Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

A fairly handy solution is to establish a good park in ride facilitity in Carriganore for people arriving from the west, and from Cork etc., to park and ride into Walsh Park.

If it was done properly, those who previously relied on arriving in cars for games could arrive by public transport from the likes of Dungarvan, or perhaps clubs could start organising more buses, which would reduce the reliance on cars which would be more environmentally friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Deiseen

hardybuck wrote: »
    A fairly handy solution is to establish a good park in ride facilitity in Carriganore for people arriving from the west, and from Cork etc., to park and ride into Walsh Park.

If it was done properly, those who previously relied on arriving in cars for games could arrive by public transport from the likes of Dungarvan, or perhaps clubs could start organising more buses, which would reduce the reliance on cars which would be more environmentally friendly.

That would be too hard sure. Easier to build an entirely new stadium out there then just a carpark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭twistables

Why can't the 4sides of Walsh park be developed with the town end getting a open terrace. I know dressing rooms and meeting rooms are planned for there but with a bit of design work could the dressing rooms be incorporated into the stands. This could increase the capacity to 20k while keeping the location central to the city.

twistables wrote: »
    Why can't the 4sides of Walsh park be developed with the town end getting a open terrace. I know dressing rooms and meeting rooms are planned for there but with a bit of design work could the dressing rooms be incorporated into the stands. This could increase the capacity to 20k while keeping the location central to the city.

This is just something I can't understand...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

redlead wrote: »
    I don't think Walsh Park is the right decision, it will be mayhem for championship games. My main concern is around the competence of the county board to develop any stadium no matter where it is though. You just know that when it's done that Walsh Park will still be an embarrassing sh!thole that would make Heysel seem like state of the art. Bare in mind that this is a CB that thinks that a concrete bank and actual seats in a stand are an unnecessary extravagance.

An utterly disgraceful comment. Shame on you.

Deiseen wrote: »
    This is just something I can't understand...

With a 20k stadium would bring in more revenue that will help fund the county board.
    Also if the cb updated the website every so often and be more active on social platforms the attendance at club matches may be higher during the club championship culminating in a bigger attendance at county final.
    Small measures but all help towards the end goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭thesultan

Why are we only getting a couple of thousand at county finals?
    Is it the venues, the cost of entrance, lack of interest or lack of promotion etc?
    I don't accept that nothing can be done about it.

Why not build 2-3 thousand seater stadium then, state of the art, if that's the goal. The question is, is it possible to get more bums on seats for county finals. The answer is of course. How do you do it?

Without sugar coating it, the majority of people just don’t give a toss about the club games in Waterford. Ballygunner winning it out handily every year probably doesn’t help.

A 20,000 seater stadium that would be full twice a year until they decide to change the championship structures again in a few years time would be absolute madness.
    Would it be full though?

thesultan wrote: »
    Would it be full though?

Surely would be, if we had tipp or cork in the championship. The novelty of having championship games in Waterford would also be a big factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Mulbert

Would it be full though?

Surely would be, if we had tipp or cork in the championship. The novelty of having championship games in Waterford would also be a big factor.

Sure they should build it for the novelty factor alone?

Mulbert wrote: »
    Sure they should build it for the novelty factor alone?

The question was about it selling out. Its been a long time since we've had championship hurling in town and im pointing out that the novelty would go a long way to helping ticket sales...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Mulbert

The question was about it selling out. Its been a long time since we've had championship hurling in town and im pointing out that the novelty would go a long way to helping ticket sales...

Novelty would be a good way to sell tickets for about 3 matches but at least u would have a big enough stadium for those games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Are many neutrals heading to Thurles on Sunday for the Munster final? Hard to know will it be a game or a one sided affair? Ballygunner have not started fast in their last two games and I don't expect NP to slow down so they will need to start hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,674 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Are many neutrals heading to Thurles on Sunday for the Munster final? Hard to know will it be a game or a one sided affair? Ballygunner have not started fast in their last two games and I don't expect NP to slow down so they will need to start hot.

Prob not as it's on TG4 live

True what you said Ballygunner need too hit the ground running. This NP side is serious and will do damage if there let. Ballygunner deserve a Munster title after all there efforts the last few years but just can't get over the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭thesultan

Would the east be any good in backing one of their own?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Would the east be any good in backing one of their own?

Would the city clubs? Not really. Maybe in an All Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

With a 20k stadium would bring in more revenue that will help fund the county board.
    Also if the cb updated the website every so often and be more active on social platforms the attendance at club matches may be higher during the club championship culminating in a bigger attendance at county final.
    Small measures but all help towards the end goal.

It’s not going to happen, nor is Carrignore. It’s nothing more than a pipe dream. Let’s just accept that Walsh Park upgrade is approved and get on with it. There’s nothing we can do about it here and everyone harping on about it is only a waste of time.

few other Waterford clubs in action this weekend

In the Munster Junior Club hurling semi final Ballinameela vs Tournafulla (limerick) Fraher Field Sat 17th Nov 1.30pm. We are the current holders of the Munster and AI Junior Club hurling titles and be really nice if the county could hold onto them a little longer

In the Munster Junior Club football semi final Mount Sion vs Dromtarrife (Cork) in Mallow Sat 17th Nov 1.30pm.. Pretty odd Mount Sion is a football championship but fair play to them

Big one Sunday of course Munster Senior Club final Ballygunner vs Na Piarsaigh (limerick) Sun 18th Nov 2pm Thurles

It’s not going to happen, nor is Carrignore. It’s nothing more than a pipe dream. Let’s just accept that Walsh Park upgrade is approved and get on with it. There’s nothing we can do about it here and everyone harping on about it is only a waste of time.

Isn't this attitude what's really wrong. The "lets just accept"
    Maybe Walsh park will end up being the upgrade of choice but could the county board not do a bit of due diligence and explore all options FULLY before spending money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭Limestone1

Isn't this attitude what's really wrong. The "lets just accept"
    Maybe Walsh park will end up being the upgrade of choice but could the county board not do a bit of due diligence and explore all options FULLY before spending money.

ha will you stop .....with your common sense

Balinameela 1-15-0-14 winners in the Munster junior hurling semi final. Congrats to them and 6th Waterford club in a row to get to the Munster final

Mount sion beaten 2-16- 0-10 in the Munster junior football semi final by dromtarrife of cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭Relhcstirt

Great win for Ireland. That's the commitment we need from the Deise!!

Relhcstirt wrote: »

Yeah will give every GAA team a lift and hopefully Ballygunner win tomorrow

I imagine all the lads out in the States for that tournament were watching with there pints of Water ha. How come we didn't get an invite put to that ?? Surely the 2017 AI runners up would be deserved of a chance to go out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Relhcstirt wrote: »
    But that's enough about Ballinameela.

Best of luck too Ballygunner

Really need to hit the ground running

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Ballygunner in with a right good chance here. One point up at half time. Well in the game from open play.

Yeah need a huge 2nd half performance

NP gifted a point which was Cleary a wide

Great 2nd half for BG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Fair play to them, completely proved me wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,944 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Congratulations to Ballygunner. Great win.

Congrats Ballygunner great win and great day for Waterford hurling too

Balls of a draw for the AI series with Ballygunner facing Ballyboden or Ballyhale in the semis