Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford GAA thread - mod warning post #1 and #51

• Closed Accounts Posts: 486 ✭✭Jjjjjjjbarry

Is Tom Devine definitely gone next year? He was really good today.

Speaking of good, Tommy Ryan put in a performance that John Mullane would have been proud of. He should be starting every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,803 ✭✭✭The White Feather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

For all those worrying about Derek and the team delaying the decision for a few weeks, it’s totally irrelevant. There’s no transfer window and any guy with half an interest in the job will be keeping an eye on the club championship over the next few months te see if anyone not currently in the squad stands out (there are plenty there!). He’s definitely not taking another year and I for one wish him well for his commitment, dedication and professionalism over the past 5 years. Hopefully he’ll stay involved with Waterford gaa at some level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Gavlor wrote: »
    For all those worrying about Derek and the team delaying the decision for a few weeks, it’s totally irrelevant. There’s no transfer window and any guy with half an interest in the job will be keeping an eye on the club championship over the next few months te see if anyone not currently in the squad stands out (there are plenty there!). He’s definitely not taking another year and I for one wish him well for his commitment, dedication and professionalism over the past 5 years. Hopefully he’ll stay involved with Waterford gaa at some level.

Who to take over though ??

Not a fan of Fergal Hartley or Peter Quelly taking over

Sean Power is prob the best local choice

Denis Walsh could get it ??

Other options are DJ Carey, Brendan Cummins, Antony Daly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Blaas4life

PTH2009 wrote: »

If they can't prise sheedy from Antrim. ...I'd chance Hartley

Got his tactics spot on vs na piasaigh in club final......only black mark that day he left a faltering Mahony too long on the frees

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

PTH2009 wrote: »

Won’t be Denis Walsh or god forbid Brendan cummins, we can’t afford Daly.

I wouldn’t mind seeing Tommy Dunne get the gig now that ryan apparently has the tipp co board backing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,418 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

[QUOTE=Jjjjjjjbarry;107285419

Speaking of good, Tommy Ryan put in a performance that John Mullane would have been proud of. He should be starting every day.[/QUOTE]

Absolutely agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭cul beag

KevIRL wrote: »
    Absolutely agree

Has been doing it for Tallow for numerous years. Never got the proper chance to develop on the team(not like others)and with his pace a proper manager would utilise it to its maximum. All defenses hate pace and he’s a speedster aswell as a clinical scoring forward.

Gavlor wrote: »

You seem very sure? I hope you’re right but the soundings from the camp this week was he was looking to stay on.

KevIRL wrote: »
    Absolutely agree

Has been doing it for Tallow for numerous years. Never got the proper chance to develop on the team(not like others)and with his pace a proper manager would utilise it to its maximum. All defenses hate pace and he’s a speedster aswell as a clinical scoring forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

Harnedy took a lot out of the ball for that goal to be fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭5948ai

Harnedy took at least 9 steps for the goal and the panel just brush over it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Deisedozzer

Harnedy took a lot out of the ball for that goal to be fair

Was wondering at the game why Dan was so incensed by the goal, can see why now. Sums up the way the year has gone, everything that could possibly go against us did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭GeordieRebel

5948ai wrote: »

I think the panel said he took a touch on the hurley? Must be honest that I didn't see it but they presumably saw more angles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭SW1985

People should be careful what they wish for. Derek is the best manager we've had in my lifetime. Yet people want him out without even being able to name a good replacement. Seems pretty foolish to me.

Anyone who thinks this season is a fair reflection on him should cop the feck on. Nobody could legislate for the crazy run of injuries/decisions. If the players are behind him and he wants to, he should get one more year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭hurler on de ditch

SW1985 wrote: »
    People should be careful what they wish for. Derek is the best manager we've had in my lifetime. Yet people want him out without even being able to name a good replacement. Seems pretty foolish to me.

Anyone who thinks this season is a fair reflection on him should cop the feck on. Nobody could legislate for the crazy run of injuries/decisions. If the players are behind him and he wants to, he should get one more year
    **** no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

He played the ball. Eddie said on the Sunday game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

Unbelievably another 4 players went off injured today too - Noel Connors, Stephen Bennett, Brian O'Halloran and Jake Dillon. Bennett looked particularly bad leaving the field.

So between losing fellas before the first game then the plethora of injuries sustained in the 4 games, thats Shane Fives, Daragh Fives, Barry Coughlan, Connors, De Burca, Austin Gleeson, Pauric Mahony, Maurice Shanahan, Dillon, O'Halloran, Bennett who all suffered injuries of some sort the past 6 weeks or so. Have i left any out??

Unreal list of injuries in fairness, I've never seen a team suffer so many in a season. Very difficult to cover those injuries, fair play to some of the lads who came into the side in the circumstances, Tommy Ryan and DJ Foran both finish with reputations significantly improved in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭5948ai

There were 9 steps after touch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭Speakerboxx

There were 9 steps after touch!

He said he touched it in those 9 steps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭Deisegodeo

He played the ball. Eddie said on the Sunday game.

Eddie also thought Patrick Curran was playing today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

McGrath out.

Thanks for everything Derek but its time to give someone else a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

He said he touched it in those 9 steps.

Well case closed then...

Watched the close up replay myself, definitely took about 9 after the touch. To be fair to the ref, in real time it happened quite fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Great movement by Barron/Dunford and Brick for the Waterford goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

Deisegodeo wrote: »
    Unbelievably another 4 players went off injured today too - Noel Connors, Stephen Bennett, Brian O'Halloran and Jake Dillon. Bennett looked particularly bad leaving the field.

So between losing fellas before the first game then the plethora of injuries sustained in the 4 games, thats Shane Fives, Daragh Fives, Barry Coughlan, Connors, De Burca, Austin Gleeson, Pauric Mahony, Maurice Shanahan, Dillon, O'Halloran, Bennett who all suffered injuries of some sort the past 6 weeks or so. Have i left any out??

Unreal list of injuries in fairness, I've never seen a team suffer so many in a season. Very difficult to cover those injuries, fair play to some of the lads who came into the side in the circumstances, Tommy Ryan and DJ Foran both finish with reputations significantly improved in fairness.

Yeah we had a bad run with injuries but he has a panel of 34 players with some of them there 5 years and they’ve only gotten a chance because of injuries to key players. Why weren’t they used in the league?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭Blaas4life

1 league title in 5 years with probably tge best bunch of players we're ever likely to see emerge at the one time in waterford is a pitiful return

They done their level best to lose last year' quater first v kk and no attempt made in last 20 mins of ordinary time to change things...

.he said he wasn't taking the league seriously and to judge on championship....well we've lost 3 outta 4 games

5 years with a system that isn't working and the sole tweek he's made is basically lump ball on top of Tom Devine and dj foran. ....he's basically destroyed hake dillion as a hurler

We've got good days out of this team....but none this year and tbh it's time for a change

Previously one of best supported teams and noe people are voting with their feet as noone wants to pay in to see the rubbish being played under him.

What changes do you see that he'll change next year vs the previous 5 that makes you think he should get another year??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭dobbs2210

Very good post, people should be very very careful what they wish for because some of the names that are being suggested and recommend to take over is funny and comical to say the least.

Derek has done a tremendous job, you could see the unbelievable togetherness and energy today between the panel and management on the sideline.

Not a huge number of Waterford faithful travelled today which was disappointing. I enjoyed the game.

Give him another year on what basis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭Ropaire

Eddie also thought the game was on in Cork.

The lads who say Derek deserves another year, tell us why in more detail. What tweaks tactically have been made this year that ye think worked well. What players came in and did well when genuinely given their chance, excluding lads thrown in the deep end when needs must because of the injuries? Tell us one instance at any point over the course of any of our championship games where you can say "that bit of play was down to good coaching" that was do e by us and not our opponents please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,791 ✭✭✭Motivator

If we are to get a new manager I reckon Anthony Daly will do everything he can to get it. He’s a big fan of this team and I remember last year he was saying that he thought there was a couple of All Ireland’s in them if last September went our way. DJ Carey is the name being whispered around the panel from what I heard today. Either he or Daly would be the men to take this team forward and bring Sean Power into the set up too.

Daly worked with a very average group of players when he was with Clare and he got them to Croke Park a few times, despite not winning a game in Munster. He did very well with Dublin and his man management is meant to be his greatest strength. He knows the game inside out and he’s a winner. I reckon he’s our best shot at this stage and like I said, he loves this team and it’s maknstays such as Barron, Paudi Mahony and Kevin Moran.