Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

John Connors is a bit of a wanker

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

BBFAN wrote: »
    What date is your video and what is it supposed to prove? I don't see any date on that? And for those who don't bother to watch the video, it's nothing but a proper boxing fight so I don't know what Andy's point in posting it was. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Which governing body sanctioned that one?! :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Omackeral wrote: »
    Which governing body sanctioned that one?! :pac::pac::pac:

Did you watch the video smart arse?

Smart arse? What's the need for that at all? Yeah I did watch it. It's two scrotes figting in a public space on concrete. One bad punch and ya fall and crack your head on the cold hard ground and then you're in hospital taking up resources. Why not go for it in a controlled, legitimate environment if you're that passionate about it. Many Travellers have done and have gone on to do fantastically. This is far from a proper contest as you can get.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

What date is your video and what is it supposed to prove? I don't see any date on that? And for those who don't bother to watch the video, it's nothing but a proper boxing fight so I don't know what Andy's point in posting it was. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

You think this is proper boxing ?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,929 ✭✭✭normanoffside

He’s never been beat because 99% of traveller boxing fights end in a draw. 30 minutes of walking around then everyone insists on shaking hands. Unlike real boxing matches the opponents almost always proceed to insult each other post match.

Total sham of a ‘sport’

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

"I never left boxing even though my last competitive fight was 10 years ago

I still love boxing and watching fights.”

Indeed...

Connors must have had 15kg on his opponent. I'm not even sure what you'd call that.

In the 90's I used to box in Co. Galway and the traveler boxers from proper clubs were serious fighters. More fighter than boxer but they were miles away from whatever that shíte in the video was.

But we were told already...
    it's nothing but a proper boxing fight

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Omackeral wrote: »
    But we were told already...

Christ.

Watching a couple of boxing matches on tv or something should be enough to know that that was not a "proper boxing fight" by any stretch.

It looked more like two lads putting on a show for 30 minutes where they agreed not to really fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭RocketRaccoon

The clothes the "ref" is wearing would lead me to believe that video is at least 10 years old. When would you see a traveller wearing a Liverpool jersey that's not the newest one?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Unbelievable that our Tv license money and tax payers money is going into giving this fool and his mates air time on RTE.Growing up and going to school in a area of north Dublin with a huge amount of halting sites and Traveler families i have seen their carry on first hand. The older generation were very religious and respectful people , you would see them down the shops or going to mass and would be the very same as settled people but the generation of my age group and what have come after are not.They have no respect for law or rules. 12 and 13 year olds driving heaps of scrap around with no license , tax insurance or nct , walking into shops and chippers and skipping a whole que just because they feel they are above queing .Driving around in the middle of the night and stealing anything that is not nailed down.I have seen on 2 separate occasions where houses on my parents road where given to traveler families .With in 6 months the houses where destroyed . Doors and anything timer burnt out in the back garden , copper stripped out of the house ,rubbish piled up in the back garden houses left flooded as all the appliances had been ripped out before they left. Feuds between two families on the street and in one case the wrong house was petrol bombed.None of the people who campaign for "equal rights " have to live beside this carry on .This is why Casey shot up in the election because he highlighted it and people who voted for him where not necessarily voting for him they were voting out of protest because they are sick of seeing they hard earned money being wasted time and time again.If John wants Travelers to be treated the same and be viewed the same then they simply have to act the same as settled people.Like every week there is a new whatts app message floating around of a call out video or them baiting the head off other in the street.It is being bred into the kids to act like this and glorified instead of trying to educate them and get them into college and jobs but why would they when they get all what they want for free.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,276 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Unbelievable that our Tv license money and tax payers money is going into giving this fool and his mates air time on RTE.Growing up and going to school in a area of north Dublin with a huge amount of halting sites and Traveler families i have seen their carry on first hand. The older generation were very religious and respectful people , you would see them down the shops or going to mass and would be the very same as settled people but the generation of my age group and what have come after are not.They have no respect for law or rules. 12 and 13 year olds driving heaps of scrap around with no license , tax insurance or nct , walking into shops and chippers and skipping a whole que just because they feel they are above queing .Driving around in the middle of the night and stealing anything that is not nailed down.I have seen on 2 separate occasions where houses on my parents road where given to traveler families .With in 6 months the houses where destroyed . Doors and anything timer burnt out in the back garden , copper stripped out of the house ,rubbish piled up in the back garden houses left flooded as all the appliances had been ripped out before they left. Feuds between two families on the street and in one case the wrong house was petrol bombed.None of the people who campaign for "equal rights " have to live beside this carry on .This is why Casey shot up in the election because he highlighted it and people who voted for him where not necessarily voting for him they were voting out of protest because they are sick of seeing they hard earned money being wasted time and time again.If John wants Travelers to be treated the same and be viewed the same then they simply have to act the same as settled people.Like every week there is a new whatts app message floating around of a call out video or them baiting the head off other in the street.It is being bred into the kids to act like this and glorified instead of trying to educate them and get them into college and jobs but why would they when they get all what they want for free.

Tbf, I lived with people who were from well to do families who were the messiest f**kers going. Good jobs, good pay-wouldn't take garbage out if their life depended on it.
    Landlord lost his cool on more than one occassion, with me-and even one weekend when he knew I wasn't in the house, I came back to a letter from the neighbours about the mess.
    So it's not just travellers.

That said, the copper and everything else that got wrecked-yep, that's traditional traveller.

It doesn't even require a huge amount of education. Many folks I know who left school after the Junior Cert have amazing jobs-with great trades.
    But then again, they aren't under constant garda watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,070 ✭✭✭✭looksee

That had to be the slowest boxing 'fight' of all time, it was like watching soccer.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

"I never left boxing even though my last competitive fight was 10 years ago

I still love boxing and watching fights.”

Indeed...

Well fúck me - that's just like watching Ali fighting.

Not Muhammad Ali mind. I mean my ex girlfriend Ali- actually she'd have kicked that useless fat fúckers arse, I can guarantee that.

World class boxer?? What a tosspot!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Pedro K

Travellers always claim a straight up fight is the best way to solve an issue. Big problem there is that almost all of their fights are exactly the same.

Two lads shuffle around a carpark for ~40 minutes. There might be one or two actual punches landed in that time. The crowd start urging them to shake hands. They do. Each claims the victory. Each procedes to insult the other and their family online. Feud grows. Rinse. Repeat.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,226 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

He’s never been beat because 99% of traveller boxing fights end in a draw. 30 minutes of walking around then everyone insists on shaking hands. Unlike real boxing matches the opponents almost always proceed to insult each other post match.

Total sham of a ‘sport’

The insult videos are brilliant. But the boxing is terrible, usually it's circling each other with their arms up.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,114 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Cienciano wrote: »
    The insult videos are brilliant.

Like this? :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 39,573 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

blade1 wrote: »

Jaysus, would it kill them to give the slash hooks a rub of a grinder.

Someone could get Tetanus.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

Is he still a wanker?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Is he still a wanker?

Every time he opens his mouth he appears to confirm that he is indeed 'a wanker'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Can't someone just set fire to them? A waste of oxygen.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Great to see them having gloves for protection as they are such hard working people.

They must have been working hard on the farm....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Great to see them having gloves for protection as they are such hard working people.

They must have been working hard on the farm....

Working a farm more like

• Registered Users Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Your man @1:20 with his rings on over the gloves :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

I tuned out of him completely when he compared the plight of the African-American slave to that of the traveller.

Slaves had to work. So there's comparison whatsoever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

It would be hilarious if someone dubbed helpful gardening advice over that

• Registered Users Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

It would be hilarious if someone dubbed helpful gardening advice over that
    Oh God yes!!!
    Please someone do this!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭Feisar

I liked him in Cardboard Gangster and Love Hate in fairness.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 42 iwilldare

Cienciano wrote: »
    The insult videos are brilliant.

Like this? :eek:

The boys have obviously taken their inspiration from the bushwhackers...

https://youtu.be/xBwBQzoXkFk

The Bushwhackers were Harvard professors in comparison to those wasters. I'm surprised they're able to breathe in and out on their own.