Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it ok to skip your debs?

• 10-04-2018 10:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38

I go to a tiny, rural school and suffered from bad social anxiety until late TY/5th year. I was picked on a lot & branded as a weirdo. Nowadays, I have people I talk to, but I would never meet up with them and maybe drink with them at large parties. I don't have any friends at school. I really don't see any point in going, but my mum thinks I should. And I won't get a date,I'm invisible to boys in my school. I don't know how I'll meet boys outside of school either over the summer as I have no one to go out drinking with locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭1hnr79jr65

I went to my friends place and played xbox and had some beers and pizza.

Debs is a non mandatory social activity, if you dont want to go, then dont. Go do something fun instead, maybe some travel or have a binge night catching up on tv show or something :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

I never bothered with my debs either. It really doesn't matter to be honest. Go do something you want to do and enjoy instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dog walker 1234

It doesn't matter whether you go or not. Do whatever makes you happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Course it's ok to skip it. They are often a torture anyway, people dolled up in expensive gear that they will be puking down the front of before they even get off the bus. Far more sensible to stay home and avoid the melee. Some day in the future you will be telling the story cheerfully and people will say you were dead right, so get in ahead of yourself and be cheerful now. Do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

Do what makes you happy if going to your debs is going to make you unhappy dont go.theres plenty of other ways to meet ppl outside of drinking you dont always get to see the real person when drink is envolved.do you have any hobbies eg singing.are there any local groups you can.join to meet ppl your age who like the same things you do.I didnt go to mine had no interest in going.like you I was bullied in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

I never went to mine either. Hasnt bothered me in slightest. Would have similarly social awkward in school too.

Did LC in 2001. At 17/18 it is seen as a big deal. As you get older, it loses its significance. I have moved to a different part of country now. I don't think I have ever chatted about debs attendance to anyone. No one will know or care. There will be plenty more events & social events that you will attend. Believe me, they all roll into one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

Went to mine and I wish I'd skipped it. Like you I was in two minds, and gave in to pressures and went. Spent the night in a dress I wasn't comfortable in with people I wasn't comfortable with. I got fed up and left about 11 anyway wishing I hadn't spent the money!
    By 9pm the majority there will not know who is and isn't there. If you don't want to go, don't, and as someone above suggested, decide to do something you like doing instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Never went and never gave it a second thought. 17 years on its totally irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I'm 21 and never went to mine a few years ago.

I knew it would be a mess, it was an all-girls school and there had been nothing but drama in the last two years. My mam was bitterly upset over it but I couldn't justify the money on dress etc. when I knew I wouldn't enjoy it, and that everyone I knew would be wrapped up with their dates and I'd end up sitting in the toilets.

Since then I have gone to college and gone to balls and dances of societies and had an amazing time with people I love being with :) there'll be infinite more chances to dress up and look amazing, only those times it'll be with your friends and people you feel comfortable being yourself with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Never went

Didnt miss it

Went to a friends the following year

Got hammered-- spent a fortune- fell asleep in a shed.

If you are not bothered dont bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,503 ✭✭✭Sinister Kid

I hated school... I took the money & went to Edinburgh for a weekend with my mate. Best idea ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

I can tell you, now as a 47 year old, choosing not to go to my debs has had zero impact on my life. I know I may as well be a million years old in your eyes but I was 17,school was the same- cool people and people who lived for the debs. I had no interest. It's had no impact. Do what you feel is right. If you do go, my daughter brought her friend, another girl. They had great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,404 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

I didn't go to mine, and while it seemed like everyone was going realistically a third of my year (all girls school) didn't actually go. Now I'm a teacher and i see the same thing, there's always a group of students that don't go and it's fine. It just seems like everyone is going when there's a lot of talk about it.

To put it in perspective OP, there's a thread that was in After Hours in the last day or two about the debs, and plenty were posting that they didn't even remember who they went with or what was the name of their debs date. Really not that life changing an experience if they don't remember that basic detail. It's just another night to get drunk, only in fancy clothes.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,101 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Never went to mine, didn't have many pals in school though, no regrets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

If you've got no real bond with your classmates I don't see why you you'd bother going. Once you finish school, you're probably never going to lay eyes on most of them again, let alone speak to them. All they'll be to you are people you happened to go through school with but weren't your friends really.

Far more important to you will be what you do next. If you go on to college you'll be starting again with a blank slate. Have you done any work on that aspect of your life? How you'll go about making new friends and meeting new people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Use any money you'd spend on a debs and go on a weekend holiday somewhere with a few mates if you can. The debs is a waste of money and a night you'll most likely never remember with any fondness at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Mokuba

I know it seems like a big deal right now, but in a few years you will look back on it as completely insignificant.

It's a small bit of craic if you like the person you go with or if you have a good bond with the year. That's it. It's not the be all and end all.

As somebody who went to 3, I can't remember who or who didn't go to my own schools one and I don't care either. And I'm not in touch with any of the people whom I went with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

Skip away, no biggie. You like what you like. I had no interest then, and still wouldn't be into large events. Not a fan of college balls or big festivals either. I'm fairly social, but prefer smaller groups where I can have some chats with my friends, instead of blaring music and a lot of langerated eejits. 
    Nothing wrong with having confidence in your own preferences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 vithit

If you've got no real bond with your classmates I don't see why you you'd bother going. Once you finish school, you're probably never going to lay eyes on most of them again, let alone speak to them. All they'll be to you are people you happened to go through school with but weren't your friends really.

Far more important to you will be what you do next. If you go on to college you'll be starting again with a blank slate. Have you done any work on that aspect of your life? How you'll go about making new friends and meeting new people.
    Yeah, hopefully going to NUIG next year. The points for my course are pretty low and I’m hoping they stay that way :D I do plan on joining societies etc. Honestly, I’m fairly sociable outside of school. I have two close friends who live fairly far away who I met through work. It’s just that I’ve never been able to shed my reputation at school, and living in a rural area with no clubs or sports bar the GAA has fairly limited my social life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 vithit

Guys thank you all so much for your replies. Ye are right, I don’t have to go if I don’t want to. I can think of so many other better ways to spend €400 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

vithit wrote: »
    I go to a tiny, rural school and suffered from bad social anxiety until late TY/5th year. I was picked on a lot & branded as a weirdo. Nowadays, I have people I talk to, but I would never meet up with them and maybe drink with them at large parties. I don't have any friends at school. I really don't see any point in going, but my mum thinks I should. And I won't get a date,I'm invisible to boys in my school. I don't know how I'll meet boys outside of school either over the summer as I have no one to go out drinking with locally.

What appears significant now will appear so insignificant a few years down the line. You will never need any of those in school for what is a massive life ahead of you.

Skip the debs you won't regret it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

Yeah, hopefully going to NUIG next year. The points for my course are pretty low and I’m hoping they stay that way :D I do plan on joining societies etc. Honestly, I’m fairly sociable outside of school. I have two close friends who live fairly far away who I met through work. It’s just that I’ve never been able to shed my reputation at school, and living in a rural area with no clubs or sports bar the GAA has fairly limited my social life.

Definitely focus on education it's the one thing that matters right now, the rest will all come together in time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

lazygal wrote: »
    Never went and never gave it a second thought. 17 years on its totally irrelevant.

Agree with this. Really, things like Debs, being popular, wearing the right thing etc seem like the most important things on the planet in school but when you get older and live life, it really does absolutely vanish from your memory. I cant believe the things that used to worry me, and nearly 2 decades after I left school. 90% of it is totally forgotten about. You wont even remember it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 CopperLady

This was my exact experience too! I had a school friend comment on how I had 'come out of my shell so quickly' in college but I just pointed out that people were weird and close-minded at school and just couldn't let go of the image they had decided on for me so I didn't bother trying with them! I hadn't changed, I just stopped wasting my time in school trying to shake the 'weirdo' image. I had tons of friends outside school that no-one seemed to figure out! University was such a breath of fresh air!
    Guys thank you all so much for your replies. Ye are right, I don’t have to go if I don’t want to. I can think of so many other better ways to spend €400 euro.

I replied to your post on reddit OP, like on there I'd advise getting a laptop or something useful for college instead like I did! Haha! You won't regret it, I guarantee that once you're a few months into college that school will be a distant irrelevant memory for you. Good luck in the exams!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭little miss sunshine1

I would n't bother going, it's a total cringe -worthy event. Never went to mine, the idea horrified me at the time. Spending hours with a bunch of people, the half of them you don't even particularly like that much. It's not as if you're going to see these people again. :D

Don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭mike2084

Never went to mine and I'm fairly certain I missed nothing, overhyped night to make money for local dress hire businesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Step23

I didn't go to mine, used the money I would have spent to buy something I collected a time, still have said item and never once regretted not going. I was asked however by my tutor why I wasn't going so a heads up in case you may get asked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I had lots of friends in school and got the mandatory date for the debs(spent the meal together, then like the majority of people there just went their separate ways for the night to hang out with their friends, maybe get one of the photos). It was fun to be out with all my friends but really expensive and forgettable once I went to college.

Looking back I shouldn't have bothered. The amount of money spent on limo, rented suit, flower thing for date, ticket for the event, drink. There was things I needed a lot more back then like new clothes, driving lessons or a laptop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭lulu1

In our school all the names are put into a hat and you have to go with whoever is picked for you that way there is no one without a partner

'Don't go if you don't want to it's only a money racket anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭kob29

In total agreement with everyone else, dont bother if you dont want to. Never went, couldnt care less to this day. Good to see you have perspective that there is life beyond secondary school. Plan forward to that and jump in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

It’s a load of bollocks. I regret going to mine to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Missing your debs does not mean a thing. But when you are young you can't realise that. Same goes for college graduation party. Same goes for a Christmas Party in a job.

In the immortal words of Randy Savage on the Arsenio Hall Show: "It's like a grain of sand in the Sahara Desert... It don't matter" - Your life is the desert. The debs is just a random Thursday. People who do go forget about it two days later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Yeah, don't worry about it - I went to mine and it was... ok I suppose - crap food, mediocre DJ, no major drama. Bit of a letdown after all the build-up.

I'd say the majority of the really memorable ones are ones that go horribly wrong, and even they are more fun to tell stories about afterwards than to actually live through.