Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anything more pathetic than soccer Trolls/Gremlins?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Yes I too watch sportsball. I liked the part where they kicked the ball.

I think they all should have a ball each.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Herpes Free Since03

seachto7 wrote: »
    I think they all should have a ball each.

I think it's quite obvious that after last night's game that quite a few Liverpool players have no balls at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭ThinkProgress

And then you have all the lads, who like to claim the sporting high ground... by saying they watch Irish teams! So they are sooooo superior, to all the guys supporting "foreign teams"!! lol

These guys are playing the same game as each other. Trying to score points against other sports fans!

Sure look at Irish rugby... Plenty of foreign players... Only one of the 4 provinces has an Irish head coach, and even the national team has a foreign coach! (Oh yeah, sorry, they gave him a passport :P)

They're all hypocrites playing the same game. But if the kiddies are having fun, sure leave them to it... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

And another thing I find reduculous. It used to be about the players from certain areas becoming the best footballers kind of like gaa with the county pride.

Now you have a Russian or American rolling into town and buying all the best players in the world to sell advertising potential to Asians and lads in Ireland getting worked up about it.

A racist player from South America getting blindly defended by an Irishman because he plays for a club in England.

A Portuguese player who left a club in England to go to another club in Spain and wins a ballon d or and lads in Ireland feel proud about it.

A gang of lads from Ireland who spout bile any time said player is mentioned because he used to play for a different town in England to the town that was successful when they started following football.

If any other brand had a high ranking racist employed an all employees wore a t shirt supporting them the brand would go bust overnight. In football it just carries on business as usual Nivea for men and opel car deals.

Mad all together ted.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Free-shipping-inflatable-human-hamster-ball-crazy-loopy-ball-for-outdoor-fun-sports-bumper-ball-bubble.jpg_640x640.jpg

I found a way to minimise the chance of injury too.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,702 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Yes I too watch sportsball. I liked the part where they kicked the ball.

Listen pal, we call it soccerball round these parts

The way this thread has developed answers the question posed. No, there is nothing more pathetic except when it's leaks out of the Soccer Forum.
    It seems if you can't defend it, all you can do is double down

• Registered Users Posts: 9,163 ✭✭✭limnam

It seems if you can't defend it, all you can do is double down

33597402_1771736229529147_8987392763947384832_n.png?_nc_cat=0&oh=cee1bfb5815a2db902340f34394c46a8&oe=5BBF56C2

• Registered Users Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

The soccer forum is one of the best forums on the site - one of the rare few that still has a bit of life in it at least.

It's easy enough to stay out of the childish Liverpool V United dick measuring if you want - I don't go near the superthreads dedicated to either team and whenever they play each other just avoid, avoid, avoid that match thread. It can seep into other threads from time to time, but it's not that unavoidable if you just know where and what to avoid.

Football is so popular that of course a lot of knuckle draggers have an interest, but there's also loads of sensible grown up fans of the sport: it's the beautiful game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

Ah here, this thread is hilarious. I presume you're targeting utd posters. There were three targeted by pool fans, one before he posted in thread. People being told to go on an offenders register and being called a nonce. Also the same lads who have a history of starting threads and popping into the the other super thread.

You realise your title has become self referential?

Arghus wrote: »
    The soccer forum is one of the best forums on the site - one of the rare few that still has a bit of life in it at least.

It's easy enough to stay out of the childish Liverpool V United dick measuring if you want - I don't go near the superthreads dedicated to either team and whenever they play each other just avoid, avoid, avoid that match thread. It can seep into other threads from time to time, but it's not that unavoidable if you just know where and what to avoid.

Football is so popular that of course a lot of knuckle draggers have an interest, but there's also loads of sensible grown up fans of the sport: it's the beautiful game.

Well the title of the thread originally referred directly to the Pool/Utd problem, before someone edited it in the interest of fairness I suppose. It's not just on the soccer forum either though, let's not go down the route of focusing on the forum when it applies to every comment section on the internet

Ah here, this thread is hilarious. I presume you're targeting utd posters. There were three targeted by pool fans, one before he posted in thread. People being told to go on an offenders register and being called a nonce. Also the same lads who have a history of starting threads and popping into the the other super thread.

No the thread title originally referred to both, as the WUMs of both are as bad as each other. I heard the FA cup final that Utd lost was just as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mod note: Right folks, soccer trolling back to the soccer forum please, it won't be tolerated here either.

The debate is, and I quote, 'Anything more pathetic than soccer trolls/Gremlins?'.

Move the trolling elsewhere, please, or deal with the consequences.

Buford T. Justice

• Registered Users Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Well then in the interest of discussion why should football trolls be considered more pathetic than standard trolls?
    Just a different brand of arsehole at the end of the day aren't they.

It's all about getting a reaction.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 991 ✭✭✭The Crowman

What makes people "follow" particular teams to which they have no geographic connection? Do they pick their names out of a hat?

What makes people pick a football team to which they've no geographic connection and spend the rest of their life treating it like a matter of life and death?

Funnily enough I see this with young lads supporting apple and Facebook these days.

Also I know a young lad who gets very offended if you say a bad thing about ed Sheehan.

But these are grown men. Some of them won’t say the name of a newspaper because it said bad things about people from the city that the club they support lives in.

They will turn a blind eye and defend anything the club does. One manager was a doper as a player and all his teams run like Usain Bolt for 90 minutes all season and never gets injured and get caught the odd time not being in the hotel they are supposed to be when the drug testers turn up yet people treat him like a god.

Thinking of it now I don’t even know why I watch it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,203 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

So a thread is started giving out about trolling in footballing and instead of a discussion the thread fills with football trolling,does that sound about right?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,763 ✭✭✭Greyfox

What makes people "follow" particular teams to which they have no geographic connection? Do they pick their names out of a hat?

You watch football, you find a team entertaining and you decide to pick that team and support them and in return they give you back decades of entertainment and enjoyment. sport is 10000 times better when you have an emotional investment in it. It's irrelevant if your not from the same country of the club, sport is more of an entertainment product. I'm one of those people who says we when talking about the club I support and will never change

Personally I'm a Manu fan and I was out last night watching the Liverpool match with friends who support Liverpool. I didn't witness any gobsh*te behaviour and the night was very civilised. The trolls/d*ckheads you speak off are scumbags regardless of who they support, all you can do is ignore them, the make up a small minority of football fans.

There is also a lot of specialist that read the tabloids and watch the odd highlight and just regurgitate what they read thinking they know it all.
    Mourrihno only plays hoofball. A manager wins one game he is a genius then loses the next and he’s an idiot. English players are all excellent because the back of the daily mail said so.

When these people approach you in work and you give them an educated view on why you think they are wrong they walk away looking at you like you have ten heads wondering why you didn’t just say yeah well your team is ****.

Poor auld wenger getting dogs abuse by young lads saying he ruined their club. He built the fecking thing you idiots.

Conte was the best manager ever when he took over Jose’s team that mutineed. Jose was a terrible manager. Then when they mutineed again Conte was a terrible manager.

Nobody watches the actual games anymore it’s just a twitter clip and a newspaper column and a genius assessment

Well then in the interest of discussion why should football trolls be considered more pathetic than standard trolls?
    Just a different brand of arsehole at the end of the day aren't they.

It's all about getting a reaction.

I mean we just saw weeks of trolling on the Net from both sides during the build up to the referendum.. a referendum on a highly emotive, literally life and death topic. But all year, every year you can see just as intense wumming and childish trolling over a soccer match just because of who the clubs are..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

Agricola wrote: »
    I'd don't have much problem with it when it comes to British fans of British teams who live in Britain. The rivalry there between cities in very real and it's as much a regional identity thing as it is a football thing.

But for Irish people to be joining in with it is a bit pathetic.

Oh FFS, :rolleyes:

Irish footballers and fans, Northern and Republic, Pre and Post independence are, have been and always will be part of the fabric of English and Scottish football, as far as this sphere of life is concerned (club football) we are 'Brits' whether you like it or not.

I'd have a bit more time for this 'separatism' if we had a big population and a long standing football league with 20 plus teams pulling in 20,000 plus crowds every week and a serious track record of competing in UEFA competitions like the Dutch do, but we don't, hence the Anglocentrism, the Merseyside and Manchester clubs have a long and distinguished heritage of Irish players.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

dd972 wrote: »
    Oh FFS, :rolleyes:

Irish footballers and fans, Northern and Republic, Pre and Post independence are, have been and always will be part of the fabric of English and Scottish football, as far as this sphere of life is concerned (club football) we are 'Brits' whether you like it or not.

I'd have a bit more time for this 'separatism' if we had a big population and a long standing football league with 20 plus teams pulling in 20,000 plus crowds every week and a serious track record of competing in UEFA competitions like the Dutch do, but we don't, hence the Anglocentrism, the Merseyside and Manchester clubs have a long and distinguished heritage of Irish players.

I don't refute any of the above.

I'm simply drawing the line at a Irish Man United fan in Tipperary town who has been to Old Trafford on a daytrip 10 years ago, ripping into Man City or Liverpool supporters as if he was born and bred in Salford.

We can love football and we can love a club in England. I do and I did when I was younger (before the game became a pantomime for out of touch multimillionaire mercenaries, but that's another thread)
    But lets leave all the goading and trolling to the British. That's their thing. Not ours. And we just look a bit silly doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,464 ✭✭✭valoren

Fair enough there are those who follow the famous English clubs from their youth, the choosing of the club burgeoning from picking whoever was winning at the time to zealous support as an adult. I would have liked to see Liverpool win last night, purely to know that it would give the supporters a hell of a party, but then again how can you continue to support an English club with a German manager and a host of international players whose only loyalty to the club being that they just happened to offer them the highest contract with the club itself owned by a Yank investment group collecting trophies of an asset kind.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,301 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Holocaust deniers, Sandy Hook deniers, 9/11 truthers, paid Russian shills, bitcoin morons, flat earthers, child porn creators, end of the road, youtube comments, the losers who troll maternity forums, doxxers, Nigerian scam artists...

No, you're right, its the soccer trolls that are the worst.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

valoren wrote: »
    Fair enough there are those who follow the famous English clubs from their youth, the choosing of the club burgeoning from picking whoever was winning at the time to zealous support as an adult. I would have liked to see Liverpool win last night, purely to know that it would give the supporters a hell of a party, but then again how can you continue to support an English club with a German manager and a host of international players whose only loyalty to the club being that they just happened to offer them the highest contract with the club itself owned by a Yank investment group collecting trophies of an asset kind.

That's a very good summation of what put me off premier league football!

I think for any of us who came to the game in the 80s and 90s there was still something local and relatable about English football. Lots of Irish players, mixed in with homegrown talent from the clubs themselves. The big money wasn't yet there, it still had something amateurish and real about it, like the GAA has.
    Now it's mercenary managers who last a wet week, leading team of mercenaries from the four corners of the world, their only loyalty being to their pay check.
    I don't know how anyone not from the town or city itself can get emotionally involved in this pantomime tbh.

Holocaust deniers, Sandy Hook deniers, 9/11 truthers, paid Russian shills, bitcoin morons, flat earthers, child porn creators, end of the road, youtube comments, the losers who troll maternity forums, doxxers, Nigerian scam artists...

No, you're right, its the soccer trolls that are the worst.

No no, I said most pathetic.. and eh, point proven with the above I feel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Nobody is targeting any team. We are calling you all children.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Ah this is very close to my heart. United and Liverpool fans in Ireland are no different from each other despite thinking they're polar opposites. You basically like a team from NW England that wears red and is historically succesful. You like to think of the other side as Manc b*stards or Scouse scum even though you're both from Clondalkin or Wexford or something. Zero difference between them.

''I follow them because loads of Irish went to Manchester/Liverpool and it's in the culture''. Fine. Where are all the Man City fans, where are all the Everton fans or Tranmere fans. Sure plenty of Irish went to London, where are the Crystal Palace fans or Fulham fans?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,163 ✭✭✭limnam

Sometimes it's a name.

Didn't the whole soccer forum start following a team from the dutch second division? The Go Ahead Eagles.

Whats a geographic connection now in the global village. Sure Manchester is less than an hour away. Considering they have 2 players from Manchester at most normally playing, what difference does it make?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

seachto7 wrote: »
    I remember years ago a lad at work asked me who did I “follow”. I said “Utd” just to make conversation and he said “ya bollox. I’m a scouser”. I wanted to say “no you’re not. You’re from Shannon”.

I was asked that upon joining a new job except he asked ''Who do you follow... not the scum is it?'' I said ''who's the scum?'' and he goes ''Liverpool''. Now how am I supposed to know who the scum is? There's no differentiating at all. Anyway, I said I follow Bohs. ''Ah but who do you really follow?''. I said ''Bohs, I literally follow them all over the country and I go every week.'' ''Nah but which real team?''. I just laughed. They are a real team, with real people and real fans, not just some show on the telly! When's the last time you saw your team actually play? He then got into the whole standard is crap argument and I just asked him if he'd still follow United if they dropped to League 1 like Leeds did. ''Of course I bloody would!!!'' Well there goes your standard argument. I asked him if he follows Brazil instead of Ireland. ''Eh no, I'm not from Brazil, I'm from Ireland'' he says. Well you're not from Manchester either ya goon!