Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anything more pathetic than soccer Trolls/Gremlins?

• 27-05-2018 1:43pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,636 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I only have a casual interest in big time soccer, but since last night was Champions League final I thought I'd watch it and afterwards have a look around the internet to read a few articles, see some other opinions on how it went.. big mistake. 'Grown' Irish men following one english football team childishly winding up fans from another english football team because they lost (and I've heard it was just as bad a few weeks ago when the other club lost their final, so it's a case of both being as bad), while the ordinary decent fans just try to ignore them and discuss the game, which didn't really work.

It was kind of stuff if you saw a 5 year old doing you'd give out to them. Everywhere you'd look online where comments were allowed it was the same thing, really reminds me why I have no interest anymore in the top clubs, it's like some people are only interested so they can rub it in other people's faces, which is beyond sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

You are 100% right mate. Comparing them to 5 year olds is insulting to children.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,149 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

I only have a casual interest in big time soccer, but since last night was Champions League final I thought I'd watch it and afterwards have a look around the internet to read a few articles, see some other opinions on how it went.. big mistake. 'Grown' Irish men following one english football team childishly winding up fans from another english football team because they lost (and I've heard it was just as bad a few weeks ago when the other club lost their final, so it's a case of both being as bad), while the ordinary decent fans just try to ignore them and discuss the game, which didn't really work.

It was kind of stuff if you saw a 5 year old doing you'd give out to them. Everywhere you'd look online where comments were allowed it was the same thing, really reminds me why I have no interest anymore in the top clubs, it's like some people are only interested so they can rub it in other people's faces, which is beyond sad.

I watch football as much as the next person but I can't understand people getting overly upset about a team who aren't even local. Most people only support a team as they were the dominant team when they were growing up. Liverpool in the 80's or united in the 90's with the odd arsenal Chelsea fan thrown in.

To people who live in these places football is much more than just a game and is a passion and a sense of belonging particularly for men but plenty women have the bug too.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,710 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Yep, Liverpool fans have been the victims of this since last night....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

You should see the abuse Karius got, that's a disgusting way for anyone to behave

• Registered Users Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I’m glad to see that Liverpool are an equal opportunities employer anyway so we shouldn’t slag them off too much.

Especially with them putting Stevie Wonder in nets last night. Bravo Liverpool.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,636 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

You should see the abuse Karius got, that's a disgusting way for anyone to behave

You'll never walk alone... although it must be said that the Pool fans in the stadium gave him an ovation when he came over to apologise, that was touching

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I'd don't have much problem with it when it comes to British fans of British teams who live in Britain. The rivalry there between cities in very real and it's as much a regional identity thing as it is a football thing.

But for Irish people to be joining in with it is a bit pathetic.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

AVlMx_s-200x150.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭AfterLife

Liverpool and Manchester United fans are absolute dopes in this country. Most of the rest are alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,277 ✭✭✭Your Face

There was a shot last night that showed grown men crying because their team lost.

Thats fine if it means that much to them but their children were there with them. These children were upset that their father was crying.
    Its too much.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,506 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

the whole thing is sickening. the way the 'fans' are talking about the people involved
    liverpool lost because of their poor squad and some bad luck.

if the first goal was scored by liverpool all the media and trolls would be claiming the attacker was great and had great awarness to take that opertunity.

the bycicle goal was a once off .

the keeper spilling the ball goal was terible goal kepping but if liverpool had scored it , it would be all about the flight of the ball and the power behind it making it a great goal that the kepper couldnt stop.

the keeper was poor but the defense should have never let the shot be taken.

all the trolls would be praising liverpool if it was the other way around.

Agricola wrote: »
    I'd don't have much problem with it when it comes to British fans of British teams who live in Britain. The rivalry there between cities in very real and it's as much a regional identity thing as it is a football thing.

But for Irish people to be joining in with it is a bit pathetic.

And let's be honest, a lot of them are the kind who look down on LOI and supporting their local teams, because there is no glory there.

I couldn't give a **** about living vicariously through a bunch of mercenaries, I go to the local games every week for the atmosphere (which we make ourselves) and to have a laugh with the other decent fans, if we win, great, let's party, if we lose, oh well, let's go party, same result every Friday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

And let's be honest, a lot of them are the kind who look down on LOI and supporting their local teams, because there is no glory there.

I couldn't give a **** about living vicariously through a bunch of mercenaries, I go to the local games every week for the atmosphere (which we make ourselves) and to have a laugh with the other decent fans, if we win, great, let's party, if we lose, oh well, let's go party, same result every Friday night

I've started to go to my local clubs games now.
    They play in the Leinster Senior League so quality is so-so.
    But it's fun to watch them play and have a bit of banter with other fans.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,109 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Jesus christ talk about a melt down. If yous won last night ya would of been living it up in everyone's ear hole well into next season.

Talking about how amazing a manager Klopp is how yous play the most entertaining attacking stuff didn't spend any money bascially the saviours of football.

Here's the ****ing reality of it Liverpool play great attacking football when there allowed. The only consistent thing about the club over the last few years is that yous always find a way to ruin all the hard work yous put in and bottle it nearly every time you get a chance to win something big.

As soon as Salah was out last night yous where done Klopp doesn't have a clue how to change a system mid game its as if he has one go at it every game and if **** hits the fan sure at least we didn't park the bus.....

Who's fault was it this time? Ramos? The keeper again?

• Site Banned Posts: 218 ✭✭A Pint of Goo

Man up. Fans slagging each other's teams is part of it. If you can't handle the banter then don't hang with the big boys.

I've started to go to my local clubs games now.
    They play in the Leinster Senior League so quality is so-so.
    But it's fun to watch them play and have a bit of banter with other fans.

Same with my local team (not in Ireland) but we still get a good crowd so it helps, but at the end of the day it's up to whatever fans are there to make the atmosphere and make it enjoyable. Beats sitting in a pub watching in on tv, or paying 50 quid to sit in silence for 90 minutes with a load of strangers

Man up. Fans slagging each other's teams is part of it. If you can't handle the banter then don't hang with the big boys.

The big boys? You mean the senior infants?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

I always feel let down when I'm talking to(what seems like)a mature rational adult Irish man,... And then THE DREADED WORDS!?...
    'who do you support, what about #_some uk premier team_ # weren't they shít the other night'???

• Registered Users Posts: 2,521 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Unfortunately guys it's not just soccer fans who are arses it's just life. I used to run pubs in Australia where rules are very strict on being drunk and the abuse myself and the people I worked with was insane and it wasn't from behind a screen it was people in my face. The level of aggression in the world in general is going up and up. I had to get police escorts from work on occasion just because I wouldn't let someone into the pub and they threatened to follow me home and kill me. We are getting more and more aggressive for whatever reason but it's an unfortunate fact of life.

telling the keeper to kill himself isnt banter.

telling him to put his medal up safe incase he drops it is banter

• Registered Users Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭limnam

The keeper again?

33584464_10155492531511451_1336927687502987264_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=7d0bbf33c762d7bd7dea43b5ff257a6f&oe=5B7844F4

By the way just incase any fans of a perticular club decides to start calling people ***** etc etc because they got bit upset yous don't have your mod to protect you in After Hours.

Jesus christ talk about a melt down. If yous won last night ya would of been living it up in everyone's ear hole well into next season.

Talking about how amazing a manager Klopp is how yous play the most entertaining attacking stuff didn't spend any money bascially the saviours of football.

Here's the ****ing reality of it Liverpool play great attacking football when there allowed. The only consistent thing about the club over the last few years is that yous always find a way to ruin all the hard work yous put in and bottle it nearly every time you get a chance to win something big.

As soon as Salah was out last night yous where done Klopp doesn't have a clue how to change a system mid game its as if he has one go at it every game and if **** hits the fan sure at least we didn't park the bus.....

Who's fault was it this time? Ramos? The keeper again?
    Save it for the soccer forum with the rest of the WUMs, no one here gives a ****

33765908_1772871846082252_4549720476548595712_n.png?_nc_cat=0&oh=52e04840f2f72e364184cd9fda2ed40b&oe=5B7F6504

Do you think After Hours posters want the Soccer thread **** storm being dragged into there section as well?

I always feel let down when I'm talking to(what seems like)a mature rational adult Irish man,... And then THE DREADED WORDS!?...
    'who do you support, what about #_some uk premier team_ # weren't they shít the other night'???

Or the eponymous "WE". To paraphrase Bill Maher: There is no "we", you're not the "twelfth man". You're not going to be kicking it with Salah if Liverpool pull it off. It's 11 foreign lads who would hate you if they knew you.

Do you think After Hours posters want the Soccer thread **** storm being dragged into there section as well?

33575467_1772257272810376_7783253366313844736_n.png?_nc_cat=0&oh=6d9e78a9580115fd92d676f426af2257&oe=5BC42B2E

This goes beyond the soccer forum in fairness, its everywhere online when these two teams are involved. I mean keep the specific partisan stuff out of here, no one wants that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

My sister and I attended an Oasis tribute band yesterday in Kiltipper Bar. There was a big crowd there watching the match. Now I have little interest in football but some of the carry on was beyond embarrassing. People roaring constantly, jumping up and down and just annoying those who had no interest. When Real Madrid scored their second goal a chap across the way slammed his phone on the table and knocked over everyone's drinks. Embarrassing isn't the word.

This goes beyond the soccer forum in fairness, its everywhere online when these two teams are involved. I mean keep the specific partisan stuff out of here, no one wants that
    this isnt reallly about the match. its about the media and the fans on social media.