Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unisex toilets- yay/nay?

• 13-04-2018 1:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Sorry if this thread has been done before, I don't remember one.
    After watching The Cutting Edge debate on the concept of a one stop jacks for all, it got me thinking how comfortable I'd be sharing toilet space with you male species (I'm the drip dry gender in case you're wondering).
    Vogue Williams states she'd be OK with it because although the space would be communal, everyone has their own cubicle.
    I'm against the idea for the following reasons:

1. Safety. Especially in pub/nightclub scenarios when people are drunk/on the harder stuff. You could be vulnerable to a sexual assault in an area which is I assume is out of bounds for security.

2. Promiscuity. It could become the cheap option for a hookup without the hotel bill. Who wants to be in the stall beside that?

3. Privacy. What woman would feel comfortable trying to quietly change her sanitary wear knowing there's a man on the other side of the stall?
    What man wants to use the condom machine when the woman he's banking on bringing home could walk in?
    Would women feel comfortable fixing their hair/make-up/twisted bra strap in a mirror with a bloke's reflection in the background?

4. Finally, hygiene. Do I really want to use a cubicle after Mick from accounts who has been on the Guinness since 4pm has been in there?

Yay or nay for you, drip-dry and shake-dry people?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Nay because it'll likely reduce urinal availability and slow everything down. Other than that don't really care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

1. Safety. Especially in pub/nightclub scenarios when people are drunk/on the harder stuff. You could be vulnerable to a sexual assault in an area which is I assume is out of bounds for security.
    Surely one is more likely to suffer such an assault somewhere one is with less people, not more?
    an area which is I assume is out of bounds for security.
    Why would this be?
    2. Promiscuity. It could become the cheap option for a hookup without the hotel bill. Who wants to be in the stall beside that?
    Some people do that anyway.
    3. Privacy. What woman would feel comfortable trying to quietly change her sanitary wear knowing there's a man on the other side of the stall?
    How is anyone going to know what she is doing?
    4. Finally, hygiene. Do I really want to use a cubicle after Mick from accounts who has been on the Guinness since 4pm has been in there?
    Previous comments on boards are that female toilets are on average worse than male toilets.

Sorry if this thread has been done before, I don't remember one.
    After watching The Cutting Edge debate on the concept of a one stop jacks for all, it got me thinking how comfortable I'd be sharing toilet space with you male species (I'm the drip dry gender in case you're wondering).
    Vogue Williams states she'd be OK with it because although the space would be communal, everyone has their own cubicle.
    I'm against the idea for the following reasons:

What man wants to use the condom machine when the woman he's banking on bringing home could walk in?
    Would women feel comfortable fixing their hair/make-up/twisted bra strap in a mirror with a bloke's reflection in the background?

Yay or nay for you, drip-dry and shake-dry people?

Absolutely completely against this daft idea of shared toilets. If its not broken dont fix it. A few leftist retards are pushing this agenda on us because they are running out of ways to fill the days of their sad pathetic little lives.

I wouldn't presently feel comfortable for one going to the toilet in a cubicle even when there is a male presence nearby let alone a female one. Is anything sacred anymore or do stupid people just want to continuously come up with ways of setting the world ablaze and enjoying it burn? :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Pretty much as victor said. But also as tip gunner. Piss wherever you want, just dont waste money converting or installing additional toilets.  Just leave things alone. "outrage"  has turned into a few saps on twitter.
    Sure theres a unisex jacks in your home already :P

Slunk wrote: »
    Pretty much as victor said. Sure theres a unisex jacks in your home already :P

Yes but everyone isnt in it at once id bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

I'm an equal-opportunity-piss-all-over-the-seater person meself. Couldn't care less who is coming in after me. Deal with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,935 ✭✭✭donegal_man

At least one publican I know is all in favour of the idea for the simple reason that there will be only one room on the premises rather than two. He reckons he'd save a fortune over the course of the year on cleaning costs. One of the regulars suggested he'd lose it having hose down and paint the outside wall with the number of lads using it when the cubicles were in use all night by the ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Sure aren't most Male toilets Unisex once the first person leaves the queue for the Ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Unisex
    [Noun]
    What the students do be getting up to between lectures.

According to numerous porn research sites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Del2005 wrote: »
    Sure aren't most Male toilets Unisex once the first person leaves the queue for the Ladies.

I thought it was only women who did that!

I can't remember what city I was in- possibly Nice, and it was my only encounter with a unisex toilet.
    My guard was up and I literally ran in and out.
    It was a weird feeling.
    Yes of course at home we share bathrooms but with strangers it's different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Will there be troughs/urinals for men to stand and pee? If so, would women be happy seeing dripping knobs being shook? Also, will there be really strong ventilation for beer soaked crap fumes?

Personally, as a male, I couldn't give a damn if there was a woman in the next stall changing her monthly stuff or a trans applying makeup at the mirror but they better not complain about the smell of day old Guinness. If they do then they are sexist :D

FanadMan wrote: »
    Will there be troughs/urinals for men to stand and pee? If so, would women be happy seeing dripping knobs being shook? Also, will there be really strong ventilation for beer soaked crap fumes?

Personally, as a male, I couldn't give a damn if there was a woman in the next stall changing her monthly stuff or a trans applying makeup at the mirror but they better not complain about the smell of day old Guinness. If they do then they are sexist :D

Urinals are just breeding ground for filth and germs imo.
    They should be banned for men's toilets never mind unisex ones.
    I still shudder remembering the few times as a student and bursting to pee, sneaking into the men's. The smell from the urinal cesspit would sober you up and fast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I thought i wouldnt care either way but the more i think about it the more i think i might worry about safety. Not for myself. Im well able to look after myself. But what about teen girls/young women/a vunerable female? Would it always be safe for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,454 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Victor wrote: »

How is anyone going to know what she is doing?

If you've found a way to silently open a tampon or sanitary towel wrapper please let us know. Ditto on removing the previous one from your underwear without making a sound. Oh wait, you're a man and have no clue what you're talking about. Everyone knows. I feel self conscious enough when it's only women, if there were guys in there I just wouldn't do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

There's one in the Lighthouse Cinema. Feels weird tbh. You could cut the tension in there with a knife. I was in it recently waiting for a cubicle and the noises coming from one of the stalls were disgusting. I was sure some truck driver was going to emerge but no, a total babe walked out. I was shocked for a few moments, didn't know what to make of it, but then I naturally started fapping like a mad man.

The Loose Women give their two cents...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

On these threads someone always says something like "my bathroom at home is unisex" or "you don't worry about not having male and female toilets in your house do you".

To preempt that, only one person at a time uses the bathroom in my house. I tend not to invite women around around so we can defecate and urinate next to each other. Nor do I go around to my female friends houses and walk into their bathroom while they're on the toilet saying "can you move over there, I'm desperate for a shite".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Where I live, lucky to find any toilets. Bushes and ruined houses are grand ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

No problem with them at all.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It's all about tolerance and being right-on until some lad staggers in with a gallon and a half of Harp on board and backs out a load into the ceramic urinal....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,301 ✭✭✭✭banie01

What always suprises me about this debate when it pops up, is the vehemence of certain cohorts in denouncing it.

Its almost as of every home in the country has single sex toilets...
    God forbid theres ever a return to Outhouses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 771 ✭✭✭HappyAsLarE

The jacks is the one place we can go on a night out to get away from the fairer gender...don’t take that away.

Yea/nay
    I vote nay anyway, I like things the way they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Time would be a major factor. Flash (the sloth from Zootropolis) is faster than any woman in a bathroom.

Also.... there are 3 billion women in the world... None of them are the same. So why should their pads be?

As a result, we will need vending machines capable of hosting 3 billion different tailored pads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

The line often used in these threads is I always had a unisex toilet at home. It's different in public in my opinion.
    Some smaller shops/business only have one toilet. You go in and do your business in private and leave. Most people I know have no issue with this set up.
    I've being to clubs/shopping centers/etc and most men go in do their business/wash their hands and leave. Women tough in my experience can spend ages between sanitary ware in the cubicle and then hair/make up at the sink/mirror. Guys in my experience don't want to do this. This is why there's nearly always a queue for the ladies.
    On night my female friends also went to toilets for a private chat and the odd time to get away from a guy who was coming on to heavy. Guys can also go just avoid a woman for a few minutes.
    I did clean hotel toilets before women one's were generally messier. Due to make-up stains/and sanitary ware. Whilst the guys might have a bit of piss on the floor but that's easily wiped up. But toilets in shopping centers are cleaned a lot more than the past.
    I don't think urinals should be banned I know some say put them behind a wall but a woman could easily get exposed in a night club situation. Even if the urinal was behind a wall. They'd be a lot off hassle in a very busy night club if there was only cubicles.
    Now is a business/public/state buildings want to install unisex toilets. I've no issue with this but I think they should install ladies and gents also.
    One thing I don't like is disabled/accessibility toilets being turned into unisex/transgender toilets. These toilets are in place for people who may be in a wheel chair, have issues with joints,need assistance for carers/people with a condition such as crohns disease. I don't like this precedent being set.

I was in a pub in England which had unisex toilets. The story was that someone had been told that the toilets there were unusual but hadn't been told what it was.
    He landed up to the toilet saw the big round steel urinal out in the middle and thought it was odd but did his business. It was the sink.
    The urinal was around a corner.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Unisex toilets at the cliffs of moher visitor center. And I don't mean pissing over the edge. Didn't think too much of it, the woman after me though might have been poisoned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,222 ✭✭✭circadian

Plenty of unisex toilets dotted around Yorkshire when I was living there. This was over 10 years ago at this point. Didn't seem to be a big issue and the whole doing makeup/taking up space and time seemed to be reduced somewhat.

I used to do bar work and after the doors were closed the female toilets were usually in a worse state than the mens. Yes men piss all over the place but some hot water, a big mop and bleach sorts that easily.

Leaving bog roll, sanitary towels and Christ knows what else all over the floor is a much harder cleanup.

When I covered in bars that had more metal heads, the toilets were always in a much better state than a shirts and dresses type bar. Make of that what you will.

Anyway, unisex toilets. Don't think they should be mandatory or anything but I don't mind using one if that's what is available.

I HATE public toilets and avoid whenever I can. YUKk1!1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Unisex toilets on planes, this is an outrage.

Someone should do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I don’t get why people fear being in a toilet that a person of the opposite sex has been in or think it’s an issue to change sanitary towels with a man in the next cubicle. The privacy is the exact same.

Also, find it bizzare that people think that women would suddenly become vulnerable to sex attacks. This is all part of the fear mongering that exists nowadays that has parents believing the world is full of paedophiles everywhere and as a result their children don’t play outside or grow a bit streetwise.

Men who will be in a toilet will not be a sex attacker, they’ll be just going to the toilet. If they have drink on them, they are not more likely to rape a woman. Normal people just don’t behave that way.

A sex fiend is going to have behave badly regardless and unisex toilets are not going to affect the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Graces7 wrote: »
    I HATE public toilets and avoid whenever I can. YUKk1!1

Toilets in bars and restaurants are not really public and I don't believe you can always avoid them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,318 ✭✭✭dan786

My work has all 3 types. Mens and Women's and then a Unisex one also.

I personally prefer using the Men's one , its less awkward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

dan786 wrote: »
    My work has all 3 types. Mens and Women's and then a Unisex one also.

I personally prefer using the Men's one , its less awkward.

Proper order. Nothing worse than being in a unisex toilet facility and seeing a bird you’d love to bone heading into a cubicle beside the one you intend to use. Especially if you’ve had a heavy session on the porter the night before. Can’t relax and pinch off a length of spine in that scenario. Even worse is if there’s a bang off it that would knock a bull elephant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

No issue with them, as long as separate ladies' and gents' toilets are provided too.

You mention nightclubs. Actually I used to be amazed - I got over it - how quickly toilets become unisex in night clubs and music festivals when demand gets high. At some point - almost invariably when demand is high - women just start marching into the mens rooms anyway.

Probably not a safe assumption. Especially given security did indeed escort me out of a toilet twice in my college life and had no qualms about entering. The first was in the male toilets when I was in being - intimate - with a girl. The second was from the female toilets where a friend dragged me for a private moment of chat about an issue she was seriously emotional about - nothing untoward at all. In both cases security marched right in and removed me.

Also since you are doubling the throughput of people through the room in question essentially this can have a positive effect not negative on security. Also men are meant to be the strong gender. So their presence in general is a positive in defending against the illegal activities of other men.

All that said though I have been in some night clubs - in the UK and mainland Europe - where the toilet wall between the nightclub and the toilet was one way glass. And I think all nightclubs should have to do that if possible. It means no one outside can see in but people inside can see out. And while consciously you know this - people seem to be rendered more moral by even the _feeling_ that the people outside can see in. And people just seem to do everything more morally including treating with respect - and even cleaning up - the facilities they use afterwards. A bit like those experiments where even the picture of a pair of human eyes on a wall had significant implications on the moral actions of the people being studied.

As the first story above - and many others I have witnessed - it seems this is already an issue. So I do not expect Unisex toilets to compound it all that much. Genitals find a way to get together regardless of arbitrary divides on rooms.
    3. Privacy. What woman would feel comfortable trying to quietly change her sanitary wear knowing there's a man on the other side of the stall? What man wants to use the condom machine when the woman he's banking on bringing home could walk in?

Surely that is their issue and their own hang ups? I do not think we need to set policy to accommodate the personal hang-ups of the shy or obsessive or the prude.

Further if we have societal hang ups about things like sanitary wear and contraception then I am all for any move that undermines that. The question for me is not "Should we have unisex toilets if it makes some bloke uncomfortable obtaining condoms" it is "What can we fix in society that leads anyone to feel uncomfortable doing what is otherwise a mature and useful and respectful cautionary measure?". Fix the problem rather than be hampered by it.

It is amazing how hung up people do get about their basic bodily functions though. I think I heard somewhere there is a product popular in china - or japan - that women use to make noise in the cubicle. The idea being that somehow the noise of urinating is so shameful that you need an electronic product to drown it out - so to speak.

_Someone_ has to use it. So I am not seeing much of an overall hygiene impact related to what gender the next person using it turns out to be. Having had the experience of going into clean toilets in bars and similar over the years however I have to report that regardless of location - invariably - the women's cubicles were noticeably and by far the worst ones to have to clean up after. I genuinely do not even know how women manage to spread it around so much without the assistance of the hose nozzle we have - but man you guys must be creative :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I have unisex toilets in my house - seems to work fine:D

I honestly can not see why we need to have some form of piss pot gender segregation - it's absolute nonsense, it serves zero purpose, drives up costs and uses up valuable space.

No issue with them, as long as separate ladies' and gents' toilets are provided too.

What in the name of god would be the point of that? The whole idea is to need less toilets, not more ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

What in the name of god would be the point of that? The whole idea is to need less toilets, not more ffs!

I thought they were for people who were transgender and had issues with using the toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Not everybody is comfortable with it. Whether you believe their fear rational or not is irrelevant. Most busy public buildings require more, not fewer, toilets anyway.

Urinals are just breeding ground for filth and germs imo.

As a man who never uses them except in moments of dire need - I would not really miss them either to be honest. I do 99.5% of my weeing sitting down.
    FanadMan wrote: »
    Will there be troughs/urinals for men to stand and pee? If so, would women be happy seeing dripping knobs being shook?

Interestingly enough I have been using men's toilets all my life - given that I am a man - and I have yet to see _one_ example of what you speak. Unless you are actively _trying_ to see the penis of another man - you generally just do not see one. And even then the level of effort required does not guarantee a glimpse I would imagine.
    There's one in the Lighthouse Cinema. Feels weird tbh. You could cut the tension in there with a knife.

Likely because it is currently far from the done thing. Were it a normal thing however most people would not bat an eye lid. If we lived in a society of unisex toilets - it would be the people suggesting a division that would be looked at as the weird ones.
    To preempt that, only one person at a time uses the bathroom in my house. I tend not to invite women around around so we can defecate and urinate next to each other.

That makes me think however that there is another discussion to be had. Not on gendered or unisex toilets - but on the concept of having _any_ shared toilet space at all.

The last - I dunno - ten or so restaurants I have been had anything from 1 to 5 individual toilets. Just like you would have in a home. I guess it is just concerns of economics and architecture that gives us the shared room with cubicles layout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

It we all use communal toilets every day, at home, filling stations, coffee shops.

I’d be more interested in clean well kept toilets rather than what sign is on the door.

Irish people have shocking hangups regarding their toilet habits.

When I see these threads I think of France. I’ve often seen communal toilets with urinals and stalls, where nobody cares what you use and ladies are in and out using stalks and sinks while men use urinals. I was in a public toilet once and a lady walked in chatting to her husband, she continued to chat away to him as he used thenurinal beside me and then off they went chatting all the time, she didn’t use the toilets at all. We were at a bus station where the irinals were on the outside wall of the station with a wee panel for “privacy”.

Relax folks, it’s a toilet, we all pee and poop.

**i take the security issue raised by op for nightclubs**

murpho999 wrote: »
    Toilets in bars and restaurants are not really public and I don't believe you can always avoid them.

As I never frequent bars or restaurants not an issue.. rarely tesco or dunne's. All are by definition public

Not everybody is comfortable with it. Whether you believe their fear rational or not is irrelevant. Most busy public buildings require more, not fewer, toilets anyway.

Not really - they generally have a surplus of male toilets and a shortage of female. Unless you're talking about nightclubs where the queue for the mens cubicles would have you questioning if there was an outbreak of dysentery (I wonder why that is:D)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Amazing people can't seem to understand the difference between a toilet designed for one person at a time vs large communal toilets designed for multiple people at once.

_Brian wrote: »
    It we all use communal toilets every day, at home, filling stations, coffee shops.

I’d be more interested in clean well kept toilets rather than what sign is on the door.

Irish people have shocking hangups regarding their toilet habits.

When I see these threads I think of France. I’ve often seen communal toilets with urinals and stalls, where nobody cares what you use and ladies are in and out using stalks and sinks while men use urinals. I was in a public toilet once and a lady walked in chatting to her husband, she continued to chat away to him as he used thenurinal beside me and then off they went chatting all the time, she didn’t use the toilets at all. We were at a bus station where the irinals were on the outside wall of the station with a wee panel for “privacy”.

Relax folks, it’s a toilet, we all pee and poop.

**i take the security issue raised by op for nightclubs**

Once drove around a bend on a road in France to find a couple on the verge,both pooping on the grass....and there were then stlll eg garages with loos that were holes in the earth behind the door

If i know I am going out that day I am very very careful what I drink so as to avoid public toilets,

banie01 wrote: »
    What always suprises me about this debate when it pops up, is the vehemence of certain cohorts in denouncing it.

Its almost as of every home in the country has single sex toilets...
    God forbid theres ever a return to Outhouses!

The very idea of having a toilet IN THE HOUSE! Outhouses were at least hygenic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Graces7 wrote: »
    The very idea of having a toilet IN THE HOUSE! Outhouses were at least hygenic

That takes me back to the outdoor toilets in national schools. In my own school, the kids couldn't even sh*t in the bowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I spent a few weeks working in our Vilnius office last year, the office toilets were unisex.

I found it very odd, every time I walked into the loo I had to do a double take if there was a woman at the wash basin, but ultimately all are in their own cubicle so no issues really.
    Thankfully I didn't have any Guinness while there...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

That takes me back to the outdoor toilets in national schools. In my own school, the kids couldn't even sh*t in the bowl.

Generally outdoor toilets were filthy unhygienic cesspools. Plus they had no facilities for decent hand washing afterwards.