If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

We are some county for the rumour mill...

I heard Fanning was told by multiple players that they wouldnt be available for selection next season if he stayed on.

Also a rumour doing the rounds that Colm Bonnar is in the mix to succeed Fanning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

cul beag wrote: »
    Strong rumours player power has pushed Fanning to resign but himself and Kearney were definitely in the Fraher field on Sunday so it’s hard to know what to believe!

I’m no fan of player power but I’d be concerned that Fanning is showing up at matches with Kearney which is a sign that the co board have given him a vote of confidence for another year. Make no bones about it this year was a total **** show and the county board have to shoulder blame for making the wrong appointment and now trying to stick by a beaten docket. If I thought Fanning was in the process of building something I’d be happy to let it be but there was no plan, no purpose and no clue. Another year of that could set us back many years, we will lose a good number of players still in their prime and there’s not the same level of quality coming behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,746 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I’m no fan of player power but I’d be concerned that Fanning is showing up at matches with Kearney which is a sign that the co board have given him a vote of confidence for another year. Make no bones about it this year was a total **** show and the county board have to shoulder blame for making the wrong appointment and now trying to stick by a beaten docket. If I thought Fanning was in the process of building something I’d be happy to let it be but there was no plan, no purpose and no clue. Another year of that could set us back many years, we will lose a good number of players still in their prime and there’s not the same level of quality coming behind.

Maybe they were there to support there clubs ???

Very true what you said I dont think Fanning is the right person for us. Sounds like he has lost the dressing room and 2020 could be farcical if he has a depleted player pool to pick from

Could be like Justin McCarthys last year in Limerick

Hopefully we will knw more soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭ForestFire

Tony Browne, Paul Flynn, Skully Ryan, John Mullane
    Ghost Goal, .........

We didn't start the fire
    It was always burning
    Since ...........t

Jesus lads, its supposed to be a team sport for gods sake....:rolleyes:

Cornerstoner pucks it out so me at half back, I drew in the center forward and laid it off to our now free center back "thesaturdayman" and what does he do.....:D

Starts one of he big headed solo runs (Just because he went to college!!)..... up past the our half backs and around all the midfielders, who are too busy taking strips off each other and haven't noticed the sliotar is back in play,..... through the opposition half back line, sliotar still delicately balanced on the end of the hurl,...... across the full back line, ignoring our corner forward free in front of goal all on his own, bats the ball off the ground, before taking into contact though the the last two defenders, ...breaking free before arrogantly taking 7...yes 7... steps (Because he knows even the ref is too scared of him, to pull him up for it) before launching the sliotar into the top corner of the net........and taking all the glory....

And who's left making all the forwards down my end now on his own i ask you :confused: Well who......:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭thesaturdayman

ForestFire wrote: »
    Jesus lads, its supposed to be a team sport for gods sake....:rolleyes:

Cornerstoner pucks it out so me at half back, I drew in the center forward and laid it off to our now free center back "thesaturdayman" and what does he do.....:D

Starts one of he big headed solo runs (Just because he went to college!!)..... up past the our half backs and around all the midfielders, who are too busy taking strips off each other and haven't noticed the sliotar is back in play,..... through the opposition half back line, sliotar still delicately balanced on the end of the hurl,...... across the full back line, ignoring our corner forward free in front of goal all on his own, bats the ball off the ground, before taking into contact though the the last two defenders, ...breaking free before arrogantly taking 7...yes 7... steps (Because he knows even the ref is too scared of him, to pull him up for it) before launching the sliotar into the top corner of the net........and taking all the glory....

And who's left making all the forwards down my end now on his own i ask you :confused: Well who......:P

definitely false - i wouldnt be able to get from the half back line to ff line!

So this Thursday announcement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 928 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

No sign of today's supposed announcement folks? Is there supposed to be a meeting tonight or something??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭friendlyfun

I heard Fanning is leaving to pursue a career in synchronised swimming in Finland. MIGHT be hearsay but I think its likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

I heard Fanning is leaving to pursue a career in synchronised swimming in Finland. MIGHT be hearsay but I think its likely

Wrong, it's slalom skiing. I overheard my aunt's hairdresser's daughter saying it in Tesco so I immediately rushed to post it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭razorronan

Deskjockey wrote: »
    No sign of today's supposed announcement folks? Is there supposed to be a meeting tonight or something??

The County Board can't even organise an announcement properly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭DeiseDawg

razorronan wrote: »
    The County Board can't even organise an announcement properly :)

Where and when did the county board say there would be an announcement today?

Looks like the rumours were rumours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Quietest announcement I never heard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Deisedick

Fanning if he goes should out any player that didnt commit him they cheated the supporters manager county board sponsors who pumped money into them it's a disgrace what's gone on people blaming the county board this is all down to the players downing tools embaressing behaviour . The county board are at fault for a lot of things but one things for sure they cant control performances and lack of effort. If I was fanning I'd let them have it show future managers what kind of spineless gutless players we have

Deisedick wrote: »
    Fanning if he goes should out any player that didnt commit him they cheated the supporters manager county board sponsors who pumped money into them it's a disgrace what's gone on people blaming the county board this is all down to the players downing tools embaressing behaviour . The county board are at fault for a lot of things but one things for sure they cant control performances and lack of effort. If I was fanning I'd let them have it show future managers what kind of spineless gutless players we have

Great point but it's the calibre of some of this guys who supposedly 'downed tools' that we cant do without and we hard to see where the replacements are

How was it up to the league final everything seemed rosy in the camp and then turned into a shambles. Did something happen in Portugal ???

Clearly preparation was done right and you could see how tame our warm ups were during the summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Deisefacts

I think Damien Tiernan is a great addition to WLR. Everyone should tune in today to just appreciate how good he is

Does that mean there’s going to hurling related news on this mornings show??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭deiseach

Am I the only one not put out by the team's capitulation against Limerick? Everything that could go wrong did go wrong, so the heads went down. Not ideal, but they're only human and the idea that the players collectively shat on the jersey by not busting their balls for 70+ minutes...people really need to get over their sense of entitlement with regards to sportspeople.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭upthedeise16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Gardner

Loughnane is irrelevant when it comes to discussing the modern game. next!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭shamrockvilla

Gardner wrote: »

Explain the modern game?
    Fellas like McGrath and Cusack trying to make themselves relevant by talking ****e about "totality" and "innovation". McGrath failed the Waterford players with his negative tactics and in my opinion the blame of not winning an All Ireland should lie at his door. Hurling is a game whose beauty is at its best in it's simplicity and spontaneity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭killbillvol2

BS. And his quoted comments absolutely hit the nail on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Deise Gael

Fair play to Loughnane for calling out the two bluffers.

But then again he's entitled to because he has been educated to 3rd level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

Deisefacts wrote: »
    I think Damien Tiernan is a great addition to WLR. Everyone should tune in today to just appreciate how good he is

What brand of balderdash is he going on with today?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

Looks to.me the 2 teams who play closest to tradional.are deservadly in the all ireland final....one of whom beat a stronger opponant (who played modern way) to get to it??

Theres no substitude for skills,win your own ball and work rate imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭deisedude

_blaaz wrote: »
    Looks to.me the 2 teams who play closest to tradional.are deservadly in the all ireland final....one of whom beat a stronger opponant (who played modern way) to get to it??

Theres no substitude for skills,win your own ball and work rate imo

ah jaysus you will tell us Kilkenny dont do tactics now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

I don't get what he means they should have focused on Wexfords clever use of Kevin Foley...alot of the analysis was about Foley sure he was the sweeper ffs. Initially the praise for how Wexford setup covered Tipps attacking threat and enabled Wexfords backs to play a running game and creat overlaps to great effect in the first half.

Then Cummins highlighted in the second half the other side of the coin where for some reason he found himself between his keeper and full back, leaving space for Tipp further out the field and not offering an option for puckouts when Wexford badly needed it. There was plenty criticize in the opening dual rant but Loughnane is as big a spoofer as any pundit I've seen in recent years so I wouldn't really pay too much heed to his two cents on the matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Greensoup

Was it not big Paudie Foley that was the free player Cummins was on about in last 20 minutes in behind full back line? He was number 5 I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭BazBox

Explain the modern game?
    Fellas like McGrath and Cusack trying to make themselves relevant by talking ****e about "totality" and "innovation". McGrath failed the Waterford players with his negative tactics and in my opinion the blame of not winning an All Ireland should lie at his door. Hurling is a game whose beauty is at its best in it's simplicity and spontaneity.

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,646 ✭✭✭_blaaz

deisedude wrote: »
    ah jaysus you will tell us Kilkenny dont do tactics now

Kk do tactics better than anyone to macimise their talent imo

But lads rambling on about sweeper system etc being a saviour for waterford....we're going nowhere if we cant win the ball in the air,master basic skills (when was last time ya seen a waterford player pick up ball in full flight??)

Or putting in effort......no amount of sweeper system or tactics is going to rectify players downing tools after 20 mins

What tactics best suit waterford going forward...i remain unconvinved that a return to 12 men behind the ball and expecting maurice shanahan to run around after 4 or 5 defemders (if you had a dog chasing a frisbee at home,you wouldnt expect it to do this for 70 mins)is ever going to achieve anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭deisedude

_blaaz wrote: »
    Kk do tactics better than anyone to macimise their talent imo

But lads rambling on about sweeper system etc being a saviour for waterford....we're going nowhere if we cant win the ball in the air,master basic skills (when was last time ya seen a waterford player pick up ball in full flight??)

Or putting in effort......no amount of sweeper system or tactics is going to rectify players downing tools after 20 mins

What tactics best suit waterford going forward...i remain unconvinved that a return to 12 men behind the ball and expecting maurice shanahan to run around after 4 or 5 defemders (if you had a dog chasing a frisbee at home,you wouldnt expect it to do this for 70 mins)is ever going to achieve anything

Fair enough. Dont personally want to see us with the same sweeper tactic either. While it did steady the ship at the time and got us to a certain level McGrath didnt evolve it enough to overcome the attacking shortcomings of the system and we had no plan b when things werent working