Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should men be allowed to opt out of parenthood just like women?

• 26-05-2018 9:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

So after today's great news, women finally have full control over their bodies and if the situation arises, once legislation is clarified, they'll now have the option of terminating a pregnancy in unwanted cases. Great news. They also have the option of putting a child up for adoption once it is born if they are unable to care for it.

However should men also have some right and some protection with regards to parenthood? I feel that they should.

If a woman wants nothing to do with a child, she can get an abortion or she can seek an adoption, and she is legally entitled to those options and it is a great thing. However a man has no such options at all. If he gets a woman pregnant and he does not want to become a father, he basically has to rely on the woman to get an abortion or else he is tied to that child and is liable for child support payments even though he wants nothing to do with this child. It doesn't seem fair to me.

It definitely is a bit of a grey topic though. What are your thoughts? Should men also have the option of opting out of parenthood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I know a fella who has opted out several times. Every time he gets a woman pregnant he moves onto another one.
    He's on the dole, doesnt seem to have any bother with it

• Site Banned Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Pugzilla

A f*cking legend of gin alley.

I feel that men (I am one) should be allowed to opt out, yes. If the woman can make the decision to abort, i don't see why the man should not have any option at all. It's a crisis pregnancy for both involved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

If a man is raped by a woman and it results in a pregnancy, does he not have equal right to a termination?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,301 ✭✭✭✭banie01

judeboy101 wrote: »
    If a man is raped by a woman and it results in a pregnancy, does he not have equal right to a termination?

The legal definition of rape precludes it's actually being committed by a woman against a man n Ireland tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

I know a fella who has opted out several times. Every time he gets a woman pregnant he moves onto another one.
    He's on the dole, doesnt seem to have any bother with it

How does that work? Why have none of the women held him accountable and not reported him to the authorities and how is he seemingly "getting away with it"?

It will have to go back to the old fashioned idea of only sleeping with someone you would like (or not mind) having a child with. No contraception is 100% guaranteed so this needs to accepted as a risk each time and if either has an issue with this they can stop it at that stage. Obviously rape is outside of that theory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Snugglebunnies

They already do all the time with zero consequences...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

It will have to go back to the old fashioned idea of only sleeping with someone you would like (or not mind) having a child with. No contraception is 100% guaranteed so this needs to accepted as a risk each time and if either has an issue with this they can stop it at that stage. Obviously rape is outside of that theory.

But what if your friend introduced you to her a said he wouldn’t say she’s a gold digger and you took that to mean she wasn’t a gold digger but after sleeping with her you noticed that she ain’t messing with no broke gentlemen?

Do they? Personally I wouldn't know as I wouldn't be asking men if they're paying child support or ask a single mother if she's getting payments but I do know two lads down the local who are paying monthly payments for their kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,888 ✭✭✭AtomicHorror

So after today's great news, women finally have full control over their bodies and if the situation arises, once legislation is clarified, they'll now have the option of terminating a pregnancy in unwanted cases. Great news. They also have the option of putting a child up for adoption once it is born if they are unable to care for it.

However should men also have some right and some protection with regards to parenthood? I feel that they should.

If a woman wants nothing to do with a child, she can get an abortion or she can seek an adoption, and she is legally entitled to those options and it is a great thing. However a man has no such options at all. If he gets a woman pregnant and he does not want to become a father, he basically has to rely on the woman to get an abortion or else he is tied to that child and is liable for child support payments even though he wants nothing to do with this child. It doesn't seem fair to me.

It definitely is a bit of a grey topic though. What are your thoughts? Should men also have the option of opting out of parenthood?

No it isn't fair... because women take on the vast majority of the risk. Even when a woman is choosing to terminate primarily for financial reasons, the risk to her health and life is in the mix of that decision.

That's why she has the choice.

Anyway, the answer is no. Pay yer ****ing child support, deadbeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

Turns out the "its my right to choose argument" falls down as soon as it doesn't suit the feminazi agenda.

Do they? Personally I wouldn't know as I wouldn't be asking men if they're paying child support or ask a single mother if she's getting payments but I do know two lads down the local who are paying monthly payments for their kid.

Yes unfortunately. I'm a single mother myself and so know plenty of other single mothers both online and of course in real life. There are heaps of them who the kid's father just walked away, never sees the child and won't pay a cent despite being to court neumerous times in most cases. It's depressing.

No it isn't fair... because women take on the vast majority of the risk. Even when a woman is choosing to terminate primarily for financial reasons, the risk to her health and life is in the mix of that decision.

That's why she has the choice.

You raise a valid point about the health risks.

However if someone is not ready to be a parent, they shouldn't be forced to be one. Pretty barbaric to say otherwise. They also shouldn't be forced to pay money to someone who wants to be one. One parent shouldn't be forced to provide for a decision made by the other parent. It almost falls under bodily autonomy in a way.

Your last remark is a bit insensitive. God forbid a 15 or 16 year old lad gets a girl pregnant without a cent to his name.

Yes unfortunately. I'm a single mother myself and so know plenty of other single mothers both online and of course in real life. There are heaps of them who the kid's father just walked away, never sees the child and won't pay a cent despite being to court neumerous times in most cases. It's depressing.

One of the perks of having less rights than women when it comes to family I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Ummm, should I kill this baby or force a man to support it for the next 18 years .....feminist choices there

But how does that work? Surely a simply court appearance stating this fella is paying no child support followed by a paternity test to confirm everything and a judge makes a judgement and orders him to pay the child support. I can't wangle my way out of paying a parking ticket, how do men wangle their way out of paying child support in court? Not doubting you at all, sorry to hear you're in that predicament I'm just genuinely interested how they get away with it. As I said the two lads I know who would be liable for child support payments are doing so, and they constantly remind me of having to give money to "her".

There was an article in the Irish Times about the family court. Seems lob sided against men. Women bringing cases against men to get more maintenance payments after years of divorce when the former husband got a brand new job and new source of income. Mad business all together. Men expected to pay their maintenance grants of 400 quid a week when they've lost their job.

They're ordered to pay alright, something minimal in most cases. They then still refuse to pay and it back to court to enforce it and they still don't pay. Wash and repeat. Also arrears will be ordered to be paid off at a few euro a week, which surprise, surprise, doesn't happen. No wonder so many women give up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,903 ✭✭✭Blacktie.

I've heard it goes that the judge orders him to pay and he'll pay a few and then stop or just not pay at all. Guards can't be there every week or month or whatever to ensure he makes the transfer.

However if someone is not ready to be a parent, they shouldn't be forced to be one. Pretty barbaric to say otherwise.

Paying child support is not "being a parent". You can choose to check out of being a parent. By simply walking away and not raising the child every day if its life. The sole obligation on the father is financial. It's not nothing, but it sure as **** is not anything comparable to the reality of raising kids.
    Sheeps wrote: »
    Turns out the "its my right to choose argument" falls down as soon as it doesn't suit the feminazi agenda.

That being because the right to choose is based on the right to bodily autonomy? The father has no such stake in the scenario? Don't worry if you haven't heard these arguments before they've only been discussed at length, incessantly, for months, on almost every national platform possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

I totally agree sex ed should be compulsory for all males who have reached the age of puberty. No more "special seed in mammys tummy growing into babies" crap that is being taught to 5 year olds. It has to be proper lessons that properly explain why acts of sexual reproduction result in new Humans. :rolleyes:

Totally unfair, men should have some rights and protection with regards to parenthood they should have the option to opt out.

If only there was a way .........to avoid making a baby.....

The catholic solution applies but it's so old fashioned

How about this, if both are of legal age.
    Unless the male sperm donor can prove that he is aware of the facts of life when it comes to baby making activities he should be banned from all acts of sexual reproduction. A simple certification process should apply. I would vote for a simple tattoo or ear tag or the issuing of an ID card once the man has proved he understands how babies are made. If a woman fails to check that she is engaging with a certified male he gets a 50% discount and a State ordered vasectomy.

Snotty wrote: »
    Ummm, should I kill this baby or force a man to support it for the next 18 years .....feminist choices there

If she can risk life and health to bring it into the world, you can stick your hand in your ****ing pocket.

However if someone is not ready to be a parent, they shouldn't be forced to be one. Pretty barbaric to say otherwise. They also shouldn't be forced to pay money to someone who wants to be one. One parent shouldn't be forced to provide for a decision made by the other parent. It almost falls under bodily autonomy in a way.

Lobby your TD for sex ed.

If parent is not ready to become a parent they should not engage in acts of sexual reproduction.
    Your last remark is a bit insensitive. God forbid a 15 or 16 year old lad gets a girl pregnant without a cent to his name.

So who should pay to bring the child up

Paying child support is not "being a parent". You can choose to check out of being a parent. By simply walking away and not raising the child every day if its life. The sole obligation on the father is financial. It's not nothing, but it sure as **** is not anything comparable to the reality of raising kids.

And I'd argue that a father should not have that financial obligation if he does not want to become a father. If he clearly states during the pregnancy he does not want to be a part of that child's life and had a way of signing away his rights, he should be free of all payments and whatnot, effectively not being a father at all. Whether the mother keeps the child is her own business from then out. Of course if he decides a few months or a year into the child's life that this isn't for him and f*cks off when he said all throughout the pregnancy he'd be there for the child as an active father, then yeah throw the book at the c*nt then.

I feel a mother or a father should have the free right to opt of parenthood. Currently women have that right.

This idea of "don't stick it in unless you're willing to be a father" can be argued back with "don't spread your legs unless you're willing to be a mother". Women currently have an exit strategy so to speak, men don't. And that's unfair in my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Maybe take some personal responsibility for where you stick your dick and the resulting consequences of it. Anyway as it is, there seems to be little consequences for the majority of fathers of "single parent" kids.

Lobby your TD for sex ed.

If parent is not ready to become a parent they should not engage in acts of sexual reproduction.

So who should pay to bring the child up

So you're saying people should only have sex if they're willing to be a parent? Currently a woman doesn't have to worry about that as they can avail of adoptions and very soon abortions...men have no options.

If a father could somehow sign away all his rights to that child during pregnancy, then it's up to the mother whether or not she wants to keep the child, and if so it has to be her paycheck that supports the child.

And I'd argue that a father should not have that financial obligation if he does not want to become a father. If he clearly states during the pregnancy he does not want to be a part of that child's life and had a way of signing away his rights, he should be free of all payments and whatnot, effectively not being a father at all. Whether the mother keeps the child is her own business from then out. Of course if he decides a few months or a year into the child's life that this isn't for him and f*cks off when he said all throughout the pregnancy he'd be there for the child as an active father, then yeah throw the book at the c*nt then.

I feel a mother or a father should have the free right to opt of parenthood. Currently women have that right.

This idea of "don't stick it in unless you're willing to be a father" can be argued back with "don't spread your legs unless you're willing to be a mother". Women currently have an exit strategy so to speak, men don't. And that's unfair in my opinion.

This is beyond idiotic. Pregnancy equated to a financial pinch as consequences of spreading one's legs? ****ing hell. No more time for this.

Maybe take some personal responsibility for where you stick your dick and the resulting consequences of it. Anyway as it is, there seems to be little consequences for the majority of fathers of "single parent" kids.

Maybe take some personal responsibility to whom you spread your legs for and the resulting consequences.

Women have the exit strategy of abortion and adoption if an unwanted pregnancy occurs. Men have no choice, and that's not fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

If she can risk life and health to bring it into the world, you can stick your hand in your ****ing pocket.

You make it sound like the heroic actions of a determined woman, when in reality it's the result of two stupid drunk people's actions in most cases. Now one person has a choice, but the other doesn't.

I won't be sticking my hand anywhere, I had more cop on in life.

This is beyond idiotic. Pregnancy equated to a financial pinch as consequences of spreading one's legs? ****ing hell. No more time for this.

I am a little confused but as you wish.

In other countries the court can order an attachment on the income so the employer has to pay money directly through the court.

In the USA failure to pay child support can result in the parent loosing their driving licence.

Here the parent has to fund the child, and fund the court costs each time the court order is breached. If the parent has to use work time to go to court they loose out twice

You make it sound like the heroic actions of a determined woman, when in reality it's the result of two stupid drunk people's actions in most cases. Now one person has a choice, but the other doesn't.

Getting pregnant is not heroic. Choosing to continue with it really ****ing is, and only a someone entirely ignorant of pregnancy would say otherwise.

One person has a choice on whether to risk her life and health to continue. In the event that person continues, then two people have a choice on whether to be parents, but neither of them have the choice on whether to be financially responsible.
    I won't be sticking my hand anywhere, I had more cop on in life.

You do read like a celibate.

In other countries the court can order an attachment on the income so the employer has to pay money directly through the court.

In the USA failure to pay child support can result in the parent loosing their driving licence.

Here the parent has to fund the child, and fund the court costs each time the court order is breached. If the parent has to use work time to go to court they loose out twice

Thanks for that GFL. So although other countries seem to have more efficient methods, surely it isn't too hard to prove to a court that he paid this month, but didn't pay this month. I mean bank transfer leaves data and information which can be verified by bank and I'd assume this would be the method used to transfer from father to mother? I just don't see how they could get away with it again and again and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

It's called a paper / financial abortion and personally I'm against them as they give men a way of not facing up to their responsibilities. I get that some see certain abortions as a woman doing that, but I don't think an 'if you can't beat them join them' attitude is always the best way to go.

One of the main reasons I don't think it should be legal for healthy women to be able to abort a healthy fetus is because I feel they should accept the responsibility that they have created a human life, and so why then would I say out of the other side of my mouth that I think men shouldn't have to do that.

That would be hypocritical in my eyes and so no, I don't think men should be able to opt out of parenthood.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There's a morning after pill for men. It changes your blood group.

It's called a paper / financial abortion and personally I'm against them as they give men a way of not facing up to their responsibilities. I get that some see certain abortions as a woman doing that, but I don't think an 'if you can't beat them join them' attitude is always the best way to go.

One of the main reasons I don't think it should be legal for healthy women to be able to abort a healthy fetus is because I feel they should accept the responsibility that they have created a human life, and so why then would I say out of the other side of my mouth that I think men shouldn't have to do that.

That would be hypocritical in my eyes and so no, I don't think men should be able to opt out of parenthood.

Thanks for that Pete. You do a raise a good point and obviously if you feel women shouldn't be allowed to abort a healthy fetus then of course you should feel like men can't be allowed to opt out as it would be entirely hypocritical to think otherwise. There has to be congruency but the way things are going, there won't be as women will be allowed to have unrestricted abortions up to 12 weeks most likely, and still have the route of adoption after the child is born whereas men have nothing. That's why I feel something should be addressed to give men something to protect themselves and give themselves some option.

In the near future if a poor 16 year old girl falls pregnant and she cannot be a mother to that child, she can freely get an abortion here and get all the support needed. However if a 16 year old boy gets a woman pregnant and she decides to keep it, he's left in the dark completely and basically is told tough sh*t by the law. And that doesn't sit right with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

What a load, this interweb nonsense about the supposed dimunation of masculinity by rapid feminazis is bizarre. If you want to be treated like a man go grow a pair and accept your responsibilities.

What exactly does "treated like a man" and "grow a pair" mean? Are you implying that men should just "man up"? God forbid any man you know break down mentally and be told by you to grow a pair and act like a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭Cupcake_Crisis

How does that work? Why have none of the women held him accountable and not reported him to the authorities and how is he seemingly "getting away with it"?

Because it’s really hard to do that. You can drag them through the courts for sure, but very little will happen if they repeatedly go against the courts orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

I think it's the woman's body and it's her decision, so my advice to men would be watch where you stick your c*ck, and only have sex with women that you wouldn't mind having a child with :pac:

Seriously though, nobody is forcing you to have sex with women. If you have a chip on your shoulder about not getting to walk away from an accidental pregnancy, then don't have sex, or else get a vasectomy, wear super-strength condoms, double-bag it even, or else keep whacking! I also don't get this drunken sex thing; I have never had sex when drunk, the thought of it is unappealing, I like it stone cold sober, so I can remember all the details :P If you get drunk, and have sex when drunk with another drunk person that you just met, you are taking a risk, because you might not be paying much attention to contraception. Solution: don't f*ck strangers when pissed. God, belching and pissing all night; how unappealing. I feel sleepy when drunk, not horny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭oneilla

I feel that men (I am one) should be allowed to opt out, yes. If the woman can make the decision to abort, i don't see why the man should not have any option at all. It's a crisis pregnancy for both involved.

Then be more careful where and how you deposit your semen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,948 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

Bit of a sour grapes passive aggressive tone to that thread/question I think. Has been said quite early in the thread plenty of fellas 'opting out' already.

oneilla wrote: »
    Then be more careful where and how you deposit your semen.

With that logic oneilla you could say women shouldn't be allowed to have abortions and instead be more careful with opening their legs. Now that seems very unfair to me and thankfully after today women won't have that harrowing experience any more....but men are still left out in the cold. Doesn't seem fair to me.

I think it's the woman's body and it's her decision, so my advice to men would be watch where you stick your c*ck, and only have sex with women that you wouldn't mind having a child with :pac:

Seriously though, nobody is forcing you to have sex with women. If you have a chip on your shoulder about not getting to walk away from an accidental pregnancy, then don't have sex, or else get a vasectomy, wear super-strength condoms, double-bag it even, or else keep whacking! I also don't get this drunken sex thing; I have never had sex when drunk, the thought of it is unappealing, I like it stone cold sober, so I can remember all the details :P If you get drunk, and have sex when drunk with another drunk person that you just met, you are taking a risk, because you might not be paying much attention to contraception. Solution: don't f*ck strangers when pissed. God, belching and pissing all night; how unappealing. I feel sleepy when drunk, not horny!

The same thinking can be applied to women though, watch who you open your legs to, don't have sex unless you're willing to be a mother. Get tubal litigation etc etc. And what it also implies is that abortions are not needed and basically tough ****.

This of course is flawed completely and thankfully women won't have to make that choice. Sex is a great thing and men or women shouldn't have to second guess having sex for fear of pregnancy.

So yeah, seems there is one line of thinking for women and another for women, which is flawed and unfair in my opinion.

The same thinking can be applied to women though, watch who you open your legs to, don't have sex unless you're willing to be a mother. Get tubal litigation etc etc. And what it also implies is that abortions are not needed and basically tough ****.

This of course is flawed completely and thankfully women won't have to make that choice. Sex is a great thing and men or women shouldn't have to second guess having sex for fear of pregnancy.

So yeah, seems there is one line of thinking for women and another for women, which is flawed and unfair in my opinion.
    Im sorry you're wrong. Your opinion doesn't suit women.

Bit of a sour grapes passive aggressive tone to that thread/question I think. Has been said quite early in the thread plenty of fellas 'opting out' already.

Giving threads titles wouldn't be my forte but I feel it serves the purpose of giving the reader an idea of what the thread is about without having to click in.

If I said "should men be allowed to opt out of parenthood" it would broadcast a different message to the actual real title and derail the actual discussion.

No sour grapes here, I'm absolutely thrilled today's results. The country has done itself proud for its women. Hopefully it now begins to do its men proud as well.

With that logic oneilla you could say women shouldn't be allowed to have abortions and instead be more careful with opening their legs. Now that seems very unfair to me and thankfully after today women won't have that harrowing experience any more....but men are still left out in the cold. Doesn't seem fair to me.

Do I have to spell out you're implying with this?

If it's ok to say to men "hey, if you didn't want to pay some child support money you shoulda stayed celibate, you'll just have to put up with it", then it's ok to say to women "hey if you didn't want to risk mental health damage, physical injury, potentially lifelong recurring health issues or in some cases, a painful death, well then you shoulda stayed celibate, you'll just have to put up with it". See the problem?

You have got to stop comparing the consequences for the two genders as if they're similar. Please. You are probably not a total dick IRL but dear god you're making yourself look awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Keep your dick in your pants. Problem solved.

Do I have to spell out you're implying with this?

If it's ok to say to men "hey, if you didn't want to pay some child support money you shoulda stayed celibate, you'll just have to put up with it", then it's ok to say to women "hey if you didn't want to risk mental health damage, physical injury, potentially lifelong recurring health issues or in some cases, a painful death, well then you shoulda stayed celibate, you'll just have to put up with it". See the problem?

You have got to stop comparing the consequences for the two genders as if they're similar. Please. You are probably not a total dick IRL but dear god you're making yourself look awful.

It's not okay to say either of those things, that's my point. There has to be congruency. Nobody is saying women should have to put up with it and after today they won't have to put up with it. However several people in this thread have insinuated that men should just put up with it.

Not concerned about what you think about me here or in real life, attack the post not the poster and all that, it detracts from the discussion.