Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jeremy Corbyn believes Irish reunification ‘has majority support’

• 23-05-2018 3:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭

Read this article today:
    Jeremy Corbyn believes Irish reunification ‘has majority support’l

I know he's mentioned reunification in the past, but do you think he genuinely means it or is he just trying to give the "In Power" government a hard time?

Given that there seems to stall after stall on the border issue with NI would you support reunification?

Personally I think it's a bad idea. I think it would cause more problems than it would solve.

I think this the first time a British Politician has hinted at/put forward the idea of reunification as a solution to the Border issue post Brexit

Would you be for it or against it?

Would you support reunification of the Island of Ireland? 402 votes

I am from the Rep of Ireland, I would support it
    0% 0 votes
    I am from the Rep of Ireland, I would not support it
    54% 218 votes
    I am from the N.Ireland, I would support it
    39% 160 votes
    I am from the N.Ireland, I would not support it
    2% 11 votes
    I am from the UK (excluding NI), I would support it
    0% 3 votes
    I am from the UK (excluding NI) I would not support it
    2% 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Jeremy Corbyn, he's in the RA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Theres quiet a few unionists who also seem to be coming around to that point of view also.

The real question should be do we want the North back?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

P.O Neill?

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

What's the point of reunification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Given that there seems to stall after stall on the border issue with NI would you support reunification?

Only if there was overwhelming support for it. Anything less than that, no way. It's a can of orange worms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

It would be economic suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

We don't want them old man. They're your responsibility not ours, don't you dare try and destabilise our country with such talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

HE'S WRONG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭Beta Ray Bill

Theres quiet a few unionists who also seem to be coming around to that point of view also.

That's the big question for me.

Can we afford to have N.I back?
    Do we want the hassle that will come with it?

That being said, "Land" is the only thing they aren't making more of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

A timely reminder to the DUP of what awaits them if they don't support the Tory party in all things.

A true imbecile is our Jeremy. More likely Tory rebels will collapse government than the DUP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

I'm from the north but living in the republic now. Before Brexit I was happy with the status quo but probably would have supported a border poll and unification if it came up but it wasn't a major concern for me.

Now that Brexit is in full swing I would fully support unification provided there is overwhelming support and a solid roadmap as to how government would run and with EU funding to bring the north (and the rest of Ulster) up to some semblance of a modern standard.

Basically, the opposite of Brexit with well laid plans in advance of a border poll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Yes we should definitely be reunited with NI and the United Kingdom.

God save the .....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

He might be trying to set up a grand alliance - the Palestinians, IRA and the British Labor Party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Instead of taking it back can we give them Donegal and Dundalk.

Dangerous talk from this old loon.

Labour would want to keep a tighter leash on him.

Any sign of the centre leftists to wrestle back control from the Far left side of the party?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Hurrache wrote: »
    It would be economic suicide.

Perhaps.
    But would it be worth it in the long run? Can we get the EU to invest all the money they usually invest in the UK into just a unified NI?

I'd love to see a whole island Republic, but only if it could be achieved non-violently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

The problem I see is that reunification seems to be seen as some kind of end, or closure, to the whole story where in fact it would just open up a new round of unrest. Unionists won't want any part of it, since their entire sense of self appears to revolve around not being Irish, and we know that there are elements within unionism/loyalism that will resort to violence to express their disapproval. So we'd just be left with a mirror image of the old troubles; bombs in Dublin instead of London, and Irish soldiers being killed in the six counties instead of British ones. And the massive public spending that would go with it.

The only way I can see that being avoided is if the reunification is followed by ethnic cleansing of unionists and I couldn't support that, no matter how hard some unionist politicians appear to work at making that seem an acceptable proposition...

You can't just force 100s of thousands of people to abandon their culture and all their principles. They'll turn ape if anything like this was ever suggested.

We don't war. To me they're a different people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

eeguy wrote: »
    Perhaps.
    But would it be worth it in the long run? Can we get the EU to invest all the money they usually invest in the UK into just a unified NI?

I'd love to see a whole island Republic, but only if it could be achieved non-violently.

In the six counties there is no real natural resources or manufacturing base. They don't really produce anything or generate any economic activity to cover the cost for these one million people. One million people who are long accustomed to being subsidised and propped up.
    Even if these people decided to join with ROI would they be doing it on the basis that they have to tighten their belt. Get by with less. Or would they expect to subsidised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Theoretically unification makes sense : 2 states, 2 economies and 2 currencies on a small island is inherently inefficient. Ireland's distressed border region would do much better economically with the border gone.

Practically NI poses severe problems to a unified Ireland : its economic development lags behind ours and a sizable amount of people there would resist a unified Irish state through any means, including violence.

Without qualified majority support from all segments of the PUL community reunification would be a hazardous undertaking.

I can't see that happening anytime soon.
    Both the DUP and SF deliberately stir the pot on sectarian tensions at regular intervals. It's how they ensure one side of their support base doesn't F off to more moderate groups like Alliance or the SDLP and that the other doesn't shift support to hardliners like the Dissos or TUV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

He's not in a position to do something about it though or ever will be i firmly support the reunification of this island but people like Corbyn don't help matters perhaps he's best to concentrate on his own country post Brexit.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

DSNDXiQXkAAxKfR.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

lol

Make America Get Out of Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    In the six counties there is no real natural resources or manufacturing base. They don't really produce anything or generate any economic activity to cover the cost for these one million people.

They have a sizeable manufacturing heritage, some Marine industry and some defence/aerospace industry like Thales and Bombardier. Incidentally Raytheon set up in Derry for several years recently until Eamonn McCann's crew occupied the factory in some jobs-destroying protest about Israel.

Tbf any economy would take a hit from decades of low intensity conflict.

In addition NI was far more exposed to de-industrialisation than we were and its unlikely that it handled it any worse than many other peripheral parts of the UK affected by it.

NI has also reduced the portion of its employment provided by the state in recent years.

As a whole it has significant potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

I think a reunification poll in Northern Ireland would fail by 60/40. Many 'Catholics' would consider themselves better off in the UK.

Brexit might change that outlook. It remains to be seen.

In terms of the Republic of Ireland, a reunification poll should pass by 80/20. To be honest, it should be closer to 100/0. Some Irish people (like Scots) only think of their own pocket.

The West Germans knew that East Germany was a costly basket case in 1990, but their common bond was irrepressible. West Germany could never turn East Germany away over money. It was their dream to be united.... no matter the cost.

The yearning of Koreans is to be united also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

There was never a sizeable, majority even, portion of the population that didn't want to unify with west Germany or consider themselves ethnically different from. It was not the same situation at all.

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    In terms of the Republic of Ireland, a reunification poll should pass by 80/20. To be honest, it should be closer to 100/0. Some Irish people (like Scots) only think of their own pocket.

Nothing wrong with that.
    If given a choice of an additional 2% to 3% tax plus reunification -vs- no additional tax and a hard border.
    I'd be going for the Hard Border every time... Tax in Rep of Ireland is ridiculous at the moment.
    The West Germans knew that East Germany was a costly basket case in 1990, but their common bond was irrepressible. West Germany could never turn East Germany away over money. It was their dream to be united.... no matter the cost.

I think this is a little different, East considered themselves "occupied".
    and there was only around 45 years of separation. Culturally they were the same.

Ireland has been divided over twice that amount of time and those in the North don't share the same cultural identity that those in the south do. Nor do they consider themselves occupied. (That being said, there are those in the south that consider NI an occupied territory)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Brexit if it continues on its current path will lead to Irish reunification and Scottish Independence.
    There are a lot of concerns over what would happen if there was reunification, Northern Ireland is so much poorer than Ireland and overly dependent on public sector jobs, the massive budget deficit and the section of bigots in NI society, the kind who burn our flag...
    But then an all island economy would save money, there would be far more investment in the 6 counties and it would likely be short term pain for long term gain for all.
    It will soon be 100 years since the failed partition experiment started, the poorest region on the island is the bit that didn't get it's freedom from the UK,and with Brexit that won't be changing.
    There is more and more talk about a unified island of Ireland, whether it has majority support is questionable, but as we head further and further down the Brexit road, then the chance of reunification rises in my opinion, given it will make people a lot poorer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

grahambo wrote: »
    If given a choice of an additional 2% to 3% tax plus reunification -vs- no additional tax and a hard border.
    I'd be going for the Hard Border every time... Tax in Rep of Ireland is ridiculous at the moment.

As an Irishman, that's just so depressing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Before Brexit I didn't really support it given we were all in the EU and Westminster are paying for them, but since Brexit I have changed opinion, as it is a mess for everyone and things are so much easier and better for everyone if we are all as one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I think a reunification poll in Northern Ireland would fail by 60/40. Many 'Catholics' would consider themselves better off in the UK.

FFS why is Germany always dragged up as a comparison in this debate.
    Their situation is nothing like ROI and NI.
    There weren't people in East Germany who had a completely different ethnic outlook for hundreds of years and who wanted to remain with Soviet Union or as it became Russian Federation.

Also comparing the economic resources of West Germany to ROI is something a 6th class student shouldn't even consider.

And of course there is a pop that anyone who considers the economic fallout are tight Scottish penny pinchers just really re-enforces in my mind why I don't particularly like some who froth at the mouth at the idea of a united Ireland.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I expect the poll to go very pro unification as soon as the an organisation is aware of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

RobertKK wrote: »
    Before Brexit I didn't really support it given we were all in the EU and Westminster are paying for them, but since Brexit I have changed opinion, as it is a mess for everyone and things are so much easier and better for everyone if we are all as one.

Some seem to think the only issue is the border and that is what will have most effects.
    The much bigger issue is actual trade with Britain.
    Even if there is no border between North and South, but a border across the Irish sea it creates huge issues for Irish companies, SMEs in particular.

Every ship coming from or going to Britain will then have to go through customs with associated costs and time delays.
    All the freight destined for the continent that currently traverses Britain will be affected and if it goes direct to France that has associated costs and is more weather dependent.

If you are from the continent of Europe you can laugh at what a mess the Brits have created and what a mess they may make out of their economy.
    We sadly can't laugh at them because united Ireland or not we need the feckers for our economy.

I am not allowed discuss …

The only thing dividing the Germans was the communist government of the east once that fell there was no cultural obstacle to reunification unfortunately that isn't the case with NI so its not really a like for like comparison cultural differences between the 2 communities in NI are much deeper than it ever was between the Germans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Jayesdiem

I believe any unification would be financially supported by the Brits for a period as a type of “severance” pay. There is a lot of British guilt over the mess they created on this island. I would welcome reunification but it’s probably a way off yet.

Jayesdiem wrote: »
    I believe any unification would be financially supported by the Brits for a period as a type of “severance” pay. There is a lot of British guilt over the mess they created on this island. I would welcome reunification but it’s probably a way off yet.
    I doubt British tax payers would be too happy with that arrangement they would want to wash their hands of it as soon as possible in fact many of them do even now so they certainly won't be willing to help prop up somewhere which will no longer have anything to do with them.

As an Irishman, that's just so depressing.

Why?

I get it that a unified Ireland would be nice to have, but not at "any cost".
    Last time I checked 1 in 3 of people employed in NI are in the Public sector or their job relates to/depends on public sector.

NI has a population of 1.8 million people
    According to the NISRA website there is a total of 756,030 jobs in NI.
    So that's 756,030 jobs to support 1.8 million people.
    IE one Job supports 2.3 people (Kids, OAPs, Non-working partners, etc)

Private sector accounts for 549,340 jobs and public accounts for 206,690 jobs

If unification were to happen, those 206,690 jobs are gone. (there's more than enough people working in the public sector in the south to pick up the slack)
    Say even a quarter of those people managed to get a job somewhere else (which is v.optimistic btw)
    That still leaves a job shortage of 151,000. (Nearly 10% of the population)
    Unemployment in NI is already at 6%, we'd be talking around 15% unemployment rate.

The South* would have to support all those people.
    We can barely support the people we have now, so that means more Tax.
    No thanks... You can pay my share if it means that much to you. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Mutant z wrote: »
    I doubt British tax payers would be too happy with that arrangement they would want to wash their hands of it as soon as possible in fact many of them do even now so they certainly won't be willing to help prop up somewhere which will no longer have anything to do with them.

There not happy about the millions in severance they're paying to the EU but they'll still pony up.

jmayo wrote: »
    Some seem to think the only issue is the border and that is what will have most effects.
    The much bigger issue is actual trade with Britain.
    Even if there is no border between North and South, but a border across the Irish sea it creates huge issues for Irish companies, SMEs in particular.

Every ship coming from or going to Britain will then have to go through customs with associated costs and time delays.
    All the freight destined for the continent that currently traverses Britain will be affected and if it goes direct to France that has associated costs and is more weather dependent.

If you are from the continent of Europe you can laugh at what a mess the Brits have created and what a mess they may make out of their economy.
    We sadly can't laugh at them because united Ireland or not we need the feckers for our economy.

Jesus I just thought of something.... Parcel Motel!!!!
    THEY'LL BE F**KED!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭flatty

I can't believe what people are writing here. I'd happily pay 5% more tax to reunify the country. I'm appalled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

the loyalist paramilitarys would be armed to the teeth by the spooks if there was ever a hint of this coming to pass

Let's just enjoy this hard earned peace

You get a hard border you are going to lose the peace anyways though. But this time, The British establishment will not give a tuppeny's donkeys arse what sort of trouble is going on. The powers over there don't care what sort of infrastructure or society is being moulded up in the north of their own country, never mind what could be happening across the Irish sea. The small inner city Loyalist death squads won't be backed up by Tally Ho colonial-mindset British security spooks this time. Most of them lads are either dead or 98 years old now. The criminals will be on their own. Plus the farmers of a Unionist mindset up in the north won't be a wet weekend within a Brexit reality when they'll be demanding they want out once they see how it's going to decimate their pockets. Their already doing that as we speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

buried wrote: »
    You get a hard border you are going to lose the peace anyways though. But this time, The British establishment will not give a tuppeny's donkeys arse what sort of trouble is going on. The powers over there don't care what sort of infrastructure or society is being moulded up in the north of their own country, never mind what could be happening across the Irish sea. The small inner city Loyalist death squads won't be backed up by Tally Ho colonial-mindset British security spooks this time. Most of them lads are either dead or 98 years old now. They criminals will be on their own. Plus the farmers of a Unionist mindset up in the north won't be a wet weekend within a Brexit reality when they'll be demanding they want out once they see how it's going to decimate their pockets. Their already doing that as we speak

You want constant news reports every night about men from both sides of the divide being found up laneways and country roads with their heads blown off

I am old enough to remember this

Enough is enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Remember it needs support on both sides of the border. There was a time when people were more romantic about the idea of Nationhood. We are well down the route of Globalisation at this stage that economic arguments will likely trump all else when you get down to brass tax.

PAST - Majority in the Republic but not the North would like to see a United Ireland. The North is so much wealthier that it'd be economic suicide for them to reunify anyway.
    Somewhere in here a poll maybe has the best chance of passing
    FUTURE - Majority in the North but not the Republic would like to see a United Ireland. The Republic is so much wealthier that it'd be economic suicide for them to reunify.

You want constant news reports every night about men from both sides of the divide being found up laneways and country roads with their heads blown off

I am old enough to remember this

Enough is enough

Chillax the pants Sept man, I don't want to see that $hit either. But I'm resigned to the fact there will be a hard border, and that happens it will kick off again.

This is the nature and result of the grim situation our island has been landed in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Jayesdiem wrote: »

There is no british guilt about the mess they made here, its very conveniently skipped over in their school curriculum and because of that the vast majority of english people have zero clue about it so i seriously i doubt there would be any public support for a kind of severance package as you call it

What's the point of reunification

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,515 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

flatty wrote: »
    I can't believe what people are writing here. I'd happily pay 5% more tax to reunify the country. I'm appalled.

I pay enough tax thanks very much, if NI want back in they need to figure out how to pay their own way.