Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Connors is a bit of a wanker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Even at my leftiest I'd have seen through his shyte.

All the moronic posh types who think he's just wonderful, crack me up. They must feel so pleased at how right-on and "real" they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

The ones that are good generally make it, every boxing club I've ever been in has traveller members

I personally think if they're in a boxing club, then that's a good thing. Genuinely. I'm not from the travelling community-but I'd love to have done something like that growing up.
    Not to go professional, mind you-more to keep fit, stay healthy, that kinda deal.

Tyson Fury sort of had a set back. I know he tested positive for some substance, but he claimed his water bottle was spiked. I actually believe it, as he was filmed at some post boxing event. He requested a drink of water, and was handed a bottle. When he realised it wasn't from his own coaches and managers, he refused to drink it.
    Didn't want to fail another test.
    She reminds me, too much, of an ex of mine. I’ll take Una Healy, if that’s ok?

Nadine and Una are two women who I genuinely would avoid. Nadine, I just don't see it.
    Una would have been a beauty in my eyes-and then I lived in Tipperary for a spell.
    The women from there are freaking crazy. I'm sure Una's gutted to not make my 'list'... :rolleyes:
    Raconteuse wrote: »

All the moronic posh types who think he's just wonderful, crack me up. They must feel so pleased at how right-on and "real" they are.

They ignore what he says because he's a 'token' in their eyes, frankly.
    It's all to appear 'woke' and 'non-racist' as possible. Never actually listens to the crap he says-like the item he accused the gardai of being ex-paramilitaries on the LLS.
    People who get woke are ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

I’m not a fan of Connors but it’s disappointing to see that people can’t criticise him without being able to resist having a go at the entire Travelling community itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I personally think if they're in a boxing club, then that's a good thing. Genuinely. I'm not from the travelling community-but I'd love to have done something like that growing up.
    Not to go professional, mind you-more to keep fit, stay healthy, that kinda deal.

Tyson Fury sort of had a set back. I know he tested positive for some substance, but he claimed his water bottle was spiked. I actually believe it, as he was filmed at some post boxing event. He requested a drink of water, and was handed a bottle. When he realised it wasn't from his own coaches and managers, he refused to drink it.
    Didn't want to fail another test.

I never said it was a bad thing :o

He failed a test and blamed it on eating uncastrated boar. The water bottle thing was this camp.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,698 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Runaways wrote: »
    Is this the same john connors that regularly appears on tv and radio bemoaning the stereotypes and discriminations settled people have against travelers....now challenging an idiot faded pop star to a fight??

Have I got this right?

To be fair one of McFadden's fans said Brian is a former boxer and JC challenged him to a charity boxing match. Wasn't a "****e in the bucket" style callout

Had a good laugh at the last line: "Your fans tell me you were a great amateur boxer. I had a few aul go's throughout the years. Plenty of homeless and mental health Charity's need every penny they can get. Let me know when you're not busy fighting isis"

Summary here, not sure how to link to the Twitter thread https://www.buzz.ie/celebs/john-connors-challenges-brian-mcfadden-fight-heated-twitter-exchange-356635

I never said it was a bad thing :o

He failed a test and blamed it on eating uncastrated boar. The water bottle thing was this camp.

Apologies, I didn't misconstrue what you said. IF it appeared as if I did, it was unintentional.

Ah, that's interesting.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

How does someone legally become a traveller?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CBear1993

sasta le wrote: »

Pay 10 grand for a communion dress.
    Drive a post in your garden with one of those overly hairy feet horses tied to it grazing.
    Get an overly sized van for no reason.

I think this is on citizens.ie as a checklist

CBear1993 wrote: »
    Drive a post in your garden with one of those overly hairy feet horses tied to it grazing.

Treat animals so badly the ISPCA have no choice but to put them down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Runaways

To be fair one of McFadden's fans said Brian is a former boxer and JC challenged him to a charity boxing match. Wasn't a "****e in the bucket" style callout

Had a good laugh at the last line: "Your fans tell me you were a great amateur boxer. I had a few aul go's throughout the years. Plenty of homeless and mental health Charity's need every penny they can get. Let me know when you're not busy fighting isis"

Summary here, not sure how to link to the Twitter thread https://www.buzz.ie/celebs/john-connors-challenges-brian-mcfadden-fight-heated-twitter-exchange-356635

That’s a bit better. Still though. He’s playing on a stereotype he’s always railing against

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

That’s a bit better. Still though. He’s playing on a stereotype he’s always railing against

He's always at this ****e. He claims to be a voice for travellers but as soon as he's had a few bottles he becomes the biggest racist out there. He despises settled people and defends travellers no matter what they get up to. The lad is a walking breathing contradiction of himself

• Registered Users Posts: 8,745 ✭✭✭893bet

Raconteuse wrote: »

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t think he is a wanker.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

sasta le wrote: »

Marry your cousin, who may also be your sister

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 14,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Get an overly sized van with alloy wheels and a big spoiler for no reason.

fyp

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

FFS Andy, how many times have we spoken about this - you are mixing up the pikeys and the A Team again!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

No reason?? It's that size so that anything not nailed down will fit into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Is this the same john connors that regularly appears on tv and radio bemoaning the stereotypes and discriminations settled people have against travelers....now challenging an idiot faded pop star to a fight??

Have I got this right?

Yeah that's him, the wanker.

https://www.independent.ie/entertainment/movies/i-have-a-love-hate-relationship-with-acting-john-connors-38990453.html

Seems he's given up acting-now he's directing.

Interestingly, this bit of his interview lept out at me (quoted from above).

When it comes to Connors bringing these projects to light, it hasn't been for want of trying. He has attempted to secure development and production funding through many bodies, including Screen Ireland, with little success.

John Connors in Cardboard Gangsters
    Innocent Boy was eventually funded by a prize through the Virgin Media Discovers Short Film competition. Most of his other film projects, he notes, he has funded himself.

Where'd he get the money to fund them?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,118 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

McFadden potentially getting a slap in the chops? Oh please, don't tease me. There was never anything so overdue for that 'talent'.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

NIMAN wrote: »

Fury is a good example of a person, he is to be admired for all that he has done. .

Yeah, not so much for some of what he says though. Shares some "Christian" views similar to Israel folau.

Maybe his missus doesn't know any better than what she aspires to for her daughter's because she has a husband who thinks her place is in the kitchen and on her back.

Then funnily enough tries to row back a bit when he thought it might affect income.

Not the type of person I'd be holding up as some shining light.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

spurious wrote: »
    McFadden potentially getting a slap in the chops? Oh please, don't tease me. There was never anything so overdue for that 'talent'.

I went to the same school as him, he got plenty of slaps as well as kicks, headbutts and so on. He used to drive around in his yellow Ferrari when he somehow became famous, presumably giving two fingers to his assailants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Feisar wrote: »
    The man that’d pull me out of her would be crowned the King of England.

This phrase never gets old. :D I lolled the first time I saw it and I still lol now.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,005 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

• Registered Users Posts: 5,748 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Why were they recording a funeral mass?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

So I take it you'll all be attending the screening of his new film on Saturday? :P

https://diff.ticketsolve.com/shows/873617379

• Registered Users Posts: 6,602 ✭✭✭Feisar

This phrase never gets old. :D I lolled the first time I saw it and I still lol now.

A classic!

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Why were they recording a funeral mass?

I don't spend much time in churches, but i think it's fairly commonplace to webstream things like weddings + funerals these days for people abroad etc.

And for calling out montages i suppose....see you shíte in the coffin, wee Paddy's young lad Paddy junior said your Paddy told big Paddy's cousing Paddy that Paddy Mac said you bet me, fair and square 7 years back in ........ you get the gist!

I don't spend much time in churches, but i think it's fairly commonplace to webstream things like weddings + funerals these days for people abroad etc.

And for calling out montages i suppose....see you shíte in the coffin, wee Paddy's young lad Paddy junior said your Paddy told big Paddy's cousing Paddy that Paddy Mac said you bet me, fair and square 7 years back in ........ you get the gist!

And this is the weapons haul seized after the funeral.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2020/0227/1118010-strabane-weapons-funeral/

Now if me or you were carrying such weapons, we would have a lot of explaining to do to the police.

I wonder will anyone be charged with anything after this incident?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang

0013bd21-500.jpg

Three men arrested. Seems a lot of weapons for three men alone. Culture wars.

I was looking around at other threads on this ethnic group, but so many have been shut down.

We aren't allowed to discuss them being violent you see, its racist.

Did it make the RTE News last night?

If it had happened with settled people, it would be the top story.