If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Fairplay to Paraic Fanning. He took on the job and no doubt put in a massive effort but it didn't work out.

For whatever reason, he's acknowledged that next year won't see the dramatic change it needs to if he's to continue and that takes a lot too, to put a County before oneself because now doubt this year would have hurt a lot and I'm sure a large part of him would want to continue and prove this year to be an anomaly.

And ultimately he may yet have some vindication if the new management have a really poor year next year. Next appointment is absolutely crucial for hurling in Waterford. I think all of us as Waterford men and women just hope the team put in place ( it's far from all about one man after all) is a good one so we can see some glory once again. Up the Deise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭chinguetti

So the players are running the show, the County Board is inept (surprised they're not behind the mess at ATN yesterday) and hasn't a pot to pee into so this can only go one way i fear, not the right appointment.

Either they'll have someone in place before August is out (rush job) or it drag on for months. Personally I'd say go for Anthony Daly, might cop a few of the panel on and get things on an even keel as well. Under age needs to be sorted out as well and he has done both ends in the past. Whether he'd leave club hurling in Dublin, i doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Gardner

Will we see DMG back? Wouldn't surprise me if he was asked. He caused the rot so why not get him to fix it?

If not, nobody inside the county is good enough for the position so we must go outside but who? Need someone who has a game plan of playing the extra defender and not one of these 15 on 15 advocates still living in the 70s or 80s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭mickotallow

Waterford won the minor all Ireland in 2013, an u21 all Ireland in 2016 and they were unlucky against Galway in that senior final in 2017.The talent quite clearly is there in Waterford.I think if they get the next appointment right, then Waterford will be back to their best in no time.Sure they were in the league final, a few months ago as well.Hurling really does need Waterford back competing at the top table again.

It’s this sort of attitude that has us where we are “ the talent is there”. That implies that all we need is a top class manager to lead these geniuses to the promise land. Bulls##t. A lot of these players have not progressed into Senior intercounty top class hurlers but everyone thinks we should be winning All Ireland’s with these players because of a minor and 21 success.
    That doesn’t guarantee senior success. Limerick won 3 U21’s in a row in the early 2000’s but never transferred it to senior success. Back in 2014 Tipp won the Senior and 21 and everyone thought they’d dominate. But they’ve failed to live up to that billing. Same again with Clare who dominated U-21 recently and are arguably in the same boat as us.
    Having players who won underage is great but not all of em make it for a variety of reasons.
    If these players are so talented why have we not won a Munster match is the last two years under two different managers. I think people need to have realistic ideas about the job facing our new manager. The way we’re going we could appoint another manager that people aren’t happy with. Start the negative cycle again before a ball is hit that these “talented “ players deserve better etc. At what point do people start looking at the players attitude and realise the majority threw in the towel last year instead of dying on their sword because they weren’t happy with the manager. That soft undercurrent is not likely to win anything in the near future no matter who the next manager is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,333 ✭✭✭deise08

Still not sure of my feelings on it yet...
    Credit to him for stepping up and stepping down without dragging the whole sorry saga out.

Was out at the GAAWorldGames panel in H and H motors on Wednesday which was a brilliant evening with John Mullane, Anthony Daly, Jackie Tyrell and Dessie Dolan. Jackie gave a great opinion on the Sunday Game 'analysis'

The president of the GAA was there, but it was sad to not see the county management there but there was a huge elephant in the room when it came to county hurling.

Overall the world games were a fantastic affair with great matches. The WIT did a great job, and here's hoping they return for the next world games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

deise08 wrote: »
    Still not sure of my feelings on it yet...
    Credit to him for stepping up and stepping down without dragging the whole sorry saga out.

Was out at the GAAWorldGames panel in H and H motors on Wednesday which was a brilliant evening with John Mullane, Anthony Daly, Jackie Tyrell and Dessie Dolan. Jackie gave a great opinion on the Sunday Game 'analysis'

What did jackie tyrell say??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

conor05 wrote: »
    I hope that’s a joke

Why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

Gardner wrote: »
    Will we see DMG back? Wouldn't surprise me if he was asked. He caused the rot so why not get him to fix it?

If not, nobody inside the county is good enough for the position so we must go outside but who? Need someone who has a game plan of playing the extra defender and not one of these 15 on 15 advocates still living in the 70s or 80s
    jesus h christ

Gerry Ryan would be good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Stopitwillya

Ye cause if something is a failure, doing it all again the very same way is guaranteed to bring success.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Obi1mikal wrote: »
    Not writing anyone off just using that game as example, please read my post correctly

Based on one club game. Outgoing panel should have a say, most of them will be on the panel and all will be looked at. Doesn't mean that 5 or 6 lads get to decide who should be in charge, but the panel should be consulted on the failings and what they want to see at least.

Ye cause if something is a failure, doing it all again the very same way is guaranteed to bring success.

Wouldn't call DMG's campaign a failure. A lot more positives than negatives. Few individual errors on the field by players vs Galway cost us an all Ireland and not DMG.
    People like Ken McGrath, Tony Browne and Paul Flynn should keep their tweets to themselves as all have failed or haven't stepped into a managers shoes since they retired. Something DMG has done and been successful but then again lads on this page would rather 15 on 15 and aimlessly hitting balls up the field. Bring back Justin...... The man who cost us about 3 all Ireland's but hey we kept the fools entertained on this page

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

Wouldn't call DMG's campaign a failure. A lot more positives than negatives. Few individual errors on the field by players vs Galway cost us an all Ireland and not DMG.
    People like Ken McGrath, Tony Browne and Paul Flynn should keep their tweets to themselves as all have failed or haven't stepped into a managers shoes since they retired. Something DMG has done and been successful but then again lads on this page would rather 15 on 15 and aimlessly hitting balls up the field. Bring back Justin...... The man who cost us about 3 all Ireland's but hey we kept the fools entertained on this page

Flynn was in charge of a Waterford team who won an U21 All Ireland with hurling people could watch.

Tony Browne won a Munster championship with Lismore.

Derek McGrath should never be left near a Waterford team again at any level.

A Colm Bonnar - Andy Moloney based team would be the best of the local based manager/coaches. I hope they go for it.

So I think Paul Flynn would be fairly decent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭TheScoringGoal

I think they need to look at the management package rather than just the manager. I think Fannings big mistake was a lack of experience with him. Even his own achievements as a manager were a few years back so not relevant to many of the current panel outside of maybe Michael Walsh.

There needs to be some level of experience and success in the back room team, although not necessarily via the manager. For example if Paul Kinnerk fancied a go as a manager I'd be delighted to see him even if he hasn't had the position before. Unfortunately for Fanning there was a huge lack of experience in his team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

Bit of déjà vu from last year. People throwing out all sorts of names, a whose who of former players, some ridiculous suggestions, then you’ve the dreamers talking about Liam Sheedy, Anthony Daly, DOG and John Allen. People have vivid imaginations but need to be realistic, remember how underwhelmed we all were to hear Fanning appointed after all the excitement and possibilities that were spoken about.
    There’s no open cheque book. It’s a really important appointment yes but it needs to be someone who really wants the job because they have a vision of where they could take this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,283 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Bit of déjà vu from last year. People throwing out all sorts of names, a whose who of former players, some ridiculous suggestions, then you’ve the dreamers talking about Liam Sheedy, Anthony Daly, DOG and John Allen. People have vivid imaginations but need to be realistic, remember how underwhelmed we all were to hear Fanning appointed after all the excitement and possibilities that were spoken about.
    There’s no open cheque book. It’s a really important appointment yes but it needs to be someone who really wants the job because they have a vision of where they could take this group.

Wexford must have an open cheque book with there high profile managerial appointments

We need an outsider but then have a strong Waterford backroom team. King Henry won a club AI and had Ballyhale playing great and I think the players would really respect him

Deise Gael wrote: »
    Flynn was in charge of a Waterford team who won an U21 All Ireland with hurling people could watch.

Tony Browne won a Munster championship with Lismore.

Derek McGrath should never be left near a Waterford team again at any level.

A Colm Bonnar - Andy Moloney based team would be the best of the local based manager/coaches. I hope they go for it.

Flynn was not the manager

Browne, An intermediate championship.... Come on ffs!

If Colm Bonner was a decent manager he would have gone further than managing Dunhill and Carlow. Andy Maloney managing a bunch of woman is now the answer.

DMG got us closer to any all Ireland in the last 50 years than any other manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Flynn was not the manager

Browne, An intermediate championship.... Come on ffs!

If Colm Bonner was a decent manager he would have gone further than managing Dunhill and Carlow. Andy Maloney managing a bunch of woman is now the answer.

DMG got us closer to any all Ireland in the last 50 years than any other manager.

Completely overlooking the fact that Bonnar and Maloney won a club all Ireland as joint managers of Ballyhale Shamrocks.
    Although they were only appointed as Ballyhale managers after being turned down by the players of Ballygunner supposedly, having agreed to taking charge of Ballygunner. So their relationship with some of the squad may be questionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭914

. Bring back Justin...... The man who cost us about 3 all Ireland's but hey we kept the fools entertained on this page

3 Munster titles and a league title in 5 years. It wasn't a bad return!

Surely DJ is finished with the Killenny under 20s

would he be interested ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

PTH2009 wrote: »

What? Did you think he'd say he was a w****r or something?

Nope just the interview by Paddy Joe and some of the points he made

'He saw no issues between players and management'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

Nope just the interview by Paddy Joe and some of the points he made

'He saw no issues between players and management'

So the day after Pauric Fanning does a difficult thing for the good of the county and walks away you'd like the chairman to say he'd lost the dressing room?

Words fail me yet again when it comes to you.

What do you want him to do.
    Throw paraic fanning under the bus?
    Throw the players under the bus?

He makes alot of good points about people on social media/Twitter constantly criticizing volunteers (such as himself and paraic) who give up their free time for no financial gain. I have done it myself.
    As he said convention is coming up and 14 positions are to be filled.
    Will you be putting yourself forward PTH.
    I have already asked Saturdayman is he going to put himself forward for a position but got no response.
    Will also be watching to see if his buddy deisefacts puts his name forward.

Their is huge scope to improve the county board/running GAA in the county but the only way to do that is through volunteerism and not through constantly only criticizing from their keyboard like so many of us do.

Camogie team up by 4 points at HT

Match on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Gwan the women, shame the men don't fight as hard for ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Deisefacts

He makes alot of good points about people on social media/Twitter constantly criticizing volunteers (such as himself and paraic) who give up their free time for no financial gain. I have done it myself.
    I have already asked Saturdayman is he going to put himself forward for a position but got no response.

Their is huge scope to improve the county board/running GAA in the county but the only way to do that is through volunteerism and not through constantly only criticizing from their keyboard like so many of us do.

Lol

Deisefacts wrote: »

Lol

At least you replied, which is more than your buddy.