Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Duke & Duchess of Sussex to visit Dublin, July 10-11

• 19-06-2018 11:29AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,116 ✭✭✭✭

According to the Daily Mail, it's on next month:
    Meghan and Harry will make an official visit to Ireland next month, Kensington Palace has announced.

The Palace said the newlywed Duke and Duchess of Sussex will visit Dublin on July 10th and 11th 'at the request of Her Majesty's Government'.

Details of what their first official trip overseas as a married couple will entail are yet to be unveiled, but the couple are said to be excited to experience the 'rich culture' of Ireland.

A trip to Ireland had been rumoured for the couple following their wedding at Windsor Castle last month.
    I wonder which Temple Bar pub will be their destination of choice? Surely not The Temple Bar ... :cool:

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭Odhinn

bnt wrote: »

I wonder which Temple Bar pub will be their destination of choice? Surely not The Temple Bar ... :cool:

.....they can try bartering some of the royal treasury for a round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,687 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

At least they'll be able to afford the pints in Gogertys. None of us can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

My forehead is already on the footpath in reverence to the Deutsche Bank or ECB or whatever they are calling themselves these days.

I can't bow lower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,078 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

I'd say there will be a huge media presence for this. Every time Meghan appears in public, there are dozens of photographers and camera crews, so this trip will be covered to the max.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Seem like a really nice couple. The media are going to be all over this. Busy few months for them with the pope visiting in August.

topper75 wrote: »
    My forehead is already on the footpath in reverence to the Deutsche Bank or ECB or whatever they are calling themselves these days.

I can't bow lower.

Have you thought about performing a curtsey instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,727 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Good for them, as long as it doesnt disrupt anyones business or commute to work i think they deserve a nice big welcome, but also fully expect the typical begrudgery and anti royal attitude from the usual crowd

VinLieger wrote: »
    but also fully expect the typical begrudgery and anti royal attitude from the usual crowd

They are getting warmed up as we speak. Busy few days for them. Royal visit on July 10 & 11th, swiftly followed by you know what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

could they not have stayed until the 12th?

No we run the risk of triggering the famous last prophecy Bobby Sands made on his deathbed that a newly wed childless member of the royal family being present in the south of the country on July 12th will spontaneously rebirth Mecha Cromwell from his resting place beneath the Burren.
    The prohecy says he will stride across ireland with his laser beams for eyes vapourising anyone who can speak gaeilge (so most of us are lucky there tbh) however all others will be sent to the secret royal mines on Jupiters 4th moon, the only known place in the galaxy that naturally occurring mini union jacks can be mined directly from the planets core.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,693 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Already heard more than I ever wanted of these two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Blaas4life

Wonder why their avoiding the only people who want anything to do with royalty in mid-july :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,877 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Maybe someone could ask Harry, as a member of the British army what he thinks about the decision announced today to prosecute a british soldier for the manslaughter of an irishman shot in the back after going through a checkpoint in 1988, and why it took so long to finally get looked at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,693 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Surprised she hasn't cashed in yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,116 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Maybe someone could ask Harry, as a member of the British army what he thinks about the decision announced today to prosecute a british soldier for the manslaughter of an irishman shot in the back after going through a checkpoint in 1988, and why it took so long to finally get looked at
    And if someone did, what do you imagine he'd say?

You can't expect any member of the Royal Family to publicly express an opinion on anything remotely political. This is a convention that harks back to the Restoration days - when the British could have done away with Royalty altogether, but instead agreed to keep them on the condition that they stay out of the politics of the nation. Privately, he'd probably say "it shouldn't have taken so long".

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I for one, welcome our lizard overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,257 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

It's good news, disappointing it took that long, but he won't comment, the royals never do, they aren't that useful, oh and he's a former member of the British Army now.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

mad muffin wrote: »
    I for one, welcome our lizard overlords.

And yet .. get this...if I reach out to pull off their fake skin, it's me that the Garda batons over the head. You couldn't make it up.

Former member of the army. As an ex-member, he is still entitled to wear the uniform and medals (as he did at his wedding), but he left the army three years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,969 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I expect Dublin transport chaos :(

Unless Harry's going to fly around in an Apache helicopter - in which case I can suggest many suitable locations for target practice, your most royal high lizardness.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

It's not really important what he would reply (Harry seems like a decent fell), rather that it's acknowledged by asking, and that as we go down the path of normalisation we don't justairbrush out the numerous unresolved and ongoing issues relating to the British Army's conduct in the North, the Hooded Men, Bloody Sunday prosecutions, Aidan McAnespie, Pat Finucane etc.,

Imagine if when the Pope comes over none of the church scandals were mentioned, there would be massive outrage

It's not really important what he would reply (Harry seems like a decent fell), rather that it's acknowledged by asking, and that as we go down the path of normalisation we don't justairbrush out the numerous unresolved and ongoing issues relating to the British Army's conduct in the North, the Hooded Men, Bloody Sunday prosecutions, Aidan McAnespie, Pat Finucane etc.,

Imagine if when the Pope comes over none of the church scandals were mentioned, there would be massive outrage

You could make the same case for the Taoiseach or President Higgins being challenged on some aspect of Irish state behaviour in the past any time they go abroad (which we would probably regard as being extremely rude if the question was asked).

Strazdas wrote: »
    You could make the same case for the Taoiseach or President Higgins being challenged on some aspect of Irish state behaviour in the past any time they go abroad (which we would probably regard as being extremely rude if the question was asked).
    What country is taking ireland to court for killings and torture that it needs to be acknowledged when they visit there?

What's rude is not acknowledging the victims of their institutions, one of which Harry was a proud member of

aren't we supposed to have moved on, or is that only when discussing Sinn Fein's crimes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

The Palace surely. Then on to the Garage Bar for a few spliffs and some mod bangers. Temple Bar ain't all bad.

Aegir wrote: »
    aren't we supposed to have moved on, or is that only when discussing Sinn Fein's crimes?
    Did you miss the Good Friday Agreement? If the British Army and State hadn't tried to cover up all their crimes and there had been some justice at the time we could treat it all equally now, as per the Agreement but they didn't, they thought they could get away with it like they usually do

What country is taking ireland to court for killings and torture that it needs to be acknowledged when they visit there?

What's rude is not acknowledging the victims of their institutions, one of which Harry was a proud member of

The incident that you referred back to happened when Harry was four years old and at nursery school. To say that it would be absurd to question him on any aspect of this case would be an understatement.

But the cover up lasted till today, during the whole he was serving

you miss the point.

Harry is a member of the Royal family and therefore, every mention of his name must be accompanied by the appropriate mention of something the British did, or didn't do.

Aegir wrote: »
    you miss the point.

Harry is a member of the Royal family and therefore, every mention of his name must be accompanied by the appropriate mention of something the British did, or didn't do.

God forbid someone should mention the crimes they presided over, just tug your forelock like a good peasant :pac:

But the cover up lasted till today, during the whole he was serving

Your reason for demanding it has nothing to do with accountability though and is simply you wanting to him to be asked an embarrassing question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

God forbid someone should mention the crimes they presided over, just tug your forelock like a good peasant :pac:

Should he apologise for Cromwell also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Didn't take long for the Shinnerbot whingers to arrive on the thread.

Your reason for demanding it has nothing to do with accountability though and is simply you wanting to him to be asked an embarrassing question

It's only embarrassing because up till now they refused to own up to it. Whats just as embarrassing is to ignore it for fear of offending them

Didn't take long for the Shinnerbot whingers to arrive on the thread.

The only people mentioning SF are those trying to deflect from any criticism of 'their betters'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,824 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

It's only embarrassing because up till now they refused to own up to it. Whats just as embarrassing is to ignore it for fear of offending them

who is they? harry was a member was a british army. he wasnt involved in the shooting or the cover up. Or do you think the royal family covered it up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I hope they enjoy their stay in Dublin and have a good time. I hope people are still able to go about their daily business and this visit doesn't disrupt peoples lives.

Considering the fact that Prince Harry was 4 at the time, I doubt he's the correct person to ask these questions...

Jesus, I just realized that you are a mod of the "history and whatever" forum, are you actually for real?

Page 2 and the thread has been completely derailed by idiotic statements.

So you admit it has nothing to do with a demand for accountability or answers its just a petty demand for "justice" as you see it but in reality with no substance at all

who is they? harry was a member was a british army. he wasnt involved in the shooting or the cover up. Or do you think the royal family covered it up?
    The British State, that the royals are heads of.

You think charles knew nothing about the Bloody Sunday cover up? Or that the Queen never once read about what happened in any of those cases and thought something might be up? Is she that naive, thick? I don't think so

What makes you think harry has an answer to your question? They are heads of state but they dont run the country.

So you admit it has nothing to do with a demand for accountability or answers its just a petty demand for "justice" as you see it but in reality with no substance at all
    We're finally getting an attempt at justice, through the courts in at least this case of a man shot in the back, but still waiting on the Hooded Men appeal, and waiting for any prosecutions for Bloody Sunday and Ballymurphy, so yes it is part of a demand for accountability and a refusal to let it be swept under the carpet by certain folk

What makes you think harry has an answer to your question? They are heads of state but they dont run the country.

How about you answer my questions first and I'll see if it's worth replying

We're finally getting an attempt at justice, through the courts in at least this case of a man shot in the back, but still waiting on the Hooded Men appeal, and waiting for any prosecutions for Bloody Sunday and Ballymurphy, so yes it is part of a demand for accountability and a refusal to let it be swept under the carpet by certain folk

and in what way will asking a question of somebody in an attempt to embarrass them help in this process? Who do you think should ask Harry this question? Do you think it might pop up in conversation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,116 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Again, missing the point. No-one's suggesting they don't have opinions on this or any matter. They won't express them in public, ever - that's what you need to grasp. The Queen is the head of State of the UK, not the head of the UK Government - that would be the Prime Minister.

You know that that kind of question will get no public response whatsoever - so your motive for suggesting it be asked is clearly not because you hope for any kind of answer, but merely as some kind of public virtue signalling. You might as well ask Michael Higgins, the President of Ireland, about the assassination of Lord Mountbatten, for all the chance of an answer.

How about you answer my questions first and I'll see if it's worth replying

get the feck out of that. you're talking ****e. they probably knew as much as we did of what happened.

Isn’t it as a result of the historical enquirers team, set up by the err, British government?

I hope they enjoy their stay in Dublin and have a good time. I hope people are still able to go about their daily business and this visit doesn't disrupt peoples lives.

Considering the fact that Prince Harry was 4 at the time, I doubt he's the correct person to ask these questions...

Jesus, I just realized that you are a mod of the "history and whatever" forum, are you actually for real?

Page 2 and the thread has been completely derailed by idiotic statements.
    He was also a proud member of the army for many years.

I can post what I like thanks, someone needs to say it instead of pretending we're all best buds now and ignoring the criminal preceedings

get the feck out of that. you're talking ****e. they probably knew as much as we did of what happened.
    Thought you'd say that. Give them a little credit

why?