The 8th amendment referendum - part 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

TL17 wrote: »
    Why. Would it upset you
    Go look up videos of knee replacement surgery.

Violent, gruesome and disturbing doesn't begin to describe it.

Why someone thinks watching videos of a surgical procedure is a good idea is beyond me. Unless you're a student doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭railer201

Harris played a blinder tonight - no bullsh1t - just called it as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭tigger123

Harris barn-stormed that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

pjohnson wrote: »
    Her, Cora, McGuirk, Waters......I gotta say I really enjoy the no side. I really doubt its for the reason they want mind :pac:

Waters in particular is brilliant, I'd love to go for a pint with him, he's as mad as a sack of monkeys on cocaine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,096 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

The No side were calling him out for months. Turns out he was being kept to spring from the bench in injury time and burst the back of the net. Jokes on them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

Larbre34 wrote: »
    The No side were calling him out for months. Turns out he was being kept to spring from the bench in injury time and burst the back of the net. Jokes on them...

And where the fúck where they when Harris turned up???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,784 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

seamus wrote: »
    TL17 wrote: »
    Why. Would it upset you

Why someone thinks watching videos of a surgical procedure is a good idea is beyond me. Unless you're a student doctor.
    Or you see it everyday. It's not the worst thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,751 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Do we really think she did... Or was it a soundbite for the telly

Hmm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,799 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

No side had their foots in their mouths from the get go. One after another they were rebutted and ran into brick walls when trying to tease out the logic of ther position. Healy Eames being a case in point, but you also had Trevor, Peadar and Anscough delivering too.

Sherlock and Steen know the game is over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭tigger123

Anyone any idea why the No side are backing out of these debates?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,798 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Brilliant! Delighted with that. Harris played a blinder.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    So Simon Harris is Steve heighway ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭uptherebels

tigger123 wrote: »

Damage limitation, won't sink faster if you stop making the hole bigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Peader Tobin hasn't been good tonight but at least he had the balls to stand behind his opinion - I don't agree with his No opinion but at least he turned up

I thought he boxed clever to be honest. Their not trying to switch voters at this stage their aiming at the undecided.
    I would imagine most undecided are people who are to some degree anti abortion, its a which is the lesser of two evils - allowing abortion or exporting the problem and not providing the care many women need.
    Tobin aimed constantly to present repealing the eight as killing an unborn child and Harris let him away with it.
    Rather than getting into a debate as to when a foetus becomes a child or when it deserves human rights Harris concentrated on providing care to women, controlling our own problems, trusting women to do the right thing etc.

Thought both did very well but perhaps Harris a little better, I did think Miriam came across as less than impartial at times and often using emotive language to Harris.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

RobertKK wrote: »
    So Simon Harris says the greatest protector of the unborn are mothers as he wants to bring in abortion to allow more unborn to be not born.

Abortion is already in. Women are already getting abortions. Voting no won't stop this from happening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Because they realized Steen is their best debater so they sneakily pulled Cora Sherlock and hoped they can replace her with Maria Steen. RTE said they are not going to play games and that Steen was already on the programme last week so she is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,798 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

When you figure you're about to lose you set it up to scream conspiracy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭AlexisM

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Hmm..
    She wrote in the Irish Times a few months ago that, as a 15 year old she held her mother's miscarried 13 week old foetus.  What mother allows THAT?

As someone said, the most logical reason is that they think that by staying quiet now the Yes voters will get complacent and not turn out on the day, assuming it to be a done deal.

I think it'll be close enough as elections and referendums tend to bring out the older more conservative voters in droves, whereas many younger people can't be bothered with the effort - someone else will do it. Be grand!

Regardless of what side you come down on, it's important you get out on Friday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,096 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Because its going very very badly for them and they are scrambling to put together a recovery strategy that they have about 36 hours to deliver?

And of course it will be painted as the broadcasters' fault.

The edifice doth crumble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Peader Tobin hasn't been good tonight but at least he had the balls to stand behind his opinion - I don't agree with his No opinion but at least he turned up

Thought he started well but faced, still i thought he did allright and im a Yes voter but as you say at least he's prepared to defend his pov, seems genuine enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,644 ✭✭✭swampgas

Because when put on the spot in a live debate on TV in front of the country, they can't run away from the hard questions. Rape. FFA.

And when asked the hard questions, they won't give an answer, because they know their answer is simply unacceptable to most of their audience.

They're morally bankrupt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,809 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Hmm..

Actually I've heard the same "I saw a video of an abortion and its horrific" from the No side before so possibly out of their handbook.

More debate on TV3 with Ivan and Matt.

I can't wait till its a Yes on SAturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,900 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

AlexisM wrote: »
    She wrote in the Irish Times a few months ago that, as a 15 year old she held her mother's miscarried 13 week old foetus.  What mother allows THAT?

One that creates a Katie Ascough.....nuff said.

AlexisM wrote: »

I think she has a very active imagination and a proven record of being somewhat economical with the truth.. Can't imagine any mother allowing a young teen to do something like that?

But if it's true.. Jaysus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

Starting to realise they were misled and want to change their mind ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 430 ✭✭6am7f9zxrsjvnb

No side had their foots in their mouths from the get go. One after another they were rebutted and ran into brick walls when trying to tease out the logic of ther position. Healy Eames being a case in point, but you also had Trevor, Peadar and Anscough delivering too.

Sherlock and Steen know the game is over.

Another win for the No side , although not as comprehensive as the last one.

Harris came across like a smarmy transition year student In a school debate.

This will be close.

Lads if you haven't already had enough debate about the. 8th amendment Micheal Healy Rae is on the tonight show on tv3.

DOS wrote: »
    She was informing herself. Nothing wrong with that.

give her a few years and she'll be like the mad mother in CARRIE!! between her and Maria FRANKEN-steen, I dont know who's worse.

Oh wait the dodgy smarmy bearded LAWYER!! He's a repeat attendee, should change his name from Lorcan to LURKING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,904 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

DOS wrote: »
    An absolute embarrassment of a human being.

She was informing herself. Nothing wrong with that.
    No, she wasn't. She was trying to conjure up a particularly gruesome image to influence voters. You know, just in case they thought an abortion consisted of everyone sitting around singing kum bay ya and cracking open the champers.

She has made similar claims before, so I'm not sure where this concept of owing it to herself in the last few weeks is coming from.