If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Belfast rape trial discussion thread II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

jm08 wrote: »
    I thought it was very factual. Very hard to ignore that the WhatsApp banter shone a light on a group of young men who are dinosaurs when it comes to their attitude to women.

I have certain sympathy for the four lads in that is was such a public trial, but that is where my sympathy ends.

If you are a man, who gets absolutely hammered drunk, and knowingly walks into your mates bedroom, with the intention of having sex with the same woman your mate is having sex with, you can have no complaints if you find yourself accounting for your actions in front of a judge and jury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

If you are a man, who gets absolutely hammered drunk, and knowingly walks into your mates bedroom, with the intention of having sex with the same woman your mate is having sex with, you can have no complaints if you find yourself accounting for your actions in front of a judge and jury.

Why? You know that same people enjoy group sex?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    Why? You know that same people enjoy group sex?

And some don't ....

Wait to be invited in...is that so difficult?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I thought it was very factual. Very hard to ignore that the WhatsApp banter shone a light on a group of young men who are dinosaurs when it comes to their attitude to women.

I don't know if you've ever been in a locker room type environment or team or fraternity of some sort but 'lads' will often talk like that about girls.

I sat in a dressing room last Sunday morning listening to some bullsh1tter colourfully describe what he got up to the night before. I was thinking to myself, Jesus I hope this room isn't bugged. :D

You'll find at times that women also will go into seedy explicit detail when talking about men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

And some don't ....

Wait to be invited in...is that so difficult?

Agreed.

She was ok with a 3 way but didn't want to make it a foursome. No one was forced to do anything. No one was raped or sexually assaulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,716 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

'...attitude to 'one woman'. ..

Did other women, their sister's mother's and friends testify? No they didn't. So you have no idea what their attitude is to women at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

Did other women, their sister's mother's and friends testify? No they didn't. So you have no idea what their attitude is to women at all.

They captioned an image of Dara Florence (who testified) & her friend as ''Belfast Sluts'' in their WhatsApp group.

That is an opinion on one woman.

Can you show any evidence that it is their attitude to all women as stated?

Exactly, no you can't.
    More kneenerk feminista generalizing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,300 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

Who? Not either Jackson or Olding.

In fact, Jackson only posted once in the Whatsapp group on the day in question. A very innocuous message along the lines of "there was a lot of spit" or similar.

I imagine the usual morons who like to see the lives of two young, acquitted, not guilty men be ruined can never have their minds changed.

I, for one, am very pleased indeed that they've been allowed to get on with their lives and careers.

That is an opinion on one woman.

Can you show any evidence that it is their attitude to all women as stated?

Exactly, no you can't.
    More kneenerk feminista generalizing.

No actually. It was their opinion of the three women (who were in the photo) who were guests in PJ's house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,001 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

The Donegal rape case that's been in the media reminded me of this case. I assumed it's why it was back again.

There another male was found innocent of rape despite leaving a girl he'd just had sex with bleeding, injured, crying and what witnesses described as hysterical in public.

On this occasion, the girl left with severe head injuries and vaginal injuries that medical exams found were not consistent with any consensual act. During the rape a car arrived in the area and while the male asked the driver to leave the victim rang and texted a friends begging for help but he returned. Those texts were entered as evidence.

The lack of conviction hinged on the fact that afterwards she walked back up the road with the boy in question and allowed him give her a brief kiss...while crying hysterically and bleeding from the head and vagina.

There's something very wrong with some young men and the justice system.

The idea that there are men walking around there who can have sex and leave a woman bleeding and hysterically crying and assume a good night has been had by all is really frightening.

No actually. It was their opinion of the three women (who were in the photo) who were guests in PJ's house.

Yes. Not their attitude to all women.

And as pointed out above, you don't even have evidence that it was all of 'their' opinions either.

But keep slurring them if it satisfies you.

In fact, Jackson only posted once in the Whatsapp group on the day in question. A very innocuous message along the lines of "there was a lot of spit" or similar.

I imagine the usual morons who like to see the lives of two young, acquitted, not guilty men be ruined can never have their minds changed.

I, for one, am very pleased indeed that they've been allowed to get on with their lives and careers.

Listen David, if you lie down with dogs you are liable to pick up fleas. (In other words, you are known by the company you keep).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's standard fare from RTE, anyone who thought it was going to be an impartial and fair programme was being very naive.

None of us know what exactly happened in the room that night apart from those present, the Watsapp messages didn't paint the lads in the best light but it doesn't make them rapists either.

A verdict was reached so I'm not really sure why RTE dragged it all up again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

I don't know if you've ever been in a locker room type environment or team or fraternity of some sort but 'lads' will often talk like that about girls.

I sat in a dressing room last Sunday morning listening to some bullsh1tter colourfully describe what he got up to the night before. I was thinking to myself, Jesus I hope this room isn't bugged. :D

You'll find at times that women also will go into seedy explicit detail when talking about men.

Plus, it's against the law to do so, isn't it?

No, it's a bit human.
    Not the best side of humanity but there you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

It's standard fare from RTE, anyone who thought it was going to be an impartial and fair programme was being very naive.

None of us know what exactly happened in the room that night apart from those present, the Watsapp messages didn't paint the lads in the best light but it doesn't make them rapists either.

A verdict was reached so I'm not really sure why RTE dragged it all up again.

Trying to be like TV3 obviously.

Listen David, if you lie down with dogs you are liable to pick up fleas. (In other words, you are known by the company you keep).
    Oh dear. So because some other immature little boll*x posted a sexist and demeaning comment against a picture of some girls (one of whom testified in the men's favour), they are to be tarred and feathered for the delectation of the type of cretins who marched in Dublin against the not guilty verdict in another jurisdiction?

We are through the fcuking looking glass at this point.

And as pointed out above, you don't even have evidence that it was all of 'their' opinions either.

Why was Dara Florence captioned a 'slut'. Why the derogatory name calling? Do you think Dara Florence is a 'slut'? Would you like your daughter being called a slut in the same circumstances and sent around social media?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The Donegal rape case that's been in the media reminded me of this case. I assumed it's why it was back again.

There another male was found innocent of rape despite leaving a girl he'd just had sex with bleeding, injured, crying and what witnesses described as hysterical in public.

On this occasion, the girl left with severe head injuries and vaginal injuries that medical exams found were not consistent with any consensual act. During the rape a car arrived in the area and while the male asked the driver to leave the victim rang and texted a friends begging for help but he returned. Those texts were entered as evidence.

The lack of conviction hinged on the fact that afterwards she walked back up the road with the boy in question and allowed him give her a brief kiss...while crying hysterically and bleeding from the head and vagina.

The idea that there are men walking around there who can have sex and leave a woman bleeding and hysterically crying and assume a good night has been had by all is really frightening.

You might want to edit that post.

Why was Dara Florence captioned a 'slut'. Why the derogatory name calling? Do you think Dara Florence is a 'slut'? Would you like your daughter being called a slut in the same circumstances and sent around social media?
    Hello??? That was neither Jackson or Olding.

Utterly disgraceful and defamatory post.

Catch a hold of yourself.

Oh dear. So because some other immature little boll*x posted a sexist and demeaning comment against a picture of some girls (one of whom testified in the men's favour), they are to be tarred and feathered for the delectation of the type of cretins who marched in Dublin against the not guilty verdict in another jurisdiction?

Well someone has to explain to the little misogynic boll*x that he needs to cop on and have a good look at himself and his attitude to women.

I have no idea why. Maybe she was behaving like one, maybe she wasn't.

'Slut' is a descriptive word for certain behaviour in the dictionary. You or I may not like it being used, but it isn't illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

I have no idea why. Maybe she was behaving like one, maybe she wasn't.

'Slut' is a descriptive word for certain behaviour in the dictionary. You or I may not like it being used, but it isn't illegal.
    Didn't the alleged victim refer to Dana as a slut?
    In her own texts after alleged rape..think it was actually 'behaving slutty'.

Well someone has to explain to the little misogynic boll*x that he needs to cop on and have a good look at himself and his attitude to women.
    Being a misogynistic asshole is not really an unlawful offence - much as some braindead wretches would like it to be - so not sure where you're coming from. There's no cure for being a c**t as Bronn in Game of Thrones says.

As I've already explained, lie down with dogs, you pick up fleas. They were complicit in the slander of the good character of those girls.

givyjoe wrote: »
    Didn't the alleged victim refer to Dana as a slut?
    In her own texts after alleged rape..think it was actually 'behaving slutty'.

She did.

Being a misogynistic asshole is not really an unlawful offence - much as some braindead wretches would like it to be - so not sure where you're coming from. There's no cure for being a c**t as Bronn in Game of Thrones says.

No, its not unlawful - so you think its ok?

Dear god. Caveman stuff.

As I've already explained, lie down with dogs, you pick up fleas. They were complicit in the slander of the good character of those girls.
    No, they weren't. You have no evidence of that. I say again, because some other immature little boll*x posted a sexist and demeaning comment against a picture of some girls (one of whom testified in the men's favour), they are to be tarred and feathered for the delectation of the type of cretins who marched in Dublin against the not guilty verdict in another jurisdiction?

And as was pointed out, didn't the accuser describe the girls as SLUTS. Any thoughts or views on this?