight has an AC point so I'm plugged in there at the moment. So I do also hope they don't give up completely on AC as it's dead handy particularly having the 11 Kw charger in the i3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Ridiculous interview. The only accurate thing they mentioned was the inadequate public network.

So the chap buys an i3 Rex and doesn't understand the car.
    He thinks the petrol engine runs the car, rather than charges the battery when needed.
    He talks about range anxiety...but he has the rex :rolleyes:
    He has no off-street parking and relies on the local dart station to charge the car....and then says it costs €3 to charge it.
    He jokes that pre-heating the car in the morning will eat 50% of the battery.

They talk about the electricity being produced by burning coal and peat, but fail to mention that 40% of our electricity is produced by renewable sources and that those charging at night are using electricity which is ~70% from wind.

It's no wonder the IEVOA sent in a formal complaint. No balance to that show at all.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

I can't listen to the interview now but my main rason for getting Rex was because of the very poor CCS infrastructure.

Just today I had to go to Dublin and needed/wanted to charge at Naas, was at 12.5% when I got there, 2 leafs there, one charging and one waiting, eah, no thanks I said and pulled into the new garage there at Mac D and filled the tank and headed into the City.

There not a single practical CCS point from Waterford to the City of Dublin, now after 2011 that is absolutely shocking, no pun intended.

My advise to anyone looking to charge at Naas is avoid at all costs and plan your route as if Naas charger does not exist.

There are no CCs in the city or anywhere close to town.

And more disturbing is the fact there is no CCS that is practical to use on the actual route from Waterford to Lusk and that is , again, an absolute disgrace !

Boy am I glad I chose the Rex and I have a feeling I'l be buying another because 300 Km range is nice and all but if you need a charge and can't get it or have to wait up to 1.5 hrs then what's the point ? you're back at square 1.

Making a complaint to RTE for highlighting this lack of proper infrastructure is a joke alright, as mush as we've argued in the past Villan I fully agree with you on this. One of the main reasons people won't buy electrics is range and lack of charging.

A proper charging setup is 4+ chargers per site no less is considered acceptable today and they need to think ahead and install 150 Kw.

EV's remain local range use, have been let down too many times at destination or route charging, yes we've had mainly successful trips but +3/4 hours because rapids out of action is not pretty....grand for the occasional trip but not a commute or time sensitive trip

40% of our electricity renewable ? More like 20?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,694 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Do those two 20% make up 40% Mad Lad?????

I switched to energia yesterday. When I was comparing prices, there were charts on electric ireland and bonkers that said 40% of our electricity is generated by renewables. About 40% is gas and the coal and peat I believe made up the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Agent_47

goz83 wrote: »
    I switched to energia yesterday. When I was comparing prices, there were charts on electric ireland and bonkers that said 40% of our electricity is generated by renewables. About 40% is gas and the coal and peat I believe made up the rest.

Rubbish. Fosil fuels make up at least >75% of electricity production.

Renewable electricity (SEAI projections report 2017 to 2020)
    Achievements to date: Wind energy, generated from 2.44 GW of installed capacity23 at the end of 2015, accounted for 21% of total electricity generated in that year. Hydro and other renewable electricity sources had a combined share of 4% of total electricity generation. This resulted in an overall renewable electricity share of 25% at the end of 2015, building towards the 40% renewable electricity target by 2020. In 2015, approximately 270 MW of wind capacity was installed, an increase on the average installed capacity over the five-year period 2011–2015 of 200 MW

As a current non-EV owner and energy nerd I have a particular interest in this area.
    in the overall energy picture renewables account for just 9.1%, given cicra 42% of our energy needs are in the transport sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Round Cable

Agent_47 wrote: »
    Rubbish. Fosil fuels make up at least >80% of electricity production.

Electric Ireland's fuel mix disclosure puts renewables it at 40.1% in 2016.

https://www.electricireland.ie/residential/help/billing/fuel-mix-disclosure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭Round Cable

Electric Ireland's fuel mix disclosure puts it at 40.1% in 2016.

https://www.electricireland.ie/residential/help/billing/fuel-mix-disclosure

Can you back that up with a link?

Care to back that up? Or is “rubbish” all you’ve got?

2016 chart from the cru. Page 3. https://www.cru.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/CRU17288-CRU-Fuel-Mix-Disclosure-and-CO2-Emission-2016-version-28-September-2017-FINAL-PDF.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Do hotels have charging points for electric cars?

boards was down

NIMAN wrote: »
    Do those two 20% make up 40% Mad Lad?????

Haha, that's Boards site acting the mick again ! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,150 ✭✭✭homer911

Rather than bandy around guestimates..

According to the SEAI, it was 23.6% in 2015, we can expect that to have increased since but can't find any more recent numbers without a major search

Fossil fuel energy consumption was 85% in 2015, but that doesn't mean it was all used for producing electricity. In 2014, we got 45% of electricity from natural gas, 14% from coal, 9% from peat, 3% from other and 8% through the interconnector, but I cant locate stats on how this electricity is produced...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,888 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

Can you back that up with a link?

For any doubting Thomas's

https://www.seai.ie/resources/publications/Irelands_Energy_Projections.pdf

Page 6

https://www.seai.ie/resources/publications/Irelands_Energy_Projections.pdf

Won't be posting here again, too many experts :cool:

So what does it say ? too much reading lol.

That I was right. I was quoting more recent figures from 2016 from the same source.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I was confused with the professor talking about the i3 Rex.

What am I not understanding about the i3 Rex if he struggled to do a Kenmare trip in it.

Is it a tiny petrol tank or some other issue I'm unaware off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Villain wrote: »
    I laughed hard at this http://www.irishevowners.ie/formal-complaint-filed-to-rte-for-today-with-sean-orourke-program/

This is in relation to https://www.rte.ie/radio/radioplayer/rteradiowebpage.html#!rii=b9%5F21386325%5F15036%5F20%2D06%2D2018%5F

While Anton was being playful I actually think the interview raised infrastructure issues that are present and the guest that owned an i3 gave an insight into the possible issues.

Now I know there are positive sides to an EV which could be highlighted too but the experience of that guest is a reality for some.

I get that IEVOA want to promote EVs but the issues raised in the interview are real.

Can't listen at the minute, but is that the same fella that write an open letter to the Irish Times (I think) complaining that after he'd bought his EV, he has no home charging and has to depend on a local Dart/Hotel to charge? And he went down the country (Cork?) and was always caught in a queue at the chargers?

If it is, I thought he'd bought a gen1 Leaf. If he has a REx, he'd want a kick up the hole!

Old diesel wrote: »

What am I not understanding about the i3 Rex if he struggled to do a Kenmare trip in it.

Rex can drive as long as it has battery charge and/or petrol.

Rex = no queuing at chargers and can continue when a charger is down or the 94 ah BEV can use the 11 Kw AC which is a good get out of jail card.

Rex can drive as long as it has battery charge and/or petrol.

Rex = no queuing at chargers and can continue when a charger is down or the 94 ah BEV can use the 11 Kw AC which is a good get out of jail card.

Precisely what I thought myself - hence I struggle with how the professor had issues on both Kenmare trip and managing his 30 km golf club trips

It was an EV put down, simple as. Wrap a little truth with a bunch of lies and the uneducated masses are put off. He was talking about the battery only range and didn't talk about the rex in any way that a non EV person would understand. Sounded like a bitter man who made the wrong choice with the best intentions.

The show needed an official complaint put in.

He couldn't have ran into any issues unless he was complaining he couldn't charge.

I drove from Limerick all around the ring of Kerry and even took a much longer detour from the main ring route and back to Killarney. Topped up in Newcastle west on the fast charger coming from Limerick then into Cahersiveen and charged at 11 Kw for about 45 mins over lunch and then around the ring with detour and fired up the rex before Killarney to preserve some battery for town driving.

Planned to charge on AC over night but the Killarney AC was down. so next day had to drive to Cashel all the way on rex and charged up there for 30 mins and back to Carlow.

That trip would have been impossible without Rex or a lot more inconvenient.

Anyway, with the Rex every trip is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

It was an EV put down, simple as. Wrap a little truth with a bunch of lies and the uneducated masses are put off. He was talking about the battery only range and didn't talk about the rex in any way that a non EV person would understand. Sounded like a bitter man who made the wrong choice with the best intentions.

The show needed an official complaint put in.

It was his experience of owning an EV. Doesn’t mean everyone else will have same experience.

The complaint thing is hilarious, whoever came up with that idea knows feck all about the BAI or even less about to get PR and counter the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,639 ✭✭✭✭ELM327

User purchases Plug in hybrid
    User complains about having to charge said plugin hybrid
    User changes to non plugin hybrid

What is the guy bitching about? He's clearly an incompetent buffoon if he thinks he can a) charge his car at home with no home charger, b) the NEDC range is anywhere near achievable or c)why was no mention made of the fact he can drive as long as he wants once he keeps putting petrol in.

Very unbalanced piece, but sure you'd expect nothing more from rte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Soarer

Just got to listen to that interview.

The man is a buffoon!
    Buys a REx, but trades it in for a normal hybrid because "I can just fill it up and head away!".

Fair play to Anton for trying to keep him on the straight and narrow. I just wish he'd asked him why he couldn't just refill the REx and keep driving in Cashel.

Soarer wrote: »

The man is a buffoon!
    Buys a REx, but trades it in for a normal hybrid because "I can just fill it up and head away!".

Fair play to Anton for trying to keep him on the straight and narrow. I just wish he'd asked him why he couldn't just refill the REx and keep driving in Cashel.

Not sure about Anton tbh.

I'd rather we had someone like Jan Bart* on to explain what he is able to do trip wise with a 22 kwh Zoe when the infrastructure is good.

You then have a balanced arguement and a listener can hopefully get a better understanding.

*North Cork based you tuber who does trips back to Holland in his 22 kwh Zoe.

Soarer wrote: »

The man is a buffoon!

Not sure about Anton tbh.

I'd rather we had someone like Jan Bart* on to explain what he is able to do trip wise with a 22 kwh Zoe when the infrastructure is good.

You then have a balanced arguement and a listener can hopefully get a better understanding.

*North Cork based you tuber who does trips back to Holland in his 22 kwh Zoe.

And that's the point. There should be - like all the recent tv shows - one positive and one negative experience.

The likes of Jan-Bart is a great example. (I follow his youtube series amongst other EV channels). He's always around the country, that little Zoe must not have a clue what mad yoke has bought it!!

I'd like to ask the OP what their EV is, as I'm detecting a very negative outlook.
    @OP in the interests of open conversation can you confirm:
    A) If you were the person on the RTÉ programme
    B) If you currently have an EV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

The infrastructure is crap. The last thing we need is anyone trying to be positive about it.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    The infrastructure is crap. The last thing we need is anyone trying to be positive about it.
    I've often said that the infrastructure is pathetic, and even calling it "infrastructure" or "a network" is delusional as it's not. It's a loosely scattered disjointed mess of single point failures.

But if the message going out is not balanced then no one will buy an EV, there will be no commercial viability for a charging network and the situation will never change. Free, crap, abused and unreliable.

It's difficult because on one hand you have the ecar apologists and on the other hand you have people like me who are hardline raving loonies against the crap state of the network. But you need to facilitate adoption in order to drive change.

Also. People buying the newer EVs with home charging are less likely to need the public network., I know in my Ioniq compared to my L24 leaf its a massive reduction. And my home charger is not even installed yet/

I was more thinking of how Jan Barts trips are more viable due to UK and Dutch having infrastructure that's less crap then ours.

By good infrastructure I mean outside Ireland

ELM327 wrote: »
    I'd like to ask the OP what their EV is, as I'm detecting a very negative outlook.

I don't think the OP is the guy from the interview. Nor would he admit it if he were. The interviewee couldn't wrap his head around miles and kilometres, so I would have expected him to grasp that range anxiety is not something which exists when you have a REX.

Yes, it's rubbish alright. But that interview was awful, without balance and factually incorrect.

His comment on terraced houses not being able to get a home charger for example. Any EV owner knows you can get a CP in your driveway (and many terraced houses have driveways) but he made it sound like a terraced house can't have a CP installed. My inlaws and 2 of their neighbours live in terraced houses and have CPs installed.

I don't think the OP is the guy from the interview. Nor would he admit it if he were. The interviewee couldn't wrap his head around miles and kilometres, so I would have expected him to grasp that range anxiety is not something which exists when you have a REX.

He's very biased, which is why my comment is left there. I don't see a follow up post from the OP but if you do post again OP i'd like an answer to the questions I mentioned.

Yes, it's rubbish alright. But that interview was awful, without balance and factually incorrect.

His comment on terraced houses not being able to get a home charger for example. Any EV owner knows you can get a CP in your driveway (and many terraced houses have driveways) but he made it sound like a terraced house can't have a CP installed. My inlaws and 2 of their neighbours live in terraced houses and have CPs installed.
    And his comment about apartments. I live in an apartment and am having a CP installed.

I wasn't the person in the interview.

I don't currently have an EV, I owned and drove a new 142 Leaf SVE with 24kwh for 2 years.

The negative outlook is based on the mess here in this country, the CRU decision is going to hold us back a decade if not more. See my post for more of my thoughts on that http://www.oreilly.ie/future-of-electric-vehicle-public-charging-infrastructure/

My issue here is IEVOA are more concerned about lodging a silly complaint about an interview rather than highlight the issues that were raised and also put out the positives. BAI rules don't mean you have balance every interview btw.

Do you really think the SOR show will be more likely to let IEVOA put across their view after a BAI complaint rather than contacting them looking for an opportunity to share more information on behalf of members?

I would say though I didn't join the IEVOA when I was an EV owner because of too much of a blind view on all the positives been aired but not enough of the issues.

I wasn't the person in the interview.

I don't currently have an EV, I owned and drove a new 142 Leaf SVE with 24kwh for 2 years.
    Thanks for the clarification :)

I suspect you're subconsciously siding with the interviewee as you had a similar experience yourself. Thats perfectly understandable, and it is a view that should be presented.

As it is a realistic viewpoint of somoene who had an EV and decided that it wasnt for them. To be honest I'd give your opinion more weight than the buffoon on the radio as at least you owned yours for long enough to form a realistic opinion.

The negative outlook is based on the mess here in this country, the CRU decision is going to hold us back a decade if not more. See my post for more of my thoughts on that http://www.oreilly.ie/future-of-electric-vehicle-public-charging-infrastructure/

My issue here is IEVOA are more concerned about lodging a silly complaint about an interview rather than highlight the issues that were raised and also put out the positives. BAI rules don't mean you have balance every interview btw.

Do you really think the SOR show will be more likely to let IEVOA put across their view after a BAI complaint rather than contacting them looking for an opportunity to share more information on behalf of members?

I would say though I didn't join the IEVOA when I was an EV owner because of too much of a blind view on all the positives been aired but not enough of the issues.

My point is that, as much as your experiences deserve airtime, they should also be balanced by someone who has the opposite experience. I did 50k per year for nearly 2 years in an L24 leaf, and now I have an Ioniq.
    I agree the network is crap but it doesn't impact me so much as the range is so much better now. I don't even look at the percentage guage at all these days, only the gom if I'm going on a long trip.

RE the IEVOA on SOR in the future, The outcome of the complaint may force them to be included. I'm not familiar with the BAI rules - or for that matter the ievoa - but at least they are doing something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭creedp

My point is that, as much as your experiences deserve airtime, they should also be balanced by someone who has the opposite experience. I did 50k per year for nearly 2 years in an L24 leaf, and now I have an Ioniq.
    I agree the network is crap but it doesn't impact me so much as the range is so much better now. I don't even look at the percentage guage at all these days, only the gom if I'm going on a long trip. .

The problem is though if you are trying to encourage EV skeptics bad PR around the public charging infrastructure is sufficient for many not to take the plunge. People I talk to about the Leaf are more interested in the max range of the car and how I would manage longer journeys even if they represent only a tiny % of total journeys undertaken. When I tell them that there is only 1 chargepoint per location and the locations are very few and far between making it possible, in the absence of planning ahead, to end up with a flat battery in the middle of nowhere or queuing for an hour or more to charge makes them rather less interested in acquiring an EV at this point in time.

I'm not being overly negative here and I give them the full rundown of my situation which includes a 140km daily commute but the problem is a lot of people don't want to be in a situation where they can't hop into their expensive car and head to where they want to go without being unduly delayed due to having to charge an EV. The downright unfit for purpose public charging infrastructure is a real roadblock to EV uptake for many at this point.

creedp wrote: »
    The problem is though if you are trying to encourage EV skeptics bad PR around the public charging infrastructure is sufficient for many not to take the plunge. People I talk to about the Leaf are more interested in the max range of the car and how I would manage longer journeys even if they represent only a tiny % of total journeys undertaken. When I tell them that there is only 1 chargepoint per location and the locations are very few and far between making it possible, in the absence of planning ahead, to end up with a flat battery in the middle of nowhere or queuing for an hour or more to charge makes them rather less interested in acquiring an EV at this point in time.

I'm not being overly negative here and I give them the full rundown of my situation which includes a 140km daily commute but the problem is a lot of people don't want to be in a situation where they can't hop into their expensive car and head to where they want to go without being unduly delayed due to having to charge an EV. The downright unfit for purpose public charging infrastructure is a real roadblock to EV uptake for many at this point.

The modern cars are not affected by this as much as before. I will not need to use the public network at all once my home charger is installed at my apartment (despite all 3 people on the radio show saying this didnt happen), other than in a very blue moon. I can get to westport, to wexford etc without charging. I do 50-60k per year. With no public charger use at all, really.

You can't expect to buy a 2011 leaf and have the same luxury, but if your commute is 20km-40km each way then you could have the same thing with home charging. Everyone must find a pricepoint.

Infrastructure is crap but that's not the point here.

Also. People buying the newer EVs with home charging are less likely to need the public network.
    , I know in my Ioniq compared to my L24 leaf its a massive reduction. And my home charger is not even installed yet/

Yes and no, if you have a 300 Km Kona for instance and want to go on a road trip then you will need public charging be it AC or DC, now, if there are 20,000 electric cars on the road and everyone is heading off for the weekend then they will need public charging and the current network is hardly capable of supporting the few electrics on the road at the moment never mind 20,000.

So while longer range electrics will need far less charging over all compared to low range electrics the need for public charging will grow enormously over the next 10 years because they will be going away for weekends or a week, it's hard for us EV owners to think beyond our home charger until we go out and about or head off for a day or weekend and don't forget that there are many people who will never have home charging making them 100% dependent on the public network which they would be stone mad to do so at this point in time.

Ionity plan about 4 sites of 4 chargers by Q4 2019 along major motorway routes but we need a lot more than that.

A brand new garage opened up at Mac Donalds Naas there at the tesco close to the existing fast charger and not a single fast charger on site , it should be law.

The Government have failed the Irish people big time in regards to providing a proper public charging network.

Most of us can live without 1GB fibre to the door ffs but yet they and Eir seem hell bent on installing a very expensive fibre and very unessential fibre network to the middle of nowhere. I live in the sticks and use three 4G and get between 30-50 Mbs and 750 GB for 29 Euro's PM, even if fibre passed my garden I would not subscribe to it and I don't expect fibre to be a priority.

Eir had the potential to install a very good 4G network and didn't, I had eir and got rid of it after a week, diabolical reception anywhere outside a decent town.

Anyway, I would deem a proper EV charging infrastructure far more essential than wasting money installing unessential 1GB internet to homes in the sticks !

Infrastructure is crap but that's not the point here.

Infrastructure is exactly the point, people rarely see ev chargers like they do petrol pumps therefore the perception among the public is that there is little to no chargers around and think that they can't have an EV until it improves.

The majority of the motoring public are not EV enthusiasts or even car enthusiasts and won't put up with a fraction of the hassle that we ev owners currently do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,888 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Villian,
    Any chance of putting a date on the blog articles? without a date they lack temporal context.

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

Infrastructure is exactly the point, people rarely see ev chargers like they do petrol pumps therefore the perception among the public is that there is little to no chargers around and think that they can't have an EV until it improves.

The majority of the motoring public are not EV enthusiasts or even car enthusiasts and won't put up with a fraction of the hassle that we ev owners currently do.
    I will have no hassle. My car can do 200km and despite doing over 50k a year I rarely exceed that. No use of public charging at all.

The Kona will have 300+km
    The ones after will have 400-500km.

"Infrastructure was not the point" - when I said this I meant of the thread, the thread was for discussing the rte program and the complaint made.

Villian,
    Any chance of putting a date on the blog articles? without a date they lack temporal context.

Ah will do, there is an archive to right that shows date, the CRU one is from October 2017.

I think those that try to enforce the idea that the public network is good are the ones doing more actual harm than not because while it maybe nice to get more electrics on the road trying to convince people that the network is good is actually very unfair to those who do not know any better and this might try convince the ESB that they don't need to install more chargers, the same ESB who not long ago tried to convince us that the network is adequate for the amount of electrics on the road.

I hope that's not directed at me

I've often said that the infrastructure is pathetic, and even calling it "infrastructure" or "a network" is delusional as it's not. It's a loosely scattered disjointed mess of single point failures.

But if the message going out is not balanced then no one will buy an EV, there will be no commercial viability for a charging network and the situation will never change. Free, crap, abused and unreliable.

It's difficult because on one hand you have the ecar apologists and on the other hand you have people like me who are hardline raving loonies against the crap state of the network. But you need to facilitate adoption in order to drive change.