Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How illegal is mace

• 13-05-2018 6:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭

I know of a fella who got a tin of mace for his wife because he lives near a killer.
    So he says anyway.
    What would happen her if she got caught with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Once they pay their taxes, I think they're grand.

I got a dodgy roll in the deli there a few weeks ago..seemed like something was off there alright..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Conservatory

Once they pay their taxes, I think they're grand.

Legal advice from outlaw Pete would be a great name for an album.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

By who? the killer or the gards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I know of a fella who got a tin of mace for his wife because he lives near a killer.
    So he says anyway.

Hi again...

As a spray it is illegal under the Firearms Act with up to five years in prison for possession, although it's usually a fine.

As a spice it's great with Sea Bass

I got a dodgy roll in the deli there a few weeks ago..seemed like something was off there alright..

You think it had a can of mace in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You think it had a can of mace in it?

No, the deli was in Mace.:rolleyes:

Must have been a big can to fit a whole deli in it.
    The police would spot that a mile away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Article on it......
    Protecting yourself with pepper spray is illegal and that's not changing

Justice Minister Frances Fitzgerald confirmed last week that there are no plans to allow members of the public use pepper spray for personal protection.

Pepper spray is banned under the 1925 Firearms Act which prohibits the manufacture, possession or sale of “weapons discharging noxious liquids”.

Conviction for carrying pepper spray is considered a misdemeanour offence and could lead to five years in prison but a fine is the much more likely sentence.

Labour TD Derek Nolan asked the Justice Minister in the Dáil last week were there any plans to change the law to allow members of the public the use of pepper spray for civil protection.

But the Justice Minister shot down the suggestion, referring to 2009 garda guidelines which states that people cannot be granted a firearms licence for personal protection.

“The protection of life and property is a function of the Garda Síochána and civilians are only entitled to use reasonable force to protect themselves and their property,” the minister said. “The combined effect of this means that there is no justification for seeking to possess a firearm for purposes of personal protection or protection of property.

“As personal protection is the only reason for a person to acquire pepper spray, it follows that a firearm certificate is unlikely to be granted for pepper spray.”

“I do not envisage amending the legislation to permit the use of pepper spray for civil protection,” she added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Those f**king TV adverts of theirs should be illegal. Cartoon Smiley faced bopping fat bastard dancing to buying a coffee. Every time I see them I want to put both my feet thru the screen

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭tawnyowl

So he says anyway.

Looks like it's prohibited under the Firearms Act http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1925/act/17/enacted/en/print#sec1
    the expression “prohibited weapon” means and includes any weapon of whatever description designed for the discharge of any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing, and also any ammunition (whether for any such weapon as aforesaid or for any other weapon) which contains or is designed or adapted to contain any noxious liquid, noxious gas, or other noxious thing;

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

Prices are higher than larger supermarkets, not criminal tho

But surely if you explained a rapey murderer was living on the road they’d look the other way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

It's classed as a firearm. Be in pretty big trouble if caught with it. At least 1 week suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Mace will mace you good....

A baseball bat with a nail or Lucille with her barbed wire wrapped around the bat much better....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

Who is the killer out of curiosity?

A baseball bat with a nail or Lucille with her barbed wire wrapped around the bat much better....

Cause they're totally legal....

It's classed as a firearm. Be in pretty big trouble if caught with it. At least 1 week suspended.

Maybe he should give her a pad saw and she can then tell the guards she is On her way to cut some plasterboard.

This is what he should get her, if he finds one will ya let us know where?

50zqwbO.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

I eh, had a can off it. Decided to spray it one day for the lols.
    In my sitting room.
    No one loled:(

Tell your friends wife not to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Mace ? So tame :pac:

2i134zk.jpg

Discodog wrote: »
    Mace ? So tame :pac:

What the hell is that? Combination lightsaber/plasma torch?

I’d say it’s likely somebody will form a mob to run him out of the place. When it was rumored a certain Murphy lad was there a mob formed and a house searched. He wasn’t even there.

This fella is being reported in the papers in there and has been seen regularly in the local shopping center.

I’m a bit not bothered there’s rapers and murderers every area but a newspaper rapey murderer always brings hysteria. I’ll probably join the mob in a spectator sort of way though. Just to see what’s happening.

wexie wrote: »
    What the hell is that? Combination lightsaber/plasma torch?

It's actually described as an anti pervert flamethrower :pac:

Joking aside one of the weed burning blowtorches from Lidl/Aldi is a great personal protection weapon for the home.

You have a legitimate use - it's great for lighting fires.

Turned upside down it will produce a long bright flame

And no scumbag will be able to get hold of it - red hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 832 ✭✭✭studdlymurphy

I think its only a little bit illegal.....

It’s now got me thinking.
    If kids in school are getting lessons on how not to rape why aren’t rapey murderers?
    Surely these are the people that need to be told not to do the old raping.
    Maybe if this guy just spent an hour getting told about consent we could sort everything out. Well apart from the murdering that would probably need another lesson on how not to be a murderer

Funnily enough I joined this website to get advice on insulating my conservatory. Nobody replied but I ended up ending rape and murder as long as we have classrooms.

Discodog wrote: »
    Joking aside one of the weed burning blowtorches from Lidl/Aldi is a great personal protection weapon for the home.

You have a legitimate use - it's great for lighting fires.

Turned upside down it will produce a long bright flame

And no scumbag will be able to get hold of it - red hot.

Bit clunky and hard to get out of the handbag. I’d hate the raper to get his hands on it and use it against me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

It's not illegal to race mice

Car99 wrote: »
    It's not illegal to race mice

We can give them little bicycles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,801 ✭✭✭iamtony

Who is the killer out of curiosity?

I'm gona guess this guy.Check out @sundayworld’;s Tweet: https://twitter.com/sundayworld/status/995433388520681472?s=09 Has been seen around coolock and people are saying he is in the pace unit called priorswood House. Not Confirmed where he is but the Sunday world say a North Dublin institute.

iamtony wrote: »
    I'm gona guess this guy. Has been seen around coolock and people are saying he is in the pace unit called priorswood House. Not Confirmed where he is but the Sunday world say a North Dublin institute.

Jesus man now the police will be searching every woman’s handbag in coolock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

My da is a taxi man, he has a can of mace for protection and has used it twice since ever getting it. (Over 15 years)

Now for my da he would only use it unless he felt his life was in serious danger (crowd of youths tried robbing his car, one with a knife and another yob who had muscles on muscles choking his neck from behind because he was high on coke and took my da up wrong on something)
    While I trust my da to use it, regardless of the law id rather he had it to keep him safe.
    I think the law is right not to allow any citizen to have it on them. I could see it been used on petty things, like when people are having an argument in public. or been used in a busy club when some bright fuker has a great idea and sprays it once in the air.

Like I said I'd trust my da to have it, but if hes caught with it, he knows the penalties. But I could see it been wrongly used more times then right. There is just to many ejits out there that would ruin it for the people that would use it for serious life threatening situations only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Better to be judged by twelve than carried by six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Better to be judged by twelve than carried by six.

Amen

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I love the thread title , 'how illegal...'. Well, it's quite illegal, 35% illegal, somewhat illegal, partially illegal, more or less illegal....

AllForIt wrote: »
    I love the thread title , 'how illegal...'. Well, it's quite illegal, 35% illegal, somewhat illegal, partially illegal, more or less illegal....

I’ve always been a bit of a renegade. Nct is only kind of illegal. I wouldn’t be pushed to take a day off work to get one. Rape and murder is very illegal. Suppose it’s a moral issue rather than a black and white issue.
    What would the punishment really be and is it worth taking the risk in the event a rapist gets you before the police.
    I doubt a woman being attacked has ever said “well at least I didn’t get a 500 euro fine for being caught with mace”

Maybe wealthy people flout laws a bit more because they can afford the fines so their idea of how illegal something is changes to whether they have had a good week or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Must not have been made by a man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

It's not illegal to have pepper spray for culinary use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Glass fused light

It's not illegal to have pepper spray for culinary use.

If the wife is packing salt, and a nice steak in her handbag, she could throw in the steak knife too;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

If the wife of this "man you know" is attacked and uses the mace, do you think it would matter whether or not it is illegal?
    If she was, for some reason, stopped and searched by the Gardaí (and unless she is or looks like a drug dealer, why would she be?), and she said "oh that? shure I was attacked by a dog a few months ago, and am terrified by them since, that's why I have that" do you think she'd get in a lot of trouble?

I know a fella that carries a fairly substantial knife about with him. If and when he has to account for it, he will tell the questioner the truth - he once had to cut down a man that had hung himself, and if he ever has to do so again, he doesn't want to have to root through a strangers kitchen in the dark looking for a knife to do so.

Context is everything.

Gravelly wrote: »
    If the wife of this "man you know" is attacked and uses the mace, do you think it would matter whether or not it is illegal?
    If she was, for some reason, stopped and searched by the Gardaí (and unless she is or looks like a drug dealer, why would she be?), and she said "oh that? shure I was attacked by a dog a few months ago, and am terrified by them since, that's why I have that" do you think she'd get in a lot of trouble?

I know a fella that carries a fairly substantial knife about with him. If and when he has to account for it, he will tell the questioner the truth - he once had to cut down a man that had hung himself, and if he ever has to do so again, he doesn't want to have to root through a strangers kitchen in the dark looking for a knife to do so.

Context is everything.

Yes she will. You can't legally get mace in this country so it was illegally imported. She can be as frightened as she wants of dogs, cats or bears attacks, but she would be as well off arguing why she has a sawn-off shotgun in her bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

A firearm, what?
    Pepper spray is banned under the 1925 Firearms Act which prohibits the manufacture, possession or sale of “weapons discharging noxious liquids”.

How is mace a firearm but deodorant is fine?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,653 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

OK, so the government's argument is that it's illegal because it's defined as illegal in the law.

Fantastic, I'm sure folks all over Ireland are ecstatic. Isn't the purpose of asking the question to prompt a re-evaluation of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

A firearm, what?

It's in the same class for law.

It wouldn't be a good idea for ordinary folk to have access but security, ambulance, fire could definitely do with it. Obviously Garda do have gas so they are covered but they need to move with the times and need tazers.

A firearm, what?

Apparently deodorant is being used to self harm the joys of the Internet
    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aerosol_burn

Anyway with the mace
    Close kitchen doors and windows.
    Take out your frying pan.
    place on medium heat on your cooker.
    grind pepper mill over pan until it is lightly covered with ground pepper
    take a seat at kitchen table, and watch the smoke rise from the pan...

Edit don't do this right now if it will set off your fire alarm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

Just get one and carry it in her bag. Should she ever use it on a scumbag , just say he had it and she got hold of it and sprayed him

vladmydad wrote: »
    Just get one and carry it in her bag. Should she ever use it on a scumbag , just say he had it and she got hold of it and sprayed him

That may lead the attacker to then say you were the attacker. He tried to use his mace but you took it off him and beat him with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭vladmydad

But it’s for OP’s wife , so they’d hardly believe some women went and attacked a guy with mase

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Gravelly wrote: »

Context is everything.

Hopefully he finds a sympathetic Garda because it's possible to purpose designed knives nowadays for ligatures.
    Paramedics, firemen , Gardai are starting to carry them